Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is there hostility towards centrists on social media?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Glaceon

As a centrist myself, I tend to get it from both extremes so it's easier to just say nothing a lot of the time.

This is pretty much it.

It's effectively a new kind of puritanism. Both sides on the extremes shouting the odds, whilst the reasonable people in the middle - who speak the most sense and who are the most pragmatic - get drowned out and ignored.

Centrists aren't the problem.

It's the extremes at both ends, pulling society apart - tearing asunder any kind of meaningful dialogue and reasoned consensus.

It's the kind of idiocy that sees anyone with any kind of leaning to the right grouped together under the banner of "fascist / far-right". You cannot engage with someone like that. They've made their mind up who the enemy are. They've lost all sense of proportion and balance.

To the reactionary right traditional compassionate conservatives are adjacent to the radical left. So when their view of the centre has moved so far right, of course they embrace the centre, as long as its their centre

It's reasonable to think one side, in America anyway, is driven by religion, and the other side's extreme end has had that religious void filled with this need to morally superior and virtuous.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I don't think it's religion so much as a desire to be the cultural hegemon. Diversity of opinion is a direct threat to that and in a country with such established protections for free speech, the resentment leads to extremism as we saw on the 6th January terrorist attack.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

That about sums up my view as well. The only thing missing is that I'd be more in favour of stricter control on the asylum seeker system. I feel like asylum seeker legislation is a bit obsolete, it was created in a different time, and rather than providing a lifeline for those in desperate need, I feel like it's being manipulated by some people who are plain old economic migrants. Nothing wrong with being an economic migrant. Just be honest, apply legally through the system and have your case heard.

With everything else I kind of agree. Having got married, had a kid and bought a house, I now have something to lose from ripping up the system and starting anew. If you have nothing to lose, then you are more likely I think to want to choose radical solutions. But evolution rather than revolution might be the most sensible way forward.

What we are talking about is explained in the title. Numerous posts in now - others know what I mean. I'm not sure I believe your question is genuine. What red flag?

What is your problem here? You're weirdly hostile for no reason. Explain to me what's suspect about this thread? It's not an issue for the numerous others responding.

Yes, take that one stupid joke thread (without knowing the context - it was parodying other threads asking about people's hygiene habits) and ignore all my other contributions.

Very strange, paranoid take. So many others doing far worse, yet you pick on me for a non reason. Bizarre.

In fairness Irelands Call and Celtic Symphony are both pretty horrific.

And a bridge built by an occupier to both enable the occupation and to transport military supplies to the front lines is a legitimate military target, bombing a pub because there might be soldiers drinking in it, less so

• Registered Users Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I’m in two minds about centrists really - on the one hand they lean towards the political right, and on the other hand they lean to the political left, I just never know where they stand on any given topic. Pick a siiiiiide dammit 🥵

• Registered Users Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

I firmly believe if you have to align your opinion through the prism of some archaic political spectrum you are a fúcking moron who badly needs to revaluate your life choices.

What on earth...?

What problem? Where did I indicate - even slightly - that I feel the need to live in a world where people must agree with me or not, or that I'm unable to deal with people who are indifferent to my opinions? Where are you getting the latter from? It's totally bizarre, and apropos nothing.

What's this "we" and "us" about? Others understand perfectly, and are posting away fine. I have also posted followup posts. There's no logic to your post, other than just being spiteful and nasty for no reason. You're the one who is clearly unable to deal with different opinions.

Why would you want to laugh at me? Do you enjoy bullying and ridiculing for no reason? (Seemingly yes).

• Registered Users Posts: 24,026 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Leaving Iraq aside, his politics were centrist. My sympathies with the policies that won him a landslide in 1997 still stand.

And by the way, concensus is the political holy grail. If you can get concensus, nothing will ever beat it! I get the feeling thats never occurred to you.

Those are people whose opinions you disagree with, not centrists. And the bit about the bullet is unhinged.

A centrist is someone who isn't constantly a slave to left or right. They have some views that are left leaning, some more conservative, some neither... they stand back and observe the full picture, they consider views across the board (when relevant - it's not always necessary).

And while I wouldn't put a Ukrainian flag in my profile, I cannot see what the problem is with disagreeing with Putin's invasion.

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

Well no, I said "Whereas it's surely healthier to stand back and take a broader view (obviously within reason - there are times when of course you'll only take one view)". I don't think anyone is contradicting that being a centrist means taking positions that can be to the left or to the right. There often isn't a centrist position.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Centrists are simply people who won't admit they're right-wing neoliberal types, whether it be cowardice or they're just too thick to realise it. They're too slow to realise that the Blair/Ahern/Clinton neoliberal "end of history" era is over, and it's never coming back.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,617 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Utter drivel. Centrists are simply moderate people who just don't buy into the nonsense from either the right or the left. It's a harder term to define than Conservative, Liberal, Socialist, etc but it's no less legitimate.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

They provide a cloak to fascism they are the acceptable face of neo liberalism.

I was going to write something similar sarcastically, but it seems that the clown show is already in town.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Scoundrel

The IRA's proxy bomb targetted British soldiers at a checkpoint and killed only one civilian the poor fecker they strapped in the van. The Ukrainian proxy bombing didn't target any military and killed nothing but innocent civilians and it achieved absolutely nothing as the bridge was operational within 2 days.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭joseywhales

I don't really care about hostility on the internet in general. I don't take the medium seriously. I am going to give my opinion on something and read about some new subject for me, I don't require validation for my own self confidence, though the interactions can be thought provoking and it's good to try on different hats. It's a safe place , due to anonymity , a sandbox to learn what's happening and how other people might think but it's not "real life" for me. Real life is the 30 seconds in the voting booth which is often very different to what you will see online. (You see all the shock and surprise in the results aka who the f*ck voted for that shower again!). It's very different from what social media would have you predict.

I also find all the framing and identity to be nonsense, pushed by people who desire a simplified categorized organisation of inconsistent humans. It very rarely fits, people do not need to identify with these made up notions. I never had any group loyalty in school either. In fact I have an aversion to groups and identity. It's just another form of control and a loss of freedom.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

They define themselves as rocks of sense who aren't influenced by looney ideologues but the reality is that centrists are just idealogues themselves who have totally bought into the right-wing neoliberal status-quo of the past 30 years. The definition of "I'm all right Jack" artists.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭joseywhales

Isn't "I'm alright jack" the opposite of ideology. Like let's forgo the greater good, I only care about myself?

I think that's how most people vote, they decide what's best for them, what might put more money in their pocket, improve schools if they have children or protect pensions if they are about to retire etc. People just vote 100% selfishly and may make some vain attempt to appear consistent to some ideology in hindsight. It's no great mystery.

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭tjhook

Since the dawn of time man has been finding ways to draw a line between "us" and "them". Religion, geography ("those lads in the next parish"), skin colour, politics... anything really.

The whole idea of Left and Right is so flawed it's comical. At a superficial level it conflates economic and social values. Societal values and economic models are two totally separate concepts, and a person's view on one does not define their attitudes to the other.

Even separating economic and societal vales is a gross simplification. A person could easily believe in society providing an economic safety net for those who need it, while also believing in rewarding work and success.

The need to define people as a binary "Left" or "Right" is a sign of a limited mind. And those who understand that but are dragged down into Left/Right arguments should know better.

Nah, that's just a baseless strawman. I'll believe it when I see proof.

They said it doesn't exist *as much* on the right, not that it doesn't exist at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 349 ✭✭sekiro

On social media I think it's more likely that far-Left and far-Right people simply don't encounter each other very often. A person on the far-Right, for example, is going to find themselves quickly blocked from a far-Left persons Twitter feed, Facebook page and so on.

To some extent they spend all their time in echo chambers and as a result the only people left to fight with are themselves and any "centrists" that still think they can talk some sense into these extremists.

Some groups even have their own jargon to facilitate this behavior. Concepts like dog-whistling where the person you want to fight with or smear or bully or whatever is going on hasn't actually said something bad so you claim they've used some secret code that can only be understood by the far-Right to say a bad thing. A dog-whistle. Of course, they never consider that if you can hear the dog whistle then you are the dog.

If I spend all my days on social media fighting my political opponents but also relentlessly blocking my political opponents, then it makes sense that over time I would need to look harder for people to fight and if I did get in a fight then it's more likely to be with someone who hasn't previously overstepped enough for me to block them yet. So that leaves the choices of attacking centrists or getting into some good old in-fighting.

Over periods of years or even decades the fights will eventually break out over smaller and smaller things and the targets will be people further away from the extremes and closer to the middle. If the most extreme online fascists or anti-fascists ever met each other in real life I bet they'd just run away from each other. "Punch a Nazi" might as well mean "find someone weaker than you who won't stand up for themselves and use an accusation of being a Nazi as an excuse to bully them." Same thing holds true for the other side. They will pick weaker and easier targets, usually over the most mundane things. Like an actor makes one silly comment in one interview, one time and the "anti-SJW" brigade will try to bring down Armageddon on that person.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭I see sheep

The last 2 people who told me they were 'centrists' were without doubt right-wing (imo)

So is that not the issue?