Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

WTF.A minutes silence for the death of Queen Elizabeth in the Dail today. Micheal Collins and Dev

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Notmything

Ok. First off you're talking about the 1920's, so the British still had their empire. Without the treaty Ireland would have remained a part of the empire in a state of rebellion.

What "more" resources would Ireland have had? Taxes went to the British government, there would have been no Irish Army only a poorly armed ira which was fast running out of its ability to resist. So the idea they would have sustained a revolution until the 50's is laughable.

Remember as well the British army fought with one arm tied behind its back, suppose they decided to take the gloves off?

And all this while ww2 was still to come. Ultimately a united Ireland was never going to happen by force, if Ireland had tried to occupy the North we would have still ended up with the troubles only it would be an Irish force as the occupiers.

Post edited by Notmything on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Unfortunately for you people have grown up and don't want to live in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

• Registered Users Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭Brid Hegarty

Ireland would be reunited by the 50s? So you say! Like the British would just give it up, given that there was such a high percentage of loyalists up there. And you think there's still a possibility of it? And would you be okay with there being a new flag for a united Ireland? You think those william of orange folks who behave like psychos once a year will just be okay with it?

The signing of the treaty only caused more violence because dev, with his trump like tactics, made sure of it. You use the word racist a bit too much. There was no racism then. There were no coloured in Ireland. Call it hatred if you want, but it wasn't racism. There would have been a better chance of it working as a stepping stone if Collins hadn't been killed. It was still the best deal possible. Dev preyed upon the ignorance of certain people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

"the lives of the irish would have improved more had the treaty not been signed because the orange statelet would never have been created."

A common misconception - the northern ireland statelet was already well before Michael Collins went to negotiate the treaty

NI was in existence from 3 May 1921, before the War of Independence was over. However Unionism began preparing for statehood even before that. The Ulster Special Constabulary for example was set up in October of 1920.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,195 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

i will be getting what i want, that's a fact and a done deal.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

it wasn't the deal collins got at all, there was a better deal to be done.

the deal collins got was one of the worst possible that caused 2 wars on the island.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭boetstark

That is the funniest post in a long time.

I would say the ira would have lasted days against the full resources of the British army

i was talking about british resources.

after the war britain had problems resourcing the empire and ireland would have absolutely been part of this, meaning eventually there would be no option but to allow a fully independant ireland given ireland has nothing strategic to britain.

the british never faught with one hand tied behind their back, they did take the gloves off, but there was only ever so much they could have used to resource the northern ireland conflict as an example.

they were wiped out in india and africa in the end.

not for him as he is the one who has grown up and isn't living in the past like all real republicans.

it is you and others who are guilty of that charge as you are showing way to much deference to britain and are looking for their approval.

republicans on the other hand don't need approval from britain as we are content and are sure in our reality.

britain didn't keep northern ireland because of loyalists, we know this because they keep and always have shafted the loyalists once they have served their purpose.

they kept northern ireland for 2 reasons, belfast's ship building and other industries and they needed workers to support it.

to cause trouble on the island of ireland which happened.

there is no doubt a united ireland will be happening, britain is falling apart and we don't need a new flag as our flag represents all on the island.

had britain done the right thing and let the whole lot go the psycos who go rampaging once a year wouldn't exist because they would have had 100 years of being part of a country where plenty of protestants, and the few southern unionists that do exist, have lived perfectly normal lives.

dev had to use violence to protect his country from those who wanted to destroy it.

racism isn't just white on black or black on white, it can be black on black and white on white.

it was not the best deal possible, partition was never going to work and was always going to fail regardless of the circumstances or the leaders.

the full resources of the british army had to operate in the rest of the empire and operate at home, so the full resources were never going to be able to be used against ireland, even once the majority of the empire died.

britain still had to protect itself and it was still recovering from bankruptsy.

remember the IRA brought the BA to a stailmate ultimately, the only way that may have changed is if the british went in and slaughtered all around them, but then again resources wouldn't really have allowed for that.

remember also that the americans had to bail them out in WWII, and WWI as well by the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

There was no better deal to be done if we wanted peace and the majority of Ireland wanted peace. Dev know what would happen and did not want to go as Collins said I am signing my death warrant as Dev knew he be doing the same.

But no you wanted 30+ more years of bloodshed to some masterful date in the 1950s we be free

You probably would have championed the Nazis as they were helping the IRA

we got 30 years of blood shed anyway.

better to have got it out of the way earlier as there was going to be violence anyway thanks to the failure that is partition.

If you want a UI one day then you will have to be willing to compromise

His childish post says he has not grown up. Its not looking for approval, its showing good manners. Been bitter about something that happened 100 years ago is not a good way to live life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I presume the period of mourning is over. Now comes the hard bit, getting back to normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭waterwelly

Tomorrow she will be all forgotten about. The media will drop her like a stone.

there is nothing to compromise on, unionists will be able to live in and take part in a UI the same as everyone else.

we all know what happens when a state gives preferential treatment to a group so unionists will not be getting preferential treatment in a UI but they will be equal to the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Not at all , Francie , they've to start preparing for the coronation next .People will work themselves in a frenzy round these parts shortly.

That's not until next year I thought? Long hard winter to get through first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,722 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I've a feeling that a lot of the goodwill towards the monarchy has died along with the Queen. Australia, NZ are talking about becoming republics etc etc

I think the Queen was a nice old inoffensive lady, not sure if future monarchs will enjoy the same deference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If Mary Lou was Taoiseach, the Dail would have done the very same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,629 ✭✭✭✭downcow

Britain didn’t keep anything. 26 counties on this island partitioned from the UK. The rest just stated as it had been for a very long time.

if the 26 had stayed then you would now be happy to be part of one of the home nations just as the majority of people in ni are.

you could rejoin

I don’t have the link but it was quoted on radio ulster yesterday that there was in dramatic increase in support for the monarchy in a poll in Australia held since the death of our queen. So maybe a bit of wishful thinking from you there

edit - here we go https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/support-for-monarchy-soars-in-australia-after-death-of-queen-hz9scgzss

As usual it isn't all rosy downcow. Some perspective here.

However, a survey published Tuesday by British pollster YouGov showed that 49% of respondents believed that media coverage of the queen’s funeral was “too much,” although 41% thought it was “about right.”

Charles has a difficult task ahead of him, his reign will be dogged by comparisons to his mother and my bet is he won't be up to it.

I also think the shackles are off the press now too and we may see some unsavory reports about what was done during the 70 year reign to perserve the monarchy.

Don’t see much to worry about there. I am very surprised that so few thought the media coverage was too much. I was very supportive of honouring our queen and I thought the media coverage was massively overboard. Wall to wall queen for the last 10 days. I think that could have been counterproductive but clearly it wasn’t. Most people were honouring her at local memorials - 20,000 at just one of them alone in ni just on Sunday.

I visited a couple. Very moving and with walls to write on. Here’s the two I was at

Is there a point there?

I am not surprised by the national grief over the queen, I lived through the aftermath of Di's death after all. We have seen national outpourings of grief in various forms all over the world. It was always going to be this way and isn't that unexpected or unusual.

The monarchy and establishment cultivated this reaction for years, even the monarch herself knew what would happen on her death and by moving the funeral service to the more prime location of Westminster was maximising it's value. The people were meant to react in the way they did.

It's over now and normality will resume. The divides and relaities will still be there in the UK. I don't think monarchy will have a cure for what ails TBH.

Shes all but forgotten about today. After all the fuss she is rotting away in a box like everybody else.

Yesterday it was clear George and Charlotte are already being groomed for life in a sick cult. Neither of them yet 10 years old.

If it was anybody else welfare would be involved.

the 6 belong to ireland, so yes britain did keep 6 of our counties so as to cause trouble and use belfast's ship building and associated workers.

actually no i would never be happy being part of the uk/being part of one of the home nations as i believe being independant and working with our EU partners offers ireland real opportunities and economic benefits whereas the UK has nothing to offer, just look at how far behind northern ireland is in comparison to the rest of the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,420 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

A coffin marked 'RIP British Empire' was thrown into Dublin's River Liffey during the Queens funeral on Monday. The GPO in O'Connell St also had to be closed for a while to stop anti British protestors invading the premises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Why would you want to 'excuse' them?

Is your respect not strong enough or something?

Not everyone shares your respect.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭buried

This is a Republic blanch. People have a right to protest anything they want. You don't like it? Well then invade the GPO yourself and decree your own proclamation of blanch152. You never know man, get yourself shot and executed, everybody else might go along with it

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

Now just why would the 6 belong to Ireland? There is a much stronger claim that the 26 belong to the Uk, but we have let you self-determine and rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,122 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Didn't Collins die defending an oath to the monarch in the Dail 🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Lots of comments like yours about not living in the past so this isn't directed at your comment per se.

Imagine if the Third Reich was still in power, should Israel have a minutes silence for Hitler's great grandson.

I get things have moved on and she was an icon in her own right but her people done terrible terrible things to this country.

First they came for the socialists...

You need to try to break from this ‘big bad Britain’ stuff. The world has moved on. If we start digging into any country’s history we will find pretty unsavoury stuff

I can see why some people don't respect the person who was commander in chief on bloody Sunday.

It's their free choice and I respect their choice.

You on the other hand want to ram your view down other people's throats.

Live and let live.

How do you mean the "world has moved on"? No it hasn't. Should Ukraine just forgive Russia for what has happened this year? Let them roll in and destroy their Ukrainian culture, language and identity? Same thing that literally happened here d?

Is there any country didn’t role in somewhere with the intention of overthrowing the natives?

Do you realise you are trying to undo something that happened hundreds of years ago, before Australia, USA, etc. 400 years, and that’s a very conservative estimate of how long my people have been here. Many would argue it’s very much longer

Yeah, just like the Irish culture, language and identity that has been present on this Island for more than 3000 years. Just because some invader who invaded some other place 700 years ago decides to re-write boundaries, or ditches and claim the entire place for itself doesn't give them carte blanche to eradicate well over 4000 years of culture. Its not going to work. That's what gets on your wick about this island d, you want everybody to "move on", you can't move on when your own indigenous culture has lasted more than 4000 years. The mind and the cultural DNA won't let it. That's how this part of the island became a Republic.

Just what makes your culture ‘indigenous’? Are you suggesting the original inhabitants had a tricolour, sung the ss, played Gaelic and voted sf. This is fairy story stuff.

are you suggesting you belong to some genetic chosen race that owns the entire island?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Feisar

Yer right in one way but at the same time yer some shower of ****.

First they came for the socialists...

it does.

it's an institution built on empirialism, racism, colonisation, slavery, discrimination, subjecation and theft, so people have a right to protest against it whether in britain or elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,375 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its certainly a complex relationship, one not yet fully resolved for all time.

But the admirable thing to do, is rise above the unresolved and be gracious and sympathetic. For the good of those alive now and yet to be born.

If nothing else, it's an example to our own kids, of tolerance and forgiveness.

To err is human, to forgive, divine.

- Alexander Pope

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

No the 6 belonged to a British colony. You do know how international agreements work who has not recognised NI not being British ? Is Crimea part of Russia ? Actually easier Is Ukraine part of Russia ?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Difference is the international comunity recognised Ukraine as a sovereign nation. Just like the say the same about NI in relation to who it belongs to. That's my point about international agreements. You may have a point if the Brits were invading but sadly their not.