Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭ZenNature

Who said NATO needed to fire on the Russian ships. Theres probably a hundred other things it would have been useful for, albeit highly dangerous..

I guess me (the one some of you think is some Putin bot) is the only one who thinks it might have been useful if NATO didnt do a runner from The Black Sea a few weeks before the Invasion started and a few Ukrainian lives might have been saved and Putins military ambitions in Eastern Ukraine curtailed by the prescence of NATO warships .

Now wasnt someone else here asking how we will escort Ukraine grain out of the sea ports.

I know maybe we could use some ships with mine detection capability to escort the Ukraine grain (before it rots very shortly) out of the ports so it can feed the millions threatened by famine in developing mations.

Oh hang on we dont have any ships with mine detection available to escort the grain to regions threatened by famine , because the strategic planners in NATO thought it wise to leave that area whilst at the same time telling the world Russia was about to invade.

Sure having he ships there could have caused an escalation, do we need an escalation maybe to force Putin to stop

• Registered Users Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Economics101

Surely you mean Jewish ancestry, not Israeli. There is a difference, even if Israel has a law of return applying to all Jews.

I don't want to deflect away from Russia to Israel, but the huge influx of Russian Jews into Israel has diluted the influence of an earlier generation with a Central and Western European ancestry. Russia's malign political culture has influenced Israel's politics, and not for the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭Field east

Another post using Putins Disinformation strategy. Bits of truth here and there, bits of information showing us that you are on the Ukr side , bits of doubting type information , bits of half truth, bits of what if, bits of whataboutary, bits of opinions that are one sided, etc, etc, etc.

all with the purpose of sowing confusion , sowing the seeds of doubt, create division, etc, etc,etc. I, at least know what you are at.

ONE KEY thing jumped out from your post that blows ‘your cover’ with regards to how knowledgable you claim to have with all your assertions ie I assume that the UKranians have been storing recently harvested grain for years and they well know how to keep it from ROTTING unless, of course the Russians blew the roofs off the grain stores. Have you forgotten that Ukr exports a very high percentage of grain used internationally so why would it let grain rot if it is used as a very significant foreign / income earner. You again picked the WOrST POSSIBLE scenario of another aspect of the war in the broadest sense to sow some doubt , etc, etc.

HO WAIT, maybe you are right. If grain under adequate cover, ie a good roof, is left there long enough, eg 10 years + and VERMIN - of ALL types including two legged types if they get short taken- p-ss on it on a continual basis then deterioration takes place including secondary infection and maybe leading to rotting.

you are some detail with your rotting idea. Will you get up the yard and stay there until called down

PS the Ukr seem to be very good to date of getting rid of ‘vermin ‘so I do not think that wermin will be a problem for them

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bennyineire

delete please

• Registered Users Posts: 7,346 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

https://www.google.com/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/world/2015/sep/20/russia-funds-moscow-conference-us-eu-ukraine-separatists

Irish participants at the conference told the Guardian that they had no Kremlin links and were simply taking an opportunity to promote their cause. 

Sinn Féinmember Diarmaid Mac Dubhghlais compared the eastern Ukraine conflict to the “Ireland of years ago”, arguing that the pro-Russian rebels were fighting a “fascist government” in Kiev.”

Just remember this……

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bennyineire

Moments like this reminds us why the E.U. was set up in the first place and what it really stands for, I am proud to live in a country that is a member state

• Registered Users Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

Former US Defense Secretary James Mattis had this to say yesterday,

“The tragedy of our time is that Putin is a creature straight out of Dostoevsky. He goes to bed every night angry, he goes to bed every night fearful, he goes to bed every night thinking that Russia is surrounded by nightmares and this has guided him,”

Dan.

Unfortunately, it now looks like Odesa is the next target for Russia.

Has anyone heard about the story about China smuggling Missile parts into Russia from the Siberia est land border?

Dan.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For an occasional viewer it's amazing you hit the bullet points of their more measured end of things right on the nose.

Oh certainly they have a part to play, but oil and gas are the biggest sticks of all. If all they had were those items listed they'd have fecked off months ago. In Soviet Union days the rest of the world got by without pretty much all of the above. Back then import/export foreign trade was less than 4% of the Soviet's economy. Of course back then Mother Russia had a command economy, loads of vassal states and a much higher population among them and within Russia herself. Though Mother Russia is pulling out the starve the poor stick, trying to get developing nations behind them against the "Monstrous West" and there are enough eejits in the developing world that will ignore the "FACT" that without putin and his minion's Ukrainian misadventure they wouldn't be threatened with rumbling bellies in the first place.

If putin wants some return to Soviet glory days, I say let him have it. He may even get it too. After this shítshow ends and end it will, few of any real import will be too willing to deal with them, or more, rely on them in the future. Well the Chinese and India will buy oil and gas at firesale prices when it suits(as they always have and long before this war too). That should be enough to keep the oligarchs in caviar.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I am more than ever swinging towards Russian influence in German politics. With people like Merkel not so much. I personally think she was trying to engage with Russia and that was a mistake borne on the back of German collective guilt stuff and Cold War concerns. But people like Scholz? Never mind someone like ex PM Gerhard Schroder magically ending up on the board of a Russian gas company... That's dodgier than a 20 quid "Rolex".

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭timmyntc

So Lisichansk looks like it will be totally encircled within the next 7 days, if it does infact fall it will significantly reduce the length of the frontlines and the Russians will be able to press Bakhmut and Siversk with far more manpower too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Oh for sure. The amazing thing is how stuff like this has continued on for years, and many people have just seemingly breezed past it. Even with all the malign activities of the russian state the last number of decades, all this pandering and acceptance has resulted in a place where social and personal responsibility just evaporated.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,424 ✭✭✭Dubh Geannain

It looks like the HIMARS were at play with the last bombardment of Snake island.

Locating them around the Odessa Oblast puts them out of reach of accurate Russian artillery but importantly within 70 or so miles of Kherson and its surrounding areas. Could be part of the reason for the Op-sec on that front as Ukraine look to put them to proper use there.

I suspect that's why Odessa is under a fresh bombardment in the last day also with blind missiles launched by Russian aircraft aimed in the direction of Bilhorod-Dnistrovs'kyi. Bilhorod-Dnistrovs'kyi which is 60 miles from Snake island. Goodwill gesture my backside.

Try and contain your giddiness. Russia, attacking the poorest (albeit recently well backed weapons/intelligence wise) country in Europe has been pinned back for over 4 months. We grew up thinking the USSR could sweep NATO aside and be in London in weeks. Fuk sake, Russia cannot even re-establish its former USSR borders going full tilt with its standing army. Are you simply not embarrassed?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

At Donetsk direction Russian army attempting to block Lysychansk and seize Lysychansk-Bakhmut highway. Russian artillery shelled Lysychansk, Verkhniokamianka and Siversk. Russian aviation conducted airstrike near Vovchoyarivka. Assaults continue at Verkhniokamianka and Lysychansk refinery, - General Staff of Armed Forces of Ukraine says in the morning report

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

A lot of Russians in Israel have an extremely tenuous Jewish family background. Various Jewish activist agencies just want to stack the country with anyone who has so much attended a neighbour's bat mitzvah to ensure a Jewish majority.

These immigrants are generally very right wing, a lot of them exist in a parallel society where they don't bother learning Hebrew and speak only Russian.

Israel will pay the price for this eventually (as they are doing so already with their politics lurching to the hard right).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,429 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Why would I be embarrassed for a country I have no relations with or affinity to?

Ukrainian military is definitely antiquated, 90% of their gear having been ex-soviet, but it also had pre-war/has the largest standing army in Europe. With all the NATO training and arms you would have hoped they would be able to repel the Russians, certainly with all the heavy weapons supplied and more promised you would think theyd make some serious inroads. However other than small gains around Kherson they have achieved very little in the past few months since Russians shifted from Kiev toward Donbas.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Fiery mutant

Seriously?!

They have went from bring seriously rolled on, to inflicting massive casualties and serious damage to the supposed second strongest army in the world, in a period of 8 years.

Name another nation who has undergone such a transformative change in such a short space of time.

We should defend our way of life to an extent that any attempt on it is crushed, so that any adversary will never make such an attempt in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭JoChervil

I think Ukrainians care more about people - their soldiers as well as civilians in the occupied areas - as well as about infrastructure. The more ruthless one is the bigger advances one can make.

They can wait a month or two for weapons, which will make safer for them to progress.

"...you would have hoped they would be able to repel the Russians,"

Seriously, what drugs are you on... Normally, I'd be carded for such a comment, but anybody is welcome to report this post, because it's quite plausibly true.

WHO said on the 24th of February that Ukraine was expected to repel the Russians? WHO... nobody did. The consensus was that they'd collapse. Since then they have had some support, but as you said they had an antiquated army which has been modestly supplemented by some Modern weapons, but there has been 'time to train' delays... don't get me wrong, they WILL Repel the invaders... but to have done so by now would have been miraculous. SMH.  

Depends on what you mean by repel - could things be worse - yes - could they be better, also yes.

Just because you aren't losing as badly as expected doesn't mean you still aren't losing - from that POV yes Ukraine have failed to fully repel the Russians. Otherwise the swathes of red on these maps would be blue instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,173 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Of course you watch RT on rumble it's not like you have much choice apart from NTV Gazprom or Publi TV of Russia. BTW have you started to aquire a taste for those McHorsemeat burgers that are now selling in Moscow?

They've actually been supplied with few enough heavy weapons, hence their daily desperate calls for more. Promised is of bugger all use until they actually arrive, so that's not even in play. The Russians have a large advantage there, especially in artillery. Their airforce was dwarfed by Russia before this all started and is even more dwarfed now. Same for tanks and other heavy fighting vehicles. They've no navy to speak of at all. Bugger all cruise missiles either.

A better question might be; how could an apparently overwhelming force like Russia totally screw up taking Kyiv having to turn and run and before most of the western weapons were in play? And how come an apparently overwhelming force like Russia now having somewhat copped on and focusing their forces are making such slow progress?

Er, Repel was your word. It seems a clear enough word to me.

Again, nobody not peering at the world through very slanted glasses would be anything but impressed to amazed with how well Ukraine has stood up to the mighty* Russian army. You can pedal your narrative for as long as you like, nobody will seriously consider it worthy of debate (nor yourself I suspect, but, you know... needs must).

And call what Russia has achieved what you like... my money isn't on Putin replacing the EU flag in the Ukrainian parliament... EVER. Sucks, doesn't it.

*It was considered such by some at least up until the 24th of February, 2022 ... (revision ongoing)

I mean the fact that Russia still holds large amounts of territory in east and south implies that they have not been repelled - if they were then they wouldnt be in the country. At this point its semantics on what you consider repelling vs what I do.

And call what Russia has achieved what you like... my money isn't on Putin replacing the EU flag in the Ukrainian parliament... EVER. Sucks, doesn't it.

..What? Where did I ever say anything about this? You're just being needlessly bitter here - do you think I am one of those putinbots under the bed you see everywhere or what? I have no affinity for Russia in any sense, so why would it suck that they wont take the Verkohvna Rada? I would think its quite a good thing, do you not agree?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Sanctions make life difficult for Russia, but unfortunately they won't make it impossible for Russia to carry on this war. As long as Russia continues to receive a billion a day from energy revenue, I am sure they will be able to get a lot of what they need on the black market. There will always be people out there willing to flout sanctions if they can turn a buck. China and India hoovering up Russian oil on the cheap is only what we can see.

Theyve gotten a fair amount of howitzers from Italy, France and US, theyve all been in use to some effect certainly.

Russian army suffers from the same corruption as Ukrainian, only advantage Russia has is that they have had the funds to buy newer weapons and planes and crucially, missiles. But in terms of the troops and organisation of their armed forces, there is serious corruption and rot. Same as rest of society over there. At least Ukrainians have had NATO training, Russians have only had joint trainings with the Chinese and their "made in China" armies.

They were never going to take Kiev by force - they likely thought if they surrounded it the Ukrainian government would surrender, but they got bogged down and failed. Encirclement is really their only tool, as they alternative is totally flatten cities and shoot on sight

Dan.