Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wimbledon 2022

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,545 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Like Murray a lot too, but I don't think he ever, at any stage, surpassed the peak of any of the big three 🙂

Shapovalov goes out meekly in the second round by 3 sets to 1 to ATP ranked 56 Brandon Nakashima,

That lad Shapovalov, he's no Paul-Henri Mathieu, that's for sure!

Murray - same number of slams as Stan the Man.

Except that Stan has a 75% return on Grand Slam finals (3/4)

Murray has a 27% return on Grand Slam finals (3/11)

Not quite the final performer on the level of Stan obviously with Stan being nearly 3 times as effective.

Murray did get to No.1 I will give him that but at what cost - he was playing almost every week in the hunt for ATP points and that's when his hip issues started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,615 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

From late 2012 to late 2013 he was clearly the number one player in the world. Worst case scenario he was just about the best player in the world, but he was the best. Then the injuries really took their toll, just as he put it altogether

Ye I'll accept that. Watching him the last few years, I thought he had a huge game, but it's actually worse he's getting. Very poor the last while really, where I assumed he'd be pushing on.

Going to bring that up everytime? This from the Federer fanboy, turned Djokovic fanboy?

Also never claimed anywhere Mathieu was much good, just always liked his aesthetics after seeing him lose to Federer in an early round of Wimbledon years back. Thought he had bags of natural talent, but ever only in patches, but for whatever reason hit a wall in terms of developing and pushing on. Very mercurial player, just was always interested watching him play. Wasn't saying it to be a "hipster", but believe what you want

I was never a Fed fan.

Not sure where you get that.

Decent player in his day, if a bit suspect mentally but big smell of maintained fakeness off him for me personally.

His Wimbledon blazers with shorts made me gag also with the absolute pretentiousness and self-loveness of them.

ah the PHM thing was a bit of a laugh.

certainly does come across like somebody going on about some obscure music band.

No genuinely followed Mathieu's career. Was a more promising French youth than Gasquet, still don't know where it went wrong for PHM. Always liked watching him play though, bursts of genius.

Ye he came about as you tried ridiculing me over Hewitt, which was strange, seeing as he's a great great player. Battered Sampras many times, who was one of the greatest ever, which people like to forget, several years before he retired. And battered Federer plenty of times too

you do have a penchant for having some alternative opinions on certain players alright I'll give you that.

but we hardly need to revisit old ground there.

You may consider it alternative, but it was the reality. "Hewitt dominated a transition era", biggest myth, he wiped the floor with Sampras' generation, to the point people say Sampras was just too old. Hewitt was hammering him 3 years earlier to his retirement. If it was boxing, we'd be saying he cleared the division

• Registered Users Posts: 275 ✭✭squigglestrebor

Roger federer description - "Decent player in his day, if a bit suspect mentally but big smell of maintained fakeness off him for me personally"

Thats just baiting.

He was suspect mentally. When it was put up to him, the unforced errors came. He dominated for a period where Hewitt was done with injuries, and before Nadal arrived. When they put it up to him either side of that era, he was suspect, and always was since 08.

Hewitt broke him mentally in Davis cup in 5 sets after he won Wimbledon, this after Hewitt was wrote off with injury. Grinded him, Federer broke mentally. Hewitt was done by this point. First time the world seen him wilt on the big stage, as he had arrived by this point

Didn't see your last point, and I've heard it before, I think it's a myth. The others were just so good, it took that much out off Murray and finished his career?

Nonsense, big 3 fan boy stuff. He was simply unlucky with injury. He had Djokovics' number, Djokovic wasn't so good it killed Murray to compete. In fact Murray beat him with considerable ease on more than one occasion over this period.

Murray's game evolved to the point it was complete, with few weaknesses, the rest of the big 3 were stumped. Murray became the best, make no mistake about it. Murray was set to take over just as injuries hit, he had the most complete game, it should of been his time

Sorry are you talking about Roger Federer? Decent player in his day, hahahahahahaha

Jaysis , Draper looks fantastic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,373 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

He is playing really well isn't he! Should really have broke in this second set, De Minaur is very solid as well to be fair.

Two more break points missed by Draper...really good quality match so far!

That was such a huge hold you feel, best rallies ive seen so far anyways.

Definitely agree, terrific rallies some seriously hard hitting, both really fit.

This is a really terrific match! Second set tiebreak. Draper edging it but didn't take those break points...could be made to pay..

De Minaur....wow...terrific tiebreaker 7-0!

Draper looks a bit shell shocked! Broken in first game of the third set...yikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,257 ✭✭✭Augme

Draper looking quite tired now.

He does a bit....but has got one of the breaks back.

It was gonna be hard to keep up his levels from the first two sets...

Draper in serious trouble here 2-5...he is being made to work so hard on his own serve....think it's taking its toll! He looks wrecked and panicked looking...De Minaur looks relaxed his experience telling a bit, takes the third set.

Post edited by gmisk on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

"Murray's game evolved to the point it was complete, with few weaknesses, the rest of the big 3 were stumped. Murray became the best, make no mistake about it. Murray was set to take over just as injuries hit, he had the most complete game, it should of been his time"

Surely you're taking the p*ss! Physical fitness trumps all - what's the point of having the 'most complete game' even if that were the case, if you then crumble and fall apart physically as a result of your efforts.

Federer at least had great economy of movement, he played and moved quickly but often due to his innate skills, it looked effortless. But time catches up on all, which is why Nadal's continuing career is a mystery, is it not? A crock if we are to believe all we read, but who plays at a top level.

De Minaur through in 4 sets. Gotta feel a bit for Jack Draper he was terrific in those first 2 sets, the tiebreak in second set affected him you felt. Seemed out on his feet by the end. I am sure he will have many more big matches in his future. Terrific match I thought, De Minaur could be really dangerous.

Tsitsipas-Kyrgios and Anisimova-Gauff, Saturday is going to be good! Hopefully both on centre court.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

just on a side note - has anyone noticed the amount of obese linesmen & women??

there was one on tonight during the Draper v De Minaur match and my god she looked like she was about to burst out of her uniform

and that's another thing, those new uniforms look mank 😫

So freak injuries are an indication of a players quality? It's not as if we're talking about potential here, he literally bested the big 3. Beat them, dominated the calender, went number 1. He toppled them, like it or not.

Djokovic as it happened beat him in one major and a few minor tournaments as it happened, over this period. But let's not rewrite history to suit a narrative. In all of Djokovics'victories he was hanging on, playing containment tennis. Experience seen him home on a few occasions, when it didn't Murray battered him. Their hth from late 2012 to late 2013 was close, but Djokovic for the most part was on the backfoot, at best just about containing Murray, in his loses getting battered, completely outplayed, straight setted on a few occasions

Djokovic himself knows he met his match. He knows his career could of been very different. The British media tend to hype their players but Murray was the real deal. He bested the big 3, that can never be taken away from him.

As much as it kills people, between 2012-13, Murray went number one and surpassed the big 3. Injuries beat him, not the big 3. He became number one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,961 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

If Murray was so dominant, how many slams did he win between 2012-13? Also wasn't Nadal number 1 for a large part of 2013 if I recall correctly.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,043 Mod ✭✭✭✭whiterebel

Bublik can be such a good player, and utterly brutal in equal measure. His serving in the first set v Tiafoe was unreal and then fell apart in the early part of the 2nd set. Broke back to get to 5-4 in the 2nd.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Was it not 2016 that was Murray's best year, winning Wimbledon and the Olympics and finishing the year as world number 1, plus making some other slam finals. Murray was a very good player who would have won more slams in another era, and was without doubt the biggest threat to the big 3 for a 5 or 6 year period, but, to say he "bested them" is ridiculous. He rarely beat them when it mattered at slam level, although did seem to match well with Djokovic, but, still generally lost to him. Also both Nadal & Federer both missed the second half of 2016 due to injury, which would have helped Murray get to number 1. A very good player but, he was a step behind the big 3, plus his game style led to his injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Murray did reach a zenith but blew up as a result, as far as we can know, of wear & tear injuries. Not freak injuries - wear & tear from his playing style and likely over training. So it was unsustainable.

Tiafoe through he impressed me in the last round as well I must say.

Heather Watson has taken first set as well in her match.

Jabeur very comfortable again.

Heather Watson through to the 4th round.

Jabeur breezed through in the end...Sakkari has lost first set!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,177 ✭✭✭✭Rjd2

Cressy knocks out FAA after a nice grass season and then loses to Jack Sock.😓

The stats over 3 long careers clearly back up that Federer is by a large margin the most mentally suspect of the Big 3 over his career in situations which display this such as having match point and then managing to lose the match and also when the match goes to 5 sets in the slam situations being able to summon the champion mental powers to get that win

Federer has lost 22 matches when he held match point (aka "The 1-Finger Lady" stat)

Nadal 8

Djokovic 3

When a match goes to 5 sets going on to win

Federer 57%

Nadal 65%

Djokovic 79%

Fair play to Heather Watson, first time in the 4th round at the age of 30! Hopefully somewhat eases the pain of not serving it out in that match against Serena.

She'll play Jule Niemeier for a spot in the QF's, a very winnable match.

Tommy Paul (Who has definitely underachieved in the past given his talent imo) currently hammering Vesely and Djokovic doing the same to Kecmanovic.

Sakkari out.

It is really nice to see you can see it means a huge amount to her.

It would probably help her if the BBC didn't bring it up so much! Was it not like 7 years ago or something?!

Katie Boulter has a decent chance to join her in the 4th round.

Of the remaining Brits in the singles....I would fear for Broady given how good De Minaur was...but Norrie has a very winnable looking match.

Haha she'll never escape that match with Serena, it's forever the one that got away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Murray was fantastic at peak, but where it really mattered he was second best to the big three....in slam matches the others had his number across all years, and clearly!

Circa 25 slam matches Murray has won 5-6?

3 wins out of 11 slam finals tells you all you need to know there

In the career-defining matches he was pretty much only 25% or 1 in 4

Djokovic looks like he's going through against Kecmanovic

Djokovic serving smartly and effectively on the grass

Kecmanovic - Alcaraz in Miami was probably the most entertaining match of the year so far imo

speaking of Alacaraz, he's still the big probable danger to Djokovic for sure assuming they meet

(Alcaraz could meet Sinner in round 4 which could be interesting also)

Tsitsipas - Kyrgios on tomorrow Sat easily the big match of the day

Kyrgios has an actual "chance" be in the final here Sunday week (like him or not) with the big Covid grass-player victims on that side of the draw (Berrettini, Cilic and past semi-finalist Agut) if he holds his sh1t together, keeps bombing serves and plays like he did when obliterating the seeded Krajinovic

He has beaten Stef recently on grass as has beaten Nadal on grass famously before

And late bloomer van Rijthoven is actually pretty good on this effectively specialist surface, backing up his grass tournament win after all in making it to the 4th round, taking out his second seed of the tournament so far, this time is straight sets.

Djokovic is going to be up next.

Could be a tricky assignment the way he has been playing on grass and very much an unknown quantity for Djokovic.

As a player, your best chance of beating Djokovic is the first time you play him.

Tsistipas-Kyrgios third on court no.1 tomorrow.

Norrie takes the first set.

In fairness he has been the slightly better player missed quite a few break points. Solid.

Johnson good serve but not shown a huge amount else so far.

Non-regular gym-goer Ostapenko is into the fourth round

Good draw ahead also

She can hit the ball well in fairness to her and seems to be on a run of higher accuracy.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

I didn't say anything about weight.

As someone made the point the other day (about Serena I believe) - these are professional athletes in a professional sport

Saw clips of the Alcaraz match...fecking hell...he is definitely adapting to the grass!

Norrie looks to be coasting through...Johnson has been poor.