Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was the government right to put no limit on the amount of Ukrainian refugees in Ireland? Read OP

Lads, get a room.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

• Registered Users Posts: 4,717 ✭✭✭ShamNNspace

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,141 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

OK, this thread has been pretty ridiculous with all this nonsense about hotels

The following posters are threadbanned for 24 hours

uafásach

Taurendruid

captain dildano

Now everyone else, back on topic which is government policy on Ukrainian refugees

• Registered Users Posts: 2,979 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

The nearest flights are from Poland but Ukrainians have arrived here from some of the other neighbours. When they get to Dublin, they immediately go to the old terminal and sleep on cots or the floor until they get absorbed by the administration. They are not instantly handed anything except the chance to sleep and eat.

What happened to all the free transport posters have been on about? Or is it just to take the refugees shopping and socialising?

• Registered Users Posts: 40,010 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Again, like I said internet heroes the bravest of them all, but for me personally if a hotel is advertising it has a bomb shelter as an amenity, I'd be staying clear.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭maninasia

Compared to other refugees or immigrants they are basically 'instantly handed stuff'. You know how long it can take to get a visa, work permits, and then to get a PPS sorted, drivers license, even a bank account is really difficult till you have a PPS. Takes months and months. I know some immigrants that it took six months for them to able to swap their licenses. Cost and expense is actually quite high for the visas and the permits. Getting an answer from the revenue on PPS is often a nightmare.

Working permits often 1,000 Euro, Residence Permits 300 Euro.

Never mind social welfare and accommodation. Nobody gets better treatment.

Even returning emigrants can take much longer to get that stuff such as PPS nos and drivers licenses and accounts sorted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭kravmaga

We are a basket case and a banana republic on our knees to our EU overlords.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭kravmaga

Nope we are under the control of our EU overlords in Brussels and Germany et al, Ireland Inc is over.

Once the corporation tax is addressed by EU/Brussels all of the FDI and Americans will pull out of Ireland, thats going to happen in the future.

The country is going down the sh1tter fast , housing crisis, homeless, health care at crisis point, lack of getting on the house ladder for young people. We have people who are just coming to Ireland as economic migrants who are on the gravy train and dont have any skill sets to offer, on courses permanently courtesy of the Irish taxpayer.

The EU are telling our Govt to keep accepting refugees, Ireland is full up, thats it, we should follow the UK model and take back our country and borders.

Every country has sh1t politicians including Ireland.

Have you taken a walk down O' Connell Street/ North Earl Street as of late?? Roma gypsies everywhere, aggressive begging, none of them working, vans dropping them on at strategic footfall points harassing people for money. Send them back to Slovakia.

And all you need to do to avoid having to pay for a work permit or visa is be invaded by a madman, have your country blown to ****, with your friends and family possibly raped, tortured and murdered, or having second rocket attacks target the same venue as an earlier attack, so you get the rescuers, and have civilian infrastructure such as hospitals and dams attacked. Great stuff altogether!

Meanwhile Russia has been busy, financing a massive network of fake websites and social media accounts to big up Russia and post anti-Ukrainian stories.

we should follow the UK model and take back our country and borders

Ah, you're grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

And the russians being russia has what to do with this ? no one here is reading them.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I really dislike this post because I agree with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,329 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

As of 2019 there were 823 hotels in Ireland. I can’t find a more up to date number. But realistically it’s not going to be too different.

So using that as a ballpark figure representative of now… 8.51% had availability for this weekend. ?

we need availability for our tourist sector.. whole areas of the country rely on it. Our economy relies on it.

we need good rates to attract people, with supply vs demand increasing, prices do too…

lisbon is a city where you are not gouged for hotel prices, or indeed anything, into mid October you can get daytime temperatures into the mid twenties..if you are a family of 4 in Lens, France… needing a holiday….go to Dublin and get gouged for everything and possibly end up in accommodation with displaced people fleeing a tragic war zone, say what you like, but that isn’t appealing..or.. Lisbon where if you read the number of Ukrainians they’ve taken, it’s similar to ourselves yet… Ireland is approximately 70,273 sq km, while Portugal is approximately 92,090 sq km, making Portugal 31% larger than Ireland. Meanwhile, the population of Ireland 5.2 million, Portugal around 10.3 million…

Portugal are helping in terms of what’s appropriate so not to compromise the wellbeing or quality of life of Portuguese citizens.

Ireland… “ehhh tough, want help, you will compromise, sacrifice, go without to help them, deal with it”…

” sorry, you are on a waiting list for X treatment ? Erm there is a war in the Ukraine, 2730 kilometres is their nearest land border from Ireland, get to the back of the Q… they are coming and no limits or restrictions “

Dublin to eastern Canada is around 3000 kilometres….. that’s the scope of what’s happening.

no limit is not in anyway sensible or responsible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

I don’t think it’s correct to blame the EU here. Other countries such as Denmark have made big changes to their policies. We can definitely make changes if we wanted. This is Irish government policy.

Jfc... Think before posting, maybe. They're targeting people outside Russia; they're not posting in Russian, their fake websites aren't in Russian.

And again I highly doubt anyone in the tread has read them I had never even heard about them till now. But does not surprise me.

And again, how would you know what everyone in this thread is or isn't reading? How would you know you'd you'd read one - they're fake sites. 🤭 They don't advertise the fact, though. That's kinda the point.

Because I'm not stupid and understand what russian propaganda looks like. 😁

We weren't talking about hotels in Ireland as a whole, though, were we. Your stats are completely off, but I don't want another threadban, so I'll leave that there.

Ukrainians can and do learn English in secondary school. Apparently it's far more commonly thought than Portuguese. I imagine that's one pretty major factor in why people come to Ireland, as opposed to Portugal. The size of a country is fairly irrelevant. Canada, Finland, Greenland and Algeria are all massively bigger than Ireland, but not very habitable except in specific areas. What matters is the infrastructure available. Ours is stretched, but far from breaking point. And more efficient administration would certainly help, there's no denying that.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,329 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Size of the country is indeed irrelevant to the Ukrainian's but not us here.. :)

they are not my stats, they are stats published by the industry themselves. A body that is 100% funded by taxpayers money….So I’ll go with them.

im talking on topic.. ‘ was the government right to…’. As in… OUR government…. OUR country…. You can talk about whatever other government or state you like… I’ll stay on topic. You can deflect and mislead.

• Registered Users Posts: 475 ✭✭PHG

@kravmaga With all the issues and criticism you throw at Ireland, why aren't you running for election to make a difference?

Or are we looking at a teenager with a quick glance at a history book getting up in arms?

You have produced zero proof of any of the issues you have addressed (and I am in favour of quotas btw). Hot air doesn't mean facts. If you detest Ireland so much then leave! But like everyone with a victim mentally you have an excuse not to with excuses like... oh I shouldn't have to Or its FFG fault and just state the status quo. Pack your bags to alleged glasses greener!!

Also, since when did Roma gypsies come from Slovakia??? They are predominantly of Romanian, Bulgarian, Serbian other Balkan states and to some degrees Turkish origin, but don't let facts get in the way of stupidity.

I am not affiliated to any politcal party but exhausted of hearing people slate Ireland who have never lived abroad. Even Ireland now compared to 20 years ago is a better socially, ethically and financially. Internet, availablility of cheaper medicine to kids, better roads being a simple example.There are many issues to fix but it is a very good place to live whether people believe it or not.

Wait I thought they all needed translators for forms and alike that's not true now ? Where is the Government magicking up capacity when adding 17k extra people in the amnesty. 🤪

• Registered Users Posts: 1,550 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

It is completely out of control at this stage, people living in tents but still no cap, stupid **** government

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2022/1007/1327880-tented-international-protection/

You have no right to tell somebody to leave any country. Why don't you take a flying jump yourself. I have lived abroad ,daily life such as access to healthcare or accommodation or public transport was much easier to be honest.

It's very very difficult for many people to find a place to live now and cost of living is hurting a lot of folks. Being a normal 3rd level student has gotten really difficult when they can't find a place to stay. Feel sorry for them.

Also the health service has gone backwards. GP access, appointments, ER, all shite and very expensive

Obviously the energy situation is bad and looking into potential of blackouts this Winter.

Many pubs and retailers shutting down.

Booking a simple trip for a weekend involves throwing bags of money at it.

So no, far from everything has improved. Some things have definitely improved such as the job situation ,and some things have definitely gotten worse, see above.

Post edited by maninasia on

Why do they never show the faces of those , mostly men, that are living in these places? There's thousands in Citywest but you don't see any cameras going in there, so lots have the false impression that it's mostly Ukrainians there.

Is it because we don't know who they are as they burned their IDs?

But now they are complaining that Ireland is cold?

You have no right to tell somebody to leave any country. Why don't you take a flying jump yourself.

🤔

Anyway, none of those problems are unique to Ireland, regardless of the utopia you claimed to have lived in.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,464 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

I wonder what country @maninasia is in fact talking about.

It isn't the US. Healthcare access is way worse there compared to Ireland - if you're on the dole in Ireland, you have the same access as someone employed. Not so in the US. Maybe access in the UK is better, maybe quality is better, but the UK is coming apart at the seams when it comes to their economy.

Perhaps they're talking about an asian country, I think Japan's pretty good when it comes to health care access, though I doubt the housing or employment stories are hugely better, talk about crowded places to live.

And housing affordability in the US is much, much worse than Ireland, for any area you want to live in. You can get a house in the middle of burned-out chunks of Detroit for $100, but you wouldn't want to live there. Want to live in a semi-D in NY city? The one I grew up in, in Staten Island, built in 1972 for $30,000 sold recently for nearly $700k.

Oh, if you want a nice hotel room in NYC any day of the year, think $300-$500/night.

If you can get it.