Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 782 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

Ah come on, seriously. Have a look at some of the still images and videos and tell me at least one of the officials wasn't next to it! Your attitude seems to be, if we can't find all the offenders, we shouldn't sanction anyone. Classic whataboutery and so Irish. And of course the players are under these instructions; one in, all in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Staleturnips

"I unfortunately live somewhere with a lot of international day labourers and we all know what they are."

This is not a leading question, but wth does that mean?!

The "we" refers to locals. The rest means what it means.

International day labourers are unemployed IRA men?

No they're employed alright, just probably not on any forms anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

In fairness, McGeeney condemned it unequivocally

Did he? Can you post a link?

What I read was the exact opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Grats

Let me clarify. County Boards do all they can to get bans scrapped. A recent example was the Fahy case. Galway didn't speak out against the player. I don't expect Armagh to speak out either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭SunnySundays

Eyre Square is over run on Saturday with loving father's treating their privileged sons to a latte alright!!! Have you ever stepped foot in Galway?!

The long & short of it is that unless that GAA come out strong on automatic lengthy ban for eye gouging, stamping and blows to the head, with no right to appeal, then this will continue.

If the two previous brawls Armagh were involved in were addressed properly, the likelihood of yesterday's one would be reduced.

Arrgh sure look you couldn't blame them. Nowadays its forms this and computers that, and all it does complicate things. Sure Tom said he wouldn't have minded paying a bitta tax but the bastards wouldn't take cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭Robson99

I just can't see how they can single out anyone in particular. Legals will be all over it. Look at all the videos. Sean Kelly and Nugent done nothing IMO

Lazy cop out by the officials

I don't know why there is such shock about this, these guys are Neanderthals who are waiting to catch up with the rest of the species.

On a serious note, this is the third time this has happened this season and if it wasn't for the eye gouging, it would be seen as just another fracas between over excited players. But it is more than that of course and the GAA either gets to grips with it with lengthy suspensions or hefty fines, or they just come out and say that they are ok with this type of behaviour. By rights there should be action taken by the Armagh County Board, but of course that will not happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,434 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

They seem to have an inferiority complex in both Armagh and Tyrone. As someone said left to the Wolves by the South.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,117 ✭✭✭Field east

So the soccer, rugby ,cricket , rounders, darts, swimming bowls, boxing , etc participants had a totally different experience. Oh wait I forgot that they are all members of the same population so there MUST BE ANOTHER REASON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,117 ✭✭✭Field east

So we better watch out for any Ukranian in our mist when the war is over !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

Lads adrenaline charged to the max. All on the line after a year of training and working for every inch.

Happens in afl, nrl, nfl , nhl etc all the time but it's only the Irish who turn it into a cry fest.

The eye goucher is a scumbag and should face a lengthy ban. A year minimum.

As for the rest of the " incident "?

Move on. Dry the eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90,185 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Am I correct he wasn't playing or a sub, should be banned for life imho either way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

That perennial victim mentality is a fairly common ocurrance. I remember some drunk Nordie in an Irish bar in the US who was roaring and shouting about "bastards in the South"..........someone who knew him said that the fucker had moved to the US when he was about 16 when his father was transferred over as a manager with his company and I'd say he wouldn't have been 5 years old when the GFA was agreed. All he was doing was itching for a row and making himself out to be some sort of IRA hardman. To hear him, you'd think he'd been on hunger strike and been fighting trench warfare with the British army for years.

He was the Nordie equivalent of a LOI fan who shows his sincere Irish patriotism by wearing a Celtic jersey with his grey tracksuit bottoms while running around outside a city-centre pub throwing chairs at lads wearing some other LOI club jerseys. Tiocfaidh ar la!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭jackboy

The frequency of these brawls is definitely decreasing in recent years but not stamped out yet. Twenty years ago, players leaving the pitch in an ambulance after club match brawls was not uncommon and I saw it happening several times. Some club matches used to have large attendances just because a brawl was guaranteed. It is always always the teams with little talent that start these brawls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

He's out injured. So wtf was he even doing there other than being an absolute cnut.

He'll be a hero in Armagh too btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

It will be interesting to see how this plays out. Obviously gouging someones eye is an awful act, but the gaa had a case on donaghy himself previously and they fudged it. Does that mean there is a precedent as regards punishment? This is the end result of punishments not being harsh enough - repeat cases.

Another issue for me is the lead up to it. It is only fair to point out that Comer himself instigated a lot of the melee with his antagonistic atittude. These things have no place in the game and again, the lack of meaningful punishment is a root cause here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

That's where it all starts alright. Verbals are part and parcel of many games but when unnecessary contact is made between players in order for one to goad the other, that needs a red card. Either when the ball is out of play or initiating 'off the ball' carry on when in play. Managers wouldn't be long in stamping it out then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,569 ✭✭✭littlevillage

:-(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

I think this is different from the Fahy incident because Armagh, and presumably Galway also, should be expecting multiple players to get cited after yesterday's incident. Just to be clear this isn't a defence of what Fahy did.

My suggestion that Armagh preempt any action from Croke Park by punishing Kelly themselves was based purely around the (very cynical as I've already said) idea that if the board and McGeeney take some sort of action to publicly show that they are taking what happened seriously then it gives them a better footing when it comes to appealing any other suspensions that might come out of yesterdays match.

At the moment I expect Kelly to get some form of action taken against him and that the GAA will try to hit him with the harshest punishment they can. The images are conclusive provided they get the paperwork right and given the sheer amount of attention it's garnered I'd imagine the GAA will be extra diligent about making charges stick. Best chance he has of potentially getting away with a lighter punishment is for Armagh to put something on the table first.

Why would anybody want the Armagh player to get a lesser ban for God sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭downthemiddle

Look up the rules. Lads contributing to the melee should get a red card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭dog_pig

How long of a ban did McMahon get in 2015?

You still havent named who should get suspensions

If I looked at the video again I could name 10-20 players who contributed to that melee, i.e. card offences in category 3 which merit one match suspensions. Apologies if I'm misunderstanding you, but you seem to be espousing a position that's been institutionalised over the years to tolerate this kind of nonsense and hence you're preconditioned to not want to punish anyone in case you miss one of the perpetrators.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭threeball

Sorry but this is rubbish. Comer was walking off minding his own business when he was shoulder charged into the back by an Armagh player. Comer confronted him and was soon surrounded by 5 Armagh players, then the Galway lads piled in to separate them. Kelly gouged Comer then it kicked off properly with punches flying all sides.

100% on Armagh. I was sat above it looking down and saw it from the first second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

one match (in the following year's league)

his gauge was in the All-Ireland final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Might seem a bit extreme but I think government should take action.

By not imposing serious consequences for incidents like these the GAA are in effect condoning it, they are basically saying to thousands of kids across the country its alright to get into fights and try cause permanent damage to others.

Why should my taxes be given as funding to a body that condones this sort of behavior, hit the GAA with funding fines and you'll see they find a way to fix the issues pretty quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭riddles

in both hurling and football frontal barges or hits into the jaw and side of the head dressed up as attempted shoulders is something that needs to be seriously addressed. Very dangerous stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Even an attempt to be funny doesn't work with this incident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

Hard to imagine Galway having a team for the semi-final if the "contributing to a melee" is the standard as applied to the two players red carded. Unless the GAA fudges and claims this meant it was already dealt with by the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭celt262

He was there as a member off the public and entered the playing field so he will be looking at a ban from all GAA activities including possibility attending games for at least a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭jackboy

Yes, the shoulder charge should be banned. It is extremely difficult to execute a bang on shoulder to shoulder charge, most miss. It’s basically used as an excuse to intentionally injure players. I have seen too many broken collar bones and head injuries over the years. If it was banned the refs job would be much simpler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I would have tried to kick the gouger square in the balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

shoulders are allowed in soccer but you never ever ever see this type of 'tackle'.

some other notables - Lar Corbett vs Waterford, Richie Hogan vs Tipp, John Small last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Treble double

Some of the most iconic moments in the history of the GAA have involved shoulder hits. It's symbolises the physicality of the games. Ya there is a chance of people getting injured but that is half the beauty of it.

Get rid of it and you are getting rid of something that goes to the very core of the games.

Both codes are having enough problems.

Throwing the ball and steps in hurling combined with a lighter ball and larger bas making scores from over halfway common place reducing the spectacle and in football a possession game based on constant handpassing doing the same.

Remove the shoulder and we might as well fold the tent.

Hurling is fast going down the football route as a possession game, hence so many throw balls and overcarrying. Some effort was made in the League to clamp down but come championship it was mainly forgotten, or ignored. The Munster Final typified this where the ref ignored way too much fouling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Treble double

Ya I've said it before, if referees pinged every foul in hurling it would be a free every 30 seconds.

The munster final was a great spectacle because the ref did not enforce the rules. That can't continue or there will be anarchy. For all the bad press football gets I think hurling has more serious issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

As a Galway fan I just want this to be over now. He's already had his trial by social media which is way worse than any punishment. Would far rather be talking about Rain's equalizer or McDaid's equalizer, two of the best moments in recent GAA history. Politicians getting involved on the back of this would sicken your hole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,253 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Never heard so much rubbish talked about a minor incident on a sideline. Bar the gouging, which should be dealt with, it was a handbags incident that happens at times in all games, breaks up and players get on with it. Deal with the gouger/imposter, move the teams to separate dressing rooms on opposite sides of the pitch and get on with the championship.

Excatly. And then you look at the Taoiseach coming out spouting shite about it on the news. Deal with the Gouging and let the GAA get their **** together to stop the off the ball stuff that is going on during the games for a start which contribute to the pushing and shoving afterwards

Missing the point big time here, which is that the GAA are not dealing with it properly. It'll continue to happen until the GAA address it properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Surely that is a precendent for this case then?

It is mad how their wasnt more outcry over that incident when you consider this one. It was far more calculated than this one to my mind, and he came out denying it happened afterwards.

In all honesty, there is more eyegouging going on in the tackle than the gaa have ever been willing to admit to. Ive seen it happen 5 or 6 times at least. Its been caught on replays and nobody ever addressed it in commentary.

I asked you yesterday to name the players that should get suspensions. Your answer was 10 to 20 players. So if thats the GAA's take on it and assuming the GAA take the usual cop out way of doing things [ same amount for both teams ] Galway could end up with 10 players suspended for the Derry game for something they didn't start and were only standing their ground. That will not happen as Legals will have a field day and the GAA will be embarrassed once again

Plus if there was that may suspensions handed out to Galway they could decide not to contest the Semi Final v Derry which would result in a serious loss of revenue for the GAA. Why is this melee any different to all the others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭threeball

I agree. Comer was rightly booked for mouthing at Rafferty after a Galway score. Any blatant mouthing or antagonizing needs to be dealt with immediately. The Armagh sub with the glasses who came on went straight into digging, shouldering and mouthing at Finnerty. Again, he should have seen yellow. Its a very GAA occurrence that should be consigned to the dustbin. I know of no other sport where you can run on, start thumping your direct opponent and its regarded as acceptable. Its even accepted in underage. Lads sent on to intimidate skillful smaller players.

Everything off the ball should be dealt with. No need to stop play. Ball goes dead, the umpires or linemen inform the ref via head set and a yellow or black in given. It will take no more than 2 games for it to resolve itself. In the case of group incidences, if your team are involved in a 2nd incident within 2years they get thrown out of the competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭BrianBoru00

Some amount of bluster and bullshit being spouted here.

Kelly should get a 2 game suspension serving them in next years Championship - no more, no less.. There is precedence here so just follow that and be done with it.

Now what the GAA SHOULD do is to tighten up the disciplinary process. And have this sort of incident a the highest end of the scale.

So for example - say a 6 month ban from all competitions club and county with a minimum of with a minimum of 10 games with Armagh across League and Championship

Melee - Coldrick made an error in even booking anyone unless he had clearly identified the "rd man" into the melee. Everyone else contributed.

He was never going to get it right, should have just approached both managers before E.T. and said that he would be taking very strict / zero tolerance approach for the remainder of the game.

Apart from the gouge and the subsequent punch from the Galway sub I'm not sure there's much to be done - The vast majority of it was handbags stuff. As mentioned "contributing to the melee" means everyone of the players and subs in picture should get suspended if that's being followed.

But how in the name of God the two players red carded were singled out ...