Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Heat Pumps - post here.

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 733 ✭✭✭Buzwaldo

TLDR - need a recommendation for a possible replacement GSHP

I have a Climatemaster ground source heat pump for the last 19 years. Has been working fairly ok with a few manageable issues over the years. Last winter I had a leak and had it refilled with gas twice (a bit too expensive to be doing very often). Leak was repaired twice by refrigeration engineer who alluded you the possibility that a leak in the compressor (?) is game over for the unit. Currently not working due to low gas pressure again and has been so since May. My normal service engineer suggested a different refrigiration engineer to check for leaks but so far it’s proving very difficult to get him. Obviously we don’t need heat just now, but winter is coming and I’m afraid he’ll turn up in October and conclude the unit is beyond help, leaving me freezing and scrambling to get a replacement unit.

Could anybody recommend a good brand or supplier of a robust reliable GSHP as a replacement, should it become necessary (or warn of models to avoid!) Should I consider an air source one as they seem more plentiful now? (but I already gave the ground collector infrastructure )

House is about 2400 sq feet with underfloor heating

TIA.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭Niall_G

Outdoor Hot Water Tank