Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pushback against Leftism

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

More absolute nonsense.

“When you get to the point that it is acceptable to argue that my right to a house, not housing, trumps the life of a refugee who is not here by choice, society is in serious trouble.” - No one is against legitimate refugees, as has been stated on this thread and multiple others is that people are against illegal immigration and fake asylum seekers. But the exact same jaded rebuttals come back. Racist. Nazi. White Power. Hitler. Blah. Blah. Blah.

You do realise that every resource wasted on illegals and scammers is a resource taken away from an actual, legitimate refugee??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

If it's a push back on the left then we're going in the right direction. It's amazing how conservatives are more liberal and fair than the liberals are now.

The pendulums swinging back to it's rightful place now.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

• Registered Users Posts: 40,415 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

how has this swing manifested itself? It certainly hasn't manifested itself at the polls.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭grennscreener

mentions lefties, trans rights, NGOs, the 'EU', migration,"we the people" almost the full spread, all you're missing is the hoax pandemic.

Mind you all I read was the original post. **** all interest any anything else they have to say.

But to answer the question? no - Irish people will never roll with your bullshit, small minded, fear based politics. There is no tide, there's normal people in the vast majority who reject your vision of the world. Not because they're brainwashed, or that you're being suppressed but because what you're representing is retrograde, based on fear and serves only to divide people and attempt to force them into taking the knee for some sort of superior class.

Cool story bro. The more likely reason we won’t see the Irish truth is that the cowardly government would never put anything like this to the people. The last time they did (anchor babies) they got a very resounding answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,329 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Leftism and indeed rightism are not mindsets which you should nail a flag to. Faults a plenty in both ideologies.

“I’m left wing”..”I’m right wing”…

im left in my thinking on certain ideologies…more right in others.

if you were to tally up values I’d be slightly left of centre…. Welfare, services, healthcare, left… unrestricted inward migration, no..right.

the kickback against leftism has been coming. A lot of the younger people are too lazy and too blasé towards the wellbeing of Irish taxpayers… some of the rhetoric you read is like something out of a dystopian nightmare. A relative of mine on reading that the cost to rebuild the Ukraine will be around 1 trillion euros… suggested we should mothball the metro idea for 20 years and for ten years spend the metro money rebuilding The Ukraine, or helping.

So sad, terrified of brown babies. Real silent majority vibes all right. Hero to your people.

All 20 of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Conservative me hole.

The left's clothes have been nicked by the formerly centre and slightly right wing parties.

The last time we had a real right wing party they were actually wearing blue shirts.

Not that we ever had a real left either.

Care to mention all the right wing ideology, bar maybe the lean towards free market capitalism to handle housing, that these parties have indulged in ?

I mean the so called most conservative party, the one labelled blueshirts & fascists by some shinners, has an openly gay Indian descent guy as leader.

Can't imagine many right wing parties with that.

They introduced same sex marriage and abortion.

They introduced an ethnic label for an indigenous group and contineu to excessively fund that group which makes no real effort to contribute to our society.

Oh wait you will probably tell us all that was done because of the leftists in Labour.

So then care to explain why they didn't change their spots after Labour got the boot?

And along with that other so called right/centre party fianna fail, they have presided over the continuing social welfare from cradle to grave career choice for some.

They continue to preside over a legal system that is nowhere near fit for purpose and doesn't dispense real justice for victims.

They both bend over backwards for every modern left leaning NGO out there.

They both do nothing about a lax asylum system that is a joke, and has been called out as such by other countries.

They both are bending over for the so called green agenda and are in the process of screwing our only true indigenous industry.

So please tell us how right wing they are?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

I always find it odd. People look at what decades of centre right politics have brought us and lay partial, if not all blame, on minority groups who never really had any power. A few years of people loudly seeking equality is not a problem, although the fear of them getting it can be uncomfortable for some.

I don't see the trans link here. Boundaries are being pushed and will settle in time. Society goes through changes. Also, with caitlyn jenner running for the Republican party, it seems people are politically complex despite any stereotypes we may assign to them.

It was an actual vocal majority the one time we had a say in it.

awww the one time. Pity for you the lefties banned you from every other vote you were eligible to vote in. Those dam commies and their mainstream media cabals keeping honest hard working folks such as yourself down.

Again, everything you write comes from a place rooted in fear. You utterly stink of it.

Much of the modern day Left is actually the Middle Class or upper Middle Class speaking on behalf of the working class - and, at the same time, they look down on the working class opinions as racist, homophobic, xenophobic, and fascist.

They want to own the demographic for political reasons, yet despise their attitudes toward social and cultural matters.

Cool story again bro. Who could I vote for that isn’t on the multicult train? Every party is pretty much a mirror image of the other. Even SF is for open borders.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭joe40

Define working class? and middle or upper middle class? I would live to know where I fit in this structure.

Surely anything that waters down the effect of british culture is to be welcomed?

The media and liberials have been pushing hard to throw away our neutrality to fall in line with nato,and parthner with those occuping part of the island,for what is zero benefit to anyone here....but gets em a pat on head in brussels

• Registered Users Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Nothing wrong with socialism, its the sandal wearing vegans you've got to worry about!

🙈🙉🙊

There's nothing wrong with centre-left, reasoned politics.

It's the screaming, wailing, hysterical, permanently angry, humourless far-left we have to be concerned about; a minority of vocal, often unemployed, activists who go around the place shouting in ordinary, decent people's faces about how immoral we all apparently are.

This GIF always sums it up for me.

The absolute state of these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 8 euphreve

Any emergence of a cultural right in Irish politics will not occur until after the next election.

A lot of the vote is currently going to Sinn Féin, a party that a lot of people are happy to assign their own beliefs to. Once they get into power, they will have to decide who they are and what they represent, and inevitably a good chunk of their current support will drift away.

For a culturally right-wing party to establish themselves, that's the moment. There does seem to have been a shift rightwards here in the last while, but it could take a while for it to manifest itself in elections.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

They're meaningless terms now. They made more sense several decades ago when people had to come from a certain background to get into most white collar fields. Now, working class just seems to be anyone rough looking who hates foreigners and middle class is anyone who disagrees with the mainstream right.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

I've observed it subtly, it's just a personal observation I don't rely on poles or stats much to be honest.

People are starting to speak up and realize that it's balance we need not rash decisions which effect the minorities in our own country, people falling around the streets off their heads on crack, young men and women waiting for a place to live. I could post a lot of variables.

I know some quiet wealthy people who would be considered quite aloof to poor people, addiction and homelessness. But over the last two years they have softened out and realized. Hold on there's something wrong here. They're virtue signaling about how many of those they're looking after, but brushing the others under the carpet.

Liberal hippie dippie parents are also getting annoyed when their kids are on waiting lists for house's, and they're starting to wonder is all their sociatial liberal view points beneficial in the long run. While their daughter who's 26 and has a kid isn't getting a roof over their head, but others are walking over her and getting turn key accomoation.

Everyone needs a place to lay down their head's at night, I've no problem whatsoever with looking after people.

But don't **** on our own in need, and leave them till last.

This is a rant I know but I don't mind ranting. Another thing is the new wave liberals are an embarrassment to the more traditional liberals. The new liberal is just an annoying moaning myrtle, always looking for justice and they have dragged the LGBTQ community and feminism into their stupid games too. A lot of the LGBTQ community especially the one's who are 40+ are more conservative minded and will have nothing to do with the woke culture or the war on inequality etc. They are able to get on with it, those days are gone. People accept that there's men who love men and women who love women.

Back in my time a straight lad could say Jason over abroad in the valley is a handsome looking man, a good looking fellow the women love him. Then there was a glitch in the late 80's until the mid 90's if you find another guy attractive you're a gay or a bender, but it was just childish slagging. Say that today and you're cancelled.

None of these woke self proclaimed liberal people are funny or witty. They're souless for the want of a description. Dead eye's in their heads.

I'm not a doctor but I think they could do with counseling or something similar. They're as mad as FCK, and full of bravado. When it comes down to the crunch they're scared, they had no proper upbringing and never had a good slap to wake them up.

My dad and mum gave me the wooden spoon a few times or a slap. I deserved it, and in a strange way if I'm being philosophical about it it was like I woke up from my state of being bold and the shock of the slap made me realize that if I act the bollocks I'll get another one. So no more acting the bollox, or when I went out and didn't come home on time and mum and dad were worried sick looking for me they'd verbally give out. As a parent to a lad in his 20's looking back being a kid in the 70's wasn't so bad. Granted a lot of things were wrong back then but I only got the wooden spoon a few times and had a great upbringing.

I hung out with a few strident new age liberals when I was going through a rough patch year's ago. They're just oppositional to everything that's right in the eye's of conservatives or even people who have liberal values who won't join their crusade. They're a tribe of rag tag crusty bitches and white knight s. That rag quote came from gang's of New York .

A traditional liberal is like what a conservative nowadays has evolved into.

Isn't it mad how it's turned out that modern self proclaimed liberals are like Nazi's now and anything but liberal.

As for poles and stats, I observe what's going on in the rural community as that's where I dwell. People are starting to wake up to the lies and manipulation.

I'd never believed poles or stats, they're only a distraction.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭conorhal

The left's power isn't in the Dail chamber, it in their control over the groups that have influence on the Dail, namely, the media, the unelected supranational bodies in the EU and UN, the NGO's, QUANGO's and activist groups that style themselves as 'charities'.

Our government has been outsourcing the actual work of government (housing, homelessness, health and education) to these bodies for decades now. These groups have very effectively interposed themselves between a lazy and unengaged electorate and a lazy government that has outsourced policy formation and simply wants these bodies to 'tell them what to do' and then hand them wads of our cash to take responsibility for implementation and as a result they have undue levels of influence in the corridors of power.

Our weak and intellectually bankrupt politicians are also pretty easily cowed into submission by the Irish Times and most of the activist bodies they themselves fund, they fold like a house of cards in the face of any criticism from these sources.

I see very little push back by the right to be honest, or at least none that’s particularly effective. If the right are to have any hope of influencing government policy, they are going to have to get engaged, start electing people, start seizing control of some of these organs of state that have been completely converged by leftists and ensure their voice isn't ignored by the media. That of course will be very difficult and will involve a similar 'long march through the institutions' that the left have been conducting since the 60's and I very much doubt that the right have the intellectual rigour, organization and guile to achieve that.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

another nazi by another name thread 🙄

I know right, foreigners are scary. God love you, you poor weak, terrified creature.

Imagine this day in age not being able to vote for a ethnonationalistic party that isn't an utter laughing stock and has its ranks filled by the kind of people who look like their DNA is one solid sneeze away from unraveling.

Still beating the “foreigners” drum. If you don’t have a proper cogent reply, you don’t have to reply.

...working class just seems to be anyone rough looking who hates foreigners.

That's a repellent and elitist attitude to have toward working class people.

That's part of the reason why Labour couldn't get into power in the UK, with the likes of Emily Thornberry spewing the same kind of elitist, snobby attitude toward working class people.

And it's also part of the reason why there's a concerted pushback against this kind of left-wing rhetoric.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,415 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

Ireland has always had a decidedly centerist political culture and that's reflected in every government in the state's history. Our electoral system rewards parties who drift towards the centre. We have a fairly anodyne political culture and have avoided the extremes that we sometimes see on the continent.

There are occasional fissures of hard right or hard left expressions in the electoral system, but they have not, and likely will not find a home where it counts, in the cabinet.

Even the boogyman talk around SF is evidence of this phenomenon. They're a party that have repackaged themselves a long way towards the centre compared to where they were 20 years ago. They'll have a left wing tilt, but nothing that will scare the cows at the end of the day.

I think yous miss the rather obvious,and glaring issue as regards these NGOs,

Is most,the vast majority dont actually do anything of note,

They could be wiped at stroke of pen,and most are merly a slush fund of type for failed politians/relatives/backers of politians.....lads banging on againest NGOs and their preceived influence,are missing the bigger problem,the government use these mostly reasonable social issues to line pockets of their circle,case in point being the fcuking about with zappone and her made up envoy job at the UN,to get free 1st class travel to/from states

it'd be utterly, utterly wasted on you.

Enjoy the future, you're going to hate it.