Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE news : Ex-TD expresses concern over handgun licences

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

Deasy is just a waster has been jumping on the American tragedies bandwagon in an attempt to remain relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,772 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

He said members of the Dáil do not have any information about the guns out there, where they are, who is getting them and who is giving out licenses.

1. It's not normally the Dáil's function to know the information above but they can easily find out if they want.
    2. The Gardai are giving out the licences.
    3. The Gardai know what guns they are licencing (out there).
    4. The Gardai know who they are giving licences to.
    5. The Gardai know where they are.

Yer man is fuppin clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,981 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

is he trying to undermine the gardai?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

Look what I found the way he is talking you'd swear lads are walking into service stations with pistols on their hips............

http://www.rte.ie/news/regional/2022/0627/1307100-john-deasy-handgun-legislation/

• Registered Users Posts: 6,641 ✭✭✭Feisar

What does my head in is that drivel like that makes it to print. Does anyone check whether or not one man's ramblings make sense or have some sort of basis in reality.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭richiedel123

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭keith s

• Registered Users Posts: 9,757 ✭✭✭lertsnim

One of the worst TD's Waterford ever sent to the Dáil and that's some achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

The correography is amazing......just as their is a review of Firearms in the offing a dance straight out of the nutcracker plays out across Irish media outlets with what is classic scare tactics....you couldn't make it up,...

• Registered Users Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I read this article on Breakingnews.ie I was amazed at the total ignorance of Greasy Deasy. I thought of this forum when I read it and just wondered where all these young guys were that were going to fight with guns rather than fists. https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/former-td-warns-against-beginning-of-handgun-culture-in-ireland-1325670.html

His fear was that young men would use hand guns to settle disputes rather than their fists.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Some interesting comments, in that smoking incident report, from him.

I think the bolded comments below can apply to shooters in this country that are fed up with shite being flung at us. For once something that he has said that I can agree with.

"I am against the smoking ban. I think it is nanny-stateism."

Mr Deasy rejected any suggestion that he should show a good example, especially as a legislator or potential future Minister for Justice charged with enforcing the ban. Mr Deasy argued: "I pay my taxes. I think I should be allowed to live my life any way I like. I accept the health argument, but I was using a legal product."

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭keith s

Agreed.

The man obviously does whatever he likes, not caring about the health of others.

I'm a smoker and the smoking ban, is to protect those who do not smoke and to protect workers in the workplace,(plus its the law), so I will comply. But they have not outlawed smoking completely, so I agree I pay my taxes and should be allowed live my life and smoke in accordance with the law.

Firearm ownership and the conditions setout for their use are also in the law.

Legal firearm holders (without getting in to specific special cases) are not allowed walk around with firearms or use or brandish them in any situation, location or manner not setout in the conditions of the licence.

This is a classic example of a person who does whatever he wants and to hell with how it effects (affects?) anyone else.

Whether it's smoking in a workplace and breaking the law, or targeting law abiding firearm holders calling them nutjobs “There are nutjobs, and there are nutjobs with guns"

The guy is obviously trying to make waves and be noticed, but he's basically slinging mud at an innocent minority to accomplish his goal. This should tell you all you need to know about the man.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,986 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

At this stage who cares with this utter donkey from Dungarven has to say for himself?

Mr " Its my right to smoke where I want" Deasy's nicotine addiction has killed more people with 2nd hand smoke in a year from lung cancer or emphysema than our pistols have in two decades here.

This man is a has-been politician, with a cushy number given to him by Leo to go off and hobnob with the American Irish ancient order of bigoted Hibernerians and the only reason he is getting any traction is simply that he was the most known political loudmouth on this issue next to that creep, Dermot Aherne, at the time. Again making this incomprehensible and ignorant comparison of what happened in the USA and what might happen in Ireland just shows what an utter ignoramus he is on the topic and should be treated as such.🤣

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Mr Deasy's disgusting nicotine addiction has probably killed more people with 2nd hand smoke in a year than all the legally held firearms have in a decade. The man is a political has been millionare who only got this interview and traction because he was the biggest political loudmouth at the time.. He'll be bawling next like a little Btch about some nasty Emails that he supposedly got from the nasty Irish gunowners... and had to get Garda protection because of it... According to him that is? Was there any follow up to this? anyone arrested?

Compared to the hate mail an average pro-gun politician or advocate gets. Stuff-like threats to burn down your house with you and your family in it, hoping that your wife, daughter, son, and mother are gang-raped and shot. To look under your car every morning for IEDs etc. Being called a C..t is pretty tame stuff... Big cry baby.🙄

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Also,why the Hell should AGS be breaking data protection and privacy laws to be informing politicians or anyone else of what is quite frankly [1] NUNYA! [2] Not qualified to receive such information under the above legislation [3] Have no good reason to possess such without stating for what purposes?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭bpb101

Made a complaint to rte.

absolute dog shite. Has anybody here ever seen a place where you can just buy a glock online and it arrives at your door?

one of his main issue is the gardai dont know what licenses were issued. Really speaks of a fundamental issue at how garda intelligence works.

go to pulse and type

Select count(*) , station from dbo.firearm_licence where type=‘handgun’ groupby station

its not that hard

Amazing how a washed up politician can get air time

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭garrettod

You know, sending in a raft of complaints to RTE about this, is a very good idea, imho.

You can be sure that they'll reject the complaint, so we'll then all need to complain to the BAI, who may or may not agree - but it'll mark RTE's cards for the months ahead (given we're likely to see more crap published about our sport, as this DoJ committee starts to meet etc. )

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭Uinseann_16

A repeat article is up on another site now too ..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Here's the Claire Byrne Show clip:

https://www.rte.ie/radio/radio1/clips/22113647/

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

The key term in this article is ex-TD… hopefully he'll stay that way.

Wonder what he has to say a out the massive constitutional win in the US for gun owners?😂😂

Don't bother with the BAI,its just a defender of RTE and MSM here,as we have seen before.When they wouldn't even do anything with the "bait &switch"interview with William Egan solr on prime time back in 2016. Don't give them any comment or oxygen and the story dies.Only reason that nictione addicted Dungarven Donkey is braying now,is because he is the only angle they have with an Irish connection to an American incidentOh and of course he "worked on Capitol Hill"As a glorified gofer in basically a Summer job to two Republicans!🥱.Same reason they had to ask the dry land ship wreck survivor Grace O Sullivan's opinion on the NZ shooting and NZ gun laws.

Guess that makes me qualified to speak about air combat in Ukraine then,as I used to pass the Top gun AFB Miramar in San Diego every day when I lived there,and when I was doing pilot training in AZ,one instructor was from Ukraine!😂😂

Post edited by Grizzly 45 on

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

This prat has gotten far too much attention than he deserves, he’s an ex TD for a reason. FG aren’t going to listen to someone who tried to take over the party, nor are they going to give him a “win” of any sorts. Best thing we can do is ignore him or get one of our own to show how his policies are stupid and don’t work.

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭judestynes

He seems to be all about the dail being in the dark as the how many and what is licensed in the state, the dail are probably just as much in the dark as to how many excavators are licensed in the state because excavators aren't a problem and neither are legally held firearms and this needs to be pointed out. Comparing well anywhere really to the U.S. is comparing apples and oranges.

Beats me why we cant use comparisons like; Northern Ireland Vs Republic. Polar opposites in gun ownership, and one with concealed carry possibility as well.

The Czech Republic, the "Texas" of Europe and a state in the EU with now more or less the RTKBA enshrined in its constitution.even possible to own full-auto in certain circumstances

Austria, also another state with concealed carry available, and pretty much any firearms,[bar pump-action shotguns for some reason] are available on demand. Both have the same population, more or less as Ireland in gun ownership.

Maybe because one had a Soviet Russian boot on its neck for 50 years, and the other is genuinely neutral and realises an armed population is a good asset to have?

Makes more sense than trying to compare.250 k worth of licensed firearms and a population of +/- 4.75 million that would fit comfortably into Los Angeles as being new to the parish without too much disruption.To a country of close to 400 million people with now well North of half a billion known firearms and an estimated one TRILLION rounds of ammo in private hands. Blue whale and dormouse comparison.

Fabian Connolly should just print off the below and pass it around:

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Oh come on, Reddit as a source? Not to mention the multitude of things wrong with it. It doesn’t differentiate between semi auto rifles and other long guns, it doesn’t bother to classify Russian and British policies, it’s wrong for Romanian regarding handguns and it’s groups are far to wide, lumping in Poland’s lenient policies with Denmark and Greece which are extremely harsh when it comes to semi autos.

It originated from here, fair enough I take yer point however handguns are legal in an awful lot of Europe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,193 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

More restrictions on the tiny number of legally held handguns will be respected by every criminal and ne'er do well. Deasy seems to have puffed away his already limited mental faculties. Maybe something for an anti-smoking campaign - don't smoke away yer brains (like Deasy)!

• Registered Users Posts: 265 ✭✭judestynes

I don't think any new legislation is being considered with criminality in mind, criminals will do what criminals will do. It's ordinary everyday people, legal firearms owners snapping one day out of the blue and going on a rampage that concerns the state. So instead of implementing policies relieving the stress we all feel like capping rents, capping fuel prices, adequate mental health services, functioning public transport proper roads, rewarding employers for implementing flexi working hours so motorways aren't clogged up 6 hours or very day, you know, little things so people including gun owners don't loose their rag and go on a killing spree but I suppose it's easier just to ban guns than do all that hard work.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

legal firearms owners snapping one day out of the blue and going on a rampage that concerns the state

Anyone that goes through all the hoops to get a firearms licence in this country and didn't snap during the process is unlikely to be going on a rampage.

Wake me up when it's all over.