Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rapid tour of many Tipp towns by a Galwegian - my thoughts.

• 13-08-2022 9:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭

Hi all, passed through many Tipp towns over four days recently. Hadn't being there for many years. Just my own thoughts on what I saw - like to hear feedback from natives. In order of my travels:

1 Ballina (beside Killaloe) - very touristy and some very expensive looking homes along the river bank. Nice spot with an outdoor swimming pool to boot. I'd say property must be expensive there.

2 Thurles - very impressed. A very fine town with lots of beautiful buildings. Very busy looking too. Cathedral was very impressive. See it has its own Cineplex and Shopping Mall. What is its economy based on?

3 Cashel - a real tourist town but presents itself very well. Excellent historic plaques and fine buildings. Lovely outdoor spots for coffee and dining. The Rock dominates but the town really looks prosperous. Another town with a shopping mall.

4 Cahir - Fine town with some lovely buildings and the magnificent castle - another tourist haven. Again, like Cashel (and Thurles too now that I think of it) having plenty of coffee shops with outdoor dining. The walk along the Suir to the Swiss cottage is superb as is the cottage itself.

5 Clonmel - a very large town with some superb architecture. But, for me, despite all of this, it seems to be a bit shabby and run down. Many closed shop fronts. Lots of local pubs for locals. Didn't really get a vibe of tourism here despite all the impressive buildings.

6 Carrick-on-Suir. OK, sorry, but Carrick was the least impressive in every way. Seemed run down and lacking anything of interest. Even the tudor castle had barriers around it and the few boats at the unimpressive waterfront looked decrepit compared to those back at Ballina. Shop outlets looked miserable as well. Has it lost its way, being so near to Clonmel and Waterford city?

Didn't get to Nenagh or Roscrea or Tipp. town

So, what surprised me most was that these towns are so much more impressive that the towns in Galway - they have so many interesting old buildings - it is clear that this must have been a very wealthy county back in its heyday based on the number and quality of the town buildings in comparison to what we have in the few county towns we have here.

Post edited by deaglan1 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭Expunge

duplicate post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,526 ✭✭✭swoofer

You got it spot on.

here is the bit for Thurles, from wiki, of which I have many happy memories.

Thurles was originally an agricultural market town. It is now a retail town, with chain stores like Dunnes StoresSupervaluLidlAldiBoots, and Holland and Barrett established in the town. The headquarters of the meat processing factory Dew Valley Foods is also located in the Thurles environs. Thurles Shopping centre was recently extended and plans to open a new a Tesco store to replace the current store in Liberty Square have also been announced.[when?] Stakelum's Hardware, which recently moved to the Nenagh road, is one of the biggest family owned business in the town. McKevitt's "Costcutter" is another large family business that operates with one supermarket in the town. High technology industries have been established in the Thurles Technology Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,467 ✭✭✭cml387

You are spot on in your observations. Just imo Cahir beast Cashel mainly because of the Castle and the lovely river walk to Swiss cottage.

Clonmel is now a sad shadow of it's former self. The departure of Tesco's, Dunnes and Superquinn either altogether or to the outskirts has hollowed out the centre of the town, and the Showgrounds has stolen whatever business that was left.

Just walk from Chawkes (closed) Kenny's hardware (closed derelict dump bizarrely with stock still in place), Slattery's (closed) Market St. (entirely closed except for Peter Marks). Parkes chemist (closed, boarded up), former Benetton (closed), old Post Office (closed), Morans Mini and Mom (closed), shop replacing "The Punnet" (closed), ACC premises (closed), former Carls Scarpa (closed). And I may have missed a few.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 779 ✭✭✭Littlefinger

As a resident in Thurles I wouldn't agree with your assessment of it. There are a lot of shops that have closed in recent years in the square, with nothing replacing them. Nenagh is a far far better town that has lovely little boutique shops and has a lot more options for dining out. (Plus a lovely castle and other historical buildings)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,196 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

You can walk through Ireland but you’d want to run through Carrick. An old saying that still fits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,812 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I'm a Cahir man and actually worried at the route the town is going in regard to heavy traffic going through it

Really has been noticeable more recently how damn busy the town has become. There's less parking spaces in the town too, on top of that (removed some during covid for seating space)

In regard to Coffee Shop/Café options, they're actually not good at all

Lazy Bean is gone - You have one normal Café; River House, and it's poor

Lava Brew is a fairly specialised menu and probably too pricey to go to regularly

The Keep don't do freshly made stuff, and are more focused on take-away coffees & desserts

The council have done a great job with the Inch Field and Swiss Cottage walk though, that has to be said. But as mentioned, I'd worry of hitting a line of the town being too busy to handle it, if that makes sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

ACC building and Carl scarps in Clonmel both definitely occupied currently.

what happened to the cinemas plans to expand into the vision store premises? A new restaurant has opened in market place as well think it’s a tapas place. In fairness superquinn closed everywhere but dunnes are a disgrace in the way they have closed their O Connell street store a store that was one of the first they opened in Ireland and contributed in no small way to the subsequent development of the company.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Valhalla90

Did anything occupy the River Island unit in Clonmel? Last time I was there it was just after closing down!

Yes a new restaurant/coffee shop called the hub and a lovely spot it is too.

Yes Dougan's have now opened a hearing aid centre in the old Carl Scarpa, but I think the ACC building is unoccupied (sometimes a pop up shop goes in there).

The cinema plan was a fantastic idea but the uncertainty about the future of cinema versus streaming has put paid to those plans I'd say.

I also notice that DV8 are closing down for "renovations". I wonder will it re open?

And I see now that a Laser beauty therapy centre is now in the ACC centre so aopologies.

DV8 reopening in 6 weeks. ACC bank has a beauty salon in there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭pooch90

Yes, Skin HQ (previously Fiona O'Maras on Mary St) have relocated to ACC site. They've done a beautiful job of it. Lovely salon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭yknaa

I didn't spot a Cahir thread but wondering if anyone can recommend a few pubs? Visiting on Saturday and looking for a few nice spots for a few drinks. Probably edging towards oul lads pubs at this stage! ;-) Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

The economy of Clonmel is based on a few medical device and pharamceutical plants in the area.

The economies of Cashel and Cahir are based on yank tourists.

The economy of Ballaloe/Ballina is based on rich elite tourists with boats.

The economies of Thurles, Carrick on Suir and Tipperary Town are based on the Social Welfare. And I include farming in that, since the only thing making farming any way viable is massive subsidisation via the CAP.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

The main pub in the square is Irwin's. It is closed down.

Then you have morrisseys for the yanks. Across from the castle is the Gatehouse pub for underage drinkers, coke heads, assaults and drug pushers.

Outside of that in the outskirts of the town centre you have a variety of grimey locals pubs, usually strategically located in proximity to a bookie shop. Usually the hangout of choice for the locality's chronic alcoholics drinking their life away with the children starving at home.

You are left with the bar in Cahir House hotel. It is pleasant and a very much a place harkening back to the days of it being the big fish hotel in the small market town pond. And they do nice food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

I also did the rounds of most of those towns after decades away and had largely the same impressions, some very fine historical towns in Tipp, Tipp is overlooked somewhat on the tourist trail but it has a lot of very interesting historical and beautiful sites and less tourists jamming up the place.

Another one you missed is Fethard, a stunning medieval town the likes of which is rare in Ireland , also quite prosperous and rich due to the stud farm and racing industry .

Thurles is better than it was during the recession but still seems to be suffering from inflation and quite a few shops bordered up.

You know Tipperary is the golden vale, it has probably always produced huge amounts of food and therefore it was more important in medieval times and back further, a lot of abbeys and monasteries dotted about.

Now if you travel around you will see the dairy farmers are minting it and building large houses everywhere. The farmers are richer than the town dwellers , many of whom may be on social welfare?

Also agree with respective reviews of Cahir vs Carrick on Suir, and Clonmel. Cahir is stunning and very prosperous it seems.

Only reason farmers are getting good money is because of the CAP subsidies. They don't make money from farming, they make money from subsidies.

Farming is just what you have to do to qualify for the subsidies. The actual bit of income they get from the actual act and produce of farming is only a small fraction of their income - not even enough to cover input costs from what I have been told.

If subsisides were withdrawn in the morning, the entire farming sector would implode within a week.

That is why I equated farmers with social welfare recipients. The only thing keeping them doing what they are doing is the tax paid by the rest of the workforce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭yknaa

Thanks for the information. I can hardly wait now 😀. Looking forward to the trip.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭Oops!

Say that to one and watch them go on a rant about entitlements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,812 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Gatehouse has been gone years. What a moronic observation btw about it being for cokeheads

Genuinely the only pubs now are Morriseys and Punters Rest in the middle of the town. The Hill and Kendricks then a bit of a walk

Town has feck all options now and not ideal for drinking. Cashel or Clonmel better options

You’re after posting some serious shite in this thread. Sounds like you haven’t been in Cahir in years if you thought Gatehouse was still open

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭Paddico

What a super insightful and well researched post. You should run for the Dail.