Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The judges and the free legal aid yarn tellers have a lot to answer for !!

Well your not living in the real world if you dont think coke makes people violent. Its a huge issue in this country now. Yes we have issues with youths running amok but most rows/violent incidents on nights out now are either drink/drugs related. Cocaine use is rampant in this country and its going to get worse

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I'd guess the vast majority of cases of idiots getting violent is still down to too much alcohol.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,282 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Hordes of “underprivileged” teenagers on coke? Yeah, sure ..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Sure it's cheap compared to their 800 quid jackets

And a mixture of drugs too. Go back 20/30 years ago you wouldn't have seen as many assaults on a night out as you do now. If people think we don't have a drug problem in this country then they are deluded. I have friends in the pub trade and they would tell you how common drugs are now. Youngsters in and out of the toilets all night. Changes in there behaviour. Every sort of person is on the coke now. From the local scumbag to the respected business man

• Registered Users Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Started over something simple & ended so serious, yet looks like know one will be prosecuted for murder. Each person involved should be presecuted & do jail time & have their freedom removed.

Scum & sickening that society as whole tolerates the farcical legal system. Fair play to the garda for identify those involved. Hope they are flagged & prosecuted for any law they ever break going forward.

Completely avoidable & nothing but low life thugs - hope they each die painfully whenever that is.

https://www.msn.com/en-ie/news/uknews/dylan-mccarthy-was-killed-after-silly-row-on-pub-dancefloor-in-monasterevin-tragedy/ar-AA111Z7X?li=BBr5KbJ

Post edited by BronsonTB on

www.sligowhiplash.com - 3rd & 4th Aug '24 (Tickets on sale now!)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Tk crunchy I don't live in an urban dwelling anymore. Used to live near a terraced housing estate back in the 80's burnt out car's, window's being egged, burning brown paper bags with **** inside it so someone will stamp it out get their shoe's covered in sh1t ,black flags up when one of the patriotic lads would get shot ok I was a little sh1t myself no point in denying it. Sometimes we'd head in and hang out with the scrotes for a few hours, join in on the foray. Slink back to our bungalows, and our parents would think butter wouldn't melt in our mouths.

Sometimes we were even egging the scrotes on and having a laugh about it. As young chaps we didn't know any better, it was par for course. A generation thing. Boy's coming of age being rascals and not knowing the impact of our devious deeds. We grew out of it.

But the worst of them all was a guy from one of the most well to do respected families in the area. A right sociopath, he's a CEO of a big company now. Shat on everyone to get where he is now.

He's the prick who used to get a trowel brown paper bag and fill it with dog **** burn the bag so some idiot would stamp it out.

He'd buy rolls of caps, put a pin hole in every round dot, fold it all in on itself,cover in masking tape light a fuse and throw it into some old dears garden booommm

Not all scrotes are from bad areas. And I'm sure some middle class posters here are raring right little monsters.

Yes your little Jack is probably one of the biggest scumbags in the area, and hopefully he'll climb the ladder....

• Registered Users Posts: 33,534 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I wonder just how much genuine remorse these people feel here?

I know if I had contributed to a person's death, even if there was no intent, I would find it hard to live with.

But for multiple people to set upon someone and batter them to this extent, its hard to grasp.

Fights nowadays seem to have gone to a new level. I have seen them back in my younger days out socialising, many in fact. But they always seemed to end after a few slaps. The weaker person knew they were beaten, and the victor usually was happy to have floored their opponent. Modern times now people have to keep on kicking until folk end up in hospital, or worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,283 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Coke mixed with various different types of alcoholic drinks such as beer, whiskey,vodka etc is a massive problem. It's that cocktail which is likely doing the most harm. those things in isolation aren't too bad. It's when they are mixed people become volatile.

There isn’t one reason why you’d keep going until you have caused serious damage. In some cases the anger has build up to an unhealthy stage prior to the fight with this person. In other cases you just get into a frenzy. You will experience an incredible feeling of power and control as well.

I think having the ability to easily record attacks to relive them later, and to share and boast about them, might be an additional incentive nowadays though.

That's why I wonder about some posters on here during the weekend, you'd see some amount of blatant sealioning and backtracking. Manipulating people's perceptions of reality. I've had a great laugh some Sunday mornings looking at posts from certain individuals. Off their chucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 752 ✭✭✭marathon2022

The anti social behaviors and general mayhem caused by some adolescent males has a very bad effect on the victims of said behaviors but the reality is that these young people don't choose to grow up ****, its nature and nurture. Ignoring the cause and blaming the outcome is every bit as bad. Most of the replies here want retribution for actions(Jail them! The parents are to blame! Kill them!, even Sterilise them! **** me) but deep down this is also a sign of the shallow nature of modern social dynamics. I would go so far as to put the group calling for action directly against the young adolescent perpetrators in a higher order of blame for modern day ills as they are the purely ignorant. A caste of humans no better or worse than the wild horrible **** causing mayhem.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Feck all remorse, I would say. When they know they've done wrong they'll justify it to themselves by regurgitating some crap that they've heard from a dogooder about how they have anger issues and the state won't help them and that they are bored and there's no "facilities" in the area.

You have community workers strolling into youth centres telling kids from these areas that the whole system is rigged against them, they create an Us versus Them mentality, to convince the kids that the community worker is on their side. It is selfish, self serving, self promotion. They do it for all the wrong reasons.

Sure you were probably as capable of being a trouble maker as a teenager. Anyone who says they're incapable of being a runt is either a liar or deluded.

I remember seeing my own lad gouling at school sport's day. He was the guy on his his hands and knees, while his friend from a high esteemed family push a poor misfortunate over him. And they thought it was great fun. I gave him a good lecture after and he was made apologies to the chap. Little sh1t, nip it in the bud is my motto.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭conorhal

Seriously, can you walk around the streets of Dublin without the pervasive smell of cannabis following you? Around the South inner city particularly, it's more pervasive then the hoppy smell of the Guinness brewery and it's really disturbing to see 12-15yr olds wandering down the street without a care in the world and a joint in their hand.

These are the youth with absolutely no future and behave as such, the impact of cannabis on the developing brain is catastrophic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

Aww the poor little crathurs. You are part of the problem. Too “sensitive” to actually punish the little scrotes, sure they just need hugs and faciliteeeeeeezzzzzzz

I was capable of unkind acts and on many occasions caused hurt during my adolescent years, mostly without even knowing it, just being thoughtless. This is the story of most young men and many factors contribute to and exacerbate the outcomes and actions with result in cvntishness. There are some interesting high level observation on the page below and as a starting point it useful to understand cause and effect. You are right though, apart from the obvious causes there are outliers, kids from good families can be scum too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,443 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

These kind of attacks are happening regularly, and rarely any repercussions as the person attacked isn't killed.

It says a lot about the calibre of men involved when none of them have voluntarily handed themselves into the Gardai.

Chao's and labeling people with all sorts of condition's suit the social workers and people coming out of social care courses.

It's encouraged to be a bit unhinged and be expressive about it. There's also an atempt by the system to wrap these people up in cotton wool and excuse their behavior.

I know grown adults in their 40's who are absolute narcissist's and sociopaths. They have such bad energy and are very awkward people. In workplaces and in social gatherings it's hard dealing with them. But little eye contact and never get too close to them. Like a magician they'll turn your reality inside out if you trust them at all.

Not everyone has a condition, some are just bad people and they're not even aware of it. Selfish fcks, dangerous and leave a lot of destruction behind them. And it's always never their faults. They know how to manipulate their script for how they think everyone should behave. Do as I say not as I do lol

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭Nermal

Just as you have been free with excuses and handwringing.

The people referred to in the thread title don't need help from pseudoscientists.

They need morality beaten into them, figuratively if possible, but literally if necessary.

Agreed on the fact that a crap upbringing/environment shapes them, and this has to be addressed too... but people writing angry things on the internet being partially to blame? Misdirection.

Only they are responsible for their actions (what about those who had similar upbringings and didn't turn out that way?) and their parents and others in their environment usually do indeed have a large role.

And just to be clear, there is no mention of specifics in the title, I seen no example. I posted simply on the subject of using violence to solve violence in young men.

Out

Post edited by marathon2022 on

No I don't think violence should be used, but words alluding to violence by Internet commentators is just words.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,466 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

I didn't know where to put this link but the IT have an article here writing about their readers experiences about anti social behaviour in Dublin. There is quite a long list of them written here in this article. They really give us a real sense of heightened awareness as to what goes on in various parts of Dublin today.

As soon as I was writing up this post on boards; I heard a faint distant of a firework going off somewhere near my house in Dublin a few minutes ago. I hope someone is not seriously injured by those things.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

I dont think its the story of most young men. Just the worst ones.

You grew out of it, but that doesnt mean you didnt know what you were doing was wrong at the time either.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Greyfox

They are not ignorant, they are just showing normal reactions to scumbag behaviour. We have a legal system thats quite lenient on scumbag behaviour so obviously this is going to make people who care about victims angry. Yes rehabilitation is important but it also costs money and right now we need that money for other things.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

...again, theres a belief there is a serious limitation with the availability of money, there isnt, we have just chosen to use this money for other purposes, that only truly benefits minorities in society, until we accept this, these outcomes will never change.....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Well we do have more important things to spend money on like the housing crisis, we don't have enough money for everything.