Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bad Sisters (Sharon Horgan) [Apple TV+]

• Registered Users Posts: 4,030 ✭✭✭silliussoddius

Probably around Killiney and the like, the forty foot was shown in a few of the first episodes. Some of the coastal shots look almost like the West of Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,007 ✭✭✭Shelga

I’m finding it much harder to suspend disbelief for this show than I would if it was British or American, seeing as they all live in houses that would cost millions of euro and I spend half the time trying to figure out where they shot the outdoors bits- sometimes it looks like rural Kerry or somewhere, never mind south county Dublin??

Bibi for example- lives in a gorgeous house on the sea that’s all massive expansive windows and incredible interiors. If that was actually situated anywhere along the coast of south Dublin, where they’re meant to live, it would easily cost €3m- and yet we’re 6 episodes in and I don’t think they’ve even said what she does for a living yet?! It’s just very distracting. I’m sure if you’re an international viewer you wouldn’t give it a second thought, but very noticeable in the middle of a catastrophic housing crisis.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 23,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭TICKLE_ME_ELMO

I guess, but also they're all real houses that actual Irish people do live in, so I can't say it's much of a stretch to believe. I just assumed Bibi and the wife are very well off. The house Ursula (nurse) and her husband (paramedic) live in is quite believable for their jobs. Eva inherited her house from the parents, and Becca lives in a fairly small space, presumably supported by inheritance or the sisters, as has been hinted at a few times.

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭Amberjack

Loving this, if ever there was a prick it’s JP, he plays the part so well. I think Brian Gleeson’s character is too cliched, the only weak one in it. A lot was filmed around Howth/Sutton too, graveyard and opening scene, church, and Sharon Horgan’s character’s house is right beside the entrance to The Bailey Lighthouse - Long Acre.

I've got two theories on the go at the moment. I'm 99% sure it wasn't any of the sisters that actually killed him.

I'm loving this after seeing it mentioned on Gogglebox. I'm debating binge watching it to Episode 6.

I've seen some criticisms of Gleeson's character being too cliche. There's a reason why cliches become cliches. I think he's playing the dodgy, scruffy local solicitor perfectly. Also, it's a black comedy, not a drama.

I think the house settings are believable. The parents were obviously wealthy, so left them each a fair bit. JP is loaded and one sister is almost the same rank as him because she works in the same company and both are going for the director job. Thats the 2 big houses explained. The other three homes look modest enough.

Can we all agree, JP IS a prick!. And wearing new boots on a 15km hike and wearing only one pair of socks. Stupid prick!

Same!

Edit: Ah Feck. Well feck it anyway! I thought the series was over. Ive got to wait 3 weeks to see what happens!.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 86,243 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,639 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

Really enjoying this - it’s a pity it’s on Apple TV, it’s probably the best Irish TV drama I’ve seen in years and if it were on RTE the whole nation would be talking about it and it would have been promo-ed as if it were the next Normal People - on Apple TV few will probably even hear of it let alone see it.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,043 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

agreed it is excellent

sharon horgan is very talented in fairness.

Is it just me, or does the actress playing Becca look like a young Rachel Weisz?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

No, she's a ringer for her da, can't be unseen!

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭cezanne

It was originally a Belgian series called Clan from 2012, and has been adapted to an Irish setting. Written by Malin Sarah Gozin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,007 ✭✭✭Shelga

• Registered Users Posts: 29,815 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

One of my favourite things on telly at the moment, like said above, a damn shame it's in Apple tv as I'm guessing that's why no one i know is watching it.

Sharon Horgan can do no wrong, just quality in everything she's in.

Every episode gets better and better but was it really necessary to explain what a breakfast roll is and especially an Irish person asking 'what is this?'. Felt like a weird 4th wall break to international viewers.

Anyway, the ending of that last episode, i think...

I doubt that was JP walking into the freezer as the absolutely deserving assault he got probably changed his plans which means it's most likely his ma gone in which would be a very dark turn. Maybe not though as present day Becca would be way more of a wreck than she is.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

2 episodes into this. It’s OK and I’ll probably stick with it but for me it’s all a bit too silly and over the top to take any way seriously. I realise it’s played for laughs but I need to find the characters somewhat believable and relatable and I’m struggling here so far. I thought Horgan did a great job of doing just that in “ Catastrophe” but not so much here imo.

It’s also another one of those shows that is set in Ireland but it really could be anywhere. The multi million euro houses with no apparent income don’t ring true. The women keep referring to the Gardai as “the police”. What Irish person refers to Gardai as “the police”? Even “the cops” would ring truer if they’re aiming for a US audience.

I also couldn’t help but notice that the head rests in the cars kept disappearing and reappearing. Small, but irritating details!

The husband is an awful character but he is over egging it just a bit… he even looks and sounds like a Bond villain.

The Gleason character is completely unbelievable. Is it really a thing with little insurance companies to behave like amateur detectives, questioning immediate family like that over an apparent suspicious death? Isn’t that the job of “the police”? There is no way you’d allow yourself be questioned like that by some amateur insurance broker!

The “half brother” back story is the most ridiculous thing I’ve seen since Arnie and Danny DeVito in “Twins”.!!

The female characters, particularly Horgan, just about save this for me… so far.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Just finished ep9, don't get me wrong, it's well written and well acted, but are we supposed to have sympathy for the sisters? Cause they're all garbage people.

Going to check this out,I heard about it on Pat Kennys show yesterday! The lovely Sarah Greene is in it too,bonus!

• Registered Users Posts: 521 ✭✭✭DontHitTheDitch

Watched the first few episodes with high hopes. I though Catastrophe was brilliant. This series though is about as subtle as a brick to the forehead.

It's like the brainstorming sessions consisted of searching Twitter for '#everydaysexism'. They couldn't decide which to use so, what the heck, use them all. Totally overacted and over-egged. The tone is all over the place, no doubt because the story is re-used but the plot veers all over the place to get as many misandrist cliches and tropes in as possible. I don't think there's a single white male with any redeemable qualities whatsoever. Even the main characters, the sisters, are poorly written and unlikeable. If Sex and the City was fashion and relationships porn for women, this series is a mix of feminist grudge porn and Pinterest. I wish it was funny, then they might have been able to ham it up a bit and have some fun with the plot.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,043 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

are the headrests to do with the cameras or something i couldnt understand why they kept disappearing?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭OU812

Can guarantee the audience is much greater than RTE or TV3 could offer. This is aimed at a global (but mostly American) audience. Apple has approximately 27M subscribers currently.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,441 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Probably something like that alright. A small but sloppy detail imo. Who deliberately removes headrests from their car... Probably only car guys would really notice though !

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,710 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

• Registered Users Posts: 43,880 ✭✭✭✭Basq

This show has so much promise, yet it's just riddled with poor acting and predictable storylines.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,045 ✭✭✭Icsics

I like it, but I find with a lot of Apple series, they become unbelievable & the endings often let the series down.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

Finally caught up on this ahead of what I assume is this week's finale.

I do like certain elements of the show, Horgan is great as always and I'm very impressed with Hewson. I'm really struggling with the tone. I get that it's a dark comedy and it's very difficult to strike an even balance but this feels far too broad at times and borderline farcical whilst also having some incredibly dark moments.

I assume further seasons are a possibility?

It's not borderline farsical, it is farsical. Thats the point. Its not a serious drama. It's a dark comedy.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

I think it's grounded enough at times that it makes it difficult to pigeonhole as farce/dark comedy. And as I said, trying to walk that tightrope between dark comedy and drama is incredibly difficult. For the most part, the show succeeds and that's why I've devoted 9 hours to it. However, there are times where I don't think it works quite so well. I'd have preferred the version of the show where it dialed in the comedy, farce and the drama.

This is an extreme example but I think the scene with JP mourning the death of his mom in the freezer room feels so different in tone to the scene where the sisters are trying to drug JP and throw him into the bath. They are both 'dark' in nature but to me they feel like they're from completely different TV shows.

I had a feeling we'd end up on the last episode not knowing any more than we did in episode 1, and that possibly none of them did it but think one of them did, so.... yep, we're pretty much where I expected to be. Roger and Ben now both suspects too, and Grace herself of course. The main question I have is why the insurance guys think JP was in the pub? It seems like he was with Grace the whole night, so she's lying, or there's still another revelation to come.

Also, and I could be way off the mark here, but I've suspected since episode 1 that Becca is actually Eva's daughter. There's definitely more to the tension between JP and Eva, and he mentioned something in one of the first episodes about knowing all of Eva's secrets, which hasn't really come to anything yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,625 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Watched Clan a few years ago and loved it. Think it was part of Walter Presents on C4. Well worth a watch though it might be hard to find online now.