Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Was the government right to put no limit on the amount of Ukrainian refugees in Ireland? Read OP

• Registered Users Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭HBC08

Things are going to get interesting in Killarney.

I'm in favour of taking in Ukrainian refugees in general but the way it's being done is a shambles,there needs to be some sort of cap on numbers and we need to have some sort of accommodation and facilities ready before they arrive. I'm not in favour of taking young male refugees arriving from the UK from Albania and Georgia and elsewhere who have thrown away their travel documents .I have no faith in anybody in power to deal with any of this,they were floundering from the beginning but now its complete farce.

The domestic tourist industry will be completely destroyed,this is happening right now.The reason there's no uproar about this is the main players ie the hotels are coming out of this well.Im somewhat involved in the industry,being guaranteed full rooms throughout the winter on a 24/7 basis is an unbelievable offer for them,they'd be mad to turn it down and if I'm honest I'd probably do the same.

The issue will come next season when there will be no domestic tourism and restaurants/pubs/cafes/towns will be feiced and clowns shoes like Roderic O Gorman will still be welcoming lads to the land of milk and honey.

This is dire enough stuff,I'm not even going to go into the how this is effecting healthcare/education,the housing crisis and social issues coming down the tracks.This stuff is a much more serious situation than Covid,climate change or Brexit put together but we're so far away from being able to fix it that a grown up conversation is not allowed about this or you'll be shouted down as a racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 315 ✭✭CeCe12

I agree with you. I too am in favour of helping but the help is never ending. Resources are drying up housing, education and medical wise.

I agree with your assessment of the hotels too. Next year they will miss the local money being spent.

As a poster earlier linked an article above, the Government finally seem to looking at our EU counterparts to compare the support been given. There is another similar article on RTE news. It seems to imply the penny has dropped with how we have been portrayed as a Golden Ticket.

It is not just Ireland, reading Euronews earlier many countries are reaching their capacity limits. The situation is not sustainable long term.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Charging refugees for rent and bills. We'll have the Rwanda policy soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭mohawk

But if the refugee has a job and is able to support themselves then what is wrong with them paying towards rent and bills. Others mightn’t be able to support themselves right now and might need more help.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,319 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

It's a sign being out there. No more refugees welcome.

Next will be a Rwanda policy. I think it would be quite popular in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Hamachi

Interesting. Thanks for posting this article.

This is what I was referring to when I suggested that posters here aren’t best placed to determine actual sentiment on the ground, given that’s none of us (presumably) are Killarney residents.

It would appear that loading 2.5K asylum seekers into a town of less than 11K is placing a significant burden on services and stressing local resources. Who would have guessed. I wonder am I allowed to say this or is it ‘completely negative shite’?

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭Honesty Policy

But they're in a 'safe' country now. Isn't that how living in a functioning society works, you work and pay your own way.

When I heard this initially, I thought they meant all refugees would pay a contribution towards their bed and board, out of their extremely generous welfare payments.

If anything, it'll be a disincentive for them to work.

Are the government just going to let them sit on their back sides for months and years on end.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭TaurenDruid

Refugee A is put up in a hotel. She gets 3 meals a day and a shared (twin) room.

Refugee B gets a room in someone's house via the Red Cross. He gets 3 meals a day and his own room. The host family ask him for a small contribution towards his meals and bills.

Refugee C is put up in a dorm tent in Gormanstown and also gets 3 meals a day.

All three get the same UB. Doesn't seem fair - especially considering a single person on UB, not a refugee, needs to pay for rent, bills and food from their identical UB.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,133 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Refugee D is housed in a vacant house and pays for all their food and contributes to the bills and gets the same as A and B and C .

I agree the system is unfair and needs reviewing very soon

No Ukrainians in Gormanstown now, only asylum seekers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Aren't they that?

Please explain the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

until asylum seekers get the same dole and rates rooms board as everyone else you wont be seeing any claims.

Ukrainians are here under EU Temporary Protection. This allows them same rights as an Irish person, with accommodation thrown in for a limited time (up to 3 years)

Asylum seekers are here for various reasons. Supposedly fleeing wars, regimens that doesn’t accept their chosen lifestyles, sexual orientation, etc. They cannot work until they are in the country 6 months. They receive accommodation and pocket money.

Excuse me. If you believe me a troll, report me.

I was asking the difference which I can't see. Ukraine is not part of the EU, same as Syria or Eritrea.

Your constant aggressive and dismissive posts, are to me, amusing, but can be to others breaking the charter.

I admire the passion of a person has in a subject, but when there is no substance to posts and resorting to insults and also not taking on board other people's thoughts, then...Well.

Ukrainians are fleeing a war and are refugees. Syrians are also fleeing a war and are refugees, coming to Ireland under a UN resettlement program. This is absolutely basic stuff, hence my comment. You can't not know this.

Right so. I'm thick now.

Why are the EU getting involved. Not every EU country interrupts the directive the same. Our government wants the gold star.

The Irish populace are generous and we would have done our bit without intervention. Look at our level of foreign aid.

Now, tell me what the plan is. Remember the Irish government are there to look after ireland foremost. I agree we should help others.

Now I don't expect your next post not to be insulting, but maybe some sort of discussion and we can be mature adults.

You need look at the bigger picture. We need the support of the EU for growth in farming and our economy in general. If Russia was allowed walk in and take Ukraine, there’s no knowing if they’d have stopped there. Worldwide stability is under threat. Just because Ukraine isn’t a member of the EU doesn’t mean that we didn’t trade with them.

Again with the me being thick post.

Seriously we're over extended. We can't look after our own with regards to accommodation. I don't want families coming here and we can't support them adequately, Ukrainians or not.

I do agree with you with regards the EU/others needs to put the foot down. But this can't be seen as just altruistic from the EU.

I applaud you, by the way, for your volunteering.

There was talk yesterday in one of the articles of renewing the pledged accommodation appeal. That's fine. However they mentioned perhaps increasing the host payment, varying from county to county. I take this to mean a higher rate for city locations. I don't like that as I feel it could become more competition for people who rely on renting a room to live in. Say for example, a single room in Dublin currently rented out at 600 per month. Government could potentially offer 700 for the same room for a Ukrainian refugee.

Same article also mentioned holiday homes, apparently there are 60,000 vacant holiday homes in Ireland. They would like to utilise a minimum of 6000 of these. No mention of how this could be implemented.

Nobody is insulting you.

Why are the EU getting involved? Why the **** wouldn't they get involved?! Completely aside from the humanitarian aspect, the fact that Ukraine is a trade partner, you may have heard this:

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a socialist.

Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out—

Because I was not a trade unionist. Etc...

You really think Putin was going to stop at Ukraine?! Maybe you know more than Finland and Sweden, who both decided to join NATO immediately after Russia invaded...

What exactly do we think "we" as individuals could have done by ourselves, as individuals?! What have you done, as an individual?

Our level of foreign aid? Ireland has never met its foreign aid targets.

I think that it would be foolish in the extreme to put one refugee in a pledged room. They need a lot of support. The cultural differences alone could lead to problems. The isolation would not suit most. Larger accommodation, like hotels and guesthouses are best because the support services can best serve their needs, because these services are very stretched.

Probably better to keep them together yes. I just think the desperation for lodgings will lead the Government to put them in anywhere they can find.

Rodheric himself stated, he cannot guarantee there will no repeat of what unfolded in Killarney earlier this week.

I've heard it. Please stop talking down to me. I realise now you believe you're far more intelligent than me.

China is a trading partner. So was Russia (technically they still are. Gas).

We are also above gdp for foreign aid compared to other first world country. Produce links where we're not meeting them please.

166,000 vacant properties, altogether. https://www.thejournal.ie/vacant-properties-cso-5797970-Jun2022/ I presume the 60,000 vacant holiday homes are included in that. 48,000 of them vacant for six years or more.

Their places.

Are all of them up to standard?

Edit: who's paying for both upgrades and morality of taking personal property.

It would have to be looked at in closer details.

As in, who owns the property. Where are they living themselves, eg nursing homes or with family, hospital, holiday home.

Next, location and condition of property. Remember, the conditions homeowners will accept can be lower than social housing conditions. Some of us will put up with draughty windows until we can afford to get them fixed.

The bigger picture will show the real story.

Agreed. Say for example I don't need to turn on the heating, but my father might.

When I was a student, some of my mates living in bedsits hadn't a problem. They were crap. Wouldn't live there now. But! At 18-25, I wouldn't have noticed.

The social expectations are nuts! Better than our owns where we try to make it as best as possible.

Their places.

I don't know what this means.

Are all of them up to standard?

How would I know? I would assume not. I would also assume it'd take a lot less to bring a place up to standard than to buy or build a new one. It'd probably take a lot less to bring somewhere up to standard in many, many cases than it would to lease a hotel room for a year.

Edit: who's paying for both upgrades and morality of taking personal property.

I don't know that anyone has actually advocated taking peoples' personal property. Maybe you know different. If so, please do link.

If I did have a holiday home, I'd be only delighted to let refugees avail of it. If I had a second property that I'd let go derelict for whatever reason (maybe it's too far away, or I couldn't afford renovations), I'd also be only delighted if there was some scheme that would see it brought up to standard so it could be used by the state for a couple of years, then revert to me. That'd be win-win, really.