Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kilkenny GAA Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭tibruit

Jeez I hope neither of them retire. If the stories about Richie Hogan burning up the training sessions are true I would hope that he might hang in there too. It sort of sneaks up on you but we actually now have a team with a young profile. Off the top of my head I think we had only three starters that have won All Irelands.

Relatively inexperienced teams often have to lose one with the winning line in sight before they go and win one. It`s all a learning process and I wouldn`t be blaming management for poor decision making by inexperienced players in the inferno of the final minutes of a tight All Ireland final. Games take on a life of their own, players make errors and you`d hope they learn from the experience.

We are the coming team. We have been underestimated all year by pundits, bookies and even KK supporters that contribute here on boards. Some of them sadly wanted us to get a bad beating so Cody would be forced to retire. However, social media does not reflect how a demographic is thinking and mainstream media needs to cop itself on and stop thinking that everything they read online is a straw in the wind.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

tbiggertycome was thanked by 23 posters for his excellent post yesterday. I presume that number of thanks is an endorsement of the contents. It explains how many posters felt over the last year. We eventually saw the change we were looking for eight weeks ago in the Leinster Final. What a turn around from the Wexford match. The supporters were happy with what they saw, but more importantly the players were happy. The progress must continue, whoever is in charge.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭The_Ghost

From what I’ve heard and by the looks of Mikie Carey’s instagram it look likes he’s traveling next year, nobody could begrudge him but over the last two years he’s been very good for us and was growing into a great wing back.

couldnt imagine cody leaving after years of seeming miles off the place and staying on, and to leave the year it looks like we look good wouldn’t make sense. Weather it’s Brian or anybody else they’re taking over a good mix of experience and youth anyway. Looking forward to the club now in a few weeks, sadly my team are junior and not senior but has any KK club ever done 5 ina row? Don’t think anybody has but can see a city club lifting it this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 770 ✭✭✭Marrooned

Transition is finished, all the links with 2015 will be gone and there won’t be an all Ireland inter county medal winner on the team. The rebuilding has to start now.

I said last year that I was quite pissed off that Cody was staying on but now I actually hope he stays on for next year.

The reason I was annoyed last year was because I felt he was too stuck in his ways but he showed this year that he can be adaptable.

We've got a very young, talented, panel and working under Cody is the best foundation any hurler can be given.

• Registered Users Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Mad about baa baas

I see your point but i always thought a team should be in transition at all times..should be 2/3 new faces every year to keep the thing fresh ..when you keep a team the same.things can get stale and also they all grow old together..tipp and sheedy being a prime example ..even look at our 4 in a row team there was probably a core of.10 but there was different lads started on each all Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 601 ✭✭✭WJL

I'll be slated for this.

But Mikey Carey is picking a terrible time in his career to go travelling. He's had his break out season. He's on a young improving team looking like there's an All Ireland in them in the next year or two.

There's no guarantee you'll be as good as you were when you return, or you'll get your place back. In 3 or 4 years he'll still be a young man if he wants to travel. It's not as if he's put 7 or 8 hard years in and needs a break.

Is it more important to see Bangkok than win an All Ireland medal.... What you've yearned to achieve since you first held a hurl.

Now of course I don't know Mikey. There are 101 reasons he might need a break, from his mental health to fatigue etc. It's a bit rich of me giving out that Mikey won't stay for my entertainment and enhance the chances of Kilkenny winning an All Ireland to make me happy!

However, if in the whole of your health, I can't fathom why you'd go travelling at this particular time. I am old fashioned and young fellas are different now. But if Padraig Walsh or say Paddy Deegan, on the team since 2017, wanted to travel, fair enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭kksaints

Probably wants to travel before he settles into employment, settles down etc. He's under no obligation to play hurling no matter how important we think it is.

• Registered Users Posts: 38 Anita22

Oh you can't mention travel. That's the ultimate sacred cow today.

Everything you say is right. He could travel whenever with his partner etc. He's putting travel, which can be done anytime, over inter county hurling, where you have a finite career, and even less time in a career when your county is in All Ireland contention.

Just another extension of the cult of the self over community that's glorified today. I can never remember a Kilkenny hurler, or most top county hurlers going travelling after getting onto the county team.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭JJs Left Hand

Confirmed Cody is gone.

Thanks for the memories. Hopefully he enjoys his retirement and the commitment and work rate he's developed in all his teams remains in his absence.

My tribute to Brian Cody. Just in my head all morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Nickindublin

Best of luck to Brian Cody and thank you for everything. A ledgend of the game we will probably never see again.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭thesultan

Cody to Waterford

Some legacy with the cats

• Registered Users Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

His behaviour towards Henry scared his achievements

• Registered Users Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

• Registered Users Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

Statement

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Butterbeans

Huge thanks and gratitude to Brian Cody for all the years of service he's given to Kilkenny hurling and all the brilliant days and lasting memories.

• Registered Users Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Denny61

Breaking.news ..Breaking news ?? Cody is gone. He's gone..thats right folks..he's gone....hes not dead..tg....but his gone .the sporting world has been shocked ..lol lol. Get a Bloody life people

• Registered Users Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Rosita

You shake hands with it, look darkly at it, and mutter stuff. Oh wait, that was Shefflin he scared.

A career that ultimately ended in failure guiding Kilkenny to what will now be eight years and counting without an All Ireland title. Last games against all the top counties bar Clare and Galway were defeats.

No Kilkenny manager will ever survive for so long with those records.

But fair play to him for the contribution. If Kilkenny win 11 All Irelands in the next 50 years it'll be an achievement.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭evolvingtipperary101

The year Cody was appointed -

Search Engine Google is founded

FDA approves Viagra

Apple unveils the iMac

Maastricht Treaty comes into force.

The end of his reign feels surreal because he's been part of our championship for so long.

Brian Cody, like all great managers, made hurling and the championship better. Can't pay him a higher compliment than that.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,228 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

• Registered Users Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

• Registered Users Posts: 397 ✭✭usernamethatsnotinuse

Yes. Not as important as the harry and Megan threads you’ve been commenting on alright

• Registered Users Posts: 4,087 ✭✭✭Rosita

Not a hope Kilkenny will win an All Ireland in the next two years. I have no doubt that is a consideration in his plans. He might as well travel because there'll be little here for people his age in the next while.

There are a lot of people younger than 28 who never remember a Kilkenny manager other than Brian Cody.

Kevin Fennelly, Nicky Brennan, Ollie Walsh all seem so distant. From day 1 he has dominated the sport. Laois gave Kilkenny trouble in 1998, should have won. First outing in the championship was a huge win over Laois in 1999. He then moved on to subduing Offaly, they've never beaten Kilkenny in senior since. Next it was beating Tipp, whom we only beat once in championship in 80 years. That balance was redressed. On to beating Cork's running game. And I could go on and on with setbacks over come, beating Tipp in 2011. Coming to terms with free flowing Galway in 2012. Every obstacle overcome. And then valiantly trying to defy the odds against Limerick was his final act. RESPECT.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Good Friday agreement and the Clinton affair were fresh in the mind too, Cody was only 44.

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭murtyd17

Some record and time given to kk hurling - be interesting to see who comes in