Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ukrainian refugees in Ireland - Megathread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Well in gen the fairly small number of posters who bother to disagree with prevailing opinions on thread get labelled as naive, fools, hypocrites (for not taking x Ukrainians into their home), do gooders looking to use up use other people's money, ffgbots/pro government trolls (!!), cowardly Irish people, sucking up to betters over in Europe etc.

Of course they aren't insults, just telling it like it is (ha) no doubt; anyone who dares return serve is just being downright aggressive and nasty. 🤷

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

No, I don't believe all anonymous tales posted, and that is your prerogative, but if the best you can contribute is to call people liars and spout nonsense about eating grass, then as mentioned, you have some neck to talk about posting in good faith. Unless you are going to try and convince us you have never heard the turn of phrase I used?

There are ZERO inconsistencies in what I posted, and if you think you pointed out any to me, then I am guessing that they were in the shitpost that I didn't read past the first sentence. If you think there were any inconsistencies, then I suggest you go back and read over the posts correctly, because I am willing to bet you didn't and are probably trying to twist the story to suit you. I said initially, I have no interest in a back and forth with anyone that doesn't believe it, as I was aware when posting there would be some, as they wouldn't want to believe it. I never got irate, the words comical idiot came to mind, but didn't think about it after that.

A tip for you. If you have any intentions of trying to discuss something with people, it's best not to try and pretend you have the mind of a 5 year old child first. As I can't see how you plan to make it benefit you other than for the other person to dismiss your entire post, so you can say at a later time that they didn't answer your nonsense.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Lol. You refused to answer questions and still are, whilst at the same time pontificating how to "discuss something". Listen you got pulled on your story and now the toys are being thrown all over the place, like I said it's a messaging board, your musings will be challenged. You would probably me more suited to a blog.

I refused to have a back and forth when I was hungover, if you have any genuine questions, I will be happy to answer them. I didn't 'get pulled' on any story, the idea that you pulled it up is hilarious, I am guessing you think you actually came up with something in the rest of that shitpost, maybe you should have started with it, as I didn't read past it, and won't be going back to look for it.

For all I know, that could be some deliberately obtuse tactic you use to try and claim others are the ones with the issue. You had issue with the story, I get that. You can't believe that your beloved government are morons and are doing a terrible job, along with whoever is supposed to be doing whatever vetting there is supposed to be (if any), so you try and call out the post by saying stupid things in the hope it will get a reaction, So you can then try and use to your advantage later on, or claim you got a reaction. It didn't work. Sorry about that.

I will be happy to answer them

Super, here they are again, in your own good time. If you are just going to respond with more name calling don't bother please.

______________________________________________________________________________________________

He was doing nothing in Switzerland when the war kicked off

So this lad was doing "nothing" in Switzerland, living in a field eating grass so he wouldn't starve to death, or something like that? I'll clarify, how was he supporting himself?

What I don't understand is Switzerland have generous supports for Ukrainian Refugees, seems a bit strange he would leave that to go live in a "centre" in Ireland.

Came over, met her in the centre and they agreed by posing as a couple they would get housed faster.

Now this bit has one fatal flaw. When they arrived at your friends brothers house and declared they weren't a couple and they would need 2 separate bedrooms, what happened then? Did he have another bedroom? Or are they taking the method acting to a different level and are this fake couple sharing a bed?

The guy who was telling me this doesn't seem to care either way, as he is getting €400 a month or whatever it is.

This is another bonkers part, if the guy only cares about the 400 quid, why not rent out his rooms?

He can earn 14k per room tax free.

_________________________________________________________________________________________

So you are leading with the grass shite again?

I'll take it out. In your own good time. 👍️

He was doing nothing in Switzerland when the war kicked off

How was he supporting himself?

What I don't understand is Switzerland have generous supports for Ukrainian Refugees, seems a bit strange he would leave that to go live in a "centre" in Ireland.

Came over, met her in the centre and they agreed by posing as a couple they would get housed faster.

Now this bit has one fatal flaw. When they arrived at your friends brothers house and declared they weren't a couple and they would need 2 separate bedrooms, what happened then? Did he have another bedroom? Or are they taking the method acting to a different level and are this fake couple sharing a bed?

The guy who was telling me this doesn't seem to care either way, as he is getting €400 a month or whatever it is.

This is another bonkers part, if the guy only cares about the 400 quid, why not rent out his rooms?

He can earn 14k per room tax free

I'll clarify, how was he supporting himself?

I have no idea. For all I know, he may have been working up until then and lost his job, he may be wealthy and had been living off an inheritance. I can't see how I would possibly know the answer to that.

You should ask him that yourself. But maybe he didn't think he could apply for Switzerland from within it, as they are not a member of the EU. He didn't go to live in a centre, he came to Ireland to live in the free accommodation, presumably he found himself on a waiting list when he arrived, like so many others, and ended up in a centre. I doubt Switzerland are also giving full benefits with everything else paid for, for an unlimited time. I doubt anyone is, except us.

Oh Christ, this is your 'genius moment'? As far as I know, they knew that as they were claiming to be a couple, to get a house sooner, they would end up in the same room together. The room has en suite and is decent size. I have no idea if they have sex the odd time, or if she charges for it. Or if they have found a way to live in the room together. There are two kids in the house, so I know they won't be getting a room each.. They don't need to take their acting to any level, as the whole point of my original post is that they have come clean, presumably because they no longer want to, or feel the need to keep up the charade now that they have a house. And as mentioned, they have perfect English.

This is another bonkers part, if the guy only cares about the 400 quid, why not rent out his rooms? He can earn 14k per room tax free.

Again, that is not really anything you are pulling up on the story.

I never knew about the 14k tax free. It is possible that he doesn't either. Is it €14k per year, or just €14k one time? There could be a million reasons he is not going that route. As I don't know the rules on it, I couldn't answer.

Was already answering, was just pointing out the nonsense again.

Oh right, that is your opinion on the glaring inconsistencies, not actual fact based answers.

Sure when you meet your mates brother again, until then we will have file it under 'pub talk' - just too many nonsensical variables, I assume you'd agree?

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

The Ukrainians have no energy crisis, become the energy they get for free is paid for by the Irish taxpayer.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

If you're unhappy with the virtue signalling socialist parties running this country and those in opposition, join or vote for a right-wing party.

It's about all you can do in a liberal democracy.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Again - what's causing the energy crisis here? Which is what was posted about.

WTF are you talking about.

First, I had stated in the very first post, that I had written everything I knew or remembered. I can't see any glaring inconsistencies. It is baffling that you would think I would have the answers to any of those questions, but none of them would be 'inconsistent'. You seem to think so, maybe you could explain why.

Nothing you asked above would lead an inconsistency imo. In any case, I am 100% satisfied that it is all true and can easily be confirmed. I doubt there is anywhere to report such a thing, or is that asking too much from this lot.

• Registered Users Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Subzero3

Ukrianinans are asking for weapons while the ones here are asking for handouts. Its all take.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

Why bother replying, just ignore.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,946 ✭✭✭0ph0rce0

Whatever about the above story being bullshit or not, it's irrelevant really as it's clear as day looking online in the groups, facebook and telegram groups that 1000's of people have been looking to/have packed up after living years in other countries and have plans to come / already came here to get in on the action.

One of the points I was trying to make about the story also, but it got lost in the nonsense, was similar to that. It isn't that much of a stretch to believe it. A guy with a Ukrainian passports seeks refuge in Ireland, passes whatever crap vetting may or may not be in place (it seems none according to the article linked earlier). It is also not really a massive story, it is just something I found out the other night and think should be reported. It's a bit odd that somebody could be that bothered to declare it a lie and claim it has so many inconsistencies (which I still can't see) to be honest.

It is a very small example of one or two people getting away with seeking refuge when they shouldn't. As mentioned, you would need to be very very naive to think that it is a one off. Trying to disprove it is pointless.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Ah here. I can give out with the best of them, but I have no issue looking after legitimate people running from a war zone.

It's just the virtue signalling government (no new party would do differently) who are looking at the next election are making a balls of it.

It'll come back to bite them as the voters, irish, are second class citizens now.

It’s a discussion board. If you don’t want to discuss, then maybe it’s not the place for you. Everyone has the right to an opinion. Not just the posters who share your viewpoint.

Ah no, if I heard a tale in a pub about a lad living in Switzerland where benefits for refugees are actually more generous then ours chuck all that in to go live in a centre in Ireland for months to collect 200 quid a week whilst concocting a rouse with a stranger to go live in your mates brothers house with his family who only care about 400 quid month where in reality they could earn multiples of that, I'd pause and pass it through the ould bullshít filter, I certainly wouldn't self publish it even if it confirmed all my bias.

But you did. So good for you. 👍️

• Registered Users Posts: 24,890 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Ireland is full, so sleep on the street!

Around 130 newly arrived asylum seekers have been told that there is nowhere for them to stay since Thursday, due to an accommodation shortage. They are from Georgia, Congo, Syria, etc

Wasn't in a pub. Switzerland benefits are more generous than ours for Ukrainian refugees? Where did you hear that? You most definitely didn't read it. Where or how did he 'chuck it all in'? What was he getting in Switzerland now that you seem to know more than I do already 🙄. When did he choose to go live in a centre? And was he really doing that while concocting a rouse with a stranger? You seem to be implying he chose the house.

Twisty mctwist with the stories. I am genuinely wondering if you are so obtuse, that all of the above is genuinely how you picked it up, or if you are so hell bent on trying to see it your own way that your mind deformed the story for you, and decided not bother with facts.

Your take on it as posted above, is so twisted from the actual story that I heard and posted that your agenda on here is blatant.

Now, I can go back to posting in good faith unlike yourself (blatantly), as there is only so much of your petulant idiotic, twisted facts, and your childish bullcrap when you can't think of anything else to say that one can take. You have literally tried it all in the last couple of hours, so I will bid you good day. 👍️

No irateness here nor toys pram etc. As I expect that is your next pathetic move. You just have nothing at all to bring to the discussion, nor are you even trying. It is beyond pathetic actually.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Again - what's causing the energy crisis here? Which is what was asked about. Stop deflecting, and answer the question.

Since March of this year, more than 60,000 citizens of Ukraine have received temporary protection status S in Switzerland. The status enables Ukrainian refugees to find a job and receive social assistance in the country.

The largest part of the sum is intended for medical services and covers other canton expenses for a refugee’s maintenance. In addition, the amount of allowance money was fixed at 1500 Swiss francs per month.

About 380 euro a week.

Where or how did he 'chuck it all in'? What was he getting in Switzerland now that you seem to know more than I do already

He obviously had a home there and means.

Unless he was in fact living in a field?

Also I probably wouldn't be best placed to answer these questions, wouldn't you agree?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

Just listening to the news there, some guy from the homeless agency was on saying there was absolutely no beds left for them, then went on to say that he couldn't put them up in homeless shelters because there was an identification issue, does that mean that none of the newly arrived asylum seekers possess ID papers? ...anyway they're on the street tonight, this whole debacle with asylum seekers and war refugees will end very badly mark my words and the final blow may come from unexpected quarters, a rudderless ship heading for the rocks, but the rats will soon be jumping ship leaving the citizens to clean up their mess as always, same oul shyte over and over again

• Registered Users Posts: 13,317 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Why aren't Irish people being forced to house refugees?

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭thedart

Yeah, so you didn't actually read what status s is. That doesn't surprise me. Again, picking bits out to suit your narrative.

Also, the 1500 francs you highlighted, you didn't actually read how long that was for either.. 😱 I am gasping in shock at that..

As for

Also I probably wouldn't be best placed to answer these questions, wouldn't you agree?

Not only would I agree, it would be one of my points, and going by how you skim over stuff to make a point, I would reckon it would apply to everything you discuss.

Yet you seemed to think you were knowledgeable enough about it in your last nonsense post.