Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone been stopped by the gardai

• 07-09-2022 2:30am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭

Just interested really as well as preparing myself should it happen.

Has anyone been stopped by the gardai with your firearms or shotguns in the car (ie, to and from the range, shop, gunsmith etc)

If so, what is the process of telling them you’re legally carrying firearms and/or shotguns in the car?

Interested to read what others have done in this situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,085 ✭✭✭clivej

Yes a couple of times at checkpoints.

I don't say anything about my firearms if they only look at the tax and insurance disk, if they ask for more I'd tell they I'm have firearms in the boot. Usually then I'd have to show licence and they would see that the serial numbers match.

It's no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭tomtucker81

As above, if you're stopped at a checkpoint it's going to be a quick check of the windscreen and a wave on 95% of the time.

For the odd occasion when conversation might start up, it could be simple where are you from, where are you off to etc.

Should you mention you have firearms on board, have your licences ready to show and expect to have the firearms looked at.

If the Guard decides he wants to look about your car before you mention firearms, now is the time to mention them!

Licences and matching firearms/ammunition, there won't be a problem.

Storage is critical. For example a young gentleman explaining he has a pistol and it's in the door pocket here as he reaches down... don't do that. Even if they're just in a case/carry bag, in the boot, that'll satisfy most.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

There is no requirement to tell a guard you have firearms or ammunition in the car, nor, in my opinion, should you offer that information without it being asked for. It just opens up a can of worms best left untouched, particularly since most guards are clueless when it comes to handling legal firearms and owners.

Usually only if they suspect an offence is being committed can they search your car, otherwise they must get a warrant to do so and you are perfectly within your rights to say "I don't consent to searches" if they do ask can they look in your vehicle.

If you do end up volunteering for a search then at that point you should inform them that you have legal firearms in the vehicle and licences on your person for same. It will go like the above posts, and you will have to produce licences for the firearms carried, they will check the serial numbers and often ask for your drivers licence since our gun licences don't have a photo.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Storage is critical. For example a young gentleman explaining he has a pistol and it's in the door pocket here as he reaches down... don't do that. Even if they're just in a case/carry bag, in the boot, that'll satisfy most.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I thought that there weren't any transport requirements under the law. I'm not saying I don't follow AGS guidelines, I'm more curious whether the outlined scenario mentioned above is legal. Obviously very stupid to do, so more of an academic matter.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

There are. Section 6 of SI420/2019 adds parts 4(B)(C)(D) & (E) to the principal regulations which require any firearm being transported to be concealed and out of view and any ammunition for said firearm to be separate to the firearm and I a locked receptacle.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Got him!

Is there actually a requirement in law to carry your license with you when out shooting ? I can't recall seeing it anywhere but am open to correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

Dunno but does no harm. Dad carries a "photostat" of his licence/insurance/permission, I've them on my phone. Gardaí landed out to us once when on my uncle's land, no hassle, it turned out to be a shooting buddy of Dad's.

First they came for the socialists...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

You have to prove that you are allowed to have the firearms in your possession, so your licence in your possession, photos of the licences on your mobile, or similar.

Arguably this could be accomplished by you giving your details to the guard and them looking up your licences on PULSE also.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭freddieot

Stopped once, just before a roundabout on the way back from Midlands. Cop must not have been long out of Templemore as he dithered quite a lot but checked everything - tax, insurance, driving lic and even the tyres. Asked where I was coming from and I said Tullamore. Thought it quite strange being stopped as I was well under the speed limit and the car was only a year old or so and nothing about it (Kia Sorento) that roared 'stop me'. Could be they were looking for a similar colour or size vehicle etc.. That can happen.

In the boot was a 308, semi shotgun, semi centrefire rifle and a centrefire handgun. If he had asked what was in the boot I would have told him and shown him the certs but he did not ask.

Guns were in locked peli cases and held in the boot via a steel cable with padlocks. Ammo was in a steel locked ammo box also on the steel cable so never any real chance of an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭Got him!

I'm familiar with the regulations in relation to transporting firearms and ammunition , being kept out of sight and locked receptacles etc. but you need a license for a dog but are not expected to carry it when walking the dog!

freddieot , you obviously well prepared when travelling and give info on a need to know basis only ( as should be the case ) with all boxes ticked anyway.

Does anyone know if it's documented anywhere that you are obliged to carry your license. Obviously a request to produce it at a specified station at a specified time would not be an unreasonable request from a member. I have never been asked for my license. ( not that I'm stopped on a regular basis either BTW.)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Got him! - I'm familiar with the regulations in relation to transporting firearms and ammunition , being kept out of sight and locked receptacles etc. but you need a license for a dog but are not expected to carry it when walking the dog!

If that is in response to my post, I was actually replying to Munsterlad's question. Hence the reason I quoted him.

As for your query about carrying a license, well the firearms act only states "holder of a firearm certificate" or "holding a certificate" in relation to being licensed. In other words it only says you must be licensed. It does not state whether you must have it in your possession whenever you are out with your firearms, but is a safe assumption, and as you said above if you are requested to produce it (because you don't have it on you) in the form of a "producer" I imagine that would suffice.

The other theory of the Gardai seizing the gun(s) because you don't have the license on you is a possibility, however far fetched some think it may be with them only being returned when you produce the license at your local station. There are a few cases recorded on this forum of lads in just that position.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭cosieman

Just got stopped myself after shooting and did not mention it they just checked my tax and nct