Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are Irish roads akin to Mad Max

• 19-08-2022 11:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭

Over the last few months I've noticed that Irish roads are what you would expect from watching the Whacky races. There seems to be little or no policing of the roads, I honestly think the traffic corps have abandoned us. Every day it turns into more of a free for all. Here are some of the things I've experienced or have heard about in the last week:

• My wife being told to watch your "fcuking dog" as a woman on a electric scooter flies by her on a foot path.
    • A road warrior on a motorbike screaming at an old man in a Merc who got trapped in the middle of a junction, after much screaming and arm gestures he zooms off down the bus lane and flies up the bicycle lane (the bicycle lane was in Fairview and was separated from traffic by bollards) because the bus lane was blocked, I myself was on a motorbike - A road warrior will always have a go pro both front and back & feels the need educate everyone else driving or using the roads (not everyone with go pro is a militant road user btw)
    • Bus lanes are not bus lanes anymore and everyone can use them. I use on my motorbike, but never in the car.
    • While driving home from work on my bike, I'm confronted with 2 yokes on a scrambler coming towards me on the wrong side of the road (I was in a bus lane on my bike). Later up the Malahide road 2 more zoomed past me blowing through red lights in the bus lane.
    • A friend removing a side mirror of a car after three failed attempts by the driver to send him to A&E - He was on his motorbike.
    • People blatantly ignoring red lights to the point where I now have to wait even when the light turns green, because they are still breaking the lights when I've a green. I find this while both driving the car or bike.

This is just over the past week. Consistently over the last couple of years Irish roads have slipped more into lawlessness, I know road deaths are up, but I'm actually surprised the % is not more.

So have the traffic corps abandoned us???

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,632 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

• "Bus lanes are not bus lanes anymore and everyone can use them. I use on my motorbike, but never in the car.

This one is actually quite interesting. Sitting along the South Quays (Dublin) in traffic during the week. Garda car in front of me. Cars flying up the bus lane and the gardai doing nothing. In fact, an unmarked car was even driving behind a group of these cars and didnt do anything either....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,864 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

I notice the most logical, careful, considerate people become crazy when they get into a car.

It's like this ego bubble.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 41,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

It is all because of this: "There seems to be little or no policing of the roads"

Drivers know that they'll in all likleihood get away with whatever so they do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭ChickenDish

I wont lie, I've used bus lanes for years on my bike, but never in the car. If you drive a VW Golf or 10+ year old Audi I think your exempt and are allowed in the bus lane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,965 ✭✭✭creedp

The only thing you should be concerned with is that speed kills. Everything else is just noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Nice one! My Audi is 14 years old! Can I get that on headed paper from you in case I’m pulled over? Will start next week and report back!

Speed is not the only factor that contributes to death or injury on the roads. And being concerned about speed alone on the roads is like saying the only thing that can kill you in a house is falling down the stairs

Agree with you of course but in reality that's the only offence that's really being enforced. Very easy to install average speed cameras and deploy speed vans to catch rabid motorists hitting a heady 130kph on the safest roads in the country. Other offences take manpower to enforce and the so called traffic Corp is a skeleton force driving around in fancy cars and exists predominantly to tick a KPI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

I've driven in Cuba, Vietnam, Cambodia and Rome.. now those are mad Max type driving countries.

Ireland is grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭[Steve]

Driving in Dublin has always been awful. Drive there out of necessity rather than for any casual trip. Always pick train/bus/luas if possible.

Other parts of the country aren’t perfect though - Cork at rush hour isn’t great but I’d pick it any day over Dublin.

Not too surprising though, lots of high strung people packed into a small area.

FWIW - Ive seen plenty of active enforcement by RPU in the likes of Wexford, Waterford, Kilkenny, and Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

Never drive during rush hour, so can't comment, but I find driving during the day or evenings around Dublin fine. The layout of the city, traffic, planning is horrific etc, but never really experience any road rage from other users, nor do I ever feel angry on my part.

Yes, there are some suicidal cyclists, and e-scooters etc should be banned (incredibly dangerous and usually ridden by toddlers in adult bodies), but you just have to laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭BagofWeed

I always drive in Cork bus lanes as majority of them are open to all traffic outside of rush hours yet loads of people beep me as they have obviously never actually looked at all signs with the times on them !! One woman on the Western Road inbound actually started driving half and half on both lanes to block me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭zg3409

Having driven for 25+ years I think the level of driving in general has improved. Back in the day cars regularly drove as fast as they could possibly go with little fear of being caught speeding. They would overtake on blind bends, on bad roads and pass at twice the speed of sound.

Braking red lights has definitely got worse recently but general madness on the road is nothing like it was.

Your right, speeding does seem to be the only traffic offence enforced on a large scale. Its very lucrative aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Yes.

Yes its exactly like mad max.

I saw the night rider and the toe cutter on the M7 only yesterday.

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Well we have some of the safest roads in Europe (and therefore the world) and the general trend is that our roads get safer most years that go by.

So…no, calling it Mad Max is pretty overblown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭Still stihl waters 3

Plenty boards users never driven outside if Ireland its safe to say

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 724 CMod ✭✭✭✭LIGHTNING

Yup that's what posts like this reek of. Take a trip to Bangkok or Delhi and see what proper mental driving is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

True you can drive in a lot of them outside rush hour except that bloody one on washington street!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,129 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

Been like this for decades. Little or no Garda enforcement. Slowly getting worse reach year.

The stats are getting better because cars are getting safer despite people and the lack of enforcement.

But driving around Ireland and Dublin is a piece of cake compared to other countries. But its noticeable how few drivers in Ireland obey speed limits compared to say the UK.

The lack of action on minor stuff will come back to bite us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Ireland is one of the most ordered nations when it comes to motoring and driving. This is reflected in our very low accident mortality figures, thankfully.

Travelling the motorways a bit as I do, the Traffic corps are omnipresent at junctions/slips and on the roads in general.

They really aren't. That's reflected in the lack of adherence to things like speed limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Where are the stats to support that assertion though? Irish drivers aren’t particularly fast- quite the opposite in most cases really.

I regularly drive Louth to Cork and rarely see a cop car. I think its a stretch to use the word omnipresent when it come to the TC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,290 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry. This is the death toll with motor vehicles over the weekend, and you're banging on about cyclists and scooters.

You could start with the 98% of Irish drivers breaking urban speed limits (RSA Speed Survey 2019) and work down through the other categories of drivers and roads from there.

It's the direct opposite of lucrative. It costs us about €10 million to run the speed van network, excess of costs over income. So that's €10 million that could go into providing teachers or SNAs or nurses, because drivers can't be arsed to obey speed limits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

In the Netherlands, they have speed cameras everywhere, and they don't give much of an allowance over the limit.

They don't have penalty points, and getting speeding tickets. I'd just considered part and parcel of driving.

I can't find the link, but there was a Dutch article on a gov website, staying what the average total € of fines a driver would get on a particular year.

Over there, it's a simply seen as an idiot tax, you get caught, you pay.

Unlike here, where when someone get caught speeding, it was fish in a barrel, the Garda was hiding, the van wasn't visible, etc.

Dunno where in going with this, but the driving standard in Ireland is pretty good by my experiences of international driving. Irish drivers are generally courteous.

Flashing your headlights generally means, you can go ahead, speed trap ahead etc.. in Germany.. flashing your headlights means, I'm here. Get out of my way , or I'm here, I have right of way.

The UK. Most cars seem to do 80+ mph on the motorway, they tailgate, and cut in front , not giving much space.

Italy.. pure madness.

North America. They can't drive, but have plenty of space.

SE Asia. Completely nuts, but they all know that, and somehow it works.

Germany, even the speed limit drops, you drop the anchor, there will be a camera at the new limit.

Belgium, all I can remember is the sh it roads, concrete.

Austria, similar to Germany.

Iceland. They are courteous, and the roads are heated.

Spain, they like their speed.

Poland.. I drove there 20yrs ago.. the roads were sh it and it was madness.. absolute madness.

Here in Ireland, we don't know how to merge, we hog the outside lane, but by in large, we aren't bad. We don't have much enforcement, so I don't get it when someone complains about being caught.. it just means you got away with it for far too long .

This is the death toll with motor vehicles over the weekend, and you're banging on about cyclists and scooters.

And the ratio of cars to bicycles on the road is???

But this thread is not about road deaths. It is about bad/unsafe/rule-breaking behaviour on the roads. And on that basis, my point still stands. Maybe if you didn't get so hot and bothered and defensive about cycling, you would see that.

You didn’t seem too bothered about ratios when you were going on about “suicidal cyclists “ yourself.

Suicidal? Really? Was somebody suicidal for the 95% of road deaths that had no cyclist involved?

Can't quote properly on this broken ad infested site on mobile....

"....78% of drivers were found to have driven in excess of the posted speed limit of 50km/h in uncongested conditions. The new RSA speed survey found that 75% of drivers on weekdays and 93% at weekends were observed breaking the posted speed limit.

This clearly shows that a claim that speeding is only an issue among only a minority of motorists has no bases in reality and that the majority of motorists speed when they are not constrained, for example by traffic congestion, traffic calming or traffic lights.

The new preliminary data was collected at 11 urban locations using automatic traffic counters over a 9-day period in October 2021. This resulted in over 5,000 observations of vehicles (passenger cars, motorcycles, LGVs, and HGVs) driving in free-flowing traffic conditions...."

Anyone paying any half decent attention will see this all over.

I'm not saying it's always dangerous. That's a different discussion. But we don't obey speed limits well in this country. That's all. What's more we rarely bother actually measure the lack of adherence properly either.

"...The UK. Most cars seem to do 80+ mph on the motorway, they tailgate, and cut in front , not giving much space..."

I don't fully agree.

Due to the automatic cameras they seem to follow the speed limits a lot better in the UK. Also they have variable limits quite often.

They also seem to weave, cut in and tailgate, but while a few do that, the majority are actually staying left and moving left once after overtaking. They also have far high traffic density and lanes closer together. So they tend to be more tightly packed. It seems like they move around a lot but they are just working within their rules differently.

Some obviously know where the speed cameras are and ignore the limits only to suddenly slow down seemingly at random.

You definitely need higher concentration driving in the UK than here. You see a lot more police on the roads. At least where I've been. Feels strangely Claustrophobic.

Odd lack of hard shoulders on A roads and rural roads.

In some cases - yes.

But, listen, I've obviously triggered your inner-MAMIL. It might be best you walk away, take a deep breath and recognise that this thread is not about cars vs bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Odd lack of hard shoulders on A roads and rural roads.

What rural roads have Hard shoulders. Not here in Ireland anyway and yes in the UK the done away with a lot if the hard shoulders on there motorways which is complete madness and called them smart roads. Smart alright if you want more deaths. That's all taking away the hard shoulders has done its caused more deaths on there motorways pure crazy.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

Not a layby as such, Quite often there is somewhere to pull in though. No so much in England. Even on A roads.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

it's not mad max here, but the level of RLJing and other 'minor' offences is sky high. stand at a busy junction at rush hour in dublin, and i pretty much guarantee you that with every change of light sequence, someone will run the red.

outside my local garda station is one of the worst places i know for illegal parking. they don't care.

Maybe it might be wiser not to mention cyclists (or eScooters) if you don't want derail the thread.

"...yes, there are some suicidal cyclists, and e-scooters etc should be banned (incredibly dangerous and usually ridden by toddlers in adult bodies), but you just have to laugh...."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yfl6Lu3xQW0&ab_channel=BBCComedyGreats

Exactly I think its a general cultural thing about authority and rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Safe and good driving / road usage is a culture.

currently there is an absolute epidemic of the following…

cyclists blasting through red lights and coming into conflict with traffic and pedestrians.

escooter users traveling at excess speed and on pathways, some of them can reach up to 25 kmph.

escooter users blasting through red lights and coming into conflict with traffic and pedestrians …

when the above road user groups disregard the safety and regulations and the wellbeing and safety of fellow road users they really can’t be taken seriously when they start attempting to espouse road safety and are critical of others…

unfortunately both groups are adept at paying lip service to safety and blowing everyone else out of the water and that I don’t mind…but when the culture of you and your peers ( cyclists ) contributes to making roads and indeed pathways less safe for other road and pathway users and adds to an unsafe culture full stop… when they go on about motorists I’m just inclined to give them no more then a smile.

Maybe you'll post some stats to prove your point about how the various road users impact the welling being of others. There must an "epidemic" of injuries and deaths caused by one group to another relative to the other.

It noted that the number of collisions involving e-scooters had increased from just three in 2018 to 37 last year.

Doctors at the Mater documented 15 patients with injuries sustained from using an e-scooter between July 2020 and January 2021.

I'd be interested to see what comparisons you have in your data.

I drive a lot in Dublin for work.

Would regularly see 10+ cyclists breaking reds at different times on any given day.

Motorists are bad for it but cyclists are certainly worse.

Statistically they are not much different. You probably notice it more.

The only recent Irish study I'm aware of ...

"...During the full near 18-month period of the trial, some 32 per cent of red light offenders were on bicycles and 68 per cent were in vehicles..."

I would say (guess) it's highly dependant on route and location. Some routes and junctions have more cars and some more bicycles.

While no one should be breaking red lights, the consequences of a car doing it vs a bicycle are quite different. Also it's not automatically dangerous some jurisdictions allow a left turn (or equivalent) on red for both cyclists or cars.

But obviously there is the issue of complacency and culture of rule breaking that is problematic for other reasons as in respecting other road users which then causes conflict.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,895 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

you mean 10 cyclists breaking a single set of lights at one time? i'd definitely see more motorists than that breaking lights in a single short journey.

I think we agree everyone does it. While I can quote statistics,

Of pedestrians injured in London in a collision caused by red light jumping only 4% involve cyclists, whereas 71% occur when a car driver jumps a red light and 13% when a motorcyclist does.

It would be good if everyone was more respectful on the road. It takes the stress and risk out.

I think we are bad a capturing data in Ireland, enforcing the rules and following up with a post enforcement study.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Max H

Two things i see a lot when driving. People in modern cars, that have blue tooth hands free built in, driving one handed whilst holding a mobile phone to their ear.

The other one that i just don't get. Fill car up with fuel, then buy a nice dripping melting 99 ice cream and drive off eating it. Saw a classic example the other day, Family of 5 jump into car and drive off all scoffing their freshly bought Mr Whippy. Responsible driving/parenting. Hmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,556 ✭✭✭Macy0161

The only reason there isn't more deaths is that people are scared to use rural roads for walking or cycling. It's an absolutely horrendous experience most of the time to walk on the road with the endemic motorist behaviours of driving too fast, not giving enough passing distance (usually because they won't slow to pass safely because of on-coming traffic), distracted driving, and not driving to a speed they can safely stop in the distance they can see.

The only way to change the culture is through enforcement - either directly by policing, State camera's and perhaps most easily done through online portals for dashcam/ bikecam/ personcam* footage, and rigorous (outsourced from the Gardai prosecution). Fear of being caught, not the fear of human consequences is what is needed in this State.

But sure, instead, the RSA launch another victim blaming intiative to target children on the same day they have to increase fines for people driving ignoring School Crossings.

*I've taken to carrying my phone out front when walking on the road - you can actually see drivers spot the phone and rethink a close pass, and slow and wait for it to be safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Here are the road death statistics since 1980

Irelands population in 1980 was about 3.5 million, it's over 5 million now, so the reduction in road deaths is even more impressive than this graph shows.

NCT was introduced in 2000

Mandatory breath tests for alcohol at any accident came in 2006 and seems to have helped quite a bit

the 12 compulsory driving lessons were introduced in 2010 and seems to have made very little difference

Throughout the period, cars and road improvements would have eliminated accident blackspots, made collisions more avoidable and survivable and moved the high volumes of traffic from B roads to motorways and dual carriageways.

Enforcement seems to be down since covid. I haven't had my tax and insurance checked in 2 years, used to be checked at least once every 6 months, I have seen plenty of people pulled over on the side of the road by marked and unmarked garda cars, so they seem to be doing some active policing, but maybe people are complacent because there aren't as many of those highly visible checkpoints these days?

Regardless, road deaths in Ireland are amongst the lowest internationally

No, no, NO! Don’t you see?? It’s insane out there - you’re taking your life in your hands with those mass murder machines.

The sooner they’re banned outright and the Lycra-clad übermenschen can inherit the Earth, the better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

@AndrewJRenko - are you seriously still banging this drum? - You could start with the 98% of Irish drivers breaking urban speed limits (RSA Speed Survey 2019) 

As previously pointed out to you, the 98% figure refers only to:

• urban roads with a 30 km/h limit
    • times between 5.30 and 7.30 a.m.
    • instances where the driver had a large stretch of open road in front of them.

Essentially, it just means that drivers don't stick to 30 km/h when on an open road at the crack of dawn, with few (if any) other people about. Yes, it's breaking the limit, but it's hardly psychotic dangerous breakneck Mad Max stuff.

The report does not state or suggest in any way or fashion that 98% of drivers break all urban speed limits all the time, yet you continually try to twist things to imply this is the case.