Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Power boxes

• 05-07-2017 9:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭

Uncle of mine is looking to buy a power box. Anyone have any experience of different makes. He was looking at a fleming but after having to put a new frame on a fleming handler i bought damaged at an auction, i think he should pass..

So nuggent, cashels, moyfab or whoelse?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Uncle of mine is looking to buy a power box. Anyone have any experience of different makes. He was looking at a fleming but after having to put a new frame on a fleming handler i bought damaged at an auction, i think he should pass..

Cashels make a great box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Farmer_3650

Have to agree with mayota. Cashels make very good machinery in general. We have a Cashels power box for the last 2 or 3 years and I can't say a bad thing about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

Have a Fleming here over 10 years. Taken a fair bit of abuse and not a mark on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Homer jay

Hi, anyone know anything about these boxes ? Looking for a 6' 6" box, seems ĺike a good price if the quality was right. Is it just me or is it near impossible to get a 6' 6" power box new.

www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/new-power-boxes/14607054

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Powerboxes are a fairly simple piece of machinery. I would not pay a huge premium to any manufacturer of them I have a Malone 8' that I bought second hand 5 years ago for 450 euro. OP as you said you bought it damaged at auction maybe frame was strained without you knowing. I know that Flemming bale handlers are of a lighter make than others That can be an advantage as balehandlers are out infront of tractors and ever kg counts and is putting pressure on a tractor.

There would be little demand for 6ft6 power boxes as geneerall you want them wider than the back wheels of a tractor and 7' would be the minimumwith of ecen smaller tractors like a MF 135

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

fleming 6ft powerbox here about 6 years. but in fairness it hasn't done a weeks work yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭kk.man

I've a Malone 5ft powerbox bought it new 15 years ago. Did some great work and still 100%. Rarely use it now but wouldn't part with it in case I need it. Its worth bearing in mind a 5ft foot is adequate for a 90/100 house power tractor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

+1 for the Cashels one. I've had mine for 5 years and its taken dogs abuse.

kk.man wrote: »
    I've a Malone 5ft powerbox bought it new 15 years ago. Did some great work and still 100%. Rarely use it now but wouldn't part with it in case I need it. Its worth bearing in mind a 5ft foot is adequate for a 90/100 house power tractor.

only issue is it is narrower than the back wheels of the tractor. If it is wider you just need to make sure you do not overload. If you are cleaning a shed when it is wider you can reverse in and your wheels are not rising higher than what you are loading.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

Powerboxes are a fairly simple piece of machinery. I would not pay a huge premium to any manufacturer of them I have a Malone 8' that I bought second hand 5 years ago for 450 euro. OP as you said you bought it damaged at auction maybe frame was strained without you knowing. I know that Flemming bale handlers are of a lighter make than others That can be an advantage as balehandlers are out infront of tractors and ever kg counts and is putting pressure on a tractor.

There would be little demand for 6ft6 power boxes as geneerall you want them wider than the back wheels of a tractor and 7' would be the minimumwith of ecen smaller tractors like a MF 135

I seen the damage alright, at 40 euro you couldnt go wrong have a nice bale handler made out of a few of cuts and about 30 euro for new steel will linkage pin holes punched in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Nugent gets my vote, cashels looks a good box too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 westland81

Not hard to make up at all - i made my own and a few for neighbours last year. I have drawings etc if u need i can message them to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

What sort of power or tractor will it be going on. If it was only going on a small tractor the likes of a fleming will be grand . But be putting it on a 150hp tractor and you might want a stronger one.
    I bought a 7ft nugent a few years ago for this reason,
    7ft nugent was 1200, 7ft fleming was 800. We put them side by side and there was no comparison , nugent was made of heavier steel , was better braced everywhere, better paintwork.
    Regarding size the dealer was fairly adamint that unless i had a big tractor not to get a big powerbox, it wouldnt be able for it , ie pushing it to fill it and the weight
    Homer jay wrote: »
    Hi, anyone know anything about these boxes ? Looking for a 6' 6" box, seems ĺike a good price if the quality was right. Is it just me or is it near impossible to get a 6' 6" power box new.

www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/new-power-boxes/14607054

Nugent will do one for you if you want . Just talk to a dealer . They might have to make it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭discodaveirl

@993542 it would be going on a 390, last one he has wouldnt be old 6ft link box that was used behind a 165 but he must have started using it as a powerbox as its in a bit of a mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

Lads. The five foot transport box, I have used and abused as a power box, has finally died.
    Looking now for a power box. Unsure as the correct size. Will be on a 80hp four wheel drive. Back wheel width 7 foot.
    Ideally I would like 7 foot minimum to match the wheels. But I feel that’s a bit much for the size of tractor.
    What do ye think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Lads. The five foot transport box, I have used and abused as a power box, has finally died.
    Looking now for a power box. Unsure as the correct size. Will be on a 80hp four wheel drive. Back wheel width 7 foot.
    Ideally I would like 7 foot minimum to match the wheels. But I feel that’s a bit much for the size of tractor.
    What do ye think?

Make sure it’s as wide as the tractor. You don’t have to fill it if you find a full load is too heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Is it beyond fixing. OH did a job on ours a few weeks ago. It's a Nugent and about 18 years old. It has got fair abuse over the years. The front edge was worn away and curled up. He added in new "ribs" to strengthen it as well.

532426.jpeg
    He added a new front edge too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

I'm in the same boat. Seeking a Power Box for four-wheel drive.
    I was advised to buy something perhaps one foot less than the Tractor Widt ( Logic being a narrower box has more strength ) and Box less likely to kink when reversing.
    Anyone comment .
    As regards pricing got stiff prices, just for One Hydr Ram 6 foot ( closing to 800/900 incl vat ) that was a Fleming. ??
    Anyone suggest a Particular Maker & or a competitive price.

Track9 wrote: »
    I was advised to buy something perhaps one foot less than the Tractor Widt ( Logic being a narrower box has more strength ) and Box less likely to kink when reversing.
    Anyone comment .
    As regards pricing got stiff prices, just for One Hydr Ram 6 foot ( closing to 800/900 incl vat ) that was a Fleming. ??

I have never seen one link. Maybe if you decided to try to dig rock out of a quarry face with it. Ya some are heavier than others. I have a McHale I bought second hand. You want to.price around sounds expensive for a Flemming

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

Have a Malone with about 12 years. Would have a fair bit of heavy work done the first 6 or 7 years but not so much anymore. It's 7 feet which is slightly narrower than the tractor. I would definitely go slightly wider if I was buying again especially for cleaning sheds, feed passages etc.
    Will lift the front of the tractor if completely full of stone but at 2/3 full is ok. On a valtra A95 which wouldn't be the heaviest anyway. Don't think Malone make them anymore though.
    Would want to give it a fair bullocking to kink it I would imagine. Uncle took it to knock a ditch at one stage but ended up making bits of 2 top links without a mark on the box. He hired a digger in after that

Anyone comment .

Worst advice you ever got! Whatever you do, make sure it’s at least as wide as the tractor.

Price wise, they are expensive. Probably very little difference in any of the major makes, but price around to see. As for trying to find one for a competitive price, we’ll that’s when you might find something that will kink.....l.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭endainoz

Have a 7ft Nugent for a few years now. Has a double ram, was about 1200 delivered I think. Good sturdy machine, no issues with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

Have this fleming 7 foot since 2002 or 2003.
    Just keep it clean and slope it down so water won't lie. Filled loads of drains with it.
    And yes I am a savage.

What do ye think?
    Anyone comment .
    hopeso wrote: »
    Worst advice you ever got! Whatever you do, make sure it’s at least as wide as the tractor.

Price wise, they are expensive. Probably very little difference in any of the major makes, but price around to see. As for trying to find one for a competitive price, we’ll that’s when you might find something that will kink.....l.
    As hopeso said buy one that is at least the width of the rear wheels. The Nugent in the photograph above is normally on a Fiat 880/5 DT with front weights and it's well able to handle it. We use it to clean out dry bedded sheds, feed passages, boxing dung/peat etc. On the day I took the photo it was on a 2wd Renault 781 which has a narrower wheel base. It's actually easier to clean out the feed passages when the cattle pull in silage/hay/straw after I do a run with the IH454 and scraper.

Base price wrote: »
    As hopeso said buy one that is at least the width of the rear wheels. The Nugent in the photograph above is normally on a Fiat 880/5 DT with front weights and it's well able to handle it. We use it to clean out dry bedded sheds, feed passages, boxing dung/peat etc. On the day I took the photo it was on a 2wd Renault 781 which has a narrower wheel base. It's actually easier to clean out the feed passages when the cattle pull in silage/hay/straw after I do a run with the IH454
    and scraper.

We were advised the same. Width of tractor is a must. And I would go for a 7 foot fleming single ram anytime.

satstheway wrote: »
    We were advised the same. Width of tractor is a must. And I would go for a 7 foot fleming single ram anytime.
    I can't comment on a Fleming power box as ours is a Nugent and it's also a single ram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭memorystick

I’ve a Nugent 7 foot ordered. Have a barrel filled with concrete to act as weight and empty it whin I want to. Too old and fat to be changing clips and links and pens or pins. Too old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Welding Rod

I’ve a Nugent 7 foot ordered. Have a barrel filled with concrete to act as weight and empty it whin I want to. Too old and fat to be changing clips and links and pens or pins. Too old

How does a weight help you with a power box? Yes, a bit of weight up front on a lighter tractor would be helpful, if you fill the box with stone. What does a barbell of concrete do for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

How does a weight help you with a power box? Yes, a bit of weight up front on a lighter tractor would be helpful, if you fill the box with stone. What does a barbell of concrete do for you?

Probly tidier and quicker on and off than loose stone dirtying the box and yard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭9935452

I assume its for a loader.
    Roll ith concrete in when you are using the loader . Tip it out when you are finished

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭Ky Abu

Hi all

Any comments on whats the best on the market now? Looking to get a 6ft 6 or max 7ft and use it on a 4255/4355 series Massey Ferguson

I have a 6ft Cashels box with a lot of floor damage at this stage. We have it since 2006. I have been told that this could cost €500 + to fix.

Any comments or suggestions would be welcome. Thanks

Stick with the Cashel box it's cheaper for the box to get damaged than the tractor.

If you are doing that sort of work with a PL box I be slow going very big and strong.

Slava Ukrainii

Said it before and I'll say it again. This fleming box served us well. 19 or 20 years old this year with hundreds of tons of drainage stone put through it. It wasn't greased for years as the nipples were choked and I thought it would be gone long ago. But this year I stuck new pipes on her. Old ones were still working but couldn't risk them any longer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,765 ✭✭✭White Clover

There was good stuff used back then. How's the Massey going for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭kk.man

I have found one of those would save you a fortune getting in a mini digger to clean gaps etc. They may not have the digging capacity but they are a very good scraper. I've cleaned drains with mine, granted you need the horse power and a dry bank.

Massey going well now. Had a couple of normal big enough issues but going well now. You have a good memory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 947 ✭✭✭leoch

Tell us more about the issues wat kind of massey is it satstheway

The external lift controls look very familiar!

I have a good few enquiries made at this stage on them. Fleming are probably the most mass produced of the lot. Woods apparantly make a very good, strong box but their mostly to be found in the opposite end of the country (we're in Kerry) Outside of that, Dowd are another manufacturer. Waiting on a price for box repair before making a decision on it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Jb1989

Ultan carroll engineering in Co cavan made super power boxes

I have a Gormley Engineering box, bought in Kerry.

The Woods is a nice box alright, with a great tipping angle. Is there no one down there selling Woods trailers?

Nobody in Tralee and surrounding areas selling any Woods Trailers no.

Saw one of these, finish on them seemed a bit rushed if im honest, plus the power box I saw was 'new' but already the sides were out of shape on it.

Looked up their website now. Look to make a fine looking box. Ill see if they've any dealers down this way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Have a 7'6" Woods, twin rams.

Can't fault it.

They have a lenght of angle iron welded across the front end of the floor, very handy fro levelling gravel etc.

The front end I presume the end with the three point linkage. I have a McHale and it has a leveling blade at the front

Slava Ukrainii

Same on the Gormley here. Twin ram and levelling bar. A great job.

I am not sure if they still do. I bought one second back after the crash in 2010/11. A builder has some Agri equipment he was selling, a tractor which a neighbour went to see and a power link box. He told me about the PL box and I bought it. It was put on the back of the tractor when he collected the tractor. I just send a cheque down to the vendor. I paid 450 euro it a 7'

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

Would a 3pt linkage/Eurohitch adapter and a hydraulic top link onto a 6ft bucket be an option or a waste of money?