Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Texas School shooting 19 children and 2 adults murdered

• Registered Users Posts: 23,548 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It says a lot about some American's and the gun worshippers that the only possible options they can understand are stand by doing nothing or immediately start shooting.

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭giftfromthegods

You're right. Rittenhouse should have tried to reason with the lunatic attacking him.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,774 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Many US states have laws that allow citizens to protect themselves and their property with deadly force, it's far from just Texas. @Manic Moran is the expert in that field.

Yes, you are correct that you can still be charged for shooting somebody attacking you. It all depends on what a prosecutor thinks. For example, the prosecutor thought Kyle Rittenhouse murdered two people and seriously injured another illegally. Based on the law, the jury could see that Rittenhouse didn't break the law and that he was acting in self defence. He was actively being chased and assaulted during each of the three shootings. He was even retreating each time.

And where has anybody said that there will be no ramifications for shooting an innocent bystander? Of course there will be ramifications for shooting an innocent bystander. Even the police who shoot innocent bystanders can face ramifications in those circumstances.

Shooting an innocent bystander is a totally different scenario to shooting someone attacking you or trying to burn down your business.

Or could have just not gone and travelled there in full cosplay mode, then blubbered when he found himself in trouble.

But accountability is certainly not a part of the gun lobbies scripts.

Careful now. That's awful close to victim blaming. He had every right to be there

• Registered Users Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭Sudden Valley

Unfortunately even if they had tried to grab his gun instead of trying to attack him, he would have justification for shooting/killing them. As we saw with the Garda killing here, if they can disarm you they can shoot you with your own gun. Rittenhouse was stupid to walk around with a gun in public, he could have been shot by his own side or even the police.

You attract these sorts of weirdos to riots if you allow private citizens to shoot looters.

Yep. Its really amazing his hasnt moved into politics. He has the celebrity and cult status the Republicans/NRA love.

Strange he isn't cashing in on his fans. Being an American hero can lead to a lot of money.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,161 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Arent the police and legal system supposed to be the deterrent to stop scumbags? How does it work in virtually every other country?

I would still think it wrong. I rely on the police if me or my business is being attacked.

This is how the rest of the "we dont have a guns problem" world works.

And the bullets used for those such as the .17HMR, its was created to what? Tickle?

The lunatic that chased him across statelines to attack him?

If you go into a chaotic situation like that openly carrying a gun, you are stupid.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Feisar

While I agree, as the poster above said, that's victim blaming. Walk around a bad part of Dublin counting a wad of fifties and ya get attacked, well yer dumb. But we can't say that as it's victim blaming. Same rules apply. Now personally I think Rittenhouse is a silly cnut. Maybe will some sort of saviour complex, did you see the vids of him telling people to step back etc like he was a cop or some crap. Then the blubbering on the stand? "And then, and then Mr, Mr Rosenbaum (tears)". He was well schooled, I'd have told him to drop the act. IMHO he went looking for trouble but hey, I can't say that as it's victim blaming.

First they came for the socialists...

The lunatic paedophile that was carrying his belongings in a bag he took from a mental hospital.

We could do with a few more Rittenhouses and a lot less Rosenbaums.

A court of law established that he broke no laws in doing so.

The first guy that Rittenhouse shot did indeed try to grab Rittenhouse's gun. Witnesses gave evidence to that fact.

And as long as it's legal, I'm fine with people protecting their property. Guess what property wasn't damaged during a BLM march? The property behind the guys in the photo below. Kind of acts as a very good deterrent.

He did express regret for his actions so at least he realised what he did was stupid. I would blame also the group that he met up with their that left him on his own.if the police had been there at the site of the killing they could have shot him thinking he instigated it.

America isn't like every other country. It's a very different place and the culture there is about protecting yourself and your family and that extends to your property in many places.

The police aren't much of a deterrent during a riot situation as evidenced by the George Floyd, LA riots etc.

You should really stick to facts when posting here.

Rittenhouse didn't chase anybody across state lines to attack them nor did Rittenhouse's attackers chase him across state lines. Posting incorrect stuff like that makes the poster look stupid.

I will agree with you that it was probably stupid of Rittenhouse to go there but (and you may or may not agree with this) he went there with good intentions. He went there to help protect property and help others out. There was evidence given at his trial that he had earlier administered first aid to protesters. He was also filmed cleaning up graffiti. Anyway, that's totally irelevant as it was established that he broke no laws by being armed while he was there.

Ha i would be the guy standing behind the boxes. They look like they're ready to go fight in ukraine. I think using those types of weapons in hunting would be overkill so would seem like a waste of money to buy. America does seem to have way more riots than any other countries so i guess it makes sense store owners have more fear of these scenarios.

You are perfectly entitled to think that it is wrong and to rely on the police if you or your business is being attacked. I'm fine with that because I realise that we all see situations differently.

Here's a scenario though. Supposing I rock up to you and try to cut you or a member of your family with a machete. What good are the police in that scenario if they aren't there. How will they protect you if they aren't there? Ever hear the saying "When seconds matter, the police are only minutes away"?

If I pour petrol all over your house where there is a child asleep, are you going to run away and call the police or would you try stop me before I set it alight. Same scenario for your business that you possibly have worked all your life to build up. Would you not try stop me from burning it down?

It was a .22lr that I posted, not a .17HMR. Anyway, a .17HMR is primarily a hunting/pest control round. It's not a round designed for killing people as it doesn't have huge stopping power. It's a round mostly designed for hunting/vermin control. It delivers a faster, flatter trajectory than a .22lr round therefore it can be more accurate when hunting. But yes, it'll do a lot more than tickle you if it hits you. All bullets can kill people.

Those guns though are very suitable for self defense though.

America is a powderkeg. I wouldn't fancy living there.

Sure its victim blaming as I believe the "victim" was to blame.

If I go to a bonfire duosed in petrol, whos fault is it when I go up in flames?

"whoosh!"

Thats the whole bloody point, Rittenhouse deliberately went into that situation armed. Quelle surprise when someone tried to disarm him. Talk about entrapment.

Again, no one is saying its illegal at the moment. The whole point is that owning these guns should be illegal. Its worrying that you keep falling back to this point as some sort of argument.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Was his Mother ever charged for providing him the firearm as he was underage?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭Christy42

Don't equate a child with a business that can be replaced. Quite frankly if someone destroys a shop while I am near it I will be incredibly pissed off if someone decides to go full Rambo. Stray bullets can kill and lives can't be replaced. First thing I learned in self defense is that it should always be last resort. As soon as it goes into that territory you don't know who will or who gets caught in the crossfire if there are guns involved.

As you say the US is a powderkeg. Seems like adding more guns to every situation hasn't worked but I am sure 1 millionth time will be the charm and the rest of the world will see the light. I am sure all the gun nuts can go up to the parents of the next big school shooting and blame windows or something equally pointless to get actual reform out of the headlines asap.

I think the lunatic that went across state lines, was Rittenhouse. As you recall, he was transported there by his mother and provided a firearm by her.

Funny how it all worked out after that, eh?

The point about Rittenhouse that got all the gun fetishers excited here, was that had the local laws been obeyed, this wouldn't happen, but the desire to be a big man (Rittenhouse attended Trump rallies, too, Maga hat and all) and the enabling of such by gun-lobby financed laws, led to this tragedy that Rittenhouse has to live with, as do the families of his shooting victims.

Yes, Rittenhouse deliberately went to the protest armed. As did many others. Most of them went there to protect property as an act of what they believed to be their civic duty. The police actually asked for groups to help them protect businesses. There are clips of the police giving out bottles of water to the people protecting some buildings. Some of the protesters were also armed. The protester who Rittenhouse shot in the arm was armed with a handgun and had it drawn when he attacked Rittenhouse. The protesters who were trying to disarm Rittenhouse were doing so illegally.

I think you have a mistype in your last paragraph. I doubt you are saying that owning these guns 'shouldn't be illegal' given that you are very anit-gun.

His mother didn't provide the firearm that Kyle Rittenhouse used. A guy called Dominick Black bought it for Kyle Rittenhouse. He pleaded no contest and was fined $2000. Black buying the gun for Rittenhouse is a misdemeanour and he won't have a criminal record for doing so.

Lucky loophole. At least the NRA are thorough.

Yep and all that does is to yet again show how having civilians armed escalates situations.

That some people cannot see how completely bonkers it is for the police to effectively rely on the public is terribly worrying.