Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time to join Nato

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭Yurt2

So let's wrap it all in a little bow here...

You're suspicions: NATO countries / NATO are minded to be "always causing conflict"

You're facts (sic) backing up your suspicions: Large arms suppliers based in NATO countries

Your conclusion: The Suspicions are not facts, merely suspicions based on the above fact (sic)

Some people would call this wilful conjecture Francie, which is bad enough, but I'll go a little further, you're a conspiracy theorist infected by political doctrine. You freely admit you're pushing a theory that because certain countries have a significant defence industry, that these defence concerns are "causing conflict" (your words, this is the force and black hand you identified) and are controlling the foreign policy of the state's concerned. You also freely admit that this excercise in conjecture and theory peddling is not a fact. You have completely failed to demonstrate how this force is "always causing conflict" and what conflicts you actually mean.

You've plunged your anchor down on Irish foreign policy and defence on this freely admitted suspicion that is to any reasonable observer, and your own opinion it seems, not based on facts or evidence.

It's silly. I really hope you can do better from here on out. There's a devastating war on the continent underway - launched by a malignant fascist, and your standard apparently is to let your mind be occupied by really undergraduate Che Guevara t-shirt and dishonest theories that belong to low-grade pamphleteers. You are laser focused on a fringe theory and suspicion about the defence compact that is keeping the rest of Eastern Europe from being plunged into the fire, instead of the observable crimes being commited by Russia.

Above all things, you're failing to actually think with the brain God gave you. It's a sad outcome for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,705 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I said you were free to disagree - that's fine.

My suspicions are based on the facts that I outlined. The most powerful countries in NATO have the biggest arms industries along with Russia and those countries are always in or around the major conflicts in the world. Some of them even went outside NATO to invade a country to achieve their aims. The morals and legality of which you can decide for yourself.

As I said, I don't share your black and white/good v bad view of the world. It is much more nuanced and complex.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It's unknown what the US or UK response would be to some cyber attack taking out some major infrastructure. Would they respond in kind and try a cyber attack on who they identify as responsible, would they use conventional weapons against them?

Most likely at the moment is call the relevant ambassador in for a stern talking to, implement some sanctions (if they can think of any new ones not already in place if it were Russia) and run some more recruitment for cyber security people.

All of which Ireland is perfectly capable of doing to exactly the same extent (except for sanctions in that they would have less of an impact).

No reason to join NATO for any of that, and Ireland is already involved with NATO cyber security from the link you provided. Ireland doesn't need to change it's neutral stance to respond to being attacked, and in terms of scale of potential attack v their potential to respond is probably better placed than most countries.

Not sure there is a compelling reason for Ireland to change its current position regarding NATO, certainly not in terms of anything military hardware wise. Improving cyber security and such like of course, no reason not to go to town in spending there, which is something far easier to make changes to, far quicker to make changes to and far more useful regarding potential threats... And also being able to "sell" those skills and services to other nations who already have invested in the conventional military big sticks.

• Registered Users Posts: 515 ✭✭✭TheTruth89

Spell it what ever way you like it reads the same and means the same.

Yeah it's a defense agreement it does what it says on the tin.

Nope we will use our force field of neutrality to deflect there nukes.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Between whom ? I would like to see a link please. Ireland is Neutral apparently how is there a mutual arrangement. We all know what you mean is we get on the bat phone to the UK. They need help sorry lads were neutral. 🤔

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

But as it stands nato countries already have cyber defense systems along with the big stick military forces and equipment,

We have neither the cyber defense systems or military defense systems,so we're not going to be selling something we don't have and most likely going forward won't have the capability to sell something thats already been sold by the US ,UK , France, Germany and the likes of Israel.

We need to spend and develop our own military and cyber defense systems along side nato and other countries ,

It's not as if we're or the defense forces are asking for hundreds of billions to be spent every year on defense

At this stage what is the point of the defence forces. Apart from peacekeeping that's part of the UN and most of the cost burden is on them. Seems pretty much another Emergency service atm. Not downplaying the job they have done in relation to covid stuff like that. They seem to be relegated to cleaning up floods putting sandbags down. I doubt anyone signed up just to do that. Visited a relative in Dub seen more Defence force personnel around the mint acting as security. escorting money in to be burned also in jeeps.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,094 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

It isn't worth Ireland spending money to try and get a big stick to defend themselves with. They are so far behind that the best they will end up with is the equivalent of a couple of blunt tooth picks and a massive debt.

Spend the money on technology for defence against cyber attacks rather than military. Any military spending should be in terms of smuggling, fisheries, coast guard, rescue, immigration type equipment. Complete waste of time to spend money on military hardware appropriate for defence against the likes of Russia, even in their obviously depleted state.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Most normal people disagree with nutjobs, cranks and conspiracy theories Francie. Guess what camp you are in?

Again. I didn't say my suspicions are a fact.

Read carefully, My suspicions are based on the fact that key members of NATO are also where the biggest arms manufacturers are.

Oh Francie. You crack me up.

Remember the times you spent in the Conspiracy Theory Forum, giving out about the admins and their agenda? Fun Times.

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭bob mcbob

Absolutely, the response by the US & UK to a major cyber attack is unknown but unlike Ireland they have the ability to respond above and beyond having a stern word with the Ambassador.

New strategy: In a new strategy documentNATO reaffirmed a 2021 commitment that a cyberattack could (but would not automatically) trigger Article 5 of the North Atlantic Treaty, which would make it an attack against the alliance as a whole. It also pledged to work with the private sector to counter threats, formally recognized threats in cyberspace posed by Russia and China, and promised to update NATO’s command structure to reflect new cyber threats.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You press the modern shinner a little and it does'nt take long for them to start spouting their West is cause of all evil lines, all of which originated in pro Soviet circles back in the 50 and 60s.

I guess thats why they had to disappear a whole load of articles from their website.

Forgive me here, but my consistent argument is that there are two sides and while the Russian side is worse, the NATO/West side bear responsibility too.

The Irish people in polling reject the idea of joining NATO as do the government and the governments before this one. There is a reason and no amount of trying to demean that is going to do any favours to the campaign to join it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,073 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the opposite camp to the one you will claim he is in.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

Forgive me here, but my consistent argument is that there are two sides

Were there two sides during the Holocaust and other Genocides?

According to your worldview, probably.

He is the guy going off on wild conspiracy theories with no evidence and talking about murky backroom deals about war, finance and all that jazz. Next up he will be going on about the Jews and Bankers or something..

There is zero 'wild conspiracy theory' in what I said. Here is a Nobel Peace Prize nominated group's views. Care to call them 'conspiracy theorists'?

The arms industry seek to and do influence government policy. Why? Well it's simple, follow the money. I have my suspicions that this extends to keeping conflicts going.

You are either naive or being willfully obtuse about this stuff. I have my 'suspicions' about which of them it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,689 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

The Mick Wallace and Claire Daly conspiracy theory stuff.

Tell us now Francie, did my failure to buy Norton Anti-Virus software cause the cyber attack on the HSE, as they wanted to increase the numbers buying their software?

Arms company and military influence over government warps government priorities, leading to the promotion of corporate interests over policies that would protect the security of people in the UK and elsewhere.

We can see this influence in action when

Arms sales are prioritised over arms controls and human rights

Narrow and dangerous visions of security dominate

If you found out that Norton were spreading viruses would you advocate that they should stay in business? Would you go into patrnership with them?

Right back at you blanch, would you be in favour of going into an alliance with a government who are riding ripshod over their own rules, never mind international rules and doing what they are doing with the Saudis?

Yes or no?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,689 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Why would I follow you down one of your mad conspiracy theory rabbit holes.

You warned us yesterday that we didn't know when we were being trolled, so I am being extra-cautious.

No rabbithole, that is just a conveinient dodge of the question.

Would you be in favour of going into an alliance with a government who are riding ripshod over their own rules, never mind international rules and doing what they are doing with the Saudis?

Yes or no?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

That can all be done side by side ,we have an aircorp where pilots share flying time on the few aircraft we actually own ,we should be instead Is heavily investing in drone technology , especially something along the MQ9 reaper lines , which can be purchased or leased they have a 20+ hour loiter time in the air -we could assign 4 to the Garda so they could have near 24 hour aerial surveillance capability, better return than helicopters which are only available when maintenance and weather permitting,you could revolutionise rural policing along with city policing,

The same type drones could be used to patrol waters and provide Naval and coast guard the ability to track and monitor suspicious vessels in our waters from illegal fishing to drug smuggling,

We need advanced radar too , again we could have the ability to provide security wether it be civilian or militarily ,

We keep letting to many people having a say when it comes to security in this country , currently the whole of Europe is now spending money to increase military and cyber defense,

Mean while we can't even give the lads and girls who we expect to defend the country the right tools to do the job ,

So you are ok with one of the powers in NATO supplying arms to the Saudis to bomb the **** out of Yemen? You can keep up the pretense that 'we're all the good guys'?

If the UK are playing fast and lose, you can be sure others in NATO are...follow the money.

No. But the most stable regional power there it's the best of a S*it show. I would be happy if those in the region went at it and crippled each other.

Saudi Arabia most stable? It’s literally the most backward and stone age in its views in the region.

Yes the views are abhorrent. Did anyone say otherwise ?

Between Ireland and the UK ? You qouted the MoU so I'm guessing you have understanding of what the intent of it is?

Or maybe they d answer the bat phone and help who knows but the fact remains defensive co-operation is what the gov is aiming for? But seeing as your so sure of what happens in future fictional scenario's do me a favor and consult your crystal ball there for next week's lotto numbers while your at it

Things can and do change and they can change when needed fairly rapidly you only have to look at what happened during covid... alot of what was done supposedly couldn't be done cause it was written on a peice of paper but that didn't stop the gov from doing what they liked did it.

More tinfoil hat stuff. Your article doesn't mention NATO by the way. Just because there is an arms industry doesn't mean that there is some backroom deals with these nation states wanting to create war for the sake of it, which is your position by the way.

Are you going to come out with something cute like "Follow the money". We heard that line a lot with the anti-vaxxers over the past few years. Thats the company you keep.

Right back at you.

A) You seem to be OK with that country having a veto over Irish Defence Policy.

b) You seem to be OK with that country using its air force to protect our airspace. You don't want us to fund our own air defence either.