Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tour de France Stage 4 - Dunkerque - Calais (171.5km)

• 05-07-2022 11:47am
    Registered Users Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭

Rolling stage, looks like there may be light crosswinds for the run to Calais. Probably one for the sprinters, unless some team decide to go balls out in the wind.

Sneaky e/w on Gilbert @400/1, he won a stage at 4 days of Dunkerque a few months back on a stage like this, and its his 40th birthday today.

Kristoff also is 35 today, so will probably give it a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,172 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It's gotta be Wout's stage I think. I can see Jumbo Visma controlling the peloton over that last climb and being in prime position for the last ten kilometres.

The last climb is interesting, I don't know if it's long enough for classic riders like Van der Poel to make a break.

I see Sagan as the biggest danger to van Aert today.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

Fill Up Jill Bare will definytely by up there today. 400/1 is a huge price to win.

Wout gone full on Big Bird today

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,844 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

What is the point of Wiggins on the moto? Hasn't added anything so far.

Loving WvA's full big bird look😄

• Registered Users Posts: 29,379 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

If he was anywhere else we'd have to listen to more of him???

Every now and then he'll be on the bike and actual give some insight, or be able to cover \ explain something that happened away from the main cameras. But yeah nine times out of ten it's STBO territory.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 814 ✭✭✭devonp

anyone else having issues logging onto GCN+ on the desktop ? (i log on thu apple Id)

seems ok on the iphone app..? (which i quit before the above)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

• Registered Users Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

He nearly took someone out in the peloton there trying to pass them, an absolute gowl.

I enjoy Wiggins because he's on the bike with no arms holding on. Just waiting for him to fall off some day while on camera.

Jumbo Visma sitting in behind doing nothing. I can see them taking the lead before that final climb and putting on an infernal pace to put the other sprinters in a bit of trouble and set it up for Wout. If they do that I can only see Sagan and possibly Ewan staying near the front.

Of course there is 10km after it but if your legs are hurting it'll be very difficult.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,918 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I keep thinking the Trek riders are Alpecin.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,435 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

what site ye use instead of Steephill ?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

An hour long history of Irish cycling with the Sean Kelly, Stephen Roche , Sam Bennett, Nico Roche on ITV4 tonight at 8pm after the hightlights programme

@itvcycling

• Registered Users Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

seinnteoir tg4☺️

Seven Worlds will Collide

Jumbo Ineos ripping it up!

Action here!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 21,648 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

I’d imagine there might be some choice words on the Jumbo bus after this stage, Roglic got dropped pretty hard on the initial break

• Registered Users Posts: 13,380 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

It's all finally kicked off! Paris-Nice Stage 1 deja vu

Bit unexpected, but welcome!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭De Bhál

brilliantly done, fair play to Jumbo

That shot was class, the 2 JV lads look at each other and stop peddling when Catanio pulls over after his turn on the front of the chase 😅

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

Philipsen 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭thebourke

great result for van aert

Ah Phillipsen!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,838 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

Chateau WVA 😁

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 3,113 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

What an incredible record from WVA on the first 4 stages 😲

• Registered Users Posts: 13,380 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

Facepalm for Philipsen. This has happened so many times this year 😂

Big bird flap of the wings !!!!!! Love it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

The JV rider behind Phillipsen passed JP after the finish line and pointed up the road as if to say " Ya dozy twat"

• Registered Users Posts: 17,771 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

That was class