Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Law & Order Broken Down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭sam t smith

The fashion police should have re-arrested him upon release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,159 ✭✭✭screamer

There’s an awful lot of violence lately but such is the world we live in. Look, we’ve no idea if the people accused will be found innocent or guilty, not everyone who commits violent offences are scummers, not every scummer is violent. I think it’s just that there’s an awful unleashing of society now that covid has receded. More people out drinking/ drugging and socialising - more fights. More people out driving and travelling about- more road deaths. It’s cause and effect in action.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,140 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I don't know what you're on about screamer, but it's been like this since I joined AGS back around 2007, continued throughout my time until I quit 10 years later, and is still continuing to this day. It won't, and can't, change because there's no proper will for it. Too many people involved are making too much money off the back of crime, and only the victims are left wanting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,073 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭buried

Next election everybody should just calmly say to whatever potential election candidate that comes to their door, that they want to see the system of 'free legal aid' granted to a citizen of the state only once, after that, the suspect/criminal/barrister has to fend for themselves. Tell the potential election candidate that you will only vote for whatever candidate/political party will introduce this into their actual manifesto. Just give it a go. Might take 8-10 years but its better than the current scenario where we are blindly allowing this racket to continue and the racket just laughs in our faces.

We can't do that unfortunately. Everyone is entitled to legal representation. The only solution I can see to this is to have a state solicitors for public defence that takes these cases. They're salaried and only take these cases, so no multiple legal aid bills.

Yeah I hear you P, but we as a people need to start making it an issue that generates some sort of noise within the political racket. Even if within reality it is currently unworkable, the citizenry need to start making it a real issue that will try to actual benefit the wider society as a whole. This current scenario where this craic continuously happens and the only winners are the law firms/TV newspaper/TVmedia. While us the citizens, including the Gaurds/Emergency services, are the continuous widespread losers, this needs to stop. We have to do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Ireland's population is on the constant increase and as a result so will the crime rates, but its still a relatively safe country to live in

You want to take sentencing away from the judiciary?

Who do you think would be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,436 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

That may be so but it doesn't follow that we should just shrug our shoulders, leave it fester and store up more problems. A country is relatively safe until it isn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,519 ✭✭✭touts

The judiciary already have limited discretion on what sentence they award (and these days award seems to be the best description). Legislation related to a crime usually sets the maximum sentence and/or fine. The problem is the judiciary get in there and utterly undermine those maximum sentences by granting time off for every possible excuse so that the habitual criminal is free as soon as possible in order to commit more crimes and therefore generate more income for the members of the criminal justice industry. The answer is to take that discretion away from the judiciary and the criminal justice industry. For a clearly un-reformable criminal after 5 convictions then judges should be there only to make sure the law is applied correctly during the case. But on sentencing the criminal should get and serve the maximum sentence for the crime as set down in the legislation without possibility for early release, time off for good behaviour, compassionate grounds, etc, etc, etc, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭Quitelife

People who commit serious crime go to jail!!...not that difficult.

Serious Crime would include burglaries of elderly people , Assaults on people that end up in hospital...those in possession of drugs over 10K....

Give law abiding people some protection

Problem is, there's nowhere to put them, and no one wants to spend money on building, staffing and maintaining another prison.

Re: the reduced sentencing, this was brought in in an effort to reduce the number of cases going to hearing, thus taking up more time of the court. If someone admits to guilt without having to go to hearing, they get a reduced sentence as a result, a kind of carrot on a stick to prevent you wasting time. Nowadays though, it is used to suspend sentences rather than reduce.

I also HATE that sentences can run concurrently, that should not exist. It should be consecutive every separate interaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Maybe bring in minimum sentencing instead of maximum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,436 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What you suggest is do nothing. Shur twill be grand.

^^^^^^^

do i?? and where do i say that??

Something has to be done. The media needs to be held accountable too. You have $hitrag tabloid newspapers over here that are basically British media fronts that glamourize any sort of extreme criminal element to the hilt, makes these criminals literal celebrities in the eyes of the people who buy their disgraceful tabloid $hitrags. Win win for the people who want to see our Irish society in the gutter and the leeches in the justice racket who feed off it. Time to start calling it out for what it is, all of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,506 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

These stories about the victims in these cases leaves me breathless in anger. I really cannot believe that we as a country have these embarrassments to the human race out there committing crimes on our own streets. While the victims, who were out there to just mind their own business, are left trying to continue to deal with the emotional turmoil of their own situation.

I really cannot understand, living in 21st century Ireland, why have we become so cruel & heartless towards other innocent people in this day and age while they try to recover from going through this mentally destructive horsesh1t.

It's utterly brainless behaviour at this point.

Do people, who take part in this stuff, not have a moral compass in them anymore while they commit these crimes to their potential victims on a day to day basis.

The Criminal families are outbreeding the law abiding families all over the country.

Doesn't matter these days whether your in Dublin North inner city or Abbeyfeale Co Limerick or Tuam Co Galway criminals and their drug addict runners control the communities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

Almost every single article I read about a court case where Gardai object to bail the Judge grants bail. There are more and more stories of people out on bail committing further serious crimes and why wouldn't they? They won't be serving time for each individual offence. It's a joke, a sick sad joke at this point. When I see a ludicrously soft sentence handed down I know before even reading it that it's Judge Nolan. Time and time again the guy comments on what a terrible ordeal it was for the victim then proceeds to give the offender a slap on the wrist sentence. There's no holding these lenient Judges to account and that should stop. We should also have no asylum for any foreign national convicted of a crime here. Although as long as Helen McEntee is Minister for Justice they'll still be getting an Amnesty to stay.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

people are always on having a whinge about problems just keep your head down and keep to yourselfs if you dont go looking for trouble you wont find any everywhere has problems could be a lot worse sure look at america

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

It's hard to maintain law and order when there's not many prison places, the problem is we have a minimum no of Gardai, resources are limited, I don't want us to go the other extreme where cops shoot people for having weed in a car and there's cops being racist

I don't read tabloids theres always story's about gang fueds going on. I don't know what the solution is, I think we are running a system that's not designed for an increasing population

20 years ago many towns had a decent sized garda station with plenty of guards with very little proper crime where as now theres loads of crime and the same garda stations are closed or have token opening hours .

Many towns and villages are controlled by the local drug dealers and have been abandoned by the state

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Nothing new - in the late 80s, an elderly relative of mine was stabbed and beaten in a robbery. The culprit was caught and the usual nonsense was rolled out at the court case - he has a drink problem, he's from a good family, he plays GAA, he has a girlfriend and just got a job, he won't reoffend. Suspended sentence. Googling and snooping on social media. tells me that he has subseqently been involved in more assaults and looks to have gotten away with those too. Also, surprise surprise at least one slut (and probably many more) has spread her legs and produced several thugspawn for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭growleaves

Sad that people have to leave the country of their birth in order to flee chaos.

In the town where my Spanish friend grew up the police were recently called out to rescue a cat who was hiding underneath a car and wouldn't come out.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,889 ✭✭✭growleaves

24-hour AGS armed support units in Finglas to protect one drug gang from another drug gang according to today's paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 155 ✭✭I Blame Sheeple

@BrianD3

Also, surprise surprise at least one slut (and probably many more) has spread her legs and produced several thugspawn for him.

Nothing wrong with that sentence whatsoever at all, at all.

Get yourself looked at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,424 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Typical boards response. Scum are stabbing and beating elderly vulnerable people, breeding like rabbits and producing new generations of scum. The legal system lets them away with their crimes and violence. But never mind any of that, the most important issue here is that someone used bad words on the Internet.

Let's see how you fare if you are a pensioner and someone stabs you in you home - I can guarantee you that white knighting about someone being called a slut will be the last thing on your mind.