Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marathon Improvers Thread.

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 18,447 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Seems to have been a bit of a triggering comment, but I never said that what works for one needs to work for all.

But on forums like these you see so many posts about taking X amount of grams at Y intervals that people reading would be forgiven for thinking that it was the be all and end all. I know when I was a beginner that I certainly read these forums and so took it as accepted wisdom that the nutrition needed to be perfect or I would be in trouble.

It doesn't have to be, some people don't need the half of it and don't need to let it worry them so much, so I won't apologise for offering a counterpoint that may well resonate with somebody else, even if a few think it heresy.

I am a little amused though that 3 scoops of tailwind in a bottle is considered comparable to the regimes some others have listed.

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Unknownability

• Registered Users Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭Wottle

Debate is always good and I think we're in agreement, it's specific to the individual.

You're last point is just plain wrong though, 3 scoops of tailwind is 81 grams of carbs, which is more than 3 gels. Add a sports drink to the mix and that's another 30 grams, so you're consuming 4 to 5 gels worth.

I do take more as I don't eat the morning of the race, so definitely need the extra.

• Registered Users Posts: 583 ✭✭✭FinnC

Wow excellent progress, that’s really impressive.