Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the future of FG with Leo Varadkar or Simon Coveney?

• 30-08-2022 7:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,928 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

As FG leads up to taking the reigns again is FG'd future with Leo Varadkar or Simon Coveney?

After the next election Leo will no longer be Taoiseach, so will he still be FG leader or will it be Simon?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,939 ✭✭✭bmc58

I could not care less with these two spoofers.Neither will matter after the next election.The Irish people will hopefully have seen through their false fromises and self serving policies.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭buried

Whoever wins....We won't give a $hit

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users Posts: 6,504 ✭✭✭Silentcorner

FG are finished as a major party....we are headed to a decade of political turbulence that we haven't seen in decades.

McEntee is the future of the party.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Count Dracula

Probably Varadkar if he has the appetite for it. He could have one eye on Europe.

Helen McEntee does little wrong in fairness and she would be popular with many voters.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,568 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Why is Coveney the only, or even the main alternative? He's managed the rare trick in the current government of being both dull and gaffe-prone and I would say his moment has passed.

I don't think it's a given Varadkar will be gone after the next election. If he wants to stay on he can make a reasonable case that he's the man to spearhead the rebuilding job. If not I think Harris would be their best bet. Could turn out to be bright, young charismatic leader that Leo only shaped at being...

• Have heard that many times before. There might be musings down the pub but when it comes to the ballot box people will revert to what they know.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,417 ✭✭✭✭road_high

FG are heading for oblivion under either of these box tickers. FG needs a revolution within and a firm move to the right.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,597 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The scatter of microparties fishing in the far-right pond aren't finding many votes in it, why would Fg move from the centre to there?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

McEntee? Who was elected initially as a sympathy vote for her father, and who has done nothing before or since until she was appointed Minister for Justice out of nowhere - presumably a reward for being a Leo loyalist.

Since then we've seen serious crime and crime in general shoot up, she has presided over the mess that is the free for all for Ukrainian refugees, and she spends her time championing populist social media causes and making twitter statements for de likes - until it turns out that it wasn't an Irish man at all, and no she won't be taking in a refugee after all.

As bad as Leo and Coveney are, and they are! - the former more of the same as above, and the latter fully committed to dilution of national sovereignty (as a former friend of Peter Sutherland) and who wants to review our neutrality while bringing in another million people or so into already overcrowded towns and cities by 2040 - they are still a massive step up on Helen McEntee.

If she actually becomes leader of FG and possibly Taoiseach down the line then we might as well just give up on the pretense of being a serious country altogether.

well if the Brits are going with Liz Truss...

• Registered Users Posts: 28,867 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Between Boris, Trump, Biden and now this new generation on this side of the Atlantic, its no wonder Putin is feeling his oats.

Yep they will position themselves as the anti-SF party but when it comes to the substance of the policy will be marginal as they are still fishing in the same vote pond as FF and the soft left parties...

Thing is Irish voters don't vote on policies, they vote on who they actually like.

I think people like her.

Who do you think might be a good person to lead FG in the future?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Maria Bailey is the future of FG.

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

Paschal Donhoe or, a long shot as she's only a first term TD, Jennifer Carroll MacNeill. Varadkar is a serial loser who has lost seats for FG in every election that FG has contested since he was installed as leader. Coveney might have been better as the FG grassroots voted for him rather than Varadkar. Simon Harris might also consider himself leadership material.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

Who cares, two cheeks of the same arse. The next election will finish FG off for a generation hopefully.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭thinkabouit

Sounds interesting.

Genuinely, your opine is valued.

I think someone like Mairead McGuiness will end up a compromise,looks to me a party barley avoiding a split tbh......though Jennifer macneill,or regaina Doherty would be serious lolz material

The Dublin leadership rather open distain of anyone outside the m50 is being noticed and this messing about wanting to slash cow numbers has alienated a lot of lifers,who form back bone of its traditional Wing

• Registered Users Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭maebee

"Two cheeks of the same arse". Brilliant expression. Never heard it before.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭jmcc

Carroll MacNeill is more academically qualified than Doherty or McEntee. The problem is that she's a relative unknown in terms of national politics.

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 27,971 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

That's a long way away. Varadkar will be Taoiseach later this year. By the time he goes, there may be many candidates other than Coveney.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭AllForIt

I think people like her.

I for one do not like her. I find her odd. She comes across like a robot being fed things to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,242 ✭✭✭brokenangel

Just two of the multiple thread posted on boards about the FG leader. Plenty more from recollection along with the almost weekly prediction of demise on the actual government thread.

Varadkar is 43, the youngest of all the party leaders in Ireland by a significant number. Well between the main 4 anyway (Greens, FF, FG, SF) Has the support of his party and will be Taoiseach for the second time very soon.

I never supported Varadkar and I lived in his area for a while and met the man a number of times. Will never vote for him after the childrens hospital was not put into Blanchardstown but I do find it really strange why this is constantly getting asked?

Does it really warrant a new thread every time either?

I do think it is a fairly useless exercise for bots bashing FG anyways.

FG voters are never going to wake up one morning and suddenly decide that what Ireland needs right now is a communist autocracy hell bent on cutting off Irish financial ties to foreign investment whilst supporting a black economy and taxing every income generating business that touches the country to support some lame housing scheme that some posh turncoat with Marxist notions of socialist utopia wrote a book about?

FG voters see right through that crap and won't vote for it.

Your best chance of mud slinging is at the FF vote, which is basically the same as your own except that the only people left voting for them are the ones that realise what a shambles you would make of everything.

I would also have enough faith in Irish people to have the wit to see through it too, fingers crossed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Yea and that arse needs a good slapping come next election

• Registered Users Posts: 6,998 ✭✭✭conorhal

Ah here now, surely things aren't that bad for FG are they?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭newhouse87

Coveney not likable at all, seems to have this dismissive attitude of differing opinions and his plan for up to another million people by 2040, well yeah thats going to work out great for the country. Id take Leo over him anyday.