Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drunken After-Work Shenanigans - Not Just In Ireland, Folks

• 15-08-2022 4:55pm
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Older posters on boards may remember the days when you and your colleagues would go for a "scoop" or two on a Friday lunchtime and finding it very hard to do anything productive back in the office or factory etc. in the few hours left to the working week. Then there were the Friday evening post-work drinks.

Fortunately the worst that ever happened to me at one of these sessions - which could go on for much longer than planned - was leaving behind my rucksack bag in a pub but getting it back the next day (it didn't have any sensitive documents in it, thankfully!)

Well, spare a thought for a police officer in Japan who got sloshed on a night out after-work event and misplaced hundreds of sensitive and critical case documents. 😳

Link to article:

My own drinking days are now well behind me (for good reason, explained in other threads) - but have any of you been out on a work-related drinking session or after-work session and managed to lose or misplace work documents/files etc. that were on your person?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,699 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

I don't work in an area where I'd carry sensitive documents to and from work, so I've just lost my dignity on occasion. 😁

Phones. I've lost track of the number of phones that went walkies on a heavy night out over the years. Even managed to drop one in the Liffey WHILE TEXTING.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,189 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Japan is renowned for hefty after work drinking, as other other Asian countries, with differing and odd payment rituals (paying for your bosses drinks like used to happen in docklands pubs here in the early 20th century).

City of London still has huge amounts of finance and tech staff completely sloshed on Friday afternoon, if not also Thursday and Wednesday. Colleagues in London offices in a past job always drank at lunchtime, every single day.

I'd say Ireland has extremely weak drinking with colleagues rituals compared to other places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

Never been to Japan, but I've watched hundreds of Japanese films and the after work drinking culture there in all of them is portrayed as highly prevalent, very severe and extremely grim.

Make America Get Out of Here

Japanese drink culture is rather strong, but I'd say the South Koreans are the all time champions for it. I did a month there for teaching and it blew me away just how much drinking goes on from bosses/colleagues. Japan has a similar culture, as do the Chinese, but the Koreans really embrace it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Friend of mine working in finance was sent to Korea 3 or 4 times on a work trip and had to tell his boss at home he is refusing to do it again. After work drinks every night as he was seen as the boss all drinks paid (he's not a big drinker) shot after shot of rice wine until he was stocious and he said it would be considered very rude/insulting to get up and leave before them so he was stuck until they wanted to go home. Took him ages to recover after getting back each time lucky he had his 1st kid not long after his last trip so was skipped that nightmare agin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Only in Japan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

I don’t think I lost anything, but I definitely managed to forget all my work equipment (containing sensitive material) in a colleague’s place after hooking up with her after work. I’d had to return home during the night but was obviously high as a kite and forgot everything but my clothes, keys and phone.

To make things worse I had to be in the office before her and had to wait for her to bring in my stuff. I had also managed to forget one sock which she had kindly put in my bag.

The drinking at lunch time still goes on in the UK not to get harmed but having an alcoholic drink with your lunch is very acceptable , after work drinking on a Friday is huge, another thing I find very strange I know someone who works off the center of Manchester a place called spinningfields there is a small Catholic church beside all the hight rises and bars it has mass at lunch time and it's always packed. Maybe it's a kind of mindfulness and a break from the maddness for some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,714 ✭✭✭HBC08

I worked in Korea for nearly a decade and spent a few years in Japan aswell.

As a 20 something year old p1sshead it was great in Korea,I'd be out every night,mostly with friends but I always knew the work crew would be out if I fancied that instead.As a foreigner I wasn't bound by the strict societal and cultural rules that the natives had to live by.If for example the boss says we're going out after work which they would do about 3 or 4 times a week you would have no choice but to go.

Going out for dinner would mean heading from work straight to a Korean bbq place.The drinking would start before the eating and would be beer to start off with and then Soju ( rice wine as described by somebody up the thread) Soju is the biggest selling spirit in the world,its usually around 20% alcohol and is drank from small shot glasses,you don't sip it.These sessions could sometimes be only 2 hours or other times would go on into the small hours,you might go from the restaurant to a bar or singing room (karaoke in Japan)

Walking around Seoul from as early as 7 or 8 in the evening it's a common sight to see middle aged men (women to a much lesser degree) hammered and not able to walk,friends holding them up,passed out on the subway,puking/p1ssing down an alley.

I would have young work colleagues who would cofide in me that they hated this,they didn't like booze,they couldn't handle it everyday but they had to go along with it.The thing perpetuates itself when these lads get a bit older,get promoted and are used to the whole thing,they then themselves are the ones forcing the younger crew into it.Often times they are alcoholics by their 30s.Alcoholism is completely acceptable and brushed under the carpet,we think we have an issue with it in ireland (we do) but this is on another level.

Even though I spent a few years in Japan I'm not as familiar with the culture as I was working solo and hanging around only with other expats.It seems similar but maybe not as extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Yes I've lost things like a rucksack and usually a hoody or jumper/top inside it a few times. Usually they were my 'good' clothes rather than round the house junk. So yeah cost me a bit.

This happened time to time when I worked in London's West End, where going for a few jars on Compton Street after work was a very easy thing to do, as it took me only 5 minutes walk to get there.

I don't regret anything though. I loved and miss my parting lifestyle. It was my hayday. And although I don't drink regularly any longer because it screws up my fitness goals, I do revisit it occasionally. Otherwise I'd have no social life at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,221 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

France too, in the canteen where I worked there was one beer tap, you pulled the pint yourself, lots of bottles of beers, wines..mad.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Given the extreme after-work drinking culture in South Korea in particular, there surely must be a huge cohort of wives/partners etc. of the workers out boozing most nights after work who are not best pleased with the "when will you be home?" shenanigans and their sozzled spouses coming home at all hours.

In Ireland there was a common phrase housewives (and in the past it was the woman who cooked the dinner, minded the house and children etc.) would use to their hubbies out boozing after work "your dinner is in the bin/dog" etc. 😁

Aren't the "capsule" hotels in Japan aimed at businesspeople and office workers out boozing who want to crash for a few hours before going back into work?

On a more serious note, I was also thinking like a poster here noted that given the hard drinking culture in parts of Asia, the level of alcoholism in those countries must be through the roof.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,633 ✭✭✭maninasia

Yes thats true. Korean men and women drink like fish after work.

Anecdotally some Japanesve wives would be annoyed with their husbands if they come home too early after work...not socialising enough.

Japanese know this can be an important part of getting ahead.

I had Korean friends who told me that they could lose their jobs if they refused to go drinking with their bosses/superiors... and if they tried to leave before the superior was ready, they'd get into serious trouble. And as you said about Soju, the fact is you can buy it at any convenience store (which are everywhere), and it's really cheap.

I'm heading back there later this year for a few years. Been missing Asia.

Given the extreme after-work drinking culture in South Korea in particular, there surely must be a huge cohort of wives/partners etc. of the workers out boozing most nights after work who are not best pleased with the "when will you be home?" shenanigans and their sozzled spouses coming home at all hours.

It's a very different culture though, probably more in line with Catholic Ireland of the 20s/30s. Few wives would challenge their husbands that way, unless they're particularly more educated/wealthier than their husbands. It's an accepted part of their society that such drunken carryon goes on, and there's the same attitude given to cheating/prostitution by husbands being encouraged by their superiors to partake.

It's a strange kind of culture, and is present across most of Asia. Also most of the hotels are there for the huge amount of cheating and prostitution that goes on in both Korea and Japan. There's places that are completely automated, so that nobody sees who goes in, and they can be rented per the hour..

Those working late will sleep in the work canteens. Many Korean companies have special rooms with comfort/massage type sofas for their staff to get some sleep. I used to have a friend who only made it home two nights each week, having to sleep at work instead, because of the overtime/deadline requirements. It's the price they believe they have to pay to provide for their families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭NiceFella

Jaysus, I've recently been thinking of heading to Korea myself and the stories above would make me question it. In my thirties and glad to say most my serious drinking is behind me. Another 5 years of mad drinking would kill me.

The stories above are only a small snapshot of the culture of an amazing country.Id 100% recommend a visit.

As Klaz had mentioned its kind of accepted by the wives,it's something the husband has to do to get ahead at work.

Work very much defines your place and status in society,early on I've seen the girlfriends and wives actively encourage or in some cases demand it.I think resentment comes into it a bit later on when the guy might be in his 40s and have a mistress or go to prostitutes which is common and somewhat accepted.

Korea and its culture isn't coming out of this thread well!

However,this is focusing on the negatives of its drinking culture.Its also great craic when you're younger,you don't have to partake if you're a foreigner and there's a lot more to Korea and Koreans than what we're discussing here.

It's really not that bad, seriously. As foreigners we're kind on the outskirts of the culture, and it's much easier for us to avoid being entangled with the drinking culture. They'll make allowances for you, although, in most cases if "asked"/told to come out, it's best to have two drinks with your superior and then make an excuse to leave. They'll appreciate that you made a little effort and showed some respect.

Also you'll likely find that your alcohol tolerance is higher than that of most Asians. I wouldn't be a big drinker in Ireland, but I'm usually able to outdrink Asians, and can shake off the effects of the drink pretty quickly afterwards. The thing to remember is to keep track of which mixes of drinks you've had (Koreans love to mix alcohol). In addition, in many situations, everyone will be focused on the superiors and you'll be left to slow your drinking, or when the food arrives, there's periods to rest between bouts of drinking. Also, you won't be drinking pints, but small glasses of beer mixed with Soju or something similar. It's rare to be pushed into drinking anything really strong.. the chance that the superiors lose face is too high, so they'll work through the more traditional/manageable drinks. It won't be like the mad drinking we do in Ireland or the UK, unless you start hanging out with wealthy young people.

The truth about living in Asia is that it's very easy to live within a bubble. If anything the hardest part and most rewarding is stepping outside that bubble, learning to mingle with the natives without giving too much of yourself away. It's a lot of fun.

I did 13 years in China, roughly a year in Japan, and a few short periods in Korea. Amazing experience and I have many wonderful memories from that time. It's worth doing for a while. I'd highly recommend it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,438 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Are the Korean/Japanese women who work expected to get flutered as well?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

Korea, generally yes. Japan, far less so. (It's far rarer in China..)

They're expected to drink at a more conservative pace, although it really depends on the bosses themselves. They set the pace, and the rules for everyone. Men usually drink the whole glass, whereas women will drink about half. Although, I've known Asian women fully capable of drinking everyone else under the table.. and quite enthusiastic to drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I never understood it. To me, having 1 drink means I'm starting a sesh (never understood going for one or two either, drink isn't that nice). I couldn't even imagine working with a drink or few in me. Having a drink would be the start of relaxing, and there'd be no work done after it. And then having to deal with those who did have a drink, and the varying levels of intoxication... selfish really when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

This thread reminds me of the start of the movie Oldboy.

I would disagree slightly with you on this,in Korea the women do go out with work and get smashed but the rules are not the same,ie its understood they are women so don't have the same capacity so as you mentioned they can drink beer much slower and sip soju rather than slam it.Also the married women are pretty much excused from the whole thing as they have to get home to the kids.

On the otherside I worked for a company where the boss was a woman (this is rare) She assumed the role of chief p1sshead/dictator of drinking same as the men would.She preferred me over some of her other foreign workers simply because I could drink the most.She wouldn't bat an eyelid with me showing up to work smelling of booze and in a heap (mostly after drinking with my Irish/expat friends not work)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Is it still a thing for Friday after work drinks in Dublin Coty centre,

Back 15-20 years so it was a huge thing , pubs would be rammed from 5 o'clock on but start to empty about 10/11,

Back then i was about 20 and would do it myself , don't work in the city centre for the last 1 years so iv no idea & id never ever go for a drink from work ,