Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht vs Munster 07/10/2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭Shehal

Its miracle Munster are in so many games considering they are poor in almost every facet of the game, the only thing saving them tonight is O'Mahony & Beirne at the breakdown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 Cool Fool

Awful stuff. Rowntree appointment an obvious mistake. A cheap option and a leftover from a failed ticket. Needs to be sacked immediately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭bingobango12

Some really bizarre decisions and missed calls from the referee all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭phily2002

Shocking reffing for that Munster penalty, offside and falling in wrong side of the ruck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Looked like a no arms tackle by a Munster player under the posts for that first penalty, missed by the referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

And Carty thinking he's kicking at Aussie rules posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭padre78

Busby is just annoying......calls "don't play the 9" at one stage....Munster play the 9 and he says nothing.. plus he has a very weighted interpretation on "rolling away"

2piss poor teams though. Sad to see

And with that side entry at the maul im done watching, Munster are absolutely clueless, hopeless, idk what other words they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,071 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

No more than Connacht deserve

They've bullied Munster and far the better team

• Munster really are brutal. Not really any other way to put it.

Would have been a travesty if Munster left that game with a point.

I didnt think it was possible but they looked worse coached now than they did under JVG.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,205 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

This is so, so bad from Munster. Yes, they're in transition, but Connacht have been dreadful this season and we're massive underdogs for this fixture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,738 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

A lot of people saying munster are badly coached and ye havent a clue.

Munster are just not being coached at all, not to mind being coached badly

So the coaches arent doing their job at all never mind doing it badly...by definition that's badly coached.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Needs to spend a hell of a lot less time talking and more time refereeing and coming to the correct decisions… like he’s trying to manage the game and teams… he’d give an aspirin a headache.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭kub

Logical suggests so that is Connaught were not so dreadful they would probably have a BP win tonight.

Munster are now an embarrassment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭CMcsporty

Fair play Finlay!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭ElisaAtWar

As the commentator said it was as poor an interpro as ever witnessed. It was pure muck. As suggested by thread opener this was going to be muck and shock, horror it was muck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Good win for Connacht off the back off a poor visit to South Africa.

Very poor from Münster. Always hope for better but it's an uphill battle to get form before round one of ERC. A long way short of best and way behind Leinster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

Joey Carberry had a poor game I thought. Munster backs apart from Patrick Campbell were someway off the pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭cson

You could see the pitch making a bit of a difference with the receiving team making a hames of a few garryowens cos the bounce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭Paul Smeenus

Commentator on Premiere 2 called that game "the Desperation Derby ' and I applaud him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,864 ✭✭✭ersatz

I don't know what's happened to Carbery, he was never as good as we hoped but he was at least an excellent full back at one point. His last couple of games for Munster have been really poor and his Ireland performances no more than average.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

No excuses from tonight. Munster were awful and got exactly what they deserved.

And Carbery isn't a 15. God knows what he is these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,566 ✭✭✭kub

Munster have no excuse as to the pitch, the one in Musgrave Park is the same so they are well used to playing on that kind of surface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭phily2002

He lost his confidence after the last long term injury and has never recovered it. He used to be an excellent tackler and was much more relaxed ball in hand. He might get it back but its becoming a bit worrying now.

Carty was shocking. He always had an issue with reliability but for how many years should it be acceptable. Jack has never been good enough. And while folks can argue the case he still is not good enough. He never was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭Strand1970

Ahh let's be fair it's Cartys first game for 6 months. It basically a pre season game for him. What's the excuse for the other 29 players?

Connacht were shite and Munster were worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

I waited to watch Munster over a few games before I made comment. They're awful. Definitely the 4th team in Ireland now. They have a tough run of games coming up also. The players aren't there essentially but also coupled with a loss of that Munster spirit which use to get us over the line in a lot of games over the years. The province needs a full reset I think. Wjy aren't we competing at the level we used to. I'm sure they will slightly improve as the season goes on but I think a very poor season might be the kick up the arse they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭connachta

Munster have been turning to "Italy with stronger guys" for the last years...

I have to laugh at the munster's narrative, all bluster but let's be honest they have played agriculture rugby since o'gara left. Its really like the English going on about 1966, 2008 is a long time ago. I reckon munster will come good under the current manager but not this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I think Munster look really low on confidence and are struggling to impose themselves. There were times they seemed to be trying things, starter plays etc but their execution keeps letting them down. Same problems with lack of ball carriers though. Coombes was very quiet tonight in that respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,095 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Carbery has never been so bad in any game I've ever seen him

Munster's best out half is sitting on a bench watching 'Emerging Ireland' play a warm-up game for a nothing game between two nothing teams halfway across the world.

Same with our best 7. JOD has been playing awfully, but Hodnet is away on holiday with EI which is absolutely screwing our pack balance

Murray had a terrible game, Salanoa is finally showing how good he is, and he's 10 thousand miles away

Munster are almost at a point now where we're relying on other teams to do us favours to allow us to qualify for ERC rugby next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

im honestly wondering is it just the setup is making players look worse than they are atm. if you swapped out healy, knox etc and sent them on the shambles tour instead of their equivalents, would they look amazing and the touring players look poor?

I feel sorry for carbery as I reckon he was never suited for munster with their current squad. Ross Byrne as a O'Gara like player was always the OH they should have gone for. But maybe it was not munster's choice

What really bothers me about Connacht rugby is that we run progressive and interesting play (as suggested by media). That was years ago. Move on. We are utter shite today

The reason Healy wasn't sent on tour was because he is not seen as good enough by the IRFU. based on the last few weeks, it's hard to disagree

Knox played relatively well today, the problem seemed to be with the loose head and hooker, when Barron came on, the scrum improved immediately, Kilcoyne was not scrummaging well, JW would have probably been playing or at least on the bench tonight

How does the Munster squad force Carberry to drop pretty much every ball he touched tonight and miss every tackle?

Carbery is not the beacon of quality under a pile of ****, he's just a drain on our team right now. Unfortunately, he's not the player he used to be

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭letowski

I think a lot of Munster fans knew that this year would be a transition year, with a new coaching ticket and a more modern brand of rugby. But the extent of the transition has really been shown in these opening few games. We’re a long, long way off, that is going to take a couple of years to turn this around.

At this stage, Munster aren’t looking likely to make the Champions Cup next year. I think right now, the Munster Branch and the management need to realign their goals and look to build a team/squad to compete for honours long term. That means making a few tough decisions on veteran squad players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭typhoony

It's a dreadfull thought but Farrell will still have Carbery on the plane to France in 12 months time

The emerging Ireland tour absolutely screwed the coaching ticket. We can't make those decisions, because the best 'fringe' players are all in SA now and we're left with the under performing senior players and some extremely raw and unproven teenagers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

eh thats not true though? its pretty much accepted now that the provinces in alot of case wouldnt allow most of the 'second tier' of players go to SA. id imagine healy would have been one of those that was originally meant to go but munster wanted him to stay so crowley went instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭typhoony

Munster have experienced a good few demoralising losses to Connacht over the last 6 years, more painfull than the losses to Leinster. Rugby should have been the No1 sport in Munster after those great teams of the 2000's.

Thats fine to say in general play, but he should still be able to kick the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭bingobango12

It is the same for Connacht and Ulster though. Leinster are fine due to the amount of depth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭DarkJager21

It feels like Munster have misinterpreted stand up and fight as sit down and shut up this season. Already starting to slide from must watch the game to ah I'll watch it if I'm not doing anything else. Lifelong Munster fan but I just find it very hard to care at this stage, there's only so many years we can talk about the pashun and all that bollix before the cold reality that it means **** all without a single piece of silverware and very unlikely anything this season, sets in.

Transition?

You would swear we are transitioning players from one sport to another the way they are playing.

Transition has nothing to do with it when there are simple mistakes being made.

There is no evidence of that. Unless you have something I haven't seen?