Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Solar for Beginners [ask your questions here]

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I'm not an expert and you may get a more qualified answer, but the limitations is likely to be with the amps the inverter can handle.

However, lights and cooker, or lights and shower, or lights and oven will be fine I'm sure, the issue is with the big 4 unit consumers in the house, oven Cooker kettle and shower.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,735 ✭✭✭yankinlk

Run away from that installer in case it's down to his dodgy build.

I have a smaller system and run all house power bar the electric shower when sun is shining. Base load of hose maybe 500w dishwasher can go to 2.5, washer and dryer maybe peak at 2kw it depends on the part of the cycle.

In general i am turning on things to try and use it on sunny days not turning things off!

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Punchin A Keyboard

I would think it's more of the installer not explaining it very well. The inverter has a maximum limit it can supply which is determined by the model of the inverter itself and how much power the panels are producing at that time which can dramatically differ at different times of the year. Of course you will pay more for an inverter than can output more but the panels have to be there to support bigger inverters.

Irrespective of how much power is being produced, the ESB has limited the maximum output of an inverter on domestic single phase supply to 6KW in this country.

That figure is significantly less than you can draw from the grid through your consumer unit/main fuse.