Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭political analyst

When he was interviewed by Piers Morgan, Jordan Peterson said, 4 and a half minutes into the following video that we can't win against Putin because we can't say no to Putin and that the reason for that is that we sold our soul to him for his oil and gas so that we could elevate our moral stature on climate change.

But carbon emissions come from the use of oil and gas, regardless of the origin of the oil and gas. So why would Western politicians have thought that burning Russian oil and gas wouldn't be as bad for the environment as burning oil and gas from the West itself?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭20silkcut

Yes and singing too they sound very good brilliant in fact I’d say they are professional musicians. I’d sit there and listen to them. Terrible waste to be sending people like that off to war. It’s absolutely insane.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Apparently he was somewhat annoyed that he didn't receive call-up papers, whilst his friend did.

Well, for starters, it means that they are not responsible for it. Look at how much California is crowing on the fact that they're shutting down their last nuclear and fossil fuel power plants (with the acknowledged delay caused by the realisation that they don't have enough generation to shut them down this year after all), and not mentioning so much that they're importing a third of their power from nuclear plants in Arizona and Utah.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

For the same reason some people are looking for Ireland to stop producing beef, apparently it's better for the environment to get it imported from Brazil.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,986 ✭✭✭rogber

These videos are truly astounding. On a satirical sketch show they'd be vetoed for being too over the top, the way one day it's all bluster threatening the world with nuclear bombs, the next day calling for their own military personnel to be shot for conscripting disabled 60 year old men and basically openly admitting that the whole country is deeply dysfunctional.

The one thing they never seem to do is stop, turn to each other and say: maybe our country is on the wrong path and we need to have a serious look at our leadership....

The simple answer to this is that Jordan Peterson is an absolute gobsh*te and you yourself have provided the evidence for it: the man says that the reason Europe buys oil and gas from Russia is because of its misguided attempts to solve human-made climate change (which JP, of course, doesn't believe in anyway). A statement that makes no sense on any level

Post edited by rogber on

• Registered Users Posts: 460 ✭✭HerrKapitan

When did the Russians turn the nordstream back on? I thought that they had switched it off?

But now gas is leaking in the sea from both pipes.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

They didn't turn it back on, gas still within the pipe systems, highly unusual that both are now leaking (NS1 in two separate locations).

The Baltic Pipe is scheduled to be partially commissioned today ahead of full commissioning in January, coincidence?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

It's exactly the reason that Europe was buying gas from Russia, that and the cheap, cheap price. It allowed the Germans to virtue signal about shutting down their nuclear power stations

All driven by climate panic groups.

Have been reading most posts, but been busy.

One observation and one question...

Re recent posters saying the West should abandon Ukraine because of the damage its doing to the West, these people would offer someone raping their family a box of viagra if it meant there was less possibility of the rapist noticing them hiding under the bed.

We've not heard much from the orthodox church leader of late, any updates from that head banger... all okay with his 'holiness'?

Love the updates from the Russian media. It's very telling re how bad things are going, even if sickening to hear their sycophantic bleating to Dear Supreme Commander in Chief.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

• Registered Users Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Dmitry Medvedev, the hawkish deputy chairman of the security council of Russia, Putin ally, and former prime minister and president of Russia, has issued another warning over the use of nuclear weapons to the west via a long screed on Telegram, in which he specifically criticises US president Joe Biden and new British prime minister Liz Truss.

In the course of the message, Medvedev says:

I have to remind you again – for those deaf who hear only themselves. Russia has the right to use nuclear weapons if necessary, in predetermined cases, in strict accordance with the fundamentals of state policy in the field of nuclear deterrence. If we or our allies are attacked using this type of weapon. Or if aggression with the use of conventional weapons threatens the very existence of our state. The president of Russia spoke about this directly recently.

In addition, we will do everything to prevent the appearance of nuclear weapons in our hostile neighbours. For example, in Nazi Ukraine, which is directly controlled today by Nato countries.

He complains that Biden and Truss “demand that Russia remove its hand from its ‘nuclear button’” while accusing Truss of being “completely ready to immediately begin an exchange of nuclear strikes with our country”.

He then goes on to say that he does not believe the west would come to Ukraine’s aid or retaliate if Russia did use nuclear weapons, saying:

If the threat to Russia exceeds the established danger limit, we will have to respond. Without asking anyone’s permission, without long consultations. And it’s definitely not a bluff.

Imagine that Russia is forced to use the most formidable weapon against the Ukrainian regime, which has committed a large-scale act of aggression, which is dangerous for the very existence of our state. I believe that Nato will not directly intervene in the conflict even in this situation.

After all, the security of Washington, London, and Brussels is much more important for the North Atlantic Alliance than the fate of Ukraine, which no one needs, even if it is abundantly supplied with various weapons

So Dmitry says, you're bluffing we're not bluffing...

What world is this jackass living in.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭Field east

Would not be surprised if the bus was diverted to Sorcha for a dirty weekend or maybe it just went around the block - knowing Russia

• Registered Users Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭josip

Agree, they were very much in "Dear Leader" territory in the last clip. Is that a quirk of the translation? Sometimes an innocuous term in a native language has no direct equivalent in another and when translated ends up sounding weird. Or are they one step away from going full Lord Voldemort.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭roosterman71

We've not heard much from the orthodox church leader of late, any updates from that head banger... all okay with his 'holiness'?

Wasn't the head honcho splattered on here a few pages back telling all those mobilised that if they die for their country, they'd be looked after in heaven and other such mumbo jumbo. He basically gave the mobilisation and possibility of certain death the thumbs up

The move away from nuclear was largely due to fear of nuclear accidents, which is why it was sped up after Fukushima. At no point did any German government says let's buy fossil fuels from Russia because they're good for the environment.

But the fact you use the phrase "climate panic" suggests you're another one of these white middle aged men who thinks the whole thing is a hoax, so I'd expect you to support people like Peterson.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,053 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

So who should they send - the 1 million skangers hanging around Moscow on the dole according to yer one? Or the various ethnic minorities that aren't really Russian in their eyes?

Yes no doubt some of these lads will be returning soon enough minus limbs or worse. But they've made a choice at the end of the day, out of a sense of duty or fear or for a bit of craic and adventure and they may live with the consequences. No tears shed here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

With NS1 down (and NS2 having never opened) where is whatever Russian gas is actually currently coming towards Europe coming via, the Yamal-Europe pipeline, the Urengoy-Pomary-Uzhgorod pipeline?

Sorry, missed that... some numpty. Would like to see other Christian churches distance themselves from him, though Franky made some 'both' comments recently, so I'll not hold my breath.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

What a strange post.

What demography do you belong to, pray tell?

Ze Germans made it very clear that moving away from nuclear and coal was part of their brave new world plan to be carbon neutral, which would be facilitated by natural gas in the interim. From where would this natural come you ask? We all know now.

And was funding the Eco ninnies that were demanding a move from fossil fuels and into Russias arms? We all know now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

😮

'welcome to the glorious Russian army; now go out and buy your own equipment and medical supplies because we've got nothing'

• Registered Users Posts: 11,053 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

This is only partly true I think, in that Germany and Europe in general is a lot more stable in terms of geology & earthquakes than parts of the world like Japan. So the risk of nuclear accidents was amplified by those opposed to nuclear for other reasons and who have a Green Tech agenda to push. Our Greens and anti nuclear movement have responsibility too. Green Tech is big business now, never forget that - there's a lot of money to be made developing & installing renewables. And when big business is involved, there's not much difference between the ethics of the oil &gas industries and the ethics of Green Tech. All down to the bottom line and dividends to shareholders - whatever goes.

I partly agree with you, at least in the sense that German anxiety about nuclear accidents was probably bigger than it needed to be.

As for green tech and renewables: these ARE the future of energy and fossil fuels will be left behind. So of course it's a business too and plenty of people will make money off it, and they do have an agenda. In itself I don't think this is bad. Yes it's unfortunate that in the short term it meant turning to Russia as one solution. But everyone is wise after the event. Let's remember that at the start of this year countries like France and even Ukraine themselves were in denial about Russian invasion plans and were telling the US to stop spreading panic. So I think it's very disingenuous for people like Peterson to basically say the green lobby are to blame for all this, especially when it's clear that part of his agenda is to undermine climate change as a human caused event

Seems Putin set to make the annexation of the Ukrainian territories "official" on Friday. Then we'll find out just want that means in terms of nuclear threats and attacks on "Russian" territory. It's the put up or shut up moment

• Registered Users Posts: 13,884 ✭✭✭✭josip

Small gains being made north of Lyman

Plus hard to know whether it was tanks, SPA or missiles that were responsible for this

Although the land immediately to the east of the Oskil river is shown as Russian held, I get the feeling many parts of that are contested.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,745 ✭✭✭zv2

Mikhail Khodorkovsky-

"Russia is most likely the first and only country in the world where people flee not because someone invaded their country, but because they invaded another country."

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

I disagree with almost all of what he says. Gas from Russia is because of businessmen making 'good' deals, it was not an attempt to save the planet. Also he says Putin is not a Hitler. He is.

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire

Well, everybody hogs the 'save the planet' routine but the reality of gas deals is that it is profitable for business people. They'd have done it one way or the other.