Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Nah. No one here is interested in reality.

A story about a Ukrainian driving a brand new BMW parked outside a post office across 3 disabled spaces whilst she comes out with a brand new pram stuffed to the brim with 50s whilst kicking a swan is what will garner the likes on here.

You know that. The ne'er do wells only want to dehumanise refugees, it makes them feel good about their own lives. Obviously that is profoundly sad, but here we are.

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Gamergurll

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119471147#Comment_119471147 There was an error displaying this embed.

At any rate, quite a few have a good bit of English as they have said themselves many times on Facebook in their posts. As AiryFairy already said there is a lot of racism and anti lgtb as well as the other issues, of course not every one of them will think like this but as a nation this is how they are. Its not unbelievable in the slightest that man went off on a racist rant. And this is the kind of thinking we are importing

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

irony

/ (ˈaɪrənɪ) /

noun plural -nies

the humorous or mildly sarcastic use of words to imply the opposite of what they normally mean

an instance of this, used to draw attention to some incongruity or irrationality

incongruity between what is expected to be and what actually is, or a situation or result showing such incongruity

See dramatic irony

philosophy See Socratic irony

Yet, one of the first families to arrive in Ireland were people of colour!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,210 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Interesting article in today's Sunday Times about Ukrainians staying in Maynooth University student accommodation. What struck out was the number who arrived in Ireland via one or more safe countries.

One lad being put up at our expense said he always liked Ireland because of Conor MCgeror, Guinness,Irish whisky moved to Moldova and met a girl there. The two then went to Romania and then to Ireland (left 2 safe countries) are now being given free lodgings and money, no wonder so many Ukrainians are heading here.

Is it too much that when Ukrainians arrive that they are asked where they came from and if its a safe country told to go back there?

Do you not remember the news reports of black students being attacked in Ireland? Ireland is a very racist and homophobic country (on top of the corruption).

Same sex couples are were not given equal rights in Ireland until 2015. Gay sex used to be illegal! Gays, lesbians and trans people are still regularly attacked in Ireland. It is generally a homophobic country.

The rental of young vulnerable women's wombs abroad to be surrogates for rich Irish is allowed.

The mistreatment and disgusting living conditions of disabled and special needs children in orphanages were disgraceful in Ireland, and they are still terribly under-resourced. The bodies of 796 babies and young children being found in a disused septic tank in a mother and baby home run by a religious order. Nobody has ever been prosecuted for this!

A quick Google using a few of the words I've written will bring you to a vast amount of reports on these issues in Ireland. It wouldn't be fair of me to produce just one or two links, there's a huge amount of reports etc online!!

• Registered Users Posts: 297 ✭✭Gamergurll

I think the word you are looking for is Xenophobia not racism? I would like to see some examples of xenophobic comments please, I haven't seen any, only people concerned about the country being driven into the ground

• Registered Users Posts: 11,105 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Wouldn't be a massive difference there with traditional Irish views. The graphic is misleading perhaps as the question it poses is "Would you let your son or daughter marry....?". The days that Irish parents control who their sons or daughters have relationships with are gone. But that doesn't mean that Irish parents necessarily approve either. And that is at the heart of matters really.

The difference is 79% to 12%. You can’t get much more massive than that. Nothing misleading about it, you just don’t want to accept the reality.

• Registered Users Posts: 86 ✭✭Barbosa92

Exactly. Our concerns/comments are not due to racism. It is the extra burden they are putting on our resources here. On top of this, the obvious abuse of our generosity whereby many Ukrainians are coming here to take advantage of the most generous conditions in probably the whole world.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭enricoh

It is too much too ask! Now no more racist, xenophobic stuff ta. We've 40k+ at the minute and it's a complete s#£tshow, government are expecting 80k here by crimbo. We'll reappraise the situation then.

Some clowns on here, many who don't even live in Ireland will tell us to shut up n it'll be fine. We may get a Ukrainian segment on the toy show and Michael d will tell us to dig a bit deeper. Our kids will commute or kip in their cars during college n we'll be surprised when they leg it as soon as they their degrees. We'll have any amount of refugees in for a free lunch to replace them- so it'll be grand!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭airy fairy

I do think that if the gravy train was stopped, if only the pocket money of €208 pp plus children allowance while being put up by the state was stopped, it would weed out the ones taking advantage of the situation. At least then, those who are genuine, and requesting to stay here, may be of benefit of the country and want to genuinely want to contribute towards living here.

Right now, the good and the bad are lumped together, and quite naturally, citizens here are becoming more sceptical as time goes on. As it's really only those who want to ride the system are on their way over now. Let's be honest, if your town was being bombed, or bombings anywhere near it, you'd be out of it since April or May at the very latest.

Anyone arriving to these shores in June, July, August and beyond is here for the treasure. Especially now when holidays are being had in Ukraine and multinationals, the likes of McDs and Zara are reopening.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,336 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

women, children, the elderly, people with illness, disability… we were told…from areas where there was fighting … instead….full families, including cohorts of fit, healthy.. young men in the prime of life…

the fact is the vast majority will attempt to stay here and make new lives for themselves.. loads are Western Ukrainians

they do have more rights here then Irish people.…they are prioritised for housing, social welfare, free healthcare and other services…

look up what ‘assylum and protection actually are’…

then there is this fûckin shîtshow

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Again maybe inform yourself from a reputable source and lay off the lads on facebook who just so happen to perfectly align with your bias.

Exaclty, the first 2 months you could say yes it is likely they are escaping a war zone. Anyone coming here in the last couple of months are here for the €€€€.

“they are prioritised for housing”

I don’t think whole families living in one bedroom would be acceptable to our Irish homeless! No Siree. No sharing bathrooms and kitchen facilities with numerous other families. I don’t think that is prioritising!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Tonesjones

"Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people in Ukraine face legal challenges not experienced by non-LGBT people. Same-sex sexual activity between consenting adults is legal in Ukraine, but prevailing social attitudes are often intolerant of LGBT people, and households headed by same-sex couples are not eligible for any of the same legal protections and recognition available to opposite-sex couples"

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119471443#Comment_119471443 There was an error displaying this embed.

Are there any situations where families are… ‘living’ in a bedroom ?

My post was a literal copy and paste of the post describing Ukraine as a racist and homophobic country, just substituting Ireland for Ukraine.

Yes, Ireland is both racist and xenophobic. Look back through this thread for literally dozens of examples of xenophobia directed at Ukrainians. People only concerned about "the country being driven into the ground" would not be dismissing all Ukrainians as "refugees" (inverted commas used), dismissing them all as welfare tourists, criticising them for working, criticising them for not working, calling them "it", and so on.

Perfect example of xenophobia here. Plenty of xenophobia and racism here already. QED.

(And btw, 66% attending Intreo employment events were found to have "challenges" with English. Many are pure beginners.)

Yes. Many. In what were disused schools, convents, b&bs etc. Most don’t have en-suite facilities. Families of 2, 3 and 4 to one cramped bedroom. But, shur, they’re only here for the money and handouts!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If you think Ireland while not close to perfect(nowhere is) is equivalent to Ukraine in attitudes towards LGBT and race and general xenophobia, never mind wholesale corruption at nigh on every level of society, you really need to get out more. Maybe even get to know a few Ukrainians. Hell, Russians too. Their societal mindset on such matters can be remarkably close. I know as I know and have known quite a few of both. The last time Ireland could be seen as equivalent is decades ago.

This sackcloth and ashes Irish self hate bollocks is getting irritating and stupid and painfully naive. Then again that sums up much of the Right On's political position on such things.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119471505#Comment_119471505 There was an error displaying this embed.

They might be sharing bedrooms to sleep in but there is no way they are living in them….

en suite facilities ? No en-suite facilities where I live.

“many in disused schools, convents, b&bs etc”… many in 3 and 4 star hotels, couldn’t they just be happy to flee war and have a roof over their heads, hundreds of euros of free money every week, free medical care, and a host of other supports ;)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,152 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

And 44% don't. Nearly half. So?

Oh and just because you type QED doesn't mean you've actually demonstrated a damned thing. It's like typing Fact! with no links to evidence.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Claiming xenophobia/racism is the only defence he has. It is a common tactic these days when anyone from any sort of minority gets called out on their actions. Claim racism/discrimination.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,407 ✭✭✭✭road_high

• Registered Users Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Elmer Blooker

Is it racist and xenophobic to ask why we had to show our papers to have a pint, a meal, to cross borders etc but Ukrainians have come here with no questions asked about their vaccination status?

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119471605#Comment_119471605 There was an error displaying this embed.

How about you record them and show the Ukrainians living in western Ukrianie or hell even show that clown of a president who likes getting on vouge. They can see how it is for some people fleeing to a country who does not have the means to support their war and expect other countries to pick up the tab.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/comment/119471605#Comment_119471605 There was an error displaying this embed.

My life is actually busy enough thanks without seeking out people whom I don’t know, strangers, to meet.

how they have been living, hmm…. In safety, in absolute comfort often, with the citizens of this country enabling them with hundreds of euros in cash per week, free healthcare and other benefits.

you can roar wild accusations like prejudiced , bigoted, and whatever else 🙄… I simply reserve the right to discuss what’s happening in my country and the impact of what’s happening on us citizens, our present, futures, etc….

so you can accuse away, reasonable people see through it and you, and believe me, it’s not a deterrent.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

They have a choice. They can go back to Italy, Romania, Poland, France, Spain etc. Or they can go there for the first time. Heck, they can even join the other 41million Ukrainians back in Ukraine.

The amount of bending over you keep suggesting the Irish people do is sickening, especially when compared with the polar views you take when speaking of the Ukrainians.

I see their government wants some of the free money we are giving out now. They have introduced an 18% tax that comes into effect on the 1st of January, so all money gained in the EU is going to be taxed when they return. It includes benefits/assistance.

This is beyond f**king ridiculous now.