Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,233 ✭✭✭hawley

Did Pat Spillane leave because he wasn't included on the panel today? It seems like they wanted rid of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭dobman88

He was on yesterday and announced that the All Ireland final would be his last gig. Its been 30 years in fairness, he has had a good crack off it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

SOS, living up to the name he saved us there. What an absolute baller

• Registered Users Posts: 21,179 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

As much as Dublin coming into it, I thought ye lost quite a bit of momentum with O'Brien and Geaney coming off... Think they only lasted 5 or 6 mins after HT. Very early in the half / so close to HT to be making a double sub I thought.

Nearly came back to bite ye later on in the game as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭thesultan

Thought Kerry were going to choke there..paudie Clifford and dara moynihan the two to keep up the fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Serious player. That was one pressure kick. All Ireland winning score.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Not to mention facing it against the wind and into the Hill! No doubt Jack and Tally will be concentrating on the second half fadeout when looking for analytical room for improvement, but it does seem like a psychological Rubicon was crossed today, in that often Kerry are criticised for folding when pressure comes on, but this is the first time in a number of years where we managed to turn the tide and come out on the right end of a close result, which'll do the team the power of good.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,545 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Have to agree. I taught doing the substitution that early was a bit of a panic and upset the rythym. Moran should have been taken off first

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Forge83

As per usual on the big days Geaney and Moran both extremely poor. From the start Dublin started running Moran at every opportunity and he was knackered after 20 minutes. Yes he kicked a few lovely passes in the first 20 minutes, but that’s it, that’s all he has in him. Absolute madness to start him. He kills Diarmuid O Connors game and Paudie Clifford as he takes the ball out of their hands. P Clifford came into the game massively as soon as he went off. Not to mention his poor turn over which led to the goal and the Dublin comeback. The Galway midfield will make mince meat of him if he starts the final. Surely after today it’s obvious that we need him in the final 20/25 mins of a big game. Barry, O Connor and A Spillane should be our 3 starters. Would be throwing Geaneys spot open too. Assume Tony Brosnan would have got game time today if Gavin White didn’t get injured.

Otherwise I thought everyone else played well. The obvious Clifford brothers and Sean O Shea. j Barry has beaten Fenton out the gate once again. Ryan had a solid display in goals. O Beaglaoich excellent. Morley excellent. Moynihan outstanding when he came on. A Spillane added a bit of steel when he came on. He’s as tough as nails.

Fair play to Jack and his team. The final could be a shootout!

PS- Hope Gavin Whites injury isn’t too serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

I popped in to post a few thoughts but you beat me to it. Cracking post.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Delighted. Not much to add. Probably should have won by more. Penalty miss and Stephen O'Brien picking off the ground were massive moments.

Felt we were in trouble for a while but massive free from Seanie.

Great to come out the right side of a game like that

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Piskin

Again Stephen o Brian makes a an almost costly mistake in a defining moment in a big game by picking the ball off the ground with his hands. Jack o Connor acted quickly in taking him off soon after, A player with his experience should know better. Paul Geaney another player who can be a liability and again J o C saw it and took him off. David Moran is a liability when the game is in the melting pot. I'm not sure about D Moran for the last 10 mins unless Kerry are coasting ahead. Like the other 2 he is a liability. Simple basic mistakes have cost us dearly in the last 10 years or so. I think D Clifford needs to be brought out to the half forward line to get him on the ball more. Got over the line today thankfully but we cannot carry passengers like Geaney, O'Brien & Moran. Seeing Paul Murphy come on today is a cause for concern as I put him in the same bracket as the other 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭dunnerc

Congrats Kerry , yous were the better team for me , probably should have won by a few more .

Jesus dunno about everyone else but I went out after for a few around Dublin area and had some really bad experiences with Dublin fans, didn't take losing well at all. Cheats, ref in pocket, the whole shebang, just nothing positive to say only that we shouldn't have won. Disappointing

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Congrats fellas. Best of luck in the final.

I'm developing a grudging and unhealthy respect for boy wonder. Great ambassador for the GAA in how he conducts himself after the whistle.

To counter this, I went out (Phibsborough) and found Dubs supporters to be sound. All congratulatory and while they were disappointed there was no begrudgery.

There was one lad who was in poor form but took it out on two young lads from Louth giving them some harsh words but once he had it out of his system he was grand.

Kerry supporters were obviously in good spirits as well but I didn't see anyone rubbing it in either so good behaviour in general on both sides, though I saw a group of 2 or 3 Kerry lads being escorted off the Hill at Half Time.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,545 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Looking at the match yesterday nerves got to some Kerry players. Forge83 is right in his analysis. When Graham and O'Bealoigh went off it was then Kilkenny came into the game. Who end up making him

Slava Ukrainii

Yep. Was jumping on my bus and a fella shouted very aggressively at me "I **** hate kerry and i **** hate you". Once on the bus 2 others started along with him. Just kept looking at my phone and ignored them which wound them up more somehow.

Got back to the GAA club for a pint with a mate who is a Dub but couldn't make the game and 2 lads at the bar started telling me I shouldn't be left in and calling me all sorts of names that the bar man had to step in to have a word with them, 2 lads in Dublin jerseys in a gaa club bar in Meath.

I've had a lot of stick from Dubs over the years and there was more than that said to me yesterday. I never understood the aggressiveness when they were winning but they really can't handle losing.

I'd caveat that by saying most match going dubs seem fine in general, probably just got unlucky with the clowns on the bus home.

It's not nice to hear to be honest, you have scummy elements with allot of county teams, my own worst experiences have always tended to be with dubs aswell.we Actually got attacked by a bunch of um in thurles after the drawn game in 01, after the 11 final the walk out of croker and back into the city was horrible. Don't know the name of the street but those crappy looking flats south east of stadium. Absolute vile abuse being spouted and objects and liquids being thrown down on us as we walked the road.

All that being said, some of the soundest level headed opposition supporters I've met have been dubs. The kind of lads that love to see the likes of Maurice Fitz, the Gooch, the O' Se's. Declan OS, seamus Moynihan, Clifford Seanie OS and many more play. The kind of lads that will compliment your team and certain player performances instead of jumping to crazy ignorant excuses.

That's a real shame. I hope it didn't take the gloss off the result.

Sounds like I was lucky to have had the experience I had after the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,179 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Interesting to read that, I wouldn't have thought Geaney and O'Brien would be considered liabilities. After a few years in a bit of limbo, I think Geaney has come back as a very good team player, he seems to have a great understanding with Clifford and makes an awful lot of selfless runs to allow Clifford space. Very hard to handle the two of them inside imo. He wasn't great yesterday but has had a fine year from what I've seen.

O'Brien is a player most opposition teams hate to see on the team sheet, not the most "Kerry" of players but he's a real nuisance. Moyinhan might be the better player on paper but I think O'Brien is much more of a handful. The pick off the ground was poor yesterday in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭munster87

After the drawn final in 19, I hopped on a bus home (Meath nowadays)which was packed and was the only Kerry jersey on it. I was sitting down near the back and a fella got on and started shouting abuse for most of the journey. He’d obviously had a few too many drinks and was getting quite nasty but I didn’t engage with him.

When I got off the bus I saw his photo on one of the election posters! 😄

Geaney and O'Brien were poor in posession but they worked their arse off. We could barely win a ball in the forwards after they went off. It also meant that D. Clifford had to track back more and looked really tired when he did get on the ball.

It's not a glamorous job but it's just one of the cogs that helps Kerry's forward line function.

That's not excusing some of the poor play in posession or the pick off the ground from SOB. There were some costly errors that really helped keep Dublin in the game.

Moran made a critical error for the Dublin goal again.

It was very similar to the Tyrone game last year except we managed to limit Dublin to 1 goal.

Anyone else a bit annoyed by the post match analysis by analysts and former players and managers etc so far on things like OTB, they seem to be focusing on Dublin and only mixed feelings on Kerry being expressed, just beat Dublin in Dublin in a semi final for the first time in 13 years... puzzling

Ya noticed that, it always happens tho when a big scalp is taken out. Its kinda commom for them to deal more with the big team that have gone out in the immediate aftermath of the game as they'll give the next 2 weeks talking about kerry and galway.

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭WJL

I remember one of Pat Spillane's first commentary contributions.

1992 Munster final v Clare. Kerry around 6 pts down. Marty 'Kerry could do with a goal now'. Pat 'Kerry could do with a miracle now'.

Best wishes. Some player too.

Well the one I just listened to had nothing positive really to say and tipped Galway for the final

What? Each to their own I suppose. What expert pundit predicted that may I ask?

Absolutely not. Nothing could take the gloss off that win.

I don't think you were lucky at all with your experience. I'd say me and mystic were quite unlucky.

Normally after games I go to the Brian Boru, top of Whitworth Road which can be full of match going dubs and I've never had anything but a positive experience and it was the same before the game yesterday too.

When I got to Whitworth Road though, my bus was just pulling up so jumped on. I'll know for next time to let the bar stoolers leave first while the genuine fans enjoy a post match pint.

If I had to guess that chap, I'd say a slim man in his 50s with white hair cut tight. If its the same fella, he is notorious for nonsensical carry on and best ignored.