Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budweiser king of beers

• 18-08-2022 2:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭cena

Is Budweiser still the king?

Complete pish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,426 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Dutch gold, royal dutch, rockshore all more drinkable. Absolute piss water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,451 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Bud, Miller and Coors are all pisswater.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,673 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

I'd rather drink LCL Pils.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,377 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

All those commercial beers are terrible.

Bud does decent marketing campaign I will give them that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,946 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

'kawf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,030 ✭✭✭Allinall

It's lovely.

There was some video on YouTube recently of some English craft beer neckbeard blind tasting mass produced lager. Think Budweiser and Kronenberg finished bottom of the pile. Surprisingly, Heineken came out top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,840 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

King of piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

The King of Beers?

More like the Prince Andrew of beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

It's complete piss. A lot of pubs don't appear to stock it anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,828 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

It tastes 'better' since they moved brewing to the UK from Ireland, think Diageo lost ownership of the brand in Ireland a year or 2 ago. Picked some up for €15 for 24x500ml in the week leading up to MUP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭erlichbachman

Jaysus that takes me back, do they still sell it now? 5% I believe it was, so strong enough for the cheap price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Must have been why they came out with that Rockshore urine then.

Budweiser was always conclusive proof that advertising works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭BraveDonut

people who don't like beer don't like Budweiser

people who like beer don't like Budweiser

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,301 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Cheaply made (uses rice in lieu of some grain) but not cheaply sold, generally served so cold you can't taste anything. There's worse product out there but really not much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

They say that smells can sometimes trigger memories,

for me, the smell of a crisp pint of bud, transports me back to the summer of the late 90's, working in an outdoor bar of the locals beer garden at the weekends to have a few quid for college, and great memories of being broke to the ropes, relishing the few free pints after a hard night on your feet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

Budweiser was going round saying it was the king o this and king of that. Well let me tell you. This goes out to you now Budweiser. Ya junkies junkies bastard ya. You came along. You toult me you were the king. You came along then another time. Toult me right? Toult him. . This goes out to you, YOU'RE THE KING O DOG SHITE. Ya junkies bastard.

It's no Pißwasser...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,677 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Budweiser was king of beers to people who thought Burger King was king of burgers.

It used to be in nearly every pub in the country, with the odd person drinking i, usually because their stomach was ruined from drinking bulmers 5 nights a week. Now you rarely see it anywhere, guessing its due to the diageo/heineken stranglehold on most places.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

The odd person drinking it? Jaysus, loads used to drink it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,673 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

it was discontinued a couple of years ago but it must be more than 30 years since I drank it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 497 ✭✭PalLimerick

Budweiser is a reasonably nice Beer to most. The cool Hipster drinking craft beer boys will have you believe it's beneath them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,139 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

It's funny, because out of my circle of friends in the mid 90s/ early 2000s, there was only one person who drank Bud. I always used to wonder why on earth it was so ubiquitous and heavily advertised when no-one drank it.

And just before anyone thinks I'm claiming me and my friends were some kind of beverage connoisseurs, we drank any old shite. Linden Village, Genuine Hornet Scrumpy, something called Sphinx lager, which you could only buy in tiny glass bottles from dodgy blokes in festival campsites at 3 in the morning. "A pound each, or 4 for a fiver." Literally anything. Except Bud.

Post edited by Gregor Samsa on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I know a man who accidentally got locked into a store room full of Budweiser. He had to drink his own p1ss to survive. 😁

It's the Royal Family of beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,072 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Heineken is lovely to be fair. Bud is awful. Craft beers are to hit and miss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Ah Bud , didn't rip the stomach off you like Harp or Carlsberg , but used to give me some terrible hangovers ( yes , worse than " half ones " and / or Firstenberg ) .

Mid to early 90s I recall everyone drinking it , including some Guinness drinkers come the summer .

That may be the official line, but other lagers of similar volume - but made entirely from grain - don't have any issues with colour.

It makes it cheaper to make. Maybe they didn't pick it for that reason, but it still results in a cheaply made product.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭phonypony

Rice is used as a fermentable to create alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭jt69er

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭jackboy

It’s bland rather than bad tasting. I’d still go for it rather than Heineken which I find tastes unpleasant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,890 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Tbh I always thought it was the poorer of all the widely available beers. Very gassy and totally bland.

I more or less will drink any old shyte when it comes to beers, I used to drink craft stuff for a while, but there's an awful lot of juju about that and quite a lot don't even taste that good, so I don't really bother with them any more - but, nah, Budweiser is still the worst of the widely available out there IMO.

I had the "pleasure" of drinking a can of Heineken recently at a BBQ. My god it's overly sweet piss these days. I never used to mind it but it's absolutely awful now, the can of cheap Aldi stuff I had after it was vastly superior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,249 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Never liked it.. always a very artificial and bland chemical flavour with no body or kick to its flavour either …a slightly greasy texture…

id class it with Miller and Coors as some of the poorer quality beers….that’s just to my palate anyway.

Becks, Peroni, Kronenberg 1664, Heineken, Carlsberg, Stella, Birra Moretti are far superior tasting.

Budweiser isn’t the king, it’s not even a one legged dwarf of beers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Pißwasser

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

In that it parasites the poor and uneducated while facilitating seedy behavior.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,075 ✭✭✭✭cena

OP here. If I was to drink it would only be Budweiser. Now I haven't had a drink in ten years, but it would still be my choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Nectar of the nitwit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jopper

I used to love Moretti (which is owned by Heineken) but it’s brewed in Scotland. Similar with Corona, it used to be brewed solely in Mexico but now brewed in the UK under AB InBev (who own Budweiser). Probably all psychological but I prefer authentic beers from their country of origin. Guinness when abroad never tastes the same…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭beachhead

Pisswater.King in the US and it's dominions and among poseurs haha

Guinness - in basically every country that you are likely to go to - is brewed in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 jopper

Well it’s brewed in 49 different countries, but yeah Dublin supplies the world 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,248 ✭✭✭patnor1011

About 45 of those are in Africa, and are making a product using an extract added to a local beer. Diageo only brew Guinness themselves in a handful of places, against mostly in Africa.

Nearly anywhere at all that you're likely to have been, that has Guinness draught on tap, is using kegs from James Gate. The only sizeable brewery outside Dublin was London - and its now apartments.

James Gate is one of the largest breweries in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,340 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

I heard years ago , in a bind test you couldn't tell the difference in beers. Even guinness, ( minus the head) .

Probably an urban myth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

If it is cold and and in a nice clean glass it can be refreshing enough on a hot day.

Ice Cold in Alex ....kinda gear.

I nailed a gallon during the heatwave, it touched the spot in fairness.