Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drafting an E-Bike Acceptable?

• 12-10-2022 7:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭

So a lad came past me on one of these things This evening. I decided I’d drift behind him for a bit. Have to say, I didn’t feel a bit nasty doing it as he didn’t have to pedal once from Santry Stadium - Swords! Note I stopped at the lights, he didn’t and although he pulled away from me on the drag just past Santry Stadium, staying behind him on the flat section from there to the airport was a doddle! Have to say I didn’t feel a bit guilty either! https://www.pogocycles.ie/products/engwe-ep-2-pro-upgraded-version-electric-mountain-bike

Who cares as long as it's not a race or a Strava segment, but I would always ask someone before sitting on a wheel as they are effectively responsible for you the minute you do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Your own personal Derny!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Those are some of the biggest heaps of crap on the roads.None are legal and the seller knows it: Just a few reviews down they reply to a posting saying the speedo, throttle and brakes don't work :

(eh, there should be no throttle...)

>>  replied:

Sir the bike is really good, For throttle to qwork, you need to change the settings. Its programmed that way for compliance. Speedo will work, once the throttle settings are changed. Brakes are very easy to calibrate. We have sent you a video on how it can be done

I don't get the hate towards e-bikes the way I consider it. It's one less car on the road and they take up less space. And are much quieter. If anything we should be encouraging their use and possibly create a simplified licencing system so someone could ride one that is capable of exceeding the 25 Kph limit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

You're cheating at cycling must be the line of thinking here. Mine is out of action for now but I think they're great yokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Do it regularly on the coast down at Clontarf on my way home from work, especially when there’s a headwind. Some of the lads do be doing easily 30-40kph+ and not pedalling once.

I generally don’t feel bad because the fúckers blow past me in the morning on the way into work doing closer to 50 downhill….

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,878 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i've seen those a few times, or similar machines. i probably wouldn't draft one, mainly because you'd probably go deaf from the tyre noise.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Loads of them on the road nowadays, Used to occasionally get a tow from one who lives in Shankill who used to tell me to hop on as he passed. Great craic getting a 40 kmph tow home. Only better one was at the start of Covid the 145 would tow me along at 60+kmph as there was no one to pick up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 557 ✭✭✭Etc

I commute on an e-bike and let guys draft me all the time, the wind can be a b@stard along the coast Sutton to Clontarf and vice versa. I’m always happy for someone to tuck in and take a breather, and without exception I get a thanks at the end of it.

A lot of roadies / commuters avail of my tow !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,309 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Don't get me wrong...ive nothing against e-bikes. I just think there should be a legal obligation for them to ack as Derny's for us MAMILS! :)

Actually legal requirement is a bit harsh. It should be a courtesy/service all e-bikers should offer to the rest of us! :) (especially if there's a headwind!

Exactly! its great for upping your average speed! :)

Like i said...i don't hate e-bikes, I think their great. Although i have to say, the one i was behind was capable of 30+kph and the guy had both feet off the pedals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,236 ✭✭✭Idleater

On holidays, I suggested that my OH rent herself an ebike and me a normal one specifically with drafting in mind.

A beach cruiser at 25kmph into the wind is great craic

Meh i was wearing earbuds listening to 90's Rock music...didn't notice the tyre noise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

I have no hate towards them, quite the opposite in fact. I do however think many are too powerful, not legal, and steered by people with no regard for the danger they pose to other road users.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

This is exactly what is going to happen,

Anything that can exceed 25km/hour be it a bike or scooter will have a different class and will likely require insurance

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

With the exception of "not legal" you've just described most cars on our roads. 😀

Although there are many none road worthy cars on our roads as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭MyDarkArts

Tyre Noise would've been a great name for a 90s rock bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭breadmond

But do you think there's any chance that the legislation will provide a realistic and affordable way to get on the road with these faster e-bikes? Anything to do with road transportation in this country is an utter rip off Just compare the cost of running a cheap moped here to Italy or Spain. In Spain I could insure a 125cc moped for less than €100 per year and drive it on a B license. Here I'd be looking at north of €500 and would have to do CBT costing hundreds more before being allowed on the roads. I'd love to see a simple and cheap way for people to avail of faster e-bikes but I just don't see the insurance industry here making it possible

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

I suspect it's a bit like an old co worker who got a locker and the rules said you weren't allowed store laptops in there. They were annoyed as that was the only use for them. Long story short, lots of people with laptops stored them somewhere without issue and everyone else went on a rant. In a similar fashion, lots of people will be on faster ebikes, a small number will be annoyed their mind can't figure out what to do and hopefully the Gardai will come down hard on those acting the maggot. Alas it's more likely the Gardai will do nowt and the Pat Kenny brigade will give out more about cyclists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭MojoMaker

Amen Cram.

This is Ireland after all.

(Really enjoying my illegal e-scooter btw).