Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Pushback against Leftism

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Where’s this “sexually provocative schoolgirls” photo then?

Who put you in charge of what photos people chose to share?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,955 ✭✭✭Shoog

Since people here cannot illucidate a single example of how anything to do with trans has impacted them in any way - I think we can safely conclude that they are playing pure culture wars.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,765 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I've posted about 3 posts about the issue with the Tavistock clinic and why it was closed.

All the pro trans rights posters, except yourself, ignored the issues with it and questions as to why treatment has changed so dramatically in the last 20 years.

Those post are out of concern for vulnerable children, with all types of issues. No one answered my posts as to why things changed, why challenging this change was shut down within the clinic and online. For such a "caring" cohort the silence about the health of the very group they act for was rather illuminating.

I have no issue, only sympathy, for the difficulties this marginalised group suffer in society. That doesn't mean "activists" can ask for any changes to social norms and expect it to go unchallenged.

Examples would be in womens sports, formerly woman only safe spaces.

I had no interest whatsoever in this issue only the Liveline debacle and the removal of RTE as sponsor of Pride. I actually went back and listened ( and it hurt ) to 3 hrs of that show. It was the unwillingness to debate, discuss and shut down discussion which I found most illuminating about trans activists.

The idea that you can tear up social norms and any questioning is to be met with calls of bigotry is the antithesis of what a liberal society should look like.

I've quite a bit of research on the genesis of the new gender ideology ( and critical race theory) and they have about as much value in solid rational thought as the boll1x the alt right publish on race, vaccines etc

The unwillingness here to actually honestly discuss the Tavistock in particular ( where as young as 8 were pharma interventions) is because to do so would involve a questioning of the whole ideology. That won't happen when it's all about picking a side and sticking to your guns irrespective of the value of a rational discussion.

The Tavistok issues arose out of an underresourcing and lack of oversight of a severely overstretched but essential resource. It has led to a recommendation of expansion of services with a bigger and more diverse team of specialists - which has got to be a good thing.

As to puberty blockers, I disagree that they are an inappropriate treatment because to not offer them leaves the most vulnerable individuals open to very high rates a suicide and self harm. You have to first accept that young adults are genuine in their gender dymorphism, once you do that you have ask how traumatic it would be to suddenly be face with your body changing to something that you absolutely felt did not represent your own body image. Imagine a heterosexual man suddenly growing a set of breasts just when they were at their most body conscious. You would not expect them to have to wait for years for medical treatment.

The basis of my belief is that once you have established that the gender dymorphism is genuine and stable over an extended period of time (which is what happens now) you should do everything possible to support that reality. Alleviating the horrendous levels of suicide and self harm have to be the top priority - and once gender dymorphism is established that has to be more than just counciling because counciling must acknowledge the lived reality of the individual for it to be authentic and legitimate.

People here and transphobics in general want to deny the reality of trans lives and so put a roadblock to offering appropriate support and treatment. This is a totally unacceptable stance and what I will always fight against whenever I see it.

All I want to see is people been respected and supported in what they say about themselves.

Post edited by Shoog on

• Registered Users Posts: 28,939 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Fascinating to see the laser narrow focus on this one particular issue under the “concern for vulnerable children “ banner , and the incredibly detailed focus on the inner workings of one UK clinic that treated a tiny handful of Irish children.

Did you do the same kind of investigation into Kerry CAMH service that was overprescribing powerful drugs to Irish teens for years? Or any investigation into MH services in general here, and the long delays for most Irish children?

Or the MH impacts for the 3,000 children in homelessness here? Or the safeguarding of children in swimming or GAA?

Nah, let’s just have a go at the trans kids and stop them getting access to treatments that you don’t understand.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

There are a few things to unpack here.

1% is not a pay-gap its very much shows men and women are paid and or valued about the same.

Nobody is arguing over 1%!

You seem to think the 1% shows that no women are earning more then men.... Plentely of women are earning more then men for doing the same job I have worked with many women in tech who earn more than men of similar skill set age and experience.

Also to have an almost 0% varience would need to have almost as many women earning more than men as men earning more than women.

Tech is a place where due to the ratio of men to women, women become more valuable as there are simply less of them so tech companies are competing with each other over them.

Men and woman are different, again the far left will have you believe men and women are the same or biology is not a thing but it is.

Men are more aggressive.

Aggressively negotiating a salary for example is very hard to measure.

The monster link is probably a year out of date, tech salaries even in the last 12 months are up considerably.

The argument we are having is a perfect example of how liberalism can go awry, a work place where we see fairness is being painted as unfair and biased. The 1% is not enough you want it to be 0% even though common sense should tell you that is going to be unlikely unless you actually do think communism is the way to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,510 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

If you want to discuss Tavistock granularly I suggest start a Tabistock thread this thread is far broader.

nobody is arguing over 1%!

facially incorrect statement.

a pay gap is a pay gap. If there were no gap the gap would be 0%. It’s not 0%.

Biology is why lady programmers are paid more? Your ranting and raving makes no sense and appears mired in gender stereotypes.

You have NO IDEA how old the monster article is it has no publication date. It relies on citation to a website that doesn’t support what it said. It’s worthless.

LMFAO @ your notion the only way we can eliminate that last 1% of pay gap is through communism. What grip informed you of that?

A profoundly important analysis of why these culture wars are becoming so important to the right and the conclusion is

"But that’s not going to happen. Because there is another reason that the Right sounds so panicked. And it’s that its members know a simple truth. Their institutions are fraying. Their view of the world is in retreat. Their common sense is increasingly contested."

This the essential nature of the culture wars an indifference and hostility to the establish, elite driven, "natural" order, an order specifically designed to favour elites.

Post edited by Shoog on

I said that children's charity workers should not be dressing up as sexually provocative schoolgirls, nor should they be displaying highly pornographic images of their genitalia on their social media. He did both of those, and he was wrong to do so. I note you didn't condemn it, in fact you justified it wholesale.

You've clearly been deluded into thinking a graphic t-shirt and a kilt is a 'school girl uniform'

If I am "Getting confused" lol it's because you proceeded to respond to my posts with deflections. But we've already been over that. As you know, not only am I aware they are 2 different people but I challenged on this thread why you were bringing up 1 in response to challenges to your statements about the other? Cop on please.

What "Social Media" was this posted on? Porn Hub? Redgifs?

All definitions are negotiable. A **** used to simply be a bundle of sticks. Then it became hate speech. Sorry that 'post-modern' linguistics offends you, but ye olde language marches on. Does being 'transhomosexual' float your semantic sails instead? Regardless of the semantics of it, earlier in the thread we were given example of a trans woman who feels 'lesbian' attraction to her wife. You argue this is not at all lesbianism, because of sex/gender stipulations. Why not simply call it translesbianism, then, and acknowledge this trans woman's personal beliefs are their own, they identify as a woman and regard themselves as having lesbian sexual attractions. That seems a lot more constructive, to me, than trying to pursue activism to 'other' and disassemble from all trans persons as a result of some people who feel these ways.

Profoundly important?

There are many things you and your cohort need to do to correct your tendencies towards this cultish mentality.

Perhaps you could start practicing your own sermon here by addressing the poster singularly, rather than addressing them "and your cohort" and referring to this "cohort" as a "cult"

hey?

Maybe people you see as being 'in a cult' is a perspective issue?

You offer no cultural or intellectual value to public discourse and only seek to ruin everyone else's experience of same, for reasons of spite and bitter rancour.

How is this not spiteful in and of itself? How is it constructive?

Profoundly important?

There are many things you and your cohort need to do to correct your tendencies towards this cultish mentality. Sorting out your relationship with language is but just one.

There was no' right ' , as you imply it, before this woke/ trans activism bolloxology came along. This cult that proliferated through social media, infecting people with no meaning in their lives, no capacity of self reflection and no faculties for critical evaluation. The ' right ' as you imply it, has always grown specifically to counter the insanity of the looney left. Grown from people who have always been centre leaning, actually.

The real ' right ' has in fact been the default mode for the majority of humans over the majority of human history, and has proven itself over and over again, as the benchmark of common sense with 400 years of civilisation being its unequivocal validation.

Liberalism is the fruit of the rights success. But you and your cohort of woke cult fruitcakes have somehow managed to spit in its face, for no reason other than your collective poor mental health and warped ideas that you cant justify by any basic rational measure.

You offer no cultural or intellectual value to public discourse and only seek to ruin everyone else's experience of same, for reasons of spite and bitter rancour.

History is a steamroller that crushes every value you hold dear. You lost the future the moment you were born.

Post edited by Shoog on

• Registered Users Posts: 8,436 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

Just on yer man in the skirt, it didn't look like a kilt to me, wasn't pleated in the front like a kilt should be and had a side split, and the nude collage was posted on @haus_magazine twitter, an LGBT art / fashion / culture magazine

If the images were posted to Twitter under Twitter's T & C, then is it really porn?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

• Registered Users Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭AllForIt

''

All definitions are negotiable. A **** used to simply be a bundle of sticks. Then it became hate speech. Sorry that 'post-modern' linguistics offends you, but ye olde language marches on. Does being 'transhomosexual' float your semantic sails instead? Regardless of the semantics of it, earlier in the thread we were given example of a trans woman who feels 'lesbian' attraction to her wife. You argue this is not at all lesbianism, because of sex/gender stipulations. Why not simply call it translesbianism, then, and acknowledge this trans woman's personal beliefs are their own, they identify as a woman and regard themselves as having lesbian sexual attractions. That seems a lot more constructive, to me, than trying to pursue activism to 'other' and disassemble from all trans persons as a result of some people who feel these ways.

She didn't say she 'feels' lesbian, she's saying that because she identifies as a women and because she's sexually attracted to women then logically she classifies as a lesbian. Yeah I know she didn't explicitly say that in the interview but that's generally what they say, some of them anyway. It's the exact same attitude that would have a trans man say they are the farther of the child they gave birth to.

I think your're really muddled up on this in your hurried attempt to contradict Eskimo with your high minded liberal attitude in the mix.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭ShowMeTheCash

Well it is 0% for 20 - 30 years olds according to the data you provided.

The "gap" again according to the data you provided happens in the age demographic 30 - 40... Strange that!

Due to a push for diversity female programmers are paid more especially gradutes, this is a pretty simple concept to understand.

I never said the "only way" again this is what the far left does, they make a number of statements with no solutions, the argument becomes circular where all you seem to be suggesting is "make everything the same"... OK what is the cause of the gap? What is the solution?

Solutions? Not why I brought it up. I didn’t bring it up or the tangent. You must have forgot why this was brought up: people denying the gap exists. Simply pointing out facts. Not to be shouldered with solving the gap on a message board. The solution is employers don’t be sexist pieces of **** I guess

They maybe in the USA but in Europe we have laws preventing this and no amount of comparing ceo's to cleaners will say otherwise.

Who was comparing CEOs to cleaners? We’re discussing the Controlled Pay Gap

Did you bother to read the thread or are you just skimming and farting

Why do women earn less?

The gender pay gap measures a broader concept than pay discrimination and comprehends a large number of inequalities women face in access to work, progression and rewards. They are:

• Sectoral segregation: Around 24% of the gender pay gap is related to the overrepresentation of women in relatively low-paying sectors, such as care, health and education. Highly feminised jobs tend to be systematically undervalued.
    • Unequal share of paid and unpaid work: Women have more work hours per week than men but they spend more hours on unpaid work, a fact that might also affect their career choices. This is why the EU promotes equal sharing of parental leaves, an adequate public provision of childcare services and adequate company policies on flexible working time arrangements.
    • The glass ceiling: The position in the hierarchy influences the level of pay: less than 8% of top companies’ CEOs are women. Nevertheless, the profession with the largest differences in hourly earnings in the EU were managers: 23 % lower earnings for women than for men.
    • Pay discrimination: In some cases, women earn less than men for doing equal work or work of equal value even if the principle of equal pay is enshrined in the European Treaties (article 157 TFEU) since 1957.

The far largest part of the gender pay gap remains unexplained in the EU and cannot be linked to worker or workplace characteristics such as education, occupation, working time or economic activity the person works for. More transparency in pay would help uncover unjustified gender-based pay differences for equal work or work of equal value and help victims of pay discrimination to seek redress and enforce their equal pay right.

Absolute tripe.

1. maybe ask your female boss to pay you more.
    2. don't work for free.
    3. Glass ceiling just no.
    4. last point rambles and presents nothing.

Tripe describes this post.

needs citation too.

Such reasonable considered and evidence based an opinion. I tip my hat.

This is not the data set we were discussing before you barged in with irrelevant guff. We were discussing the controlled pay gap reported on pay scale.

When the opening lines are about low paid sectors making out it's all low paid sectors their loosing an argument. The rest of it is Guff. Imagine having to explain to someone don't work for free. It is ofc the level of debate I would expect from some NGO working for the EU.

"Imagine having to explain to someone don't work for free"

Imagine having to explain someone Barriers to Entry.

"Just don't work for free" is a lot like saying "just don't be sad"

The bar I worked at in Carlow (name and shame, it was the Dinn Ri) in the mid 2000s first insisted on unpaid shifts as the interview. Then they withheld my last cheque over a 10 euro shirt. Gas logic.

That's only one persons fault. I would not have agreed to that.

Ah sure

The gap mentioned in your study also includes care time for dependents etc. - things which in other EU countries they have public sector support for, eg. French Au Pairs. These duties for the economy fall on women in your households and are not compensated while the rich get richer.