Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy lay dead in apartment for more than a week

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭slay55

• Registered Users Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

No idea of the particulars of Mr Dempsey's upbringing, but isn't one of the major major factors in chances of everything going pear shaped the lack of a father figure (i.e., single parent families).

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 15,328 Mod ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Not sure, I just heard in on the SixOne news yesterday about the balcony...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

The body was inside the ground floor property. If you could smell the decomposing body from outside how the fool would McVerry staff not smell it inside??? They’re a bit of a shambles if the statement from them below is anything to go by

https://www.dublinlive.ie/news/dublin-news/young-man-murdered-left-dead-25011558.amp

Locals yesterday said they could smell the strong “stench” from the property in the days running up to the find. And the odour remained there yesterday while the Garda Technical Bureau examined the scene.

“The tenant, a woman, was successfully accommodated in the property over eighteen months ago, it said. The statement read: “Unfortunately, the tenancy began to break down over recent months as the tenant was struggling to manage the front door and individuals, who had no interest in the property or the tenant’s recovery, were gaining entry to and using the property.

“Steps were actively taken to support the client to surrender the tenancy with a view to being supported in another tenancy elsewhere. This process was being carried out in line with the rights of the tenant. PMVT also increased staff visits to the property.”

Staff from the charity had been visiting the property over the last week but were unaware of the body. Dempsey was not a client of the charity but its CEO yesterday passed on his condolences.

Pat Doyle said: “We’re saddened at the loss of a young life and wish to express our sympathies to the family of the deceased. Staff visited the property daily, including over the weekend, and they had no indication or evidence that someone was deceased at the property or in the vicinity.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,279 ✭✭✭Gusser09

Serious questions need answering by McVerry and the staff who visited the property for inspections. That is just bizarre stuff and possibly even criminal negligence. The people I feel sorry for are the neighbours who had to endure this shambles. Imagine having that going on beside you. If I were a local resident I'd be actively stopping McVerry housing anyone in that flat. These people obviously haven't got the skills for independent or semi independent living.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

I grew up in Ballymun in the 80s, in the middle of a heroin epidemic, I've known the Tonys of this world and they were bad news from the get go, short of sterilizing the fuckers they're always gonna be around and I dont take kindly to people who try lump entire communities in with these sorts to suit their socialist bullshit.

They should be in custody where they cant do anymore damage to people, not hanging out in government funded drug dens.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

How mc'verry staff could visit the property daily and at the weekend, and not notice a dead man beggars belief. Especially if locals reported that something was wrong in the flat.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,753 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

There are a long list of questions about the McVerry Trust. Vast amounts of tax money have been poured into that organisation and it seems like a complete waste of money.

• Registered Users Posts: 34 Buachillsalach

"Drug addicts should be locked up at the tax payers expense?"

Well they're already given unlimited access to the stuff at taxpayers expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,277 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Are there actually “normal” people living in these complexes that are not involved antisocial behaviour? It must take quite a bit for them to complain about something.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,914 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Specialised accommodation units, without any requirement to take part in rehabilitatation? Who would ever want to work in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

Well that too, but I meant the full story.

A child in and out of care, with no family. No doubt didn't get any education. The gardai see them over and over again and no matter what they do, the crime is so petty it doesn't incur a long prison sentence. Or, worse, prison ends up being a networking convention for them, where they meet more criminals.

There's a boy around here aged 10 or 11. He doesn't go to school. His family are either dead or in prison, I'm not sure, but they are not around. He is the eldest of the kids, split across various care situations, and he robs constantly. Every single day, morning until night. He strips down bikes for parts and moves them on. That's basically his "career" now. I've talked the the gardai a few times about him, when our bikes were nicked. They said it's the same story they have seen many times before, and they will have a lifetime of trouble with him. What hope does that child have? What happened this guy is probably his future.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,804 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

A 10 year old is stripping down bikes and selling parts? Complete nonsense lol

10 year olds running chop shops now...

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭GalwayMan74

He packs them into containers and sends them to eastern Europe .

Yeah as I get older and look at my own children my views on this are softening and changing. I used to be firmly along the lines of "f*ck them anyway, not my problem, dirty scumbag knackers"... or similar! Now I still do hold on to a lot of that, while at the same time feeling a sadness/pity for them, no rearing, no love, nobody helping them or looking out, no guidance. Unfortunately many of these poor neglected kids grow up to be unadultered scumbag knackers, at which point my sympathies have vanished.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Drugs have destroyed communities in urban areas like inner city of Dublin for many years and it’s getting worse . Drug dealers and their runners are like vultures on the streets of the inner city.

getting as bad in rural Ireland but it’s mostly powder cocaine . The huge impact on rural communities is how the drug dealers now control these towns with law and order broken down - the garda stations are closed down or have Micky mouse opening hours with 2/3 guards . Law abiding people are afraid to go about their daily business in so many towns and villages for fear of falling foul of drug dealers and their large extended families who control many parts of the country .

I'm from a smaller regional town. Never heard of anybody afraid to go out about their daily business for fear of drug dealers or kingpin families! Sure, maybe, people wont' walk on their own at 2am through town.. but hardly the same thing.

I wouldn’t disbelieve it tbh and it is sad to think that the babies born to deadbeat adults will one day be the deadbeat adults we give out about.

I no way agree with the sterilisation argument that’s sometimes bandied about but there really needs to be a serious conversation about children born to current users. In and out of care homes does not make for a good start in life. Maybe now that abortion is permitted in Ireland, childbirth rates to drug users will reduce (if it’s offered for free). But then you can’t force an abortion on someone who uses while pregnant. Is it even classed as child abuse as they’re a foetus.

I don’t have the answer but like Mighty Quinn above, it’s a very sad existence

• Registered Users Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭notAMember

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

the neighbors know better to keep there heads down and keep to themselves no point getting involved in other peoples business these areas have nothing theres no facilities and nothing to do so the kids get into difficulty and take a wrong turn unless the goverment puts more money into these areas the same things will happen

Lol you haven't a clue boss

As I said..you're talking nonsense. A 10 yo turning spanners and running a bogus parts business😂

When you say no facilities and nothing to do, what exactly do you mean?

Plenty of decent successful people come from these areas too. I'm not buying the nothing to do argument. We had feck all to do in Kildare growing up.

This is to do with the cycle of crime within some families. It's bred into them at an early age. What the hell can more money being pumped into areas achieve.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,250 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I assumed these accommodations are cleaned and then let out to another in a tenancy agreement etc., not open to all to use

That'd be the idea..... not meant to be a free for all. But people spot a vulnerability or an opportunity... whoosh. in they go.

• Registered Users Posts: 619 ✭✭✭Summer2020

Very obvious that Mc Verry staff didn't actually visit the place at all and had filled out paperwork to say they had to tick the box. Now they're attempting to cover their tracks

They are but unfortunately they, as with other accomodation types, sometimes have tenants in them that are easily led and end up being used as doss houses by waifs and strays who have 'befriended' the tenant.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭touts

The McVerry trust have some very serious questions to answer on this. They claim that the reason they spend over 70% of charitable contributions to them on wages is because they look after their clients. Yet one of their properties was a drug den with a dead man lying in the middle of it for days and none of the visiting McVerry Trust staff, there to take care of people, noticed anything going on let alone the dead guy decomposing into the carpet????

People need to stop funding this chancer and his so called charity.

Exaclty this and I wonder what sort of legal issues they could potentially face if this is the case. Especially if it's written into a government contract re funding or a contract re duty of care to the tenant.