Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Russia - threadbanned users in OP

• Registered Users Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭Deub

Not as much according to you in the “global recession on the horizon” thread:

The most likely scenario is that the American did it. Only a complete loon would not consider them as the prime suspect here. 

They actually threatened to do it on several occasions.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,324 ✭✭✭prunudo

I was more concerned in early March than I am now, the longer it goes on, the more it shows up Russia as a weak state with nothing to go for them. A country built on fear and bullying the innocent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭Field east

The fundamental question is “what % of Ru - both those coming across all boarders currently and all those who are already in ALL other countries since before the war started are SLEEPERS, SPIES, COULD BE TURNED INTO SPIES by spy recruiters, etc, etc.

Taking a long term view - including Putins legacy- Putin wants to set up a situation that his replacement will continue developing the Ru state as a rogue / perish state. So , by blowing up the pipes he has’ killed two birds with the one stone’ ie a false flag to Blair the US and a vital link in the long term to get back in to the good books of the EU - maybe in 20 years + time. That’s my opinion as a possible reason

• Registered Users Posts: 4,942 ✭✭✭Bigus

I see Wagner group are offering wealthy Criminals a non violent , new identity and non combat , life reset package complete with new clean identity for up to $300,000 dollars .

https://thumbsnap.com/DS45cnc1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke III

sounds like a bargain tbf, I'm sure there's a few Irish criminals who would happily avail of this product!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,993 ✭✭✭rogber

Too many people here have a hard-on for apocalyptic scenarios. Outside of forums like this, 95 percent of people are just living their lives and not even thinking about this awful war except for its effect on energy prices, and that's probably more a reflection of where things are at. It's an awful travesty but we are not on the brink of nuclear annihilation.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Panic from the Russians this morning, multiple sources.

What we really want to see now is an order from Putin for the Lyman defenders to be forbidden from withdrawing and to fight to the last. If Ukraine could actually close this pocket and capture a couple hundred Russians it would be hugely damaging to both Russia and Putin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭Call me Al

You dont think a madman with his head full of European domination and with nothing to lose at this stage wouldn't do something like this?

He knows there won't be any more gas flowing into Europe (as in EU) while it remains as it is politically. He's attempting to redraw the whole European map with him in charge of half of it (or retaking it as he himself would probably consider it). He is a 70 year old dictator, and at this stage he has nothing to lose. He's either going to be "accidented" out a 4th floor window or he defeats NATO.

Might be time to give rats their chance at doing better... see ye all in 65m years.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,922 ✭✭✭GM228

So because the US has annexed states in the past means that they are hypocrites for condemning the annexation of parts of Ukraine?

Is Joe Biden really a hypocrite because nearly 139 years ago 13 lads with allegiances to the US decided to lead a coup of Queen Liliʻuokalani and the Hawaiian Kingdom which eventually led to a lawful annexation to the US? And yes the US may have meddled in the coup, but seriously it was nearly 139 years ago, they have moved on and become a better country with respect of international law, or perhaps you want to concentrate on the invasion of Iraq? Not the US's finest hour, but, whilst the world may be divided on that topic it is noted that no court, tribunal, international body etc has ever found the invasion to be unlawful, except perhaps from some of the Court of Public Opinions.

Seriously, if we let the past dictate the level of our moral compass then it's probably more appropriate to cast the hypocrisy label onto nearly every state in the world, we are all guilty of historical wrongs, are we all hypocrites now?

What states did the US annex against "international law"? The last place I can think of which was annexed by the US was Kingman Reef in 1922, it was perfectly lawful under the principles of terra nullius and accepted under international law.

A lot of what we consider to be the rules regarding sovereign states has only really developed after the periods of US annexation in the 19th century (and many have since been held to be lawful based on old and modern international law mind you), the Montevideo Convention, the various UN treaties and the Charter itself for example shaping modern international law with regards to state sovereignty.

If we are to be hypocrites for condemning Russia based on our past than we really have not moved on and learned as a people have we?

People evolve, the world evolves, we have become a more democratic world accepting the rule of law and basic right and wrongs (well, a lot of the world has anyway).

On the other hand the longer it goes on the more desperate Russia could become, remember that Putin childhood cornered rat story.

What leverage? To turn it back on? Germany and the EU are making huge strides to move away from Putin/Russia. They were months away from being white elephants. This way Putin gets some BANG for his Ruble. Don't forget Putin is a "4D" strategist with very little to strategise with, so will do what he can to DO SOMETHING. Biden's comments were an open goal he couldn't refuse.

NOW, why would the US blow up a non functioning soon to be white elephant and risk alienating its NATO partners?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭EltonJohn69

Looks like Jedi Master Luke Skywalker has joined joined the fight. Could be a big turning point.

A mock up of Putin talking to Palpatine in a monitor please 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 4,569 ✭✭✭jackboy

Not sure I’d call it a white elephant yet and I’m not sure that the Germany and the EU are months away from not needing that cheap gas. Unless the EU abandons the green agenda we will need that cheap gas for decades yet. I don’t think LNG could fully replace that.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,892 ✭✭✭✭josip

If Ukraine are only now claiming to have taken Yampil, then Zarichne is definitely still contested. Although they might take heavy losses, it is still a possible escape route from the Lyman pocket.

https://liveuamap.com/en/2022/30-september-ukrainian-military-liberated-yampil-in-donetsk

• Registered Users Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

The ceremony in Moscow is at 3pm. That’s 1pm here in Ireland. No idea what he will say in his speech but his battle is definitely with his own citizens this time and keeping them onside.

Will be an interesting watch. What broadcaster would posters recommend for watching it? Sky news interpreters aren’t the best.

Regarding the Twitter thread, saving face isn't part of Russia's Nuclear doctrine, but, who's to say they will follow their own rules or not just change the doctrine to suit the narrative.

Two dangerous points about the Russian miliary doctrine:-

1. It is written and issued by Putin, and,

2. The very last condition is like a blank cheque:-

The provisions of the Military Doctrine may be refined with a change in the nature of military dangers and military threats, tasks in the field of ensuring defense and security, as well as the conditions for the development of the Russian Federation.

Deeply depressing. If only there were nuclear bombs that exclusively targeted fanatical, ideologically driven men the world would be 95 percent improved....

Why would they invade Ukraine and ensure pariah status with ensuing economic ruin for generations?

I wouldn't go looking for rational explanations inside any Russian actions.

Another 20+ civilians fleeing occupied territory killed by the Russians overnight. Sickening.

Very curious to see whether the grotesque Moscow event today passes off without protests or violence. If only someone could get a drone near there....but I imagine the sky are closed off for miles around

You're only slightly more likely to see protests there today as you would have in Berlin 1943

• Registered Users Posts: 16,574 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

This is significant.

Yampil was the final defensive position that prevented Ukraine from cutting the last supply route to Lyman (road coloured in a red line). They should now be in complete control of the road to Zarichne (road coloured in blue).

The race is now on for Russia to withdraw from Lyman before that road is cut.

Surely the Russians in command aren't so stupid that they are going to allow this to happen. Guess we will find out in the next 24-48 hours....

• Registered Users Posts: 29,418 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The same question has been asked and answered multiple times on the thread, both with reference to the specific reasons (they weren't in use, Cortez burning boats, salt the ground for any successor) and past behaviour such as...

Why would they impound leased aircraft, thereby rendering the aircraft useless and worthless to everyone including themselves, and in the process crippling their own commercial airline industry?

Did that make sense?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Ukrainian military liberated Yampil in Donetsk region

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭timmyntc

The annexation changes sfa

Ukraine will continue attacking these areas

Russia will continue defending

There wont be nukes dropped. The annexation is just Putin playing to his base - look at all this territory we've gained - strong russian empire. Outside of Russia annexation changes nothing.

If reading the news makes you feel like things are bleak - take a step back and stop reading. Most of it is sensationalist garbage designed to elicit an emotional response. Making you fearful of WW3 or WMDs is the point because it gets better readership.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Wes M.

There's the feeling in the next few hours and days that everything is about to change, or perhaps we'll simply continue on watching this war grind away into next year. It would be interesting to map out Russia's future in the next few years - will it embrace its role as a terrorist state, sanctioning and sponsoring acts of sabotage abroad, spreading disorder and disinformation, or will it assume a new ideology and get its country back on some normal direction of travel. The pessimist in me thinks the former. Considering the current administration is so heavily involved in crimes against humanity, there's really no way I can see any kind of rehabilitation where the West would ever do business with them again. Russia will look east, but from a position of weakness that partners will be keen to exploit...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭Hobgoblin11

Dundalk, Co. Louth

• Registered Users Posts: 983 ✭✭✭Mike3549

Conscripts and professional military soldiers could refuse to go to Ukraine, but now after the annexation, when it is Russia by their law, they cannot. Ruskies tried Chechens, Wagners, Syrians, NK's, with no luck. Making annexed part of Ukraine into Russia was the only way to get soldiers to Ukraine.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭zv2

“Those who can make you believe absurdities can make you commit atrocities.” — Voltaire