Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF/FG/Green Government - Part 3 - Threadbanned User List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

Agreed. Also I don't see why after 11 years of FG and arguably two terms of a FF coalition, they have the big brass balls to try claim any other option would be worse. FF/FG have failed, made matters worse and Leo seems oblivious. Why the hell would people expect them to turn it all around in another term.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

One post complaining about the government, next minute making excuses for another party for been an absolute shambles when voted into local government to build houses

People have zero interest in actually fixing the housing crisis on these threads, just prefer to use it as to get digs in another the party they don’t support while trying to hide the problems created by their own party

MM had the cop on to stand up in the Dail and ask all parties to come together as this was a crisis. Has any other Taoiseach asked the opposition for something like that?

What did they do? Nothing, tried to make the crisis worse. Anyone thinking Sinn Fein and others cares about the housing crisis and the people affected are sadly mistaken, if SF had their way the entire country would be homeless and they will spend everyday till the next election making sure more and more people do become homeless

Will leave you to it now 👍️

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,288 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged. Anyone threadbanned from the Government thread can no longer post in the merged thread

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Micheál was asking them not to criticise what they were doing...or not doing. I think the answer after these guys created the crisis was 'up the yard Micheál'.

• Registered Users Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Irelandsnumberone

FF and especially FG have never wanted to solve the housing crisis.

The amount of effort to find accommodation for the Ukranians is night and day compared to what they ever done too try to solve any hosuing issue here.

One of the solutions now is to gift developers upto 144k to build 1 apartment 😂

Rar rar rar..

Same ol' gubbins.

People have suggested building our own instead of leasing and buying. Why are you lying? Do you think none of us know?

Thank **** some parties won't nod along with Martin and Varadkar as they make matters worse.

No answers, no discussion. Have a go and bail out.

Magic money tree for pals. FG are giving FF a run for our money. Whoever gets in next, if its not these, needs to set some rules about throwing money around and bring in hard accountability otherwise we'll always have crooked wasters keeping us on the verge of or in crisis.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,308 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Thats all I will ask of the next government.

Reforms and real punishments for breaking the rules at all levels of government. Real accountability. Very simple rules so we don't have incessant needs for investigation reports that never get published or finished.

The New Politics document from FG should help but without the dishonesty around actually implementing any of it.

The RTE Investigates program showed ample evidence of councillors pretending to go to every conference and event and getting expenses that were physically impossible. The fraud costs are astronomical and yet it is so so so easy to fix that nonsense.

In one word....Honour

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

I was against FF/FG getting an easier time while their junior partners took the brunt, but now I'm thinking who ever replaces better be up a notch. We don't want or need as good or bad as FF/FG we deserve better. Any new shower should be held to a higher standard.

This Winter is going to be hell ans FF/FG are doing their best to make it worse

• Registered Users Posts: 1,496 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

What would you have them do? Throw refugees on the street? Actually deport them?

You won't get answer around here, just laughing at the poor people of Ukraine who are in this awful situation. Fair play to all the people in the government/centres/housing etc around Ireland trying to help these people. In my local area a number of families have been helped to move into the area with accommodation etc and people helping with anything they can....

That's what I would of hoped people all over Ireland would have done, but instead we have snide comments and people trying to tell all emigrants that "Ireland is full"

It would seem that based on the comments around social media from some people they would prefer to see these people stay in Ukraine to potentially die because, well Im not sure because it's not like it has affected anyone all that much in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 26,978 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

You'll get no answer from me @brokenangel as this is not the thread to be discussing this, but No one is laughing at the crisis, absolutely no one.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

A plan would be good. A short term plan and a long term plan. Some evidence of planning.

The opposite to reactive chaos.

A plan. This government don't like plans. Realistic ones anyway.

The asylum seekers will be the ones to suffer.

There was an aim to get rid of direct provision. 10 years ago. Again, no plan - nothing happened and we should be ashamed.

It’s a war, the plan was not to have a war in Europe, after that everything is reactive 👍

Sitting around while people argue over what the plan would be will just see people die because they are stuck in a war zone

Direct provision was started in 2000. The FFG have repeatedly said they would end direct provision. The new target was by 2024. It has consistently been called out as an abhorrent system. There was no plan to end it so now that target is toast.

We've known Ukrainian refugees are coming here in large numbers (100k estimated, 45k so far) since March! Still no plan. Just chaos and suffering.

Post edited by Cluedo Monopoly on

And all they can do is have a go any people calling for any kind of plan.

What happens if a fire breaks out or some serious incident at a covid centre now hosting refugees that has no planning permission?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Plenty of virtue signalling though...don't forget the virtue signalling!

48K as of yesterday, but the Direct provision certainly something that can be discussed and its frankly breathtaking what's going on, I've direct knowledge of it through voluntary work I did in the past.

I will accept Roderic O Gorman has good intentions but any notion it's going to end, anytime soon is a pipe dream. The additional burden due to essentially virtue signalling has made a chaotic situation far worse, its become so bad, Asylum seekers (Actually invited here, not illegal) are being moved in and out of Hotels to accommodate, the other crisis, so bad its got, there's even reporting this morning that Virtue signalers won't like, in essence former vacination centre with no planning or facilities going to be used.

Before the new crisis started 4.5K fully processed asylum seekers were still stuck in DP because there was nowhere for them to go, now with near & seperately, 11k in emergency Accommodation & it's only 20th August with literally nowhere available, I'd have to wonder how is this is going to end, Not well I suspect. FFGG have literally ran into an unmitigated mess of their own making.

Country's full. A stop should be put on anyone coming until we can deal with what he have here currently.

We just going to fill up every hotel, covid centre etc forever?

It's actually amazing when you think about it, Four Letters is all it takes.

STOP 🛑 but no one including the opposition have the courage, when they dare speak up, the attack dogs sent out, but I'm sensing MSM who've tip toed for months are no longer able to ignore the numerous crisis now out of control.

Country is not full

👍👍

Where are all the available houses for our homeless and all the refugees.

If we have the availability excellent, otherwise its full

Same advice as before, hasn’t changed and won’t change while political parties are blocking houses in ireland to make more people homeless for political gain

FYI Ireland isn’t full, not even close

On the issue of journalism standards in the MSM, the Indo’s silence on the Shenanigans in An Bord Pleanala is just bizarre. They were the same on Anglo Irish Bank, IBRC, siteserv, Irish water, the National broadband plan, the list is endless. Yet they have no problem to attack SF at all costs.

What you will find is even the opposition are not stupid enough to tell innocent people to stay in a war zone to probably die just to keep a few people online happy for a few minutes till they find the next topic to get outraged about

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Murph85

The amount of third level skilled third level students emigrating after finishing college is staggering. The housing situation and staggering level of income tax over the pittance of 36k, is insane. Start hiking other taxes to reduce it. Lpt, site value tax. Hotels special vat rate should have been increased, they are robbing people. Motor tax on petrol and diesel cars are nearly free, total insanity...