Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How much do adults in their 20s living with parents pay

• 04-10-2022 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Marymoore

For adults who pay their own food and do their own cooking and clothes etc.. so only including bills

How much do adults in their 20s living with parents pay 11 votes

Less than €50 a week
    36%
    mookishboyCanardiguypgj2015 4 votes
    €200-€300 a month
    45%
    GreyfoxAckwelFoleylcstress2012Martina1991Xander10 5 votes
    €300-€400 a month
    0%
    More than €400 a month
    18%
    Pawwed RigSVI40 2 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Marymoore

Poll to see average

Post edited by New Home on

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

About three fiddy.

😁

Why is there 2 threads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

€200-€300 a month

So someobe could say three fiddy twice.

Is there any other valid reason?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Pissy Missy

What about us in our 30s?😭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭SVI40

More than €400 a month

25% of their take home is what my two pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭Marymoore

I should have said 20s/30s whatever age adult children living at home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,878 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,921 ✭✭✭buried

With current inflation rates, I'd say about ate fiddy

Make America Get Out of Here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

Nada. My parents never charged "rent". Preferred that I just saved for a house deposit to eventually be able to move out and be gone from them forever ahahahahahahahhahaha. No seriously, that is what they wanted, not rent in the short term and they get me forever in exchange

ate fiddy five

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭zg3409

It's up to the parents to decide. The child should really pay near the going rate if they are gainfully employed.

The best parents save the money for a deposit for a house for the child, or to help with large purchases such as a car.

I suspect most pay nothing.

Some only pay towards food.

Some pay for food and bills only.

Without a high payment there is no incentive for them to move out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,282 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

My mother wouldn't let any of us pay rent,bills,food etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,228 ✭✭✭The Mighty Quinn

Back when I was doing summer jobs and weekend work while in secondary school /first couple years of college, my mother used to ask for 25% of my earnings. As I'd work from 8-20hrs a week at the time, what I'd hand up would vary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Well i paid my mum and dad towards my keep and why shouldn't i , i worked full time earning a wage, , they have paid enough bringing me up, its the least i could do to make there lives abit easier now. i paid about €100 a week.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,875 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Vastly depends on the situation.

There is an argument for both side. Let them save up for a deposit or charge a nominal rental. Merits to both so there is.

They should be paying everything to the Total 160 Fine Gael Gang feat. Paskaaaal Donohue, and be glad to be doing it too. These f**kers in their 20's have a cheek to even be born.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,402 ✭✭✭ger664

Nothing and when they don't live at home they still manage to bring home the laundry to washed and dried

But you would miss them if they where the other side of the world. Swings and roundabouts

30% of take home pay.

They then have 70% left to save / live / spend as they wish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Seriously???? The ‘best parents’ save for their offspring’s deposit??? And those parents not in a financial position to do so, are, by definition the ‘worst parents’? Cop yourself on, you entitled twat. Down here, on Planet Earth, people born in the sixties & seventies got married, tied a mortgage millstone around their necks, had a couple of kids, educated, fed, clothed them, saw them through primary, secondary & college, probably paid for their driving tuition & assisted with their first car & the abomination of their first insurance, wiped their arses, bailed them out of all sorts of trouble, provided breakfast lunch & dinner to them & an assortment of friends, forfeited their own holidays to allow the little darlings to go on the Transition Year ski trip to Andorra, paid for orthodontists, paediatricians and therapists. Room service, laundry, taxi facilities all offered free of charge & just because I don’t have an odd fifty grand lying around to pop into little Joey’s pocket as a deposit for a house - I’m a poor parent.

Cop the Fcuk on, you selfish entitled twat

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Mobius2021

La la la

• think you’re definitely reading into this. What they’re saying (in my reading) is IF you charge your kids a housekeeping fee or whatever that rather than spend it on yourself (if unnecessary) you save it for them to get a deposit on a rental or their own gaff in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Foggy Jew

Thank you Mobius for your well thought & meaningful contribution to the chat. I can only imagine that your Mammy is cutting your toenails as you type. I hope the scissors doesn’t slip.

It's the bally ballyness of it that makes it all seem so bally bally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I’d say your parents beat the shît out of you did they?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,859 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

When I lived at home & was working, we did a basic calculation of what I was taking home minus cost for lunches/travel. I'd pay a proportion of the remaining. It varied when I was working in college but when I started full time employment after college, we figured out how much some of my friends who were renting rooms were paying & then my parents reduced that down a little & I had a set figure to pay each month. Both my parents were retired at that point (for varying reasons) so it was to help out. Plus it meant I was used to not having that element of my salary when I moved out. I think it was actually good for me in the long run to have had that experience so it wasn't a sudden shock to be paying rent when I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭foxsake

he pays 33% of his pay. he only an apprentice now - so it's about 95. when he gets to year 3 and 4 and qualified I won't take a 33% as that would be excessive.

I'll prob cap it somewhere when we get there like 200e a week as that will be plenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

This is a long time ago now but I remember my mate giving out to me saying that I was paying my Mam too much every week. I was earning £140 and used to give my Mam £50 each week. He was earning similar but only gave his Mam £20 each week. It's so long ago that the £90 I had left was enough to drink cans on a Thursday night and to go out on Friday, Saturday and after a soccer match on Sunday.

Personally I think kids should hand up something. Having them handing up nothing doesn't really teach them about the realities of the real world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭thomil

It was a really long time ago for me, but before I moved out, I regularly paid my parents a "rent". The amount varied, from 50€ per month when I was on unemployment benefits to 150-200€ when I finally got a job. Mind you, this was in Germany back in the early 2000s, so prices, wages and benefits might differ from what's common here in Ireland. Looking back, it was only fair, given that I used quite a bit of the "common" resources at home, such as broadband, transport to work on some occasion (don't have a driver's license) and similar issues. To be fair, I didn't always pay in cash but would on occasion pay at the gas station or for the grocery shop instead, even paying for a car repair at one point. That all changed when I moved into my own place obviously, but I think it was only right and proper to contribute and honestly, everyone who's living with their parents should do so, especially if they have a job!

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

I dont have children at home anymore all grown up and gone, what I think is fair would be buy and cook your own food then 25% of every bill that comes in so electricity, gas, broadband and the like, also do work around the house and garden do the bins and so, be an adult, just giving money keeps you in a child-adult relationship instead of adult to adult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 ryan0159

500/month. Not far off market rate for a bedroom in our part of Dublin but I'd rather it go to my parents than a stranger