Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garth Brooks - Croke Pk Sept 2022

• Registered Users Posts: 3,213 ✭✭✭el Fenomeno

I thought the sound was fine for the songs, but maybe that's just because I knew what words to expect.

I couldn't understand a word of anything he said to the crowd in between songs. I was in Hogan 329.

He put on a hell of a show. It was quite a spectacle.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Redhenrun

Great concert! Terrible sound. Distorted tones and indecipherable lyrics- to my ears anyway. The man himself was pretty powerful though- lots of energy, emotion and interaction. Lovely crowd- maybe Garth Brooks fans are just extra nice people? 😉

2 fools escorted out by the Gardai where we were. Too much to drink and started acting the maggot.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,217 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Hi all, looking for a bit if advice.

My wife (7 months pregnant) her sister and friend are heading up tomorrow for the gig.

I'm driving them up from Mayo but I'm wondering where would be the best place to park for ease of access near Croker.

I won't be going to the gig myself so will just be waiting around by the car till its all over for the drive back.

Red Route via Saint James avenue on the ticket.

Any ideas where I could park up for a few hours.

(The city will be manic for sure but any general areas would help)

Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 38,386 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

First of all took a gamble and changed my ticket to Hogan premium 529 Row K and it backfired a little because of the slight obstructed view with the low roof from that row. Even saying that it still was a great view of the main and B stage . It was frustrating with bloody people constanly coming in and out as well as staff deciding to come out and stand in the aisle blocking the view. For a concert row H-A the best rows in Premium

The show was great and well worth the wait imo. Setlist very close to the last American show. Stage was amazing and the band were really up for it. Disappointed not to hear 'Much Too Young (To feel this damn old)' but those covers of 'Piano Man (outside of seeing Billy Joel live in 2018 it was the best version of I've heard) and 'American Pie' were fantastic. Favourite out of the Garth songs were definitely 'Friends in Low Places', 'Standing Outside The Fire', 'The River', 'Thunder Rolls' and the Star is born covers with Trisha. Guessed right with him starting with a snippet of 'Ireland'. For once the merch was reasonably priced and that sky-blue t shirt was unreal (went with No 2 myself)

The farce of 2014 is truly buried now and no doubt the cheesy lad himself redeemed himself even if he did shite talk as usual. That walk to Whitehall GAA felt a lot longer on the way back then too Croke Park. As usual a lot of drunkeness after the concert, bit of a bust up too on the way out of the Drumcondra entrance

Thinking strongly of heading next weekend if I can but as I siad was brilliant to see him live finally. It really delivered

BTW Tonight he came on stage at 8pm on the dot but say he could try for earlier starts for the next shows

Ha somebody took the piss editing the tonights show on setlist.fm

Post edited by PTH2009 on

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭ALS

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭KerryM9

What were the actual start and finish times tonight please? Thanks

Came on at 8pm and finished roughly 10pm

5 min warning called at 7.55pm

If I were you I'd still take the 7.30pm start as gospel

• Registered Users Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

What a night!! What a concert!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,397 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Really enjoyed that, perfect "Greatest Hits" playlist. I reckon the 8-10 time slot was planned, he looked dead after that, not sure he could have done more (or had many more big songs anyway).

Being a once-in-a-lifetime thing, we decided to leave the pub at 5.30 and head in, got there about 5.50 and got in the pit, few beers in there then got very close to the action.

How the feck do ya rotate photos 😂

also, if you’re goi by to the effort of making a banner, spell his name right

• Registered Users Posts: 12,803 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Cavan, Longford, Westmeath, Leitrim etc empty at the moment.

I was able to park at Mountjoy Square, just outside a Mexican restaurant (El Grito Mexican). I got there at 5. Less than 10 minutes walk to the Hogan Stand entrance. Free on street parking at the weekend too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,470 ✭✭✭Citizen  Six

Saint Alphonsus' Road Upper. 100m from Clonliffe Road, which is closed to traffic. It's pay and display, but if you're waiting around the car you won't have to pay. Some signs up saying residents parking only, but you can ignore that. Just make sure to park legally, as clampers are enforcing illegal parking these days.

Are you sure it's free? More likely to be Mon - Sat 7:00 - 19:00, unless it's changed recently.

• Registered Users Posts: 459 ✭✭paddyirish23

Great concert loved it, thought he'd go to well after 10 but crowds crazy leaving took ages just to get to the road on cusack stand side.

Any women going be warned the toilet queues are nuts! Not great merchandise at the stadium was same stuff that they had in carrolls gift shop.

Back up there next Sat can't wait 🙌

• Registered Users Posts: 19,656 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Apart from Toutless anyone know where I can sell two tickets for next Saturday the 17th? Havent sold tickets in such a long time Ive no ideas what sites are out there. Have two hard copy pitch standing I need to sell (face value) as Im not going

• Registered Users Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Looking at pictures and clips on Twitter it looks like Aiken sold all the seats at the ends of the stands nearest the stage as full view.

Seems a bit ridiculous as they are side view/restricted view with the stage structure.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭head82

That last image is the funniest thing I've seen all week. Not only is his name spelt wrong but the flags colours are reversed!

Yeah and the place looked a bit sparse even with the advertised half 7 start time (which changed to 8pm)

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭RedDevil55

Which pubs around Drumcondra would have some music playing before or after the gig this evening?

Anywhere that had a good atmosphere last night?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,582 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Im waiting to hear about the robbing spree in the border counties....

Theres not a redneck left in those counties....

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Id imagine traffic would have been insane around the city on a Friday work evening with so many people travelling from outside Dublin.

Was it delayed due to people stuck outside ?

Possibly, the PA guy siad 'sorry for the delay were waiting for fans to take there seats'

Looking back at 2014, that matinee idea would never of worked and would of been hell on earth for the organisers

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Apothic_Red

Sunday still looking ropey

'The Thunder might roll' (ill get my coat)

Off topic a bit but The 'Life of Chris Gaines' is actually a great album musically and negativity impacted by the association of it to the failed concept. Should it have been marketed under 'Garth Brooks'

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭wolfyboy555

what would view be like from row 302 lower ?

be to the side but you will have a good view of the B stage

I'd aim for a few sections up the stand

• Registered Users Posts: 9,792 ✭✭✭hynesie08

I'm running on 4 hours sleep and I'm a few pints in, but I've convinced myself he's bringing Billy Joel out tonight and now I'm gonna be disappointed if it doesn't happen.