Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No quitten we're whelan on to chitchat 11

• Registered Users Posts: 1,500 ✭✭✭148multi

Are Deery engineering (carlow) still operating.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,568 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We were in Donegal last week. Weather was “grand” but very few about. Also see lots of closed businesses in the seaside towns.

Cost of living

+

Cost of car hire

+

Generally poor weather

+

People can travel abroad now

All contributing to quiet season

• Registered Users Posts: 10,782 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Anyone here from offaly? God what a sickner. They played some lovely hurling too.

'When I was a boy we were serfs, slave minded. Anyone who came along and lifted us out of that belittling, I looked on them as Gods.' - Dan Breen

• Registered Users Posts: 9,730 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

One of the lads I work with on the day job is from Clare - he might pull a sickie on Monday....😏

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

So not going to be a Shefflin v Cody one

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

thank God, couldn't stomach the build up to another bloody handshake. on the Offaly game, a sickening lesson in how cruel sport can be but hopefully will make them stronger.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭dzer2

Ah Jesus lad. The ref really cocked up that game. Offaly should have had 2 penalties and the Number 5 for Tipp should have been black carded. He sent off the wrong player as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

A proud Offaly man here. It’s devastating to lose a game like that. We now know exactly how Louth people must have felt in 2010 after the Leinster final.

Credit to the Tipperary team, they never gave up and it paid off for them in the end. Superb hurling by both teams as well. It was a match that had everything, some serious quality breaks, runs, scores, saves, blocks, everything you could ask for in a hurling match.

Such a pity it was all decided by a number of completely baffling incorrect refereeing decisions but such is sport and hopefully it’ll make that young Offaly team stronger and stand to them in the future.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,198 ✭✭✭orm0nd

ye were 6 points and a man up. tipp upped the pace after the red and oy seemed to lose concentration, yer sideline didn't respond

A team to be proud of hope to see them again moving up the ladder.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭DBK1

I agree with all of that and I’d also have to question our fitness. We had a lot of lads going down with cramps in the last 5 - 10 mins and there was no one from the Tipperary side with cramps. We had a similar issue in the Leinster final as well so that’s definitely something to be questioned.

But all that aside, when the ref gives 3 dodgy frees in a row to the other team in injury time, with the last one judged by everyone at the match, including the commentators, analysts and tipp supporters, as being a free out for Offaly for the trip on Niall Furlong coming out of defence with the ball, and instead its given as a free in for Tipp, it’s hard to swallow. The trip on Furlong happened about 20 seconds before the end of the 4 minutes of injury time. The correct decision there for a free out and it was game over by the time the free would have been taken with Offaly 2 point winners

Also we were in for a certain goal when Damian Corbett threw his hurl at Cathal Robinsons head a few minutes earlier. Corbett got a red card but the goal chance was gone and we only got a point from the free.

I’d take nothing from the Tipp lads for this, they done everything right, they kept the pressure on, they knew they had the ref on their side so they used that advantage well and they also had better fitness. They done everything right and fair play to them, they got their reward. But there’s no doubting the mistakes by the referee, especially the last and most critical one. Even the atmosphere on the pitch after was very subdued, as was also stated by the commentators after the match. The Tipp supporters never properly celebrated as they knew it wasn’t the correct decision.

Anyways such is life and such is sport and I also agree with what you said about Offaly being a team to be proud of, they certainly are and I hope this sets a drive in them to go on and win an All Ireland in the future, be that at minor, U20 or senior and not let this get them down.

• Registered Users Posts: 756 ✭✭✭French Toast

A few pages from the Journal 1981 that may be of interest. Can't rotate them on Boards but ye'll figure it out.

🇵🇸

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think interest rates hit 18% around then, I was still in school and there was talk of a Mars bar going to cost 2 quid in 2 years if inflation stayed at the rate it was at. Tough times for people in debt back then.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Local story of someone winning 5m on the lotto.

Their brother went to the local pub and couldn't hold it in.

I think I'd be nearly leaving the country and disowning the brother after it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Jb1989

There lies the proof that disowning a brother and keeping the money instead is the better option, shame that's the mentality in people.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,519 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

What's your name and address?

I've a few paramilitaries, gangsters, conmen, honeytrappers, sad stories, who'd like to know.

It was the person involved own business.

Now they have to live with the consequences with someone else taking it upon their business.

You must be a Saint jb1989 or else very naive..

Anyway I'm not going anymore on this. But it shows how some people who win it regret they won it after.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

I really didnt think the "trip" was a foul at all. As soon as 14 felt the tiniest of contact he went to the ground Neymaresque. No place for that in the game. Was hoping Offaly would win it but have to give Tipp credit for the comeback when Offaly thought it was over. A great lesson that nothing is finished until the refs whistle.

Duignan is making a very positive impact in Offaly. We could do with someone like him in Kildare!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,295 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Scanned last week with everything in calf. But today I found some cleaning and about 3” calf embryo. Pure balls but not end of world

• Registered Users Posts: 4,004 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

The brother in the pub might of won it and threw everyone off the scent lol

You know what you call a secret that more than one person knows?

Not a secret.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I can keep a secret, it's the people I tell it to that can't.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭I says

Surely they was enough of ye to sit on the pitch and get yer way again like in 98. Ye were 6 points and a man up and ye choked. Fair play to tipp they never gave up. That’s sport and dodgy reffing decisions will always occur in the gaa.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

How much of the regular machinery work (agitating, slurry spreading, dung spreading & silage) would you do yourself on the farm? Not really counting spreading fert or rolling or that sort of stuff.

Is it really only for the FT farmers to be at? Got some slurry to put out and just not getting time at the minute, so passed it off to a contractor. In and away in a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

None of it, bar rotavating, harrowing, fertilizer.

Agitation, slurry, dung, bales.

I class them as hard on tractor, needing horse power, time consuming and only occasional.

Best to leave it to the man.

Depends on your scale etc.

I know a guy who does it all himself, milking a big ban of cows. The big fellow doing it all himself is too much of a thing as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Only do agitating, 80% of fert and drawing bales and feeding here. Contractors do everything else. First half of the year time is a big issue so thats when most is done by a contractor.

New rules making it more difficult tho. A handy tank could do for following cows or the odd paddock taken out before but now its tank plus dribble bar. Could be waiting then depending on contractors work load. Cost of machinery is an issue depending on where one is in terms of farm development etc

Would certainly free up some time for those of us at it PT. Although a bit of field work can be a nice way to spend a few hours.

Do we have any fencing contractors on here?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,568 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Rang a DD add from a scrapie.

Pair of 16.9 38’s 30% grip some perrishing around the grips.

just shy of €1000 delivered.

Jesus lads I’m a Cavan man for sure but that set me back.

Is there any tractor equivalent to findapart.ie ?? Anywhere good for second hand tyres?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭Base price

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭Jb1989