Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 29,319 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

the approach of fear of trying to resolve social dysfunctions is well known to fail, and spectacularly at times, we ve grown up, we ve matured, we have a much greater understanding of the root causes of such social dysfunctions, but have decided the best thing to do is not appropriately fund resources required to implement what actually is required.....

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Butson

All comes back to the courts.

Whole system is rotten. Legal industry creaming it.

No political will to call out the scummy behavior either, as the media will jump on them, backed up by our endless list of tax payer funded NGOs.

And around and around we go.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Floppybits

@Cyrus, Unfortunately the parents are the problem but then as was pointed out in other posts it is generational and it is how do the state, and it needs to be the state, go about breaking this cycle?

@Wanderer78, I wouldn't see these as amenities though this is more Mental Health/social care centres and can we afford to have something like this in each area?

One thing from this episode last night is will we see spreading to other areas like say Darndale, they see what has happened in Ballyfermot last night and now think they should look to better that?

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

The kids have taken a wrong turn and got themselves into difficulty but the usual response is string them up hard labour lock them in a dark hole all that rubbish tell me one time that has worked

• Registered Users Posts: 20,043 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

you cant force people to take treatment for mental illnesses that im sure most of them wont admit to having,

you could put a start of the art facility slap bang in the middle of ballyfermot staffed to the gills and i doubt it would make one iota of difference.

I agree, I am sure a lot of them involved in last nights events all have social workers assigned and wouldn't be surprised if most of them already have a number of convictions. The thing is there would be no buy in from either parents or the kids in seeing social workers or mental health specialists unless it is ordered by the courts and even then all they would be doing is turning up to tick a box.

indeed, and round and round we go. im not sure carrot is any use here.

no but they have more opportunities than most people in the world, they have just been conditioned to think that they have it worse.

im sure there are parents in these communities that love and encourage their kids??

• Registered Users Posts: 25,328 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s more a population crisis as opposed to a housing crisis.

no money exists to add amenities to these areas and all of a sudden billions pop up when the eu click their fingers.

feck all prison places too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

The majority of scum in that video are 14-18. They know that even if they are caught, they will be in no trouble because our justice system is a joke.

Don't know about you but when I was growing up I was more afraid of what my parents would do to me if I was brought home in a police car.

Carrot is only useful if it a stick on the other side.

Imagine someone cheating on their spouse, and instead of blaming them for being a cheat, everytime they cheated, they were rewarded with oral, threesomes, jewellery, cars, any fantasy they wanted. You’d call the spouse being cheated on a fcuking idiot.

But that seems to be government policy in these scumholes, the worse they are, the more they get. It’s ridiculous.

100% I’d have been murdered if the local Garda told my parents I was acting the maggot.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,602 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

This will just be the beginning as it rampa up for Halloween, there will be more of this, fireworks are already going off and many animals will be burnt alive in Bonfires as was seen in swords a few years back or horses made jump over bonfires and get badly burnt.

Cut their dole cut the parents dole and three Strikes and your homeless!

Build a proper prison, no PlayStations or other creature comforts, give them an option to study and better themselves in prison.

More Guards on the beat better equiped and same with vehicles better equiped for scumbag areas like what was witnessed in Cherry Orchard.

Judges need to be held to account for letting these scumbags with multiple convictions out on the street. 3 Strikes and your doing jail time

Mcintee seems more worried about mean tweets then real crime she needs to be replaced same with Drew Harris.

Country has become a joke at this stage

100%, fund a study to find out the very limit of basic human rights you can go to without breaching them, and build a huge prison based on that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

"Blame the parents"

The most knee jerk answer ever.

And so who do we blame for how the parents are?

Personally

I BLAME THE GRANDPARENTS!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I mean there's a point in there. It's generational, it's passed down decade after decade and it's nothing new.

Joyriding and this kind of behaviour was far, far worse in the 80s and 90s. It's just shocking now because people outside of these area are getting a sight of it via social media.

I grew up in Jobstown in the 80s, that kind of thing was a nightly occurrence.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭EOQRTL

The hard prison approach does not work, if it did you'd see next to no crime in countries that take that approach.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,469 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Many are single mothers, not great parents in their own right but then they are trying to control one or more aggressive adolescent boys. There really isn't much the mothers can do.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,730 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

What's the solution?

Give them all a big hug?

Behaviour such as what we're seeing in our society now isn't the result of taking a wrong turn. It's a result of criminal behavior not being sufficiently punished.

No material changes will occur until there is a perception amongst these people that their actions will be properly punished.

In effect these people aren't doing what they want to do, they're doing what they're being allowed to do.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭alias no.9

There is a state of the art primary care clinic there already. I'm not sure all of the disciplines have a full compliment of staff, but I'd be surprised if anywhere else has either.

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

Maybe the solution is simple, if you cannot behave as a civial human being in society and have an attitute of take take take from the state, then to me its simple if you start abusing society and what is on offer, then them priveledges should be removed bit by bit until you get a better unstanding of them. As an example, someone mentioned, 'free houses' if your a serious issue to society around you, then out on your arse from the house and the state should not have to deal with you for 12 months until you get an appriciation of what it is that is offered from the state and society.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Halloween, Paddys night, NYE have been used as an excuse to act the scumbag for years now. Ooh lets not blame scum for being scummy, it's always someone else's fault. Not theirs. God luv de liddle angles.

Yes it is a joke of a country, all fur coat, no knickers. Outwardly rich but seemingly no money for health/guards/prisons/housing or anything really.

• Registered Users Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Butson

Yes it doesn't work in a country like the United States where there is real poverty and no social welfare state.

The only poor people in Ireland are those working on low incomes. Nobody on social welfare here is living in poverty. Nobody. We don't know the meaning of the word.

"Nobody on social welfare here is living in poverty. Nobody. We don't know the meaning of the word."

That being the case, I would suggest abolishing childrens allowance and other related perks for those on long term social welfare who are also job shy and have a history of trouble with the authorities. If they suddenly released that "somebody else" won't pay for the up-bringing of their children they mightn't have them in the first place....

It works in 2 ways.

1. If a scummer is in prison, he can’t be causing crime on the outside.
    2. If a scummer is in prison, he can’t be procreating the next generation of scum on the outside.

Win/Win.

Ireland has a very small scum problem at the moment. Lock up enough of them for long enough and things will improve rapidly.

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Their contempt for AGS should be a strong message of the dangers of them being in actual power here. It’s actually contempt against society. AGS are us!

• Registered Users Posts: 55,529 ✭✭✭✭walshb

“Deprived” areas is a crock a Sh1t. It’s thug people, and nothing to do with deprivation . Usual excuses. Nobody taking responsibility. Always blaming someone else. And it’s the likes a the shinners and PBP who lap this up and exacerbate it and perpetuate it. Dangerous people.

100%, It’s always America that’s brought up. Never the likes of Singapore.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭joseywhales

The first thing required is to create space to address the underlying problems. That space can only be created with some aggressive security, the gardai need to restore confidence.