Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Greatest League in the World 2024 [new thread available]

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,255 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Hopefully that's our bad game out of the way! Thankfully no damage done - cheers Waterford! I'll happily take a draw next.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,392 ✭✭✭PGE1970

It's about professional respect.

You don't get it and Duff doesn't get it.

That's ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,279 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Id say ye will be grand, Waterford didn't need to be good to beat us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

Didn't travel but I'd more concerned about the behaviour of the Shels fans than whether or not Duff and Doherty shook hands. No excuse for it and needs to be stamped out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

That's Rovers, Pats, and Shels fans throwing bottles in the last couple of weeks. With the first two being in European matches. Absolutely needs to be stamped out. Complete muppets who do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

As opposed to you with the glittering LOI career experience of professional respect?

Get out of here with the sanctimonious bullsh*t.

Weirdly enough, I also respect the people I work with and manage to finish up the work day without a handshake.

100%. I would love to defend the indefensible when it comes to Shels but there is no defending that.

Team that is predicted to finish 8th, likely finishes in 8th shocker? If nobody particularly overachieves where they’re expected to at the end of the season, just give it to Bradley.

Do you need salt & vinegar for that chip on your shoulder?

Genuinely confused here. How can we say Drogheda have overachieved? They’ll finish ahead of the teams they were supposed to, and behind the teams they were supposed to. They have achieved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,373 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Is the problem with giving it to Bradley not the same as giving it to Doherty? He has the best team in the league with the biggest budget. He's just doing what is expected. He'll still get the award though.

Duff should be the MOTY if he gets Shels to 5th or 6th. I thought Sean Connor should have got it in 2006 for achieving similar his first season in the top tier with Sligo Rovers, but it went to Fenlon despite Shels' financial doping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

There was verbals exchanged between Doherty and Duff during the match at Tolka, I've so much time for Doc but he was a pest at the officials all night in that match and Duff had enough of it, may have been more said between the two after that match or during the match last night I don't know

Both men are very well liked by Shels fans and I don't think that changes if they don't like each other or if one doesn't want to shake hands

Kev's job was to keep Drogheda in the division and it appears that he has done that comfortably. Considering that we lost our entire back 5 in the close season, he has done superbly.

Every team above us in the league is full-time and we have the second lowest budget in the league (only UCD is lower but they offer scholarships). We have beaten both Rovers and Dubdalk (twice) and taken points from Derry, Pats and Sligo.

The team plays as a team and have a great connection with supporters.

Kev won't get manager of the year. We don't care, he is doing a super job.

I think the argument is that Bradley can’t achieve much more than expected. Which (if he actually cares about these awards) leaves him very vulnerable to anyone who really overachieves. But, unless we do some serious business with our games in hand, I don’t really see anyone doing that.

Yes, the gap between us and Drogs and the 2 bottom sides are bigger than expected, but a lot of that is down to Harps being much worse than most anticipated and UCD losing their 2 main guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

Anang looks like he's been recalled by West Ham to go on loan to Derby. Blow for us he's been impressive since a slightly shaky start.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Then they probably go in and shake their hand once they have calmed down

I think their might be lingering negative mutual feeling between Duff and Doherty.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

It happens. It's a game that brings out the passion in people. We all know of quiet men and women who turn into a different person for 90 mins

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Dunno if it belongs here, but Abankwah is on the bench for Udinese against AC this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,926 ✭✭✭deisedude

Just catching up on the LOI TV highlights show. OK, some of the opinions are a bit safe as you would expect from a show made by the league but its way better than what RTE offered with Soccer Republic back in the day

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,255 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Early Red for Waterford, should lead to a comfortable win, unlike the Galway game hopefully.

Exactly like Galway game unfortunately! 0-0 again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

City going through bit of blip. No goal in last two home games is a concern even with chances created.

When at home against ten men for most of game you got to get 3 points.. simples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Think Shels should beat Bohs friday. The scoreline flattered Bohs last time in Tolka. Last time Shels put in such a woeful performance like Drogheda, there was a bounce back, I'm thinking first Finn Harps game. Lost to Rovers last minute following game I think, but players were up for it.

Think Bohs on a downward trajectory in general, Shels slowly on the up. After the scoreline last time in Tolka, and the fact Bohs came from behind to get draw in Phibsborough at the start of the season, we owe them a beating.

Shels-Bohs rivalry definitely heating up again, since Shels are competitive, Rovers game with Bohs only became bigger with Shels' demise. This is a bigger rivalry traditionally and will become the big one again over the next few years I think. Can feel the undercurrent of the rivalry growing again with each match Shels are back and competitive, with all their fans back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

I’ve been following Rovers since the seventies and Bohs has always been the big match of the season. Maybe in the sixties Shels was the bigger derby?

If Boyd is suspended/injured, we will lose meekly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

For Rovers maybe? Huge rivalry in the homeless years alright. A rivalry manufactured from circa 09 onwards with Shels decline, the league needed a "classico" in the internet age

Maybe for Rovers the big one was Drums? Anyways when it comes to Bohs and Shels, that's real history and rivalry behind it

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Bohs Drums was a big one as well. Bohs Shels really came up as a competitive rivalry in the late 90s early 2000s when Ryan, Hawkins and Crowe took the soup it compounded it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Ohmeha

Stats do back that likelihood of defeat, matches with Boyd starting average of 1.5 points per game, Boyd not starting 1 point per game. Really surprised we haven't added a striker during the window since Boyd is a bit injury prone and picks up too many yellows and Duff clearly doesn't rate Carr

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

Rovers getting the absolute run around here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,325 ✭✭✭howiya

• Registered Users Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Tandey

He may as well have kicked it in the net himself, shocking attempted clearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭tastyt

rte have their excuse now for not showing European games after this one

Very naive football from Rovers here. Towell and Byrne will hopefully be a bit more progressive on the ball, but you fear a torrid remainder of this match and next week in Tallaght for the Irish champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭kksaints

Rovers well outclassed here although you really can't give away goals like Gannon did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Hard to remember a more one sided game, they have been multiple levels above. Probably no harm being in the ECL group stages in fairness, hopefully will be more competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Why do irish teams bother, another embarrassing evening for the hoops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,742 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Another lol . They won 2 ties and lost 2 ties in Europe - hardly embarrassing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

I read earlier the average wage in the Hungarian league is €8,000 a week and Ferencvaros have a lot to do with it being so high. Showed this evening.

The way Europe is set up now the next time our sides play Shkupi and Riga they'll have €20 million budgets.

Congratulations on the victories over the best Malta (44th) and North Macedonia (52nd) have to offer.

As has always been the case, any half decent side and Bradley bottles it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,057 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Riga bought a guy for €1.2m the week they beat us. It's hard to compete with teams like that.

But I think it's unfair to slag off irish teams in Europe. We often punch above our weight. Have you forgotten already Sligo beating an SPL team home and away?

You just have to accept that eventually you will meet a team that's simply too good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

In better European News - Shels caused a bit of an upset in Slovenia! Was a nervy match after a great opening from Shels, roll on Sundays game! Loads of media coverage of it which is excellent given the huge strides the club have made in recent years between bring both senior teams under the one name, both playing out of Tolka, decent crowds, etc... hopefully the next step is to move the WNL League away from being fully amateur so clubs get a fee of some sort when players get grabbed from foreign teams.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0818/1316504-shelbourne-claim-famous-win-in-slovenia/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

If LOI sides could just beat the teams we should be beating, everything could be rosier.

Losing to the likes of Bala Town or going out in true LOI style because of not taking your chances in a game you 'should've' won in earlier rounds is much much worse than tonight. CSKA beat Basel tonight...

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,798 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Hopefully they can keep it going and take their eye off the FAI Cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

You think the LSL is the same Level as Wales Premier League? You don't watch much LSL so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭fatbhoy

No one gives a shite. Let them get their own football and stop piggybacking on men's football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

Viking have an average attendance of 10,000 and get 15,000 in for the bigger games. The week they played us they spent 400k on a player.

They'd wipe the floor with every LOI team on a weekly basis if they played in this league.

Shams have the biggest budget in the league and their pick of any player. In 5/6 years in Europe I think Brann (a mid-table Norwegian side at the time) is the only team from a higher ranked league that Bradley has ever managed to beat. He hasn't achieved anything, and whenever they come up against a half decent side with a good coach he gets exposed. He bottled it tactically in Bulgaria and again in Hungary last night. Last year it was an Estonian side that exposed him.

Comparing the European performances of a club run on a much smaller budget to one who spent whatever they wanted running up massive debts to get where they are and then sold off half their club to Ray Wilson and Dermot Desmond to balance the books is disingenuous. They are in a different league with far bigger ambitions than the likes of Sligo Rovers will ever have.