Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Politicians who are Landlords

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,468 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I agree, we have no accountability for the vast property portfolio of SF. We don't know if they have interests in keeping commercial rents high, or if their consistent opposition to development is driven by protection of their own property interests. Transparency and accountability are key.

At least with Troy we have the register of interests and we can hold him to that. Nothing similar exists for political parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭BobDole22

We also have no access to Fine Gaels extensive property portfolio or FF's for that matter either but what we do know is that the 11 houses of Troy were certainly influencing his support for pro landlord legislation and thus creating a massive and obvious conflict of interest.

A single politician has far less influence than a political party who can instruct TDs to all vote a certain way without even telling them why.

A single government minister who profits from legislation his government passes has far more influence than any opposition party as you well know and it has been proven of course that Troy is not the only government minister who has done this dodgy Donnelly was at the same.

Not at all, we have no evidence of any influence that Troy has used or attempted to use, yet we know that SF, as a political party, has stymied development in a large number of places. The inference that that is being done to protect the value of its property portfolio will be hanging out there until the party transparently comes clean on that portfolio.

But this is absolute nonsense SF has no power to stop development anywhere and there are loads of developments that have planning permissions that land hoarding developers won't build on so as to keep house prices as ridiculously high as they are and this is all being done under your beloved government. SF can object to development but it can't stop it and you know this.

Del Boy Troy openly lobbied for increases to HAP while he was a landlord benefitting from same this is pure corruption. Del Boy Troy openly advocated for evictions during lockdown which would also have benefitted him as a landlord of at least 11 properties.

Sinn Fein have voted against 6,000 homes across different developments in Dublin. Did they do so to protect the value of their significant property portfolio? We don't know, because it is a secret portfolio. Were they successful in delaying and stopping a number of these projects? Yes.

Certainly, SF have been a lot more successful in protecting their alleged interests than Troy has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Is anyone suggesting Sinn Fein are beyond reproach here?

Sure they may have members who own rental properties and they may oppose the construction of certain developments, but when exactly have Sinn Fein been in power in this country to influence anything in any meaningful way? Oh yeah, never.

Might they be in government eventually? Possibly. I don't for a moment think that they'll be any different from the cowboys in FF or FG but that doesn't absolve those FF and FG cowboys from what they have done, are doing or will do.

In essence, all of the politicians in this country will happily laugh in the faces of the electorate because they can.

Glazers Out!

A report done by Fine Gael **** me pink like. Also you clearly didn't even read the article as SF voted against a development and guess what? It went ahead anyway because like I told you they have no power to stop developments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,189 ✭✭✭Brucie Bonus

You are able to comment that we don't have a functioning housing market but you are unable to tell us how it isn't functioning and what a functioning housing market looks like?

One that isn't in a ten years and counting worsening crisis I'd imagine.

Housing in Ireland in the 70's and 80's wasn't ideal but it was a much better set up. We built social and later some affordable.

Many places have a housing problem and many follow the same model, depending on the private market.

That said, we all have an opinion based on what we've observed. You don't need to know the solutions to see there's a problem. Our housing is not working and has not been for some time as acknowledged by all parties. Your having a go at opposition politicians while making excuses for failed policy makers is off the point.

Not if its unsafe, poorly built or exorbitant pricing were the tax payer has their pockets dipped. We can't sustain that indefinitely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,618 ✭✭✭✭elperello

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭deirdremf

Could you clarify how and why this is the case?

The number of SF's properties has come up before. I believe that they house party hq and constituency offices. If you know otherwise, feel free to provide the information you have at your disposal. We'll all be better informed as a result, and better able to judge for ourselves in the light of that knowledge.

Otherwise, SF are in the same position as any home owner - house prices keep going up, but we are not better off because of it as we need a place to live so we can't actually cash in our chips and neither can SF, unless we decide to head off to sunnier, or at least cheaper, climes. The same goes for FF, FG and Labour. As long as those parties continue to exist they need their premises in Mount St or wherever. I don't see them housing their offices in a tent on the banks of the Grand Canal - do you?

I think its because SF aren't as capable of the smoke and mirrors of those parties famimiar with power who have numerous benefactors as landlords and well wishers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,618 ✭✭✭✭elperello

According to this SF appear to be well able to manage their finances.

Investing in a network of offices throughout the country was probably a wise investment.

The thing is we don't know anything about the number of SF properties because they keep it secret.

Quite the opposite.

SF have a large property portfolio, full details hidden and sources of finance hidden.

Did you contact the authorities with the results of your investigations? I thought it was the ones known you had a problem with?

We know FF/FG have every cute hoor angle covered and when they trip up and get found out are called 'top class'. I don't think ministers or anyone else should be making money off the public during a housing crisis, unless it's their only income. You will only pipe up about SF, but not the policy makers and people like Troy. Nothing will change if we continue to give FF/FG a pass because...shinners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,226 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Hidden from who?

If there is a problem here don't we have agencies of the state who should be doing something about it?

More detail required here, is there a state agency who has said this is something illegal and why have they not taken action?

Well, hidden from everyone. Nobody except the backroom people in SF know the full extent of the property portfolio and to what extent their property and other interests influence SF policy. For example, SF have long opposed LPT and other property taxes, is that because of their extensive property portfolio? After all, every other socialist party in the world supports property taxes.

I never said it was illegal, that is a strawman argument, just like Robert Troy having investment properties is not illegal.

If somebody is hiding their property from 'everyone' then the implication is that they are doing something illegal.

Have they property that is hidden?

Can you back this up please?

P.S. Not declaring your interests is against the regulations laid down by the state.

What piece of legislation requires somebody not to hide their property? You are claiming that they are doing something illegal, I am not.

You might link us to the regulations laid down by the State that require a political party to declare and publish their interests. You might also point to the cross-border regulations that require a political party in the North to declare and publish their interests in the South.

No, that is your job if you want to equate this to politicians avoiding regulations laid down by the state.

If SF are doing something against regulations, point it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,978 ✭✭✭deirdremf

Isn't it funny how these people scurry back into the woodwork when you ask them to justify their comments and innuendo.

The story is that Troy opened a whole can of worms, via the Ditch. A load of TDs have been shown to be in breach of regulations - mainly FFG, but TDs in other parties and none too, including SF.

But the idea that this is about a political party which has never been in power in this state is laughable.

Again, I never said that they are avoiding regulations laid down by the state, those are words you put into my mouth. Quite astounding how you have constructed this strawman argument. You are the one who has mentioned regulations being broken, so tell us what regulations you are referring to.

The fact is that SF have a very significant property portfolio that has been repeatedly reported on, yet the details are hidden from the public eye. Do you believe that is a good thing?

And you have not made any of this relevant to the thread.

SF have property. So what? Owning property is not the issue.

TD's are ignoring regulations as laid down by the state. That is the issue.

Wrong, the issue is conflict of interest. The complaints all through the thread relate to politicians who own investment property making policies on property. Same issue with SF, except that all their interests are hidden from the public.

SF don't make policy.

The 'policy' has been laid down. TD's are mandated to declare their interests, they have not, breaking regulations.

That is the issue, not some invented deflection.

So how come you've no comment on the policy makers with actual conflicts of interest?

If we were to exclude anybody who had interests outside of politics nobody would be able to run for government. There are publicans in the Dail voting on minimum drink prices for supermarkets, voting on providing grants to pubs to provide entertainment and possibly voting on increasing pub opening hours. There are Dail members who have invested in green energy voting on not capping energy prices. The important thing is that we vote in a mix of politicians that represent the wider community rather the usual cohort of former politicians sons and daughters who are already on the pigs back in terms of family wealth.

With all members of government and government parties it should be clear to the public what interests they have, what boards they sit on and who is financing them. It shouldn't be acceptable to provide misinformation, then correct it when caught out and continue with their highly paid career. There should be a quick process for the investigation of misdeeds and harsh penalties if found out to be misleading the public.

So just because there is no law against it, SF are allowed to have any amount of conflicts of interest and we should just turn a blind eye?

SF have been playing fast and loose with political financing rules through taking advantage of different laws in different jurisdictions and now that they have built up a huge portfolio of property we don't need to worry about them opposing property taxes because of it? Yet it is a major scandal if an individual misdeclared a property?

It seems that the Journal has found more problems with declarations of interest.

This will be a particular problem for the ministers - Foley and Donnelly - involved, as office-holders need to be held to higher standards. Also the Ceann Comhairle will need to answer questions.

It also will let us see whether SF walk the walk or just talk the talk. When Johnny Guirke was caught a few weeks back misdeclaring SF said that "any further lapses would result in disciplinary action from the party." Now we will see what they are made of. A real opportunity for SF to show that they don't just talk about higher standards, that they implement them.

Yet you won't comment on Troy who actually had a real conflict of interest and tried to create legislation to enrich himself. All your shinner hating is just that, no credibility.

Its on FG and FF to enforce any rules regarding conflict of interest or failing to declare. Not call culprits 'top class' or leave Moriarty to gather dust.

This thread is about TD's not declaring interests.

If there are regulations being broken by political parties...open a thread on it.

Why would it bother you when you have glossed over other TD's being called 'top class' and 'great legislators' (or whatever phrase it was MM used)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭rock22

@blanch152 wrote So just because there is no law against it, SF are allowed to have any amount of conflicts of interest and we should just turn a blind eye?

But SF are not the ones in government opposing any security of tenure, rent caps and bans on evictions . Where do you see the conflict of interest?

They oppose property tax and have lowered LPT in a number of council areas where they might own properties.

Which has what to do with TD's ignoring regulations that apply to them?

That is the third time you have tried to shut down discussion, last I checked title of thread is "politicians who are landlords". Now, if you want to be pedantic and claim that political parties are not synonymous with politicians, or that having a huge property portfolio isn't relevant to the issue, go right ahead.

It isn't relevant to 'politicians who fail to declare their interests'.

Clear?

They oppose LPT, which is why they were elected. "In a number of areas where they might own properties". Oh nos, think of the childer etc.. if this worries you you must be livid over Troy and the party leaders backing him, alas we'll never know.