Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Waterford FC Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭skaface

Roll on next Sunday.. #BLUEARMY

• Registered Users Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭Boooourns

Treaty could get a right hiding off Derry next week, they were awful.

We're humming for next week.

• Registered Users Posts: 38,384 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Duffer was down last night checking the place out apparently

• Registered Users Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭scout353

The security officer was on the radio last week and said the stadium safety cert is just over 5000. There are less than 3000 seats in the two stands so the Shels allocation was more than enough. The club were going to try to sell the standing tickets online but were stopped because of the threat of Shels fans buying tickets and being mixed in with home fans. And judging by the small number who went to Tallaght last Sunday, did Shels get too many???

The standing tickets will be in pens but in reality, the views will be restricted so you can't really have that many and the outside barriers are well away from the pitch. They are trying to facilitate as many as possible so hopefully everyone who needs a tickets will be accommodated.

Great win against Treaty who now look like being the playoff opponents. It's a huge ask to get through four tough games to reach the Premier Division but the confidence appears to be sky high in the camp.

So would you take promotion or cup win if you could only have one choice????

• Registered Users Posts: 747 ✭✭✭Dunmoreroader

Promotion every time.

Council causing issues (From the Blues Supporters Facebook)

'It’s going to be a huge occasion for the club and for the city on Sunday so it’s a little disappointing to have a lot of plans blocked by the top brass in the council. Unfortunately, it’s us local Blues fans/voters who lose out because of it at a time when Waterford could really do with a lift. 

From what I’ve heard, we’ll have the 5,100 capacity which is great, but hopes of extending it were dashed. Plans for standing sections behind the goals were rejected too so it’ll just be the pens to the sides of the stands although there was reluctance even for them. Apparently the bar wasn’t a runner either, but the marquee will be open with a selection of food vendors. 

It will still be a magnificent occasion, but it’s frustrating that the council haven’t been a little more accommodating (upper management, not the RSC workers who are one of the best things about the club and go way above and beyond). The plans for Waterford FC going forward are incredibly exciting and will bring a lot of long and short term investment into the city and county so we really should be going all out to help. Otherwise, it’s the people of Waterford who miss out.'

Getting majorly ahead of myself I know but what will happen if Waterford get through to both the cup final and the Promotion/Relegation play-off final, which are scheduled for the same weekend?

Game will be played the Weds 9th or Thursday 10th Nov

All finals from here on in.. To get to the cup final and win promotion 3 or 4 days before the Cup final would bring us to the Aviva with some momentum.. Hard to beat it when it starts.. #BLUES

Weather looks miserable on Sunday. Tonight would have been a perfect night for it, nothing like Friday night football under the lights.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,175 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I do wonder about the pens, they won't hold that many will they at least in terms of people being able to actually see? Could see a bit of aggro in there but hopefully not.

Not bothered that the bar isn't there, be great having the different food vendors and the club shop there, weather looks cat unfortunately but **** it atmosphere will be massive

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

Can't wait for tomorrow and let's hope its 3rd time lucky for us at the semi final stage after defeats in 2009 vs Sligo and last year vs Bohs

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Gates opening at 2.45.

Going to be massive.

Tis like Christmas morning !!!

#Bluearmy

De nerves!

Lucky to be only 1-0

We need to up our performance in the 2nd half. No way back for us If Shelbourne score again

Ah balls

tbh the better team won and we werent at our best, very slow getting the ball forward. Shelboure there homework done and wrapped up Junior and Phoenix. Final very hard to call

Atmosphere was good but the weather killed it a bit

Aah for fcuks sake, we went out with a whimper tonight. Shels got their goal, great strike in fairness though no one anywhere near him, and just sat back, wasted time and said come on then, what have you got? SFA this evening unfortunately in front of 5000 + TV audience. They should be angry at how little end product they created this evening and carry that into the playoffs. Shels weren't hanging on for dear life in the last few minutes, it's so disheartening, reminded me of the way we lost against UCD last year, freezing our asses off up in Richmond Park. Christ almighty, its the hope that kills you. 😕

Shels got their goal and shut it down, they were very deep and defensive at times and knew they just had to clatter phoenix and junior any time they got near the ball, shut the lads down and that was that really. Hard conditions to be trying to break a team down. How yassine played 90 minutes is beyond me, had a couple of half chances, decent shout for a penalty at the end but ultimately we didn't create enough to get it done.

Derry will cruise past them on this evidence. Also, that chant for duff is one of the cringiest I've heard in a long time.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

'In your head in your head Shelbourne Shelbourne Shelbourne'

Have to say good chant

Were they not saying Duffer Duffer Duffer er er er?

Either way it's still a **** chant 😂 less cringey if shelbourne instead of duff

The RTE pundits were elated a 'Dublin team' are in the final and darling Duffers leading it

• Registered Users Posts: 236 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

Idowu going off injured a massive loss...he's got a huge engine and can create space for Junior and Phoenix...Nassine just hadn't the tools despite the effort.

Very disappointing.. We never turned up on the day.. Derry will bate them out the gap on the performances today..

Hopefully we'll drive it on now and get out of the Graveyard ..

• Registered Users Posts: 33,610 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We didn't play well ourselves today, and only the fact it was Treaty we might have been punished.

We created plenty but were very wasteful.

Was looking forward to meeting you in the final, but it will be extra special to beat Shels and see Duffers face.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Gardner

Pretty abysmal stuff yesterday. We started well for the first 10 min and when Idowu jibbed a challenge against Coyle, the game started to turn on it’s head. Minutes later he didn’t know himself if he was injured or not when he came out of the wrong side of another tussle with Coyle. Personally I think he lost the mental and physical battle and wanted out. Searle was roaring at him was he injured or not and he shrugged his shoulders and then is lack of tracking back lead to the counter attack and bang… goal. He was taken off then 2 minutes later. 

Shels were streets ahead of us in terms of the fitness, organization and general all round play. Remember this was a Shels team who haven’t won a game in the league since the 22nd of July. 

Player ratings:

Martin (4) poor distribution and kick outs were awful. (First division player at best)

Sobowale (4) too narrow and the Shels left full had him in his pocket all day. (First division player at best)

Power (6) probably the only defender worth his salt and could make the step up to the Premier Division

Baptiste (3) well past his sell by date

Cantwell (4) distribution and positional sense is poor. Baptiste didn't help either (First division player at best)

O’Keeffe (6) willing to get on the ball but lack of movement ahead of him forced him to go backwards & sideways all day. (could step up to the Premier Division)

Idowu (1) lucky to get 1 for turning up and an absolute jibber at best. Lost the mental and physical battle after 10 min and wanted out. 

Griffin (1) bossed by Coyle all day and was 2 to 3 steps off the pace. (First division player at best)

Junior (1) like Idowu, didn’t want to be there, I lost count at how many times he turned to the bench and bitched and shrugged his shoulders. (First division player at best)

Uche (7) I’m actually going to give this guy MOTM. He had a thankless task all day with the shite balls that was lumped upon him against 2 giants of centre half's while playing the lone striker role. He chased every ball and never stopped. 

Patterson (7) only decent player we have. Shels tag teamed him all day. Only player when he got on the ball that look like doing anything. 

Subs: 

En-Neyah (4) he was better than the jibber and Griffin. 

Taylor (4) came on for 20 min and did ok. Got booked for absolutely nothing. 

Searle (2) set the team up wrong but probably had no other choice with a bunch of jibbers, journey men and local lads who probably are Cobh bound if we get promoted which I don’t think we will. 

6 games to win to go up while Harps or UCD have to play 2 (playoffs). odds staked against us and we simply don't have the players to make the step up to beat a premier division team over 2 legs. back to the first division for us next season. major clear out needed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Smell the glove

Wow. So much nonsense it's hard to know where to start.

• Registered Users Posts: 267 ✭✭dk1982

That's such a cringy post, like it was written by an 8 year old who wasn't allowed out to play. Have a lie down you big drama queen.

A poor display but Shels had their homework done. Idowu going off was a blow and the goal followed that injury. Credit to Shels, the goal was a cracker but we were slow, devoid of ideas and lacking any spark. Kind of like the early part of the season.

However, promotion is still very much on the cards and the players must focus fully on that task now.