Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2022 - Here we go again! - **No Ticket Sales / Requests **

• Registered Users Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭endainoz

The signage seemed to be a big issue alright. At one point on Saturday, a group of young last came up to me asking where freetown was, then as I was standing there two more came up to me looking for Rankins woods, then another looking for EA and salty dog. I must have the appearance of some EP elder or something 😂😂.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭HarryTheSpider

The T-Shirts/grey hair combo could lead you astray and you could end up talking to (complete) strangers.

The photo helped. And random luck of sitting on a bench beside Seathrun. It was all downhill from there. 😉

Now my cover is blown I'll have to head to South America for that plastic surgery I've been putting off for a while now. I might get that tummy tuck as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,020 ✭✭✭Genghis

@Still Ill

Trial and error. Albeit I am not good at this.

On 2 occasions I misidentified a boardsie (only got it right with one - hey @Stillill42). Then again I congratulated a randomer on his Nixer show, thinking he was the lead singer. I later spotted the girl from Silverbacks but decided against saying anything.

Maybe we need our own festival band. Maybe for next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭dasdog

Well there will always be people who don't get it. The problem was in the audience not the stage and some gobshytes intimidating people should not prevent a band that have recently riled the Democratic Unionist Party in similar manner from having a poke.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Caravan fire in the camper field this morning. Not sure what happened, it looked like it could have been abandoned, there was no car and didn't appear to be any people looking at their stuff going up in smoke, so I don't think anyone was hurt, thank god.

Took an awfully long time for the fire brigade to arrive, it's possible that the access lanes were full of campers leaving but it could have gotten really messy if the field had still been full.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Stillill42

You got that wrong too, you chancer. It was my brother though so close enough. It was lovely to meet you Genghis.

• Registered Users Posts: 359 ✭✭Shank Williams

Kneecap sound cringe as ****- loads of little middle class rebels chanting along about undercover cops- pass the sick bag

• Registered Users Posts: 4,924 ✭✭✭endainoz

• Registered Users Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭tvercetti

Arrived around midday Friday, definitely more traffic than past years at that time but I was quicker than ever getting my wristband. Straight into Eco Woodlands for a feed of cans. Eco felt a lot busier than last time but still tidy and plenty room to sit out sipping. Glass Animals, Pixies, Fontaines with a bit of Kinara, great night all round. Rain was making a start as I was calling it a night.

Went straight in Saturday morning for a bit of Pieman and the area was noticeably busier around midday but I'd put that down to people being sick of the sight of there wet tents and going for a wander. Generally floated between Main and Electric. Lyra, Becky Hill, KKC etc. Finished the night below in Jerry Fish with Dec Pierce. Another good day.

Up to that point, I'd never have guessed there was 20k extra people. Although it does look like people are arriving a good bit earlier in general and the demand for Eco growing. 

Sundays I always dread a little. I avoid drinking too much which might be part of the problem. I no longer take much notice of the 18 to 25 year olds but on Sundays, there always seems to be a flood of 13-16 year olds dragging eachother around. Not sure are they locals who get day passes or what's the story. Stuck it out for Snow Patrol and Arctic Monkeys, both very good but they did drag a little in the middle for me.

Previously the portaloos were pretty much as good as u could expect, always toilet roll and lads spraying them down full time but they seemed to be abandoned this year.

Now I have to deal with this pain the hole. This is the response I got when I emailed pictures of wristbands and ticket receipts. I don't have any past purchase on my account itself. 3 hours to the nearest kiosk.

"If any or all of your Electric Picnic Ticket purchases were from Ticketmaster Kiosks, you will need to return to one of our Loyalty Registration Kiosks on Weds Sept 7th, and Thursday 8th Sept with valid proof of purchase."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭traco

I'll be buying again next weekend, not sure if I will go or not though. If I don't it won't be becuase of this year. Had a great time and saw a massive amount of acts and discivered several new artists which is what makes EP for me. Not sure if that is possible at other festivals.

Gripes, staff didn't seem very well briefed on site layout, what was and wasn't permitted etc etc. Signage was also very poor and on Thursday the sign that was fixed at Salty Dog was mounted 90 degrees out. They did seem to fix that at some stage on Friday but for any first timers it would have caused a lot of hassle.

There were a lot of issues on Thursday with physical tickets from 2020. I was one stopped and sent to tickmaster station at the paintball entrance. Girl I dealt with was obnoxious and in no way interested or helpfull as I was concerned about others arriving the following day on tickets I had booked.

I didn't see anyone on the main stage but walkewd by a few times and it all seemed fine. General behaviour was fine. I had no food issues but I don't care what I eat so when hungry I'm going for the shortest queue - problem solved.

Did walk to entrance one on friday from SD and the camp sites were mayhem and a distinct smell of crap and that was Friday. I would think they really should address the general camping space and enlarge to accomodate the numbers in some sort of safety and comfort. Glastonbury doesn't have that problem and while the areas are fully they are well orgnaised and seem self policing.

I was at kneecap, on my own. I'm around 6'4" and had no issue at all, thought it was a geat gig but do hear what people are saying about there style. The way I saw it 99.99% were ther to have a great time and there will always be the few nutters with a chip on their shoulder or feeling inadeqaute and that they need to prove something. Thing is you are as likely to encounter them idiots in a queue for a coffee as anywhere else. Dickheads are just dickheads.

One thing I would like to see is a bit better lighting from main arena to EA, Rankins and up to trailer park as its very open and quite dark at night. More bins would be nice and I can't understand why the urinals aren't like glastonbury which is basically half a waving pipe all the way round the fence like a roof gutter. Simple and takes some talent to miss it.

So, in summary delighted with the weekend even though based on what we knew the week before was putting me off. Will I go next year - not sure and will depend on what else is planned during the year but I will have tickets and a pink moon booking just in case.

• Registered Users Posts: 496 ✭✭Dutchy

The good -

Pixies, Sleaford mods, kneecap TCM,Ham sandwich (no love here for them here?)Sound neighbours in pink moon. Pretty much free flow with the booze .

The bad

Queues, 5 quid for an Americano, singnage, main stage

The ugly

Vendors charging sterling instead of euro, weather at times, waking up this morning

Interestingly, got chatting to lad who works in the festival food business . He said EP were crying out for vendors but the cost is prohibitive (citing 7.5k to set up in main arena and another 2.5k to plug into electricity etc.) Not sure if he was talking out of his hoop (sounded legit) but would explain the high food costs etc.

Top tip for 2023. Sliced Breannans bread, cheese and onion crisps along with butter , coleslaw and ham (in with your cool box booze ) and plastic cuttelry - sambos sorted up until Sunday for me.

I'll definitely by buying a ticket for EP 2023. Been to all of them bar one (the year blur played). Yes it has changed but still migthy craic and well worth the cost of admission

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭adam240610

Hamsandwich, CMAT, Orla Gartland, just mustard, and wolf Alice were all phenomenal

CMAT and hamsandwich can really work a crowd

• Registered Users Posts: 2,240 ✭✭✭fafy

I got quite a bit of that as well ! Happy to help people out. But, as a general rule, assume 95% of the staff, have no clue as to where things are, or what time arenas open, or what routes are open. I met a senior security person, one of the ones with a headset, and she told me i couldn’t get into Late Night Arena at 11.30 on Sunday, i said i had a ticketed event there at 12, she said no, i went back to next entrance and got in no problem, and got to Minefield.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

That’s rather unfortunate, being in my 40’s I’m already suffering with a touch of imposter syndrome in terms of youth vs old! So to have that unwanted attention must have been terrible for your friend, never mind the threat of physical violence.

EP hasn’t just changed its age demographic, but also a cultural shift! Now it seems the mad bastard that starts a fight for a chip in your local town is now there, wired and ready to go! Debatable how much blame we can put towards kneecap!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,355 ✭✭✭Fatfrog

I was wondering, I could see the black smoke while waiting to exit the green car park! Was really hoping it wasn’t tent burning! Unfortunate timing for the fire service.

On a side note, several crashes (minor rear ending) on the M7 today, absolutely sick for them!

When I’m driving Monday, I make sure to cut the pints mid Sunday and will always remove wrist bands in the car park, as well as getting everything into the car boot, so it’s not blatantly obvious I’ve just come from a festival!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,505 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

it has changed sooo much from the first 5 or so years.

it used to be a real mix of sound people, from 18-60+ genuinely!). Lovely chilled relaxed atmosphere. Yes a bit hippy dippy but it was just relaxing and a wonderful natural setting to be with nice people. Great eclectic booking policy

over the years and particularly since Melvin benn and his crew took over, i don’t like saying but it has turned into a commercialised, greedy, overcrowded festival.

The line up this year was dreadful compared to some of the past picnics.

rough aggro vibe in the campsite I was In. I felt on edge the whole time. Reports of tents being robbed etc etc we all know the score.

Dodgy characters hanging around.

the better half said this is her last year. herself and her friends didn’t feel safe a number of times during the weekend - from ppl making lewd unwanted comments to ppl almost trampling them

i got talking to a veteran attendee and he was shaking his head saying it’s basically oxygen in Laois now

rude unmannerly young fellas pushing and shoving etc etc

add to that the crazy prices for food and drink there. It leaves a bad taste in the mouth.

now to say I did see a lot of great acts over the wkend who I’d probably never see otherwise. Yes. But a lot of dross too.

I also had some great however very overpriced food and I met some lovely ppl over the wkend

Ahhhh - still though - personally - maaaan I’m on the fence.

I might go back but the feckin line up has to improve for me. no interest in the Coronas picture this or the 2 johnnies

not worth the hassle.

Post edited by Beechwoodspark on

• Registered Users Posts: 10,015 ✭✭✭✭cena

Anyone know what price tickets well be on Saturday

I should have gotten the 3 or more code in 2019, but i got the 1 to 2, they were €190 i think + fees, i think the 3 or more were €170, so i’d expect about €40 to be added to both of those loyalty scheme prices, seeing as those prices, were from 3 years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭riddles

The queues for booze were pretty bad and trying to navigate back with four beers was challenging.

6€ a can in the Salty dog was pretty steep. The Orchard Thieves stuff isn’t a great

• Registered Users Posts: 6,856 ✭✭✭sporina

• Registered Users Posts: 5,508 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Having missed this year I'm really torn as to whether to get tickets for next year or not.

Something that really struck me this weekend was how big of an event electric picnic has become. Every radio station was talking about it, it was on the front pages of the papers, being discussed on the news etc. It has become the social event of the year in Ireland and there is no getting away from that. At one point it maybe could have gone down the route to becoming the Irish equivalent of Glastonbury but it seems it has chosen another path.

The main question now is do the pros outway the cons? My most recent experience in 2019 and the reviews here from this weekend would suggest yes, although many have alluded to the problems the festival has. It's probably on a downward slope, but how quickly will it topple? There could be many more years of enjoyment there or it could happen very quickly (different thing altogether but Longitude transformed from a good day festival to essentially an underage festival in about two years).

I left on a real high in 2019, if that was my last time there I could have no complaints and it would always have that special place in my mind. Would love to go back again but I'd hate for those memories to be tarnished.

P.S - assuming it will be taking place on the weekend of 1st - 3rd September next year?

As i learned in here, from someone else:

it always ends, on the Sunday before, the first Monday, in September, so ya those dates look correct, so always after, the schools are back.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

• Registered Users Posts: 3,682 ✭✭✭Stillill42

It's a tough one, @Ferris_Bueller. I want EP to be the Pixies when they sang 'Where is my mind' on Friday night, full of memories and life and joy. I sort of feel they were more Conor Oberst singing Poison Oak a couple of hours before that, the beauty is there I can still feel it but he's tripping over **** and getting stuff wrong and I come away feeling annoyed and a bit hard done by.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Shiitstir

Yeah a lot of those teenagers are locals, including my two nephews I hasten to add. They both spent the entire weekend out there, walking in for free posing as the children of family ticket holders. It was their first year doing it but my older nieces and nephews did it as well when they were that age. I'd rather they weren't there but it's not my decision and I can't blame them for having the best weekend of their young lives.

As a quick aside, it's remarkable how many locals get it in for free. Whether it's the 5 foot 10 inch teenagers passing for under 12s or people being given an armband on a Sunday morning. Or people like myself who are handed a day ticket over a pint, by a friend of a friend, for free, simply because I said I was thinking of going.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Eh? No it wouldn't. In fact, that's the age limit for All Together Now.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Ride, PJ Harvey, Pixies, Public Service Broadcasting, Therapy?, IDLES(x2)

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

IHREC disagrees with you.

It wouldn’t be the first time that a business broke equality laws.

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Kepler21

As requested, this one is from Harvest on Friday. From left to right, Thundercats, Mucker46, DeskTidy, Seathrun66, Darzog with the beard, Stillill42, Rubick, Kepler21.

Post edited by Kepler21 on

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭Kepler21

This one was after Mick Flannery and Susan O'Neill. HarrytheSpider, Mucker42, Coffee Impala, Kepler21, Stillill42 and BodhranDude.