Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teenagers with no value for life and no care for repercussions - **Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

Tougher on crime, ironically.

i mean its a chicken and egg, are they tough on bail because they are easier going on sentences etc.

it all depends: Viggo Kristiansen murdered and raped a 10 and 8 year old in 1979. he was released in 2021.

Most people would be perfectly happy to see scum like that jailed for actual life for punishment. he forgo his human rights on comitting those acts.

I have no issue with him facing actual life in the US. its the other ones who fall through the cracks that are problematic. Either system swings too far the other way.

Nobody on here can actually justify why Viggo Kristiansen should have been released. I think most on here would want say those kids in car at least arrested, perhaps a 6 month sentence to show them that there are consequences to their actions. Its obviously not going to deter them, but at least one might be scared off. Yet the kid who killed that poor woman last year, deserves next to no sympathy as he snuffed out a life for nothing.

Obviously tough sentences for assault, robbery, dangerous driving. they can all be way too harsh in America.

nearly 400k people die per year from homicide. easy going stances on crime won't help that either. 27 people were murdered in Norway during 2021. There was 39 in Ireland.

• Norway have about the same amount of prisoners as us while having four times as many jails.

They have better social safety nets than us.

Norwegian police use their guns remarkably sparingly, so not a deterrent.

Irish crime is entirely unremarkable, but you're right on one point, we definitely need more police on the beat.

• Registered Users Posts: 762 ✭✭✭starkid

thats irrelevant they carry weapons in their cars.

• After your big essay/lecture, that's all you have? haha

Get prepared and come back to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

why do people want the garda to have guns? do they want to have the gards shoot those kids in the car the other day if they had them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 krivar

On the subject of the convicted double-murderer/double-rapist Viggo Kristiansen, that is a bad example of lenient premature release:

He had served more than the equivalent of a normal "life imprisonment", as they say 21 years, but he was supposedly never going to be let out. The status is like this: He has been released temporarily pending a retrial, and currently, the status is: the police has no , absolutely no proof against him.

Background: His buddy, J-H Andersen (co-rapist) has lots and lots of DNA on the samples analysed recently. He implicated Viggo because the local cops said: You can't have done it all by yourself, can you? They were never seen together that day except around 4 o'clock. Andersen was observed alone. A knife belonging to Kristiansen was missing, knife that the police alleged had been used for the murder. during the trial assumed hidden by the "perpetrator" and never found, but it was actually in the police' custody, as it had been borrowed by a neighbour, and returned after Kristiansen was arrested, and without any blood. Kristiansen had several cell phones (suspicious??) but the one he used regularly was in use (incoming and outgoing) throughout the period the police say the girls were sexually abused and murdered. The traffic data could simply not reach the crime scene, where the girls were swimming, and then killed. The police (probably) puts their time of death at around 1940, because Kristiansen has an alibi at 2015H, although witnesses report they heard screams around 2005H/2010H.

Do you think this is all? No

The same cop (his name is Pedersen) that encouraged Andersen to implicate someone else; called Andersen during the period when the release of Kristiansen was only a "possibility", and he wanted that he and Andersen coordinate the pending interview with the National Public Service Television (NRK) The interview never materialized, but Andersen had download an app that recorded all conversations and saved the file on his computer. Andersen's PC was raided by the Oslo police because he was downloading hard porn. That's how that conversation is evidence.

Furthermore: Police Detective Pedersen said unequivocally at a press-conference before the trial the police had DNA evidence that nailed Kristiansen to the case. That was a blatant lie, and he did not repeat it in court, but the jury had read it! The same cop says that Kristiansen spent the evening prior to reconnoitre the area. Unfortunately for his reputation, the sports association had kept a record (from year 200!) that Kristiansen played football that evening. (The alledged and convicted rapist didn't remember himself, as he said: these were all regular evenings for me)

Still not satisfied? The "good buddy" (Andersen) was depicted as innocent, and as late as a year ago (2021) the local police states that Andresen NEVER had been accused of anything. They are now trying to explain how they could have been so wrong! There was a rape case in 1997, when Andersen was below the age where he could be prosecuted....

As you understand: this is ver much a "To Be Continued." Will Viggo Kristiansen exoneration come in a full trial? or the attorney general might just admit that they have made a HUGE mistake?

Comment: the rapes+murders happened 19th of May, year 2000 not in 1979, the year Viggo Kristiansen was born

Post edited by krivar on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭Greyfox

Admittedly I don't have 20. I accept that prisoner rehabilitation would be beneficial but I'd put all of these above it: Building apartments, having more nurses, cutting waiting times for medical procedures, mental health, improving public transport, increased carer/disability allowance, more guards, more college grants for less well off, more facilities for teenagers, more payments towards peoples gas/electricity bills, more money for homeless, improving cycle lanes, better drug rehabilitation.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I doubt the kids and all the other scrotes all over the city would be messing as much if the Guards had a mandate to use more force.

Batons and Hyundai family estates just don't cut it in some places.

In reality the Guards are seen as toothless, certainly not up to the challenges at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 hustlenbustle

Lack of respect and pure solid anti social behavior among teens and pre teens even is on the rise in Ireland in all areas.

Firstly children's allowance should be capped at 4/ 5 children _ some people only have them for the money and the more they have the level of care goes down, down , down.

Parents should be fined after the first misdemeanor _ it should be taken at source no arguments. And after that fined every time. Twill eventually hurt.

Some of these children are in AWFUL homes. If they're 13,14,15 and off the rails there should be some sort of cadet system _ a tough, rigid system_ that will put some discipline in their lives. A place where they will live . It might save some of them.

Finally if a child starts causing trouble at a young age eg 6, 7 then parenting classes should be mandatory

Its sad there are so many now that are unruly _ it's scary.

• Registered Users Posts: 685 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

The problem with giving the Garda guns means the Garda will have to be seriously trained not only in how to use the gun, but a serious level of self defence that if anyone tries to take the gun that its not going to happen as much as possible. Not so recently we all heard about what happens when someone sadly gets the gun from a Garda.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,497 ✭✭✭Ginger83

• Registered Users Posts: 31 d12crew

this isn't the way for grown men to beat the sh!te out of kids for a stolen car, it was the norm , it shouldnt be the norm in 2022.

How will the GRA and guards management frame this.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

Frame what, there's no evidence for the claims in the video, is there?

Wouldn't be the first time someone exaggerated the use of force by Gardai, it's half the reason they are loathe to actually put hands on in the first place.

Unless evidence comes out that the Garda involved did as described then Garda management won't give a fiddlers about it.

Little scrote can make a complaint to GSOC, he can just explain his presence there at the time in question in full. So he'll only need to admit his guilt first should he decide to make a claim. If anything hell probably be mortified to be caught by the Gardai, it's his parent(s) who will suddenly give a sh1t about his welfare all of a sudden who'll be looking for a payday way to help their darling baby recover from his ptsd.

I'm playing violin for the little shite though I find the drop kick remark hard to swallow.

I expect no different from you, do you want to tell the class what organisation you're a member of??

If you've been arrested by the guards they won't call an ambulance on the scene of the arrest if the arrested isn't serious injured!

Im a Garda, it's not a secret here nor have I ever pretended I wasn't and I've openly given advice/help to people on this site in relation to my knowledge in relation to same. This isn't some big 'gotcha' moment for you. If you think it is, then I'm embarrassed for you.

I'd you are arrested you can seek medical attention as a right, so no, you do not have to be seriously injured.

He could have a busted nose from, you know, the car crash he was involved in, and the Gardai would be required to have that treated first before anything else.

I wont comment on your post history or what you do for a living as to be blunt, I couldn't care less about either.

I knew you were a guard I didn't go threw you post history, thats why I said do you tell the class what organisation you're a member of.

So of course you're going to frame it as "He could have a busted nose from, you know, the car crash he was involved in" as you're a member and member protect members.

"I'd you are arrested you can seek medical attention as a right, so no, you do not have to be seriously injured"

Are you having a laugh, guards will only seek medical attention on site of arrest only if the arrested has been seriously injured.

They don't have to be seriously injured though, just injured or potentially injured

And it doesn't have to be in the course of an arrest that he (or anybody) got injured.

I've been to plenty of collisions where someone complains of a sore chest (from seatbelt tightening). It's not a serious injury, but an ambulance will be called, even if they are suspected of commiting an offence and arrested.

Do.you honestly believe that the scrote got out and ran only to suddenly decide to give up and was standing there only to recieve a flying dropkick from a Garda because that sounds fairly outlandish. Why risk injury to oneself with a drop kick when he could just tackle him or body check him if he wanted to take him down. And they started kicking the sh1t out of him, but the guy only took out his phone to record once that was all done, not at all suspicious.

I ain't covering for anybody, if that's what happened then it was a stupid, reckless and wrong way to do things (much and all as it was warranted by the little sh1tball). I just would tend to look for more evidence then an ambulance attending to someone who has just also happened to be in a traffic collison. But hey, its kind of my job to look for evidence and proofs....as I said, I don't care what you do but obviously it's easier for you to just believe something outright because someone says it.

Post edited by Killinator on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

some of the posters here have forgotten the Garda who lost part of a limb from a car incident, just a few weeks ago. As for using Hyundais, Jesus wept. A few Crown Vics from America, with proper protection for the crew might be in order.

Look you come across as a decent guard of which AGS has plenty, but there's alot of guards too who would be chomping at the bit to catch anyone in a stolen car to dish out "revenge justice", because of the media hysteria of cherry orchard, will Dublin live or the journal pick this story up, we'll have to just wait and see.

Look at the kid kicked in the head in talla, it was framed as someone (not the kid) on a scrambler done a shooting, but the striking part was the rest of the guards let it happen even the plain clothes guard had a good look around to see but didn't know they were recorded it was the norm for them even though the kid didn't resist.

So excuse me for taking this as it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

only children and the garda batter them and then they wonder why they gat rammed

• Registered Users Posts: 9,771 ✭✭✭hynesie08

• Registered Users Posts: 12,602 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Of course it's everyone else's fault and not the little scangers who were driving the cars and those cheering them on. Another reason to abolish the Seaned. This one was government appointed!

Again goes to my earlier point;

If the area is so deprived that these lads have no choice and are destined to become 'scrotes' then how come the vast majority of these estates don't follow suit.

How come the vast majority in these areas are able to just get by like the rest of us but these small few are 'falling through the gaps'?

They have the same facilities available to them as everyone else there, they have the same government supports available (in some cases more), they have the same education available to them, etc ...

A bit of personal responsibility by them and their parent(s) would go a long way but too many organisations and ministers and councillors and whoever else keep patting them on the back telling them 'no, it's not your fault'.

These young lads made choices (and not in the old 'everybody makes mistake mould' or 'boys will be boys mould'. If you rob a car it is your fault, if you burgle a house it is your fault, if you carry out an arson attack it is your fault, if you intimidate and harass people it is your fault. The government didn't do it, the Gardai didn't do it, the school didn't do it, the priest didn't do it, johnny foreigner didnt do it....YOU DID!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭bad2thebone

Back in my day car robber's were considered scum inside, that's why a lot of the runts were sent to spike island. Because they would get a hard time off the other lag's in other prisons.

I'm not sure if it's still punishable inside for being a car robber. But I've no issues with a car robber getting a hard time in jail, because they deserve it.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

It also goes to show the lie at the heart of the bleeding hearts' policy of mixing scum in with 'normal' people - if, as these people claim, only a small minority of people in these areas cause them to become no go areas, then surely dispersing them in private estates will cause those to go the same way too?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

I was wondering how someone like that, who clearly lacks intelligence, ends up in a position like that

Flynn stood as a candidate for the Labour Panel in the 2020 Seanad election, but missed out by a very narrow margin. On 28 June 2020, she became a Senator upon being nominated by the Taoiseach, and in doing so became the first-ever Traveller to be a member

the Oireachtas.

She's nothing but a great example of how tokenism can be dangerous, as there seems to be no quality control when it comes to stuff like this.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

• Registered Users Posts: 7,359 ✭✭✭MrMusician18