Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pride Month

The first gay pride march I participated in way back in mid 90's did not have any kink or fetish element to it. I recall one or 2 muscular men with their tops off but that was the extent of the nudity.

My first two Pride marches were in Amsterdam.. which is a very different environment. A lot more interest in the kink/fetish, and the shock element of it all. But I would agree that most marches I've been to, weren't over the top. I'd say it's close to 50/50. Really depends on that countrys history with sex/sexuality.

It does seem to me that Pride has become more kink and fetish orientated, and I don't think that's a good portrayal of gay men. I don't know how many youtube vids I've seen of late where kids are pointed out attending pride marches where almost full nudity and 'kink' is on display. I agree, that can't be right can it? It's also just vulgar as well. I'm not making any moral judgements on kinks though and that's the point. It's an adult themed topic that should be kept in the adult world, and not on display for all to see on the street.

Spot on.

Exactly how I feel on the topic. It's not a path I like the LGBQ community following.. too many ways the old biases/hatreds could re-emerge as a result of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭donaghs

I think its the norm now if you work for a white collar multinational in Ireland that you get an email more than once a week this month about Pride. Plus webinars, seminars, rainbow lanyards for all, etc. I wouldn't be surprised by lalmost daily emails, which I've heard from others.

Plus call-outs for volunteers to the company pride event. And so on. The scale of this which has no comparison with any other event in the calendar and can be an minor irritation for anyone, regardless of their sexual orientation.

But if we take the long view, its probably more the case that corporations are testing out what Pride participation can do for them, and things may settle down to a less intense message bombardment level in years to come.

The only real concern here is if people are getting "voluntold" or pressured to participate. This would surprise some people, but in the end of the day, the company wants numbers at these events getting the brand out, and anyone suspected of being LBGT is more likely to be "approached" for this :)

Post edited by donaghs on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Why do certain people in the pride community have a need for constant attention and validation? It's honestly bizarre.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Gant21

• Registered Users Posts: 3,283 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Mater hospital are involved also...

Dear all,  

The month of June is the month of LGBTQ+ Pride in Dublin. The Mater is marking this important time in a special way this year. 

On Wednesday 22nd of June the hospital's LGBTQ+ working group will be in Whitty street for the day, giving out special Mater Hospital Pride Packs - including a specially commissioned enamel pin and lanyard set. To get your pack please follow these 2 simple steps: 

• Complete the HSE's LGBT Awareness & Inclusion - The basics or An Introduction to Transgender Awareness in Healthcare training.

Access the HSELanD at www.hseland.ie log in or create a new account and search for, and complete the training. When you finish this training a certificate will be emailed to you. 

• Print off your certificate and bring it to the Pride stand on Whitty Street on www.hseland.ie Wednesday 22nd of June where you can swap it for your Pride Pack.

There will be other surprises and events on the day so be sure to stop by Whitty Street. 

Please bring this to the attention of all Mater staff and students in your area who may not have access to email. If you have any queries or would like to talk to a member of the working group, please email LGBT@mater.ie

All the best, 

MMUH LGBTQ+ Working Group 

The desire to be "special", would be my guess. Oh, I could try to link it to having to hide their sexuality for so long, but honestly, I think that justification is wearing a little thin.

We live in a period of attention seeking whores. Social media addicts. The desire for their cause to be elevated and promoted constantly. All those disadvantaged or minority groups who had victimhood status in the past need to constantly reaffirm that position.

I don't think it's bizarre TBH. I think it's simply the way western culture has gone. Drama queens everywhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

• Registered Users Posts: 6,673 ✭✭✭Feisar

Hoist yer colours and go on the lash!

Regarding oversaturation, that's not on you so why let that effect you? Regarding it being a month rather than a Paddy's weekend type effort the cynic in me would say there is a cohort making money off of it. Once the trans topic is covered it'll be something else.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,896 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

From experience, mostly in academia there tend to be plenty of posters and the like around and the odd email but that's 99% of it. I'd to do an unconscious bias course when I started my current role.

Personally, I'd find it weird affiliating myself with Pride. It's not for me so why should I be involved with it?

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭cgcsb

• Registered Users Posts: 7,859 ✭✭✭growleaves

There was a Straight Pride in Brazil I think organised by some local conservative guy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,400 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

The colour was amazing and massive crowds marched despite intermittent showers. There were many people from the Ukrainian lgbt community marching and tens of thousands of onlookers. A terrific day was had by all in spite of all the nasty homophobic comments by incels and other knuckle draggers on this forum and other parts of social media. A very enjoyable day, thoughts were those in Oslo who are grieving, those in Ireland who had suffered violence in the recent surge of homophobic attacks and of course the lgbt community in parts of the world where they cannot safely express themselves. Happy pride everyone, looking forward to next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭Mic 1972

It has become more common now to hear people - would normally support LGBT - saying that they have had enough.

When even Revenue are participating perhaps it's time to wonder whether the shark has been jumped!

https://revenue.ie/SiteElements/Images/Revenue-Pride-Logo-2022.png

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

There is definitely a sense of people becoming fed up with all the "identities" and "causes" being pushed in their face while they are just trying to get on with their own lives in increasingly difficult times.

Most people don't care whether someone is straight, gay, bi or whatever (unless they're dating them of course!), what they feel about trans issues, BLM or any of the other crusades we're told we MUST care about. They just want to be left alone at this stage.

Yes there are those who are abusive (but that happens on BOTH sides of the arguments) but the majority have (rightly) a live and let live attitude.

A lot of these groups though are at risk of actually undermining themselves at this point and pushing people from tolerance or just disinterest/neutrality, to actively becoming irritated and resentful of the constant intrusion and messaging that they aren't doing enough/must do more to support whatever it is this time.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,896 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Lived experience, a term that you might like ;-)

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

I've no problem at all with PRIDE. I support LGB, but the whole insane debacle that Dublin PRIDE kicked off did nobody any favours. I love seeing openly gay couples being comfortable and safe enough to walk hand in hand around Ireland on any given day of the year. I love that LGB people can openly be themselves. I'm polite about trans but in reality I don't believe that men can be women and women men. Realistically, the best that trans people can expect on the trans issue is to be treated kindly and compassionately because 99.9% of the world will never accept that a biological male is a female and vice versa.

I honestly don't think that people who consider themselves trans are pushing this whole extreme agenda of abolishing the term woman or mother. I think it's extremism with NGO's and extremely well paid extremism. Ireland is probably one of the safest countries in the world to be LGB. I'm not gay so I can't speak for anyone who is. I think it's a huge mistake for LGB organisations to be so vocally and politically pushy on trans issues. Stonewall have lost what little credibility it had and I really don't believe that most LGB people believe the whole trans thing either. You can't really say much on this site without getting warnings for pointing out the obvious. NO amount of warnings or shouts of transphobia or anything else is going to persuade the vast majority of the planet that men are women and women are men just because they feel like they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,415 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Having had the unfortunate need to do time sensitive business in the city yesterday, we really need to look at all the parades and protests that we allow to close the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Is Pascal Donohoe "out"?

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

I'm fed up of it anyway. Why does my banking app have pride colours on it now?

What actual impact does it have in your ability to use the app? The fact pride colours and such being displayed upsets ye so much is pretty funny...

you could call them and ask how to remove it, i'm not being smart i'm serious.

Unless people start talking, this isn't going away

• Registered Users Posts: 965 ✭✭✭SnuggyBear

I'm angry because of this.

Ordinary, decent LGBT-supporting people in this country feeling that they're being overwhelmed with the narrative of the fact they need to do more / support more / prove they are "allies"-kind of thing. You're right, too, as this is what's happening.

As an LGBT person myself, I'm concerned that people like you will develop a silent but growing hostility to the community, and maybe even gay people themselves, because of the behaviour of a minority who are pushing this hard in people's faces.

All of us will get tarred with the same brush.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭donaghs

Were there many homophobic comments in this forum? Maybe I'm not reading those parts, but I didn't seem them. I did see some silly (IMHO) comments about having a "straight pride" parade also, but I don't know if that counts

Post edited by donaghs on