Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiernan Kelly Incident

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,253 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

If it was a streaker they would be taken away by the Gardai.

What are the Gardai there for if not to intervene when a member of the public comes onto the pitich with malicious intent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

Ara, peacekeepers. There are very few actual peacekeepers in any skirmish ive seen. Plenty guys acting it and then giving the opposition fella a big push or shoulder. Funny they never push their own team mate...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

The changing room aspect is important. We have all seen melee incidents where players literally sprinted 30m to get involved, in this case players were already coming together in order to go into the tunnel. It isn't clear how it started, but perhaps there is a case for sanction of the players involved there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,395 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

No problem at all with physical play within the laws. How do you differentiate though between a 'mistimed shoulder' and a deliberate act to put someone out of the game? They can be made to appear the same and it's not yet possible to read the tackling players mind.

And does the GAA stop or does it even want to stop the regular 'off the ball' shenanigans? Maybe that's just part of the game too, foul as much as you can get away with etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well the remarks were aimed at O'Rourke and his team and he was retired by then.

That 1996 Meath team had about 5 or 6 teenagers. Lads literally just out of minor the previous year. I think Mayo thought they could bully them and got a shock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭celt262

Do you not think there is a difference ? No matter what way it is painted Kelly was at the game as a supporter the same as you and me have been many times and he chose to enter the field of play to carry out a assault. Should we give free reign to supporters to carry out such acts in future and then say they are great role models?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Suckler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭jacool

Fair point, but I don't think Kelly came out of the stands, like a streaker would.

Having said that, he certainly showed some naked aggression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭mikethecop

I seen this lad didn't like it up off the ground , his club backing him and playing the victim just as some other posters here predicted

defending the undefendable just makes you look like a scumbag like kelly lads

as for the sad sacks blaming it on the troubles or the british or what ever that's really really pathetic , scum bags will be scumbags weather you people try to excuse them or not , if the gaa tolerate this sort of trash on its national stage then its time to start cutting funding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 80 ✭✭BarneyJ

Don't be dismissive of yourself and your height Baywatch. Some of the world's best men are small in stature. Napoleon, Michael D. Higgins, Nicolas Sarkozy, Paul Daniels, and Yoda to name just a handful. Judge them by their size, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭threeball

He did nothing bar defend himself. If I ran up and shouldered you into the back in a club match I'm sure you'd just smile at me and carry on into the dressing room. Like hell you would, you'd square up like 99.9% of players would. Comer didn't throw a punch, headlock someone or stick his fingers in someones eyes. He grabbed a person who blindsided him by the jersey. If that's worthy of a ban then then half the Armagh team should be banned for good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭tanko

When Philly McMahon gouged Kieran Donagheys eye did Jim Gavin throw him off the panel for a year or put out a statement condemning it, did he fook. I see lads calling for lifetime bans, how long did McMahon get banned for. Was Paul Galvin banned for life for gouging an opponents eye?

John Small put a Mayo player in hospital, broke his jaw and knocked out some of his teeth but sure that was just a mistimed shoulder after lining him up from five yards away, it wasn’t even a free iirc. The hypocrisy in most of the reaction to what happened on Sunday is pathetic but not surprising.

This clip shows Comer running after an Armagh player to challenge him then push him and throw his shoulder into another player. He is no innocent in this, he was also giving plenty of lip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,566 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is no hypocrisy. We are talking about a specific incident at a match we’ve just seen…. none of us are comparing anything. Apart from you.

Actually you however are simply indulging in whatabouttery and coming back to a player and incident who neither he or his team were involved in this incident or match…the one that is being discussed. Laughable but unsurprisingly it comes back to moaning about Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

I would ban Armagh from next year’s championship if I was president of the gaa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

This is the downside of a discussion forum such as this, I replied to someone else and now you reply to me changing the context completely. The issue initially raised was why the Gardaí did not get involved.

Nobody said there should not be "serious sanctions". The question was why the Gardaí and the legal system was not the adjudicating authority. I did my best to answer that and that alone. I have no idea what your "half educated people" jibe was about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

It wasn't a jibe, and was not directed at you personally. I read your post and saw something in it that I wanted to discuss, that's all. I think you read my post and assumed it was me having a go at you. It wasn't!

And I’d ban Oisin Mcconville from the RTÉ panel too.

And I would put a lifetime covid lockdown 5km ban on TK, he shouldn’t be allowed outside Armagh again. Let him gouge eyes of his own people up there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,222 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Colm O'Rourke nailed it for me on RTE GAA podcast. Spot on.

So Comer started the whole thing. Is everyone happy that he be banned for 2 games? (apart from the gouger, of course).

Who said he 'started' the whole thing. Not I.

I said he was no innocent in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭testtech05

Numerous people who were at the game have stated here that the Armagh player had hit comer with a shoulder from behind and he followed and returned the compliment as seen in the video and then it all kicked off from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭dobman88

He didnt. The cameras just started following it from when he shouldered into the Armagh man after he bumped him from behind first.

I was sitting in row N, directly in front of the incident and as soon as we saw the Armagh men shout at Comer and one of them make contact with him, we knew a row would follow.

Tbf, it was all just pushing and shoving after an emotional end to the game until the gouge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,513 ✭✭✭✭charlie14

You may have just seen the live broadcast camera angle and not the second camera angle. It wasn`t aimed at the shoulder and it wasn`t mistimed either. It was a reckless frontal charge and a red card offense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,700 ✭✭✭celt262

All the above while dirty acts by the said players were carried out during a game by footballers on the field. This attack was carried out by a member of the public who had no right to enter the field off play and he needs the book thrown at him.

Ironically courtesy of Armagh, neither Comer or anyone else can be sanctioned for contributing to a melee and not win on appeal. Armagh had four cited for their second melee of the year in the last league match of the year against Donegal. Donegal had two and accepted the sanction which meant those two could not play in the opening game of the championship, Armagh appealed and got their four off.

Their appeal was based on it not being clear what constituted a melee, and despite being asked for clarification by referees none had been provided by the GAA. From that there is no way I can see anybody sanctioned for contributing to a melee not winning their appeal as well.

I would not look on it as coincidence with this latest being Armagh`s third time involved in a melee this year, they were not aware of that and knew damn well what they were at. Other than Tiernan Kelly for gouging, and unfortunately the Galway sub that that gave him the least he deserved on the day they are the only two that will end up with match bans unless some others threw punches or used headlocks and from what I saw Comer did neither.

Other than Coldrick red carding Galway`s Kelly and Armagh`s Nugent because they were captains of both teams I could see no other reason for it. If that was the thinking from Coldrick it was a bit of a brain-fart as there is noting in the rules to justify that.

Which is exactly what I said he did, immediately after being shouldered in the back by that same player. Would you just ignore that? He shoved one and grabbed the Jersey of another. Hardly a red card offence.

Nothing to do with what I would do or you.

You retaliate, you get punished too.

Takes two sides to cause a melee.

Comer can't be accused of causing a melee. That falls on the third person involved. In this case an Armagh player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Banning players from the team that lost is a bit of a joke.......they won’t be playing till next January anyway.

Big county board fine is the answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

Yeah, i was at the game as stated already on the thread Comer was walking off the pitch, 20 yards from the side line when he was charged into from behind by Armagh player.

Comer followed after him, the cameras picked it up from there on but the first aggressive act which caused the melee was from the Armagh player.

If during that melee the Kelly lad got a shove or puck in the back or arm, accidentally or on purpose, Comer might have lost his sight.

its a bizarre situation where you have knuckle dragging GAA stalwarts excusing somebody gouging somebody’s eye…. Not good.

If you retaliate you are part of the cause of the melee. It takes two sides to have a melee. If it was just Armagh hitting Galway players it would be an attack.

There were two sides involved. Whatever happened before the camera picked it up Comer is seen to follow an Armagh player and use his shoulder twice at the start of the clip. The Armagh player intervenes and the melee kicks off. Had Comer walked away it wouldn't have escalated.

A choice was made to eye gouge.. whomever or whatever started it was immaterial. A choice was made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Lads like that have the skin of a rhinoceros and hang out with apes who will pat him on the back for the rest of his life for this incident, won't be a bother on him

Galway were as willing to take part in the Melee as Armagh so they may appreciate the ruling as much as anyone.

I even wonder if Coldrick sent off the two caprtains in the knowledge that they could get off and take part in the semi final.

You don't even know what a melee is. A melee is 3 or more person's involved. Hence the rule that the 3rd person in gets punished. You cannot by definition contribute to a melee when there are only two people involved. Armagh instigated and Armagh players started the melee by being 3rd and 4th to become involved.

I saw two teams having at each other. Comer retaliated and it went from there.

You want to condone retaliation, have at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Are you kidding me? Meath started the whole smozzle like everything they did in the 1980s and 1990s. Delighted to see the end of them in 2001 with the Galway massacre.

If Coldrick red carded the two captains for being captains, and even if I never rated him that highly as a referee, even for him it would be idiotic, but there does not appear to be any other reason.

If you have two teams where one has been involved in two of these melees this year already, and one has benefited by getting away with it due to their argument of lack of clarification as to what constitutes a melee being accepted on appeal, then they are the team I would look at as most likely being aware there was nothing for them to lose by being involved in another such melee. As far as I know there has been no further clarification by the GAA on what constitutes a melee in the interim 8 weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Well whatever grudge you have, I can't help that. I had a look at the Sunday game analysis and you are indeed correct about who started the row. It was Darren Fay sneakily running out from full back with the ball in his arms who craftily uses his neck to attack the outstretched forearm of poor Ray Dempsey who is just behind him. Not content with that, he strikes Anthony Finnerty's elbow with his chin.

Ya know, the standard way to start a row. If he hadn't succeeded with those moves, then he would likely have had to resort to the tried and trusted tactic of falling on the ground and headbutting some poor fellas boot a few times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Sonny678

THE facts are Meath had one of the greatest manager ever and some of the greatest players of the last 50 year. Meath had one of the greatest managers of all time. The only manager who won All Ireland with no underage sucess along with kevin heffernan eg Boylan 87 88, Heffernan 74. The only manager to win All Ireland with pile of u21s, the youngest teams ever to win Sam along with Mick Dwyer eg Boylan 96 Dwyer 75. One of the few manager to come from nowhere to win Sam eg boylan 96 Dublin 74 Heffernan, Kerry 75 Dwyer, McGrath Down 91 and O Mahoney 98 Galways. And Sean Boylan is the only manager in hurling or football to win All Irelands with two different teams.

Those Meath team had the only two time footballer of the year along with Brian Fenton Trevor Giles, the best footballer in Ireland at end of 90s along with Michael Donellan.

Brian Stafford Another Footballer of the Year. A man who was scoring 7 8 or 9 pts in semis finals and finals, one of the greatest freetakers of the last 40 years

Colm O Rourke one of the few footballers to Footballer of the year and lost a final. At his peak was best forward in Ireland.

And O Rourke along with Stafford and Bernard Flynn made up best full forward line of the last 40 years and the best full forward line ever after Egan Liston Dwyer

Bernard Flynn was best corner forward in ireland 1988 to 1991. Mickey Sheedy said his performance in 1991 All Ireland final was the greatest performance he ever saw by corner forward in All Ireland final ever.

Robbie O Malley corner back on 87 88 team is considered one the greatest corner backs ever. He is the only corner back along with Marc O se to win Footballer of the year. Michael O Muiritigh said O Malley was the best corner back he saw play. O Mallely was voted right corner back on greatest All star team ever

Martin O Connell, another Footballer of the Year defender, the greatest left half back in history of the game. He is only modern player on the team of Millenium.

Mick Lyons was best full back of the 1980s Ws full back on three international rules teams in a row

Darren Fay was best full back of the 1990s Was full back on three international Ireland rules teams in a row

Gerry McEntee/ Liam Hayes were won of the best midfield partnership in the country in late 80s

Tommy Dowd was one of the best forwards in Ireland in mid 90s as he won 3 all stars in row in 1994 1995 1996 and 4th all star one in 1991.

John McDermont was one of the best midfielders in Ireland in late 90s 96 to 99 was best midfielder captaining sucessful International rules Irish team

Graham Geraghty is the most talented footballer ever to play for Meath. And one of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years. When he was wing back in 1994 he was best wing back in Ireland that year, when he was wing forward in 1996 he was best wing forward in Ireland that year and when he was full forward he was best full forward in Ireland in 99. One of the few all star defenders and forwards and the only top gaa player in last 40 years was top class wing back, top class wing forward, top class full forward

Ollie Murphy was the best corner forward in Ireland 1999 to 2001

And i could mention Joe Cassells, David Beggy, Evan Kelly, Colm Coyle, Mark O Reilly.

Thats why Meath won in 14 years 4 All Ireland titles, reached 7 All ireland finals, won 8 leinster titles, beat Dublin in 7 leinster finals and 3 national league div 1 title. Defeated Dublin incredible 8 times and 4 draws in the championship and draw and win over Dublin in div 1 league final. Great performances like beating Cork in All Ireland final by 5 pts pulling up. Beating Dublin by 9 pts in 88 league final div 1. Winning two in a row in 88 final. The 4 game saga with Dublin, scoring one of the greatest goals ever in championship. A saga that saved gaa after world cup fever and herald in modern age of gaa. The 8 pt defeat of Amragh in 94 league final with total football. The great All Ireland semi finals over Tyrone by 9 pts in 96, Amragh by 6 pts in 99 and kerry by 15 pts in 01. Kerry worst defeat ever in championship. Meath total performacne that day v kerry. That Meath team played brillant attacking swashbuckling football. 3 games saga with kildare, 2nd game is considered one of the greatest games ever. In nearly every official poll, list in papers r forums etc 87 88 Meath team is considered one of the great gaa team ever in top 7 or 8. 96 99 is one of the greatrst team ever to come out of leisnter. leaving Meatb 87 88 team and Dublin teams to one side Meath 96 99 team is best team to come out of leisnter in last 70 years winning 2 All Ireland titles in 4 years.

Post edited by Sonny678 on

Thats disgusting thing to call any other human being. It must be error, I wil clarify for you. Some greatest player ever to play gaa in last 50 years eg

Those Meath team had the only two time footballer of the year along with Brian Fenton Trevor Giles, the best footballer in Ireland at end of 90s along with Michael Donellan.

Brian Stafford Another Footballer of the Year. A man who was scoring 7 8 or 9 pts in semis finals and finals, one of the greatest freetakers of the last 40 years

Colm O Rourke one of the few footballers to Footballer of the year and lost a final. At his peak was best forward in Ireland.

And O Rourke along with Stafford and Bernard Flynn made up best full forward line of the last 40 years and the best full forward line ever after Egan Liston Dwyer

Bernard Flynn was best corner forward in ireland 1988 to 1991. Mickey Sheedy said his performance in 1991 All Ireland final was the greatest performance he ever saw by corner forward in All Ireland final ever.

Robbie O Malley corner back on 87 88 team is considered one the greatest corner backs ever. He is the only corner back along with Marc O se to win Footballer of the year. Michael O Muiritigh said O Malley was the best corner back he saw play. O Mallely was voted right corner back on greatest All star team ever

Martin O Connell, another Footballer of the Year defender, the greatest left half back in history of the game. He is only modern player on the team of Millenium.

Mick Lyons was best full back of the 1980s Ws full back on three international rules teams in a row

Darren Fay was best full back of the 1990s Was full back on three international Ireland rules teams in a row

Gerry McEntee/ Liam Hayes were won of the best midfield partnership in the country in late 80s

Tommy Dowd was one of the best forwards in Ireland in mid 90s as he won 3 all stars in row in 1994 1995 1996 and 4th all star one in 1991.

John McDermont was one of the best midfielders in Ireland in late 90s 96 to 99 was best midfielder captaining sucessful International rules Irish team

Graham Geraghty is the most talented footballer ever to play for Meath. And one of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years. When he was wing back in 1994 he was best wing back in Ireland that year, when he was wing forward in 1996 he was best wing forward in Ireland that year and when he was full forward he was best full forward in Ireland in 99. One of the few all star defenders and forwards and the only top gaa player in last 40 years was top class wing back, top class wing forward, top class full forward

Ollie Murphy was the best corner forward in Ireland 1999 to 2001

And i could mention other quality footballers like Joe Cassells, David Beggy, Mark O Reilly, Evan Kelly, Stephen Bray

Post edited by Sonny678 on

Problem was Cork were bitter because Meath kept beating them. Cork thought kerry were gone, we beat Dubs for first time ever in 89 we are going dominate gaa. But this average leisnter county with average rural population circa 100000 ( the smallest population after Offaly to win Sam in last 60 years) just kept beating Cork. Meath loved playing Cork. Cork hated Meath, Meath kept beating them, until 1990 and Meath team began to decline. What the press the whole country was saying up to 1990 final was Cork couldnt beat Meath, they did finally but at the 5th attempt. Meath are Corks bogey team in Finals. Meath have played Cork in 5 All Ireland finals in 55 years losing once eg Cork and Meath met in 5 finals in 1967 1987 1988 draw 1988 replay 1999, Meath lost once.

• In 4 years between 1987 and 1990 Meath played Cork in 5 massive games in Croke Park and Meath lost once.

Main reason Meath forwards. Meaths full forward line is legendary one of the greatest. Cork full forward was decent. Meath full forward line had two footballers of the years, Cork full forward line won 0 footballers of the year. Meath full forward line all three player won all star, only one Cork inside forward won All star in full forward line. Meath full forward line won 9 all stars Cork won 2 all star ( Paul Mcgrath won 2). Everyone knows Meath full forward line its the greatest after Egan Liston Sheedy. Brian Stafford scored more in one year than whole Cork full forward line. Cork full forward line those years was Paul McGrath Dinny Allen John Cleary , solid line, but no footballer of the year forwards like O Rourke Stafford. Meath were better team, and ats peak Cork couldnt handle that Meath team. Forwards win you All irelands, Meath had better forwards. Meath also had two footballer of the year defenders eg O Malley O Connell. None of the Cork defenders won footballer of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 707 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

What's the bloody delay? Its Thursday. No decision on anything. Everything the GAA does is amateur and its worse they are improving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I was born in 1975, so was at an impressionable age when Meath team were going well in 88/89 and beyond, but they are my favourite team to this day.

If you listen to Tompkins talk about 1987, he knew in his first training that Cork were no where near ready for Meath. It was the challenge and standard set by Meath which gave Cork the boost to win two in a row.

I don't think there is any bitterness now with the players; I think there was until Mick McCarthy's funeral when the Meath lads travelled down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Old_-_School

Meath the only team to win with a pile of u21s?

Kerry in 75 had 5 u21s, 13 u23s and the oldest player was 25.

Kerry in 78 had 5 u21s also.

4 of the u21s in 78 (Mick Spillane, Jack O'Shea, Charlie Nelligan and Sean Walsh) won an u21 and minor in 75 i.e. played 4 years of u21.

Charlie Nelligan, straight after winning the minor AI in 75, sat on the bench as sub-goalie for the seniors.

He also won a minor B hurling AI in 75, so he won 4 intercounty All-Irelands in 75.

Jack O'Shea won Player of the Year 4 times, so Giles and Fenton don't have the record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 313 ✭✭NedsNotDead

Please don't encourage the OP. Otherwise they'll just keep writing thesis after thesis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

To be fair, it's a fair bit more thought out and evidence based than some of the bile and personalised stuff that flowed here during the week. Let's at least acknowledge that.