Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTÉ journo given 15months for sexually assaulting woman as she slept

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭pgj2015

Apart from the worry of the guards raiding the house while you are in bed with an escort.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,373 ✭✭✭raclle

Some people here are blowing this way out of proportion. To the posters defending the victim, have you never experienced initiated sex when asleep or vice versa and I'm not talking about being groped or what you call sexual assault but in general? We are humans at the end of the day and sometimes that means we get unwanted desires/moods at probably inappropriate times but that doesn't make it wrong

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭anglesorangles

You just typed" to the posters defending the VICTIM" . Ive never sexually assault a woman who was asleep no. To act on it without consent is of course wrong. Headcase.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

• Registered Users Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Motivator

Asking women, apparently multiple times, do they really want to ride you is not going to hold any water in court. If someone wants to accuse you of rape then that’s it. Guilty or not guilty the word rapist will follow you around forever.

If you want to ride someone, ask them once and take your chances then.

Yes because everyone else can see how ludicrous this is getting and don't try and twist it as I specifically stated "and I'm not talking about being groped or what you call sexual assault but in general?"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Before you were getting anywhere? So everything was agreed in advance?

The only ludicrous thing here is people absolutely devastated that a pervert who committed sexual assault was charged and punished. He 100% committed sexual assault , not one poster has been able to suggest in anyway that he didnt. I wonder will you give it a go?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭pgj2015

its crazy how women can get away with worse things, a friends brother was on a first date once in the cinema, she puts her hand down his trousers during the film. imagine if that was the other way around. This was before they kissed or anything and wasn't discussed before or anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I believe that's known commonly as " not the kind of girl you bring home to meet Mammy "

No one here as you well know is claiming the contrary. People are trying to discuss what is and isn't appropriate. The question I asked was, is it wrong to initiate when someone is asleep without sexual assaulting them to which you are still unable to answer or are trying to twist into something else and could you please stop accusing people of being headcases and perverts.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Amazing how indifferent you are to the fact that I have been, by definition, sexually assaulted.

You mock me for being subjected to the very same thing the lady in this case was, how revealing of your character.

Tell me, do you really not give a **** about sexual assault unless it happens to a woman? Would you have told this lady to "stop bitching about it?"

Discuss it with your little friend there and let us know.

The question I asked was, is it wrong to initiate when someone is asleep without sexual assaulting them

The law clearly states that someone who is sleeping cannot give consent. Its been posted a few times. That's all you need to know. Do not initiate sex with someone who is sleeping. Wake them up first!

We are humans at the end of the day and sometimes that means we get unwanted desires/moods at probably inappropriate times but that doesn't make it wrong

But acting on them can be. Do you suffer from a lack of self-control?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

You're missing the point. The tactic (if i can call it that) wouldn't be asking them multiple times if they want to ride you... it would be asking them if they are sure after they've asked to ride you. Read it properly! In other words you've got them in two ways; no. 1 that they've initiated it, and no. 2 that you even asked were they sure after that. Just admit it, it's less likely the girl would accuse the guy of rape after that. And I didn't mean that this PUA guy implied that you have to ask her "several times" if she's sure... you'd obviously play that by ear. I've to spell everything out for boardsies.

Now I've no doubt that this PUA dude wouldn't be against asking a girl for sex. Of course, go for it. But once back in the bedroom (once it's inevitable), let her be the proactive one.

But I asked you how is it serial killer like behaviour?

Plenty on here have claimed it. I didnt accuse anybody of being a pervert. Ive called the guy in this case a pervert of that we have evidence. Course i cant answer that stupid question. Because what do you mean by initiate? If its getting on top of someone and feeling their tits while they are asleep and it hasnt been pre discussed then yes it is CLEARLY WRONG AND ILLEGAL.

Why did you never report these countless cases? Maybe you didnt have proof? The victim in this case had texts and then the guy obviously went with the truth. Maybe next time you should take action if you feel like youve been sexually assaulted?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,487 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

The question of reporting is pure deflection from the point made.

Of course, certain people do not want to follow such points. They picked a side a few hours ago and damn sure they don't want to see how shaky the ground they preach from really is.

They would probably have to re-register if they did that.

Sorry what point were you trying to make? Oh sure its happened to me loads? Whats your point there? Is it about the other posters saying get over it? I agree that is harsh. Thats why i asked you about reporting your multiple cases or why you never felt the need/want. Maybe you can report the next few/loads?

Post edited by anglesorangles on

• Registered Users Posts: 56,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

He pleaded not guilty, no?

Was found guilty.

some posts here suggesting he pled guilty!!

Post edited by walshb on

• Registered Users Posts: 56,283 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Awful lot debate and analysis:

boils down to two adults engage in intimacy trough an evening. Man tries to re-ignite intimacy on woman when she is asleep. Gropes her, she wakes and says stop. He stops. And all that went on after. Including his genuine remorse:regret.

3 years later man in a prison cell

nobody saying he was completely innocent and was free to do that, but for jaysus sake, lads. Court, conviction and prison sentence is just way OTT.

He pleaded not guilty. I actually thought he pleaded guilty at the start cos when i read through what he was saying i assumed he had plead guilty because he was honest and described a case of sexual assault.

The law clearly states that someone who is sleeping cannot give consent. Its been posted a few times. That's all you need to know. Do not initiate sex with someone who is sleeping. Wake them up first!

I don't know if you've ever been in a sexual relationship before or do things differently to the rest of us and I cant believe I've to actually spell this out for you to understand but there are different ways of initiation without it having to be verbal. Initiation can be in many forms in the sense of waking up the person. It can be stroking their hair or a simple cuddle etc... Now if that is in some way inappropriate or against the law most of us would be locked up by now. Do you believe couples should verbally declare it to each other that they are about to engage in the act of sex when awake because I've got news for you that's not how it works.

Why are you discussing this though, it doesnt apply to this case whatsoever.

You conveniently left out a few details. She stopped any sexual activity before going to sleep- so going to sleep she clearly said no.

He didn’t have genuine remorse- up to the time of the verdict he incredibly believed he was not guilty even though he had admitted the act to Gardai. He reluctantly admitted that he saw the error of his ways after the verdict

Had he produced a no comment interview, it may likely have never gone to trial as the DPP wouldn’t have had such a textbook confession -by the sounds of it, this case might have been a good example of where some form of restorative justice was more appropriate than a criminal trial, but that’s only based on what I’ve read in the media.

Had he pled guilty he may likely not be in prison now.

If you were the DPP, and a file was sent to you with a confession of sexual assault, what would you do?

The prosecution the courts the verdict and the jail sentence were all inevitable in this case because of a confession of sexual assault and a not guilty plea- there’s absolutely nothing strange at all about it- it’s all very logical

• Registered Users Posts: 9,810 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Initiation can be in many forms in the sense of waking up the person.

So you agree that initiating sexual activity without waking people up is wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭DellyBelly

It has total reference to the case. You're just not getting it and I'm not going to keep repeating myself for you to understand

• Registered Users Posts: 40,232 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

The prosecution the courts the verdict and the jail sentence were all inevitable in this case because of a confession of sexual assault and a not guilty plea

The verdict was absolutely inevitable, there was no pathway to an acquittal under the law.

But a custodial sentence? No way, it was always a possibility but an extremely slim one given the circumstances and facts of the case.

The reality is they (him and his defence) made a calculated gamble on this mans liberty and unless the court of appeal reduce the sentence to non custodial, they lost and lost badly.

I'm sure that didn't impress the Judge either, but that said she has covered herself by extended every courtesy of an appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

If I had agreed to have sex with a friend and we fool around and then go to bed and then wake up to to find her touching me, I would be quite pleased to be woken up by the same girl trying to initiate sexual contact.

Sex and consent are not black and white.