Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The decline of this forum

• 23-07-2022 10:47am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭

Came on here today to post in the Saturday thread for what is a busy day's racing and couldn't believe how quiet it has gone.

Ten years ago this would have been the best horse racing forum on any site with insightful posters, good tips, debates and discussions on racing. Now it is a ghost town, several threads with one or two replies, the whole of Royal ascot one got 19 replies alone. Few years ago you'd have 19 replies the night before a good Saturday.

It appears nearly all of the regular posters down the years have abandoned the forum. It is sad to see it decline so much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,433 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Same across the site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭nuckeythompson

Where have they gone ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭hudhastings

I think someone set up something for the special posters outside of boards during a Cheltenham and it disenfranchised people 2 years ago. Why take people away from a good thing...Then boards.ie went down and the horse race section was harder to find and that's it. People post on the greyhound and horse forum maybe they they should try join threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,368 ✭✭✭naughto

Sure when you the goat,son of the goat all the same person why in the fuc1I would you want to post in here with his 6/4 "tips"

it's two heavy moded as well you cant call anyone out for there bulsh1te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

At one point I was pretty confident that half the posters were actually bored brokers up in Clonskeagh ripping the piss....

I fancy the German horse in the King George. My angle is that if the 3 year olds are not up to it he is a big price at around 12's. Don't forget he won the Arc last year. I can't see the Germans sending him over without a squeak. I think Mishrif is the best horse in the race but I don't think he gets the trip. Broome would need to improve 3-4 lengths and he is now a 6 year old, I also reckon Piledriver will make sure he does not get his own way in front. All said Torqauto Tasso is value at 12's if the 3 year olds are poor.

Fahey is amongst the winners, I like Straits of Moyle, International Dream and Let Her Loose. He some dude in the grey suit and the shades, howya Richard.

Galway and Goodwood this week, mighty stuff. Punters will be milling about Eyre Square leering over skirt and necking Scoopy Doopys to beat the ban. Gotta love it. Playing draw poker on the train. For those of you mugs scoffing at Galway there is over € 1/4 million up for grabs on Monday night alone. Serious spondoolies, on a quick count I got over 2.5 million in prizemoney throughout the week. The Galway hurdle is the richest handicap hurdle in the world, I cannot wait for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,135 ✭✭✭finglashoop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

Same people talking shite with different user names, posts that take 20 minutes to read and make no sense and mod that couldn't get into the Gardai asserting their "authoritae". I don't mind **** but this place was full of the wrong kind of ****.

Then they decided to update the site by tearing it down and not trsting the new one first.

No show.. 510 gowran. I know owner. Always getting stuck in stall lately. but came out last time. He's won once placed also in the past. The race quality is Shiite so at 25/1 might be worth a small e/w cos he might improve from last time. He's a bit of a donkey but good value in a race full of donkeys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Konny Rool

5.10 Gowran LILY OF THE GLEN 20/1 ew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭RivetingRoger

They made Mig a mod and that finished it

It came 5th which placed at one stage went out to 33/1. I got 22's and 28/1 good ride though from a horse who had such a bad spell. This thread is starting to heat up. I also backed lily of the glen e/w thought he was up great ride though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭munster87

Son of Goats 'tips' straight from the yards in the US etc. 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Has gone downhill rapidly since that illfated nonsensical "upgrade".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

I don't bother much with boards any more since they changed it. Who evers bright idea that was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

So anyone got anything solid for Galway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ballyhagan

If they have, it shouldn't go here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ballyhagan

I'm no muinteor, but I would have thought that someone looking to post or read tips for Galway, wouldn't come to a thread called 'The decline of this forum'.

And I would have thought that a Johnny come lately with 50 posts should be on his knees in gratitude that a legend like Realdanbreen even acknowledged him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭del roy

Lads

like all other stuff in this world people crave for the good old days

what with people frowning (and thats putting it lightly) on gambling nowadays, the craic on here is long gone, sure even if you think you have a winner before the race all ya can get on it is a poxy score.

Get up the yard DAN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,702 ✭✭✭tryfix

I had/have been a regular here for a few years. Being a flat rather than jumps fan I usually stop posting for the winter ( after the last big flat meeting which is the Breeders Cup ) and come back in the Spring when the Guineas Trials are starting.

Off I went into hibernation last Winter only to wake up to a practically dead horse racing forum ( was there much Cheltenham activity? )

As far as I can I remember at some stage an awful lot of regular posters left the forum at the same time and someone mentioned that they had gone to some other platform. That was effectively the end of this forum.

There's no point in posting when there are no replies. I haven't gone to any other horse racing forum I just gave up posting.

There's very little hope of resurrecting the forum, when you've lost the crowd to somewhere else they ain't coming back unless that other place closes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭j@utis

Yeap, I've head rumors that they all moved to the Telegram group, which I'm yet to go looking for...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭pottokblue

nice plate winner finnbarrk lurking in this thread of decline!

Great to see Shark win the plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Christybartley

Any tips for Galway lads? I use to post in here years ago. If i hear any word il post it 👍 we should get this back up and running post any word you get. Up to people to back it

Post edited by Christybartley on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Ilikedwayurthinkin- 2.30 Galway.

It's generally available at 8/1 on sites that play 6places. I backed Party Business at Cheltenham, there were loads of traffic problems in that race and P.B. and the "tip" above, finished one slightly ahead of the other, nine lengths back. At Aintree, they finished one/two less than a month later.

In May this year the "tip" was runner up to "Rock Road" who won by 6L this week at Galway.

It's not exactly "tip", but an e.w. shot that might return for a win or cover itself for place.