Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The wondrous adventures of Sinn Fein (part 3) Mod Notes and Threadbanned List in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭mikethecop

post them up there so we can all have a look why dont you ?

• Registered Users Posts: 482 ✭✭notsocutehoor

Ah jeez I can't be doin that, then I'd be in real trouble

nutting squad again eh ? the circular nature of a conversation with some people 😏

• Registered Users Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Is it the shirts or soldiers faction within SF that has it in for you?

Both I reckon, the shirts probably the most dangerous though, the soldiers are aged and increasingly ineffective

• Registered Users Posts: 11,223 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Heard Mr. (Up the Ra) Cullinane presenting the SF health programme earlier on radio. Essentially said that everything will be grand in the end but that it will take two terms of a SF government and in the meantime, the private hospitals and private health insurance will continue to play a large role.

Sounds very familiar old speel to me - how many parties have promised they'll 'sort out health' in two terms now??

“The creatures outside looked from pig to man, and from man to pig, and from pig to man again; but already it was impossible to say which was which.”

Anyone who expects change with SF is deluded.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,668 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

Has the price of electricity ever gone down in the past 2 decades (it has), does that count as cheaper electricity? Why did it go down?

As said, basic economics, though this seems to be the wrong thread to talk about such things, better to be shouty and ignore maths.

Obviously you’re not going to answer the questions, first raised by your idiotic post a few pages ago, so I will answer them for you. But first I will answer the completely deflective question you asked.

Of course the price of electricity has decreased in the last 2 decades, not often but it has, and it has decreased because the price of raw materials has decreased – simple senior infant stuff – hope that answers your question.

Now I’ll answer my own questions for you.

Has market opening given us cheaper electricity – NO, and that should be patently obvious to anybody from first class up. Market Opening alone initially added €600 to every electricity customer’s bill, SEM and ISEM were bigger projects so I’d imagine combined they would have added an extra €1k at least (I don’t know the exact figures so that’s a guesstimate) to every electricity customer’s bill. The ongoing maintenance and support costs are adding millions annually to the cost of electricity.  And all of those costs are before you even turn on the light bulb. Before market Opening we were among the cheapest for electricity in Europe (second or third I think), now we are the fourth most expensive in Europe. Competition has served us well hasn’t it. I’ll continue with the first class for a small bit. We have a finite number of electricity customers and a finite number of KWH being used, Market Opening/SEM/ISEM didn’t create one extra electricity customer or cause one extra KWH to be generated. Do you think it makes economic sense to take one small business with a finite number of customers and product and split it into 20 different businesses all selling the same product to the same finite number of customers, can you see any economic downside to that scenario. Another little poser for you, why do you think that large companies out there in the non-fantasy world acquire/merge with other companies in the same field, can you see any economic rationale for those.

Has it given us guaranteed continuity of supply. Again the answer is patently NO. For the first time in the history of the state we are at risk of power cuts this winter because of a lack of generation capacity, having sailed close to the wind over the last couple of years. We are having to try to buy in short term generation capacity at enormous expense (guess at who’s expense) to try to avoid power cuts – third world stuff.

You asked for the benefits, electricity has been cheaper, we've had continuity of supply since joining, we are a country that imports all fossil fuels and use interconnections continually to maintain our supply, without the single market we'd be toast in situations like these like texas was last year, with it, even with constrained supply across Europe, we'll likely be fine (and it's always funny to see rants about "guaranteed" nothing is guaranteed if you push a system far enough, to think that way is very simple).

You also don't want to leave SEM, likely as you know without it the risk of going dark would be much higher.

Again, basic economics has been the downfall of a poster on the SF thread.

And again, I answered the question in the first post, cheaper electricity (you admitted prices got cheaper) and continuity of supply, which is unbroken since we joined.

Please stop claiming otherwise in ranty fist thumping fashion, it adds 0 to your argument.

SF are not proposing nationalising or leaving SEM, you should start a PBP thread if you feel so passionately about it.

More unadulterated bull, and what has this to do with SF, PBP or the price of spuds, another abject failure at deflection, but you continue to live in your cloud cuckooland

Edit: electricity has been cheaper - this is repetitive crap that you continue to come out with, electricity has been cheaper on a couple of rare occasions, but only in relation to the price immediately pre the reduction. In the last 20 years electricity has never been cheaper than it was pre 2001 - NEVER

Grand, so since SEM, we've had cheaper electricity and continuous supply, glad you're in agreement there, thought the world was going mad.

We now have a war restricting energy resources and still it's unlikely that we'll see interruption of supply, so still working (could you imagine how we'd be treated outside of SEM?).

And still, no party proposing leaving, just some people with an axe to grind spouting nonsense and ignoring reality.

Abe Lincoln: Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak and to remove all doubt

Neglecting of course,I'm not a socialist....would seem to me,this free market that can't guarantee low prices is a failure tbh

Since you accept the pretext of supply/demand,if we cut off these data centres tonight....would this not in effect collapse energy prices...

The outcome,leaving of course,the whole theory is either bollix,or government is driving people to distitution at behest of mega-corporate interests??

I assume we are discussing this because it is SF policy to shut down data centres? Have they told their young followers they want to switch off Tik-Tok and Instagram?

Discussing this in wider context of a discussion on failures of deregulation....but you stay hopping up and down about tik tok 🧐

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

As you know Blanch, I'm by no means a SF supporter, but the economic benefit of data centres (which require fairly minimal personnel post construction compared with their size and energy consumption) is absolutely on the questionable side of things.

I'm not aware of any Instagram data centre plans for Ireland? And I'd rather we continue to try attract the tech side of both companies' business rather than the infrastructure side. As someone who professes Green leanings, I'm very surprised to find you defending data centres here.

Mary-Lou McDonald interview: ‘Almost all farmers will be much better off under a Sinn Féin government,' says Sinn Féin leader - Farming Independent

shinners are a friend of the farmer now ? well maybe the ones they can class as "good republicans" for smuggling and money laundering

others they just shoot in the head and then use their propaganda rag to try to slander them for years

Dont forget folks when they come looking for your vote that SF knows who killed this man and are still hiding them to this day

just one of the many victims who could have but never got justice

Murder of Thomas Oliver - Wikipedia

Given the Irish temperate climate, we are one of the best places in the world from a climate change perspective to host data centres. There is a different question around whether they are needed at all (hence the Instagram quote) which is what you might do if you don't put them in the best place.

Attracting just the tech side is not necessarily possible, and the IDA appear to believe that hosting the infrastructure helps create a longer-term presence.

As Instagram is now a Facebook company, surely they are covered by it? This article explains it better than I can.

"We also has a good climate for data centres; it’s not too hot and not too cold, we are geographically and tectonically stable, with no earthquakes, volcanoes or forest fires."

"The other obvious thing is that a lot of the big corporates, the Googles and the Facebooks, already have their headquarters here in Ireland. So by co-locating their data centres here, it keeps them local, keeps them nearby,"

So maybe not good for Ireland's climate emissions, but good for the world's.

This is another example of how SF's economic plans are a nonsense.

It now looks like the only people paying SF's wealth tax will be those people who have a holiday home (or a mobile home) and those who for environmental reasons let their land return to nature.

Furthermore, JP McManus can leave his huge farm free of tax to his descendants, but the changes in inheritance tax will hit ordinary people in Dublin.

Was this climate excuse,not exposed as utter bollocks,when it turned out one uses more water than Mullingar to keep cool?

Half country in drought,wells going dry and state resources being used to cool data centres for forgien corporations?

We lost our way badly as a country,and whomever pushed for these be put into the state,should be made answer publically before a tribunal for the disaster it's turned out and excessive strain they have placed on resources....less than 1000 are employed in em,and infrastructure of state on brink of collapse over em

• Registered Users Posts: 19,487 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Do you not feel a single data centre using more water than a provincial town for cooling.....kinda blows that perfect climate claim nonsense apart ...

or do commonsense dismantling of corporate lobbying not occur for yous atal?

Would one being granted planning permission for a gas-powered generator kind of make a farce of the government climate change plan,or deos it and it's excessive punishment only apply to public,and not business interests??

No, it doesn't blow that perfect climate claim nonsense apart, unless you take a simplistic head-in-the-sand parochial approach to things.

We don't and won't have a water supply problem so long as we build the correct infrastructure, very few countries can say that.

As I said, we are possibly the best location in the world for data centres from a sustainability perspective.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,402 ✭✭✭nigeldaniel

I take it Sf will pipe down on the Northern Ireland referenda calls for a while, especially with Russia's dubious referends calls in Ukraine. Surly Sf would not like to be associated with Russian ideology. Especially given how close Sf has been to those unmentionables for all those years.

Dan.

It deos,but your for whatever reason unable/unwilling to dismantle corporate lobbying pitches and accept em unquestioned

If we don't have a water supply problem,why are they wanting to pump water from the Shannon to Dublin?

How is it sustainable environmentally to have dozens of data centres,some of which use as much water as provincial towns.....all the while proclaiming anyone approaching issue with commonsense as having head-in-sand.....

How is sustainable environmentally,when these data centres are now being granted permission with gas powered generation plants attached to em??

we are simply not get value for taxes received,given the excessive strain these place upon our infrastructure and ultimately over next 10 years will need borrow tens of billions to prevent collapse of our infrastructure.....

we need elect a government,once in my life,to serve interests of the public/state,and not forgien corporations

• Registered Users Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Fionn1952

Given some of the IDA's questionable choices with regards to placing tech interests over that of citizens I'd take their advice with a pinch of salt on that topic.

In terms of your overarching point re: considering climate change holistically from a global perspective I obviously agree. My own solutions would focus around pushing those companies to improve their power efficiency, enforce much higher targets on things like heat recovery and construction to include generating their own green energy to sustain them. It also involves making actual sensible long term planning decisions with regards to locating these centres near to hubs along with the necessary infrastructure to allow the effective utilisation of this recovered heat BEFORE bending over and letting tech companies plonk them down. Essentially we need to acknowledge and accept the problems and create solutions before pressing forward with increasing our data centre density.

While we agree on the overarching climate issue, the fact of the matter is that when we're talking about the economic side of things, it's us that will be left shouldering an unfair proportion of the burden when it comes to missing our EU targets; our EU emissions targets don't contain any caveats for us making it easier for say France to meet their targets by allowing them to have a proportionally lower density of Data Centres compared with their consumption.

Data centres absolutely don't employ enough people post construction to make this seem like a fair tradeoff for me, and I'm not convinced by how strong you believe the correlation is between our ability to attract less resource intensive employers and the number of data centres we plump down in the middle of our country.

Most datacentres are aiming for zero carbon by investing in renewables. One of the big problems in Ireland has been getting the interconnectors built which has lead to datacentres having local (usually diesel) backups rather than being short of energy (so lobby to get pylons built). The water is also re-used and even treated using biological processes as it works through the Datacentre while being constantly re-used to keep usage down.

However, others are right that Ireland is a very efficient location to place them and drives jobs in the companies they are co-located with along with on-site staff (20-30 employees per DC if I remember right).

The datacentres host many of the services that the modern world uses to keep on running (I know anathema on this thread with most longing for the nostalgic 80's for some weird reason). Instagram, ICloud, Android Store, Facebook, whatsapp etc. will all be getting hosted in there.

But shutting down datacentres and re-nationalising energy is more a PBP thing than SF (can't have the proles talking to each other), it's going to be hilarious watching the lefties realise all is not right if SF get into government (and the excuses that will pour out).